Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Personalized Pet Slate

These beautiful, custom pet portraits are hand painted on genuine slate. Simply send a photograph or electronic image, and a professional portrait artist will re-create your pet's likeness in stunning detail. Your pet's name (up to 15 characters including spaces) or "WELCOME." Photo will be returned. The pet portrait includes leather strap for hanging. 8" x 12". Made in USA.
Average Customer Rating:
4.899 out of 5
4.9
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (79 reviews)
5 stars
72
4 stars
6
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
78 of 79(99%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Personalized Pet Slate
Review 1 for Personalized Pet Slate
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
My gorgeous boy!,
May 26, 2012
By: Heathercd2554
from Herefordshire
"The slate arrived much quicker than I expected...I had said that I would like to give it as a Father's Day present and all the stops were pulled out to ensure that was possible, so thank you to everyone at Orvis who made that possible.
Regarding the portrait...where do I start? When I first saw it, I was a little taken aback as it was painted more in "blocks" of colour, rather than with fine brush strokes to show off individual hairs,BUT it really is my beautiful boy Archie...the artist has captured both his nobility and cheekiness of character and all from a photo which was slightly out of focus!!! The more I look at it, the more I love it and I know that my husband for whom the gift is intended, will ABSOLUTELY LOVE IT!
This is a wonderful way to give a unique gift to a person you love,of a pet you adore, and at a very low price. I have pencil drawings of past dogs and they cost a lot more than this and are not as unusual as the lovely piece of slate these are painted on.
You can probably tell by now that I am quite pleased with my purchase !!!!!
I urge anyone who has thought about buying this, but not done anything about it yet, to go ahead. You will not be disappointed.
Just one down side....how do I top this when I buy my next gift?!!!
"
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Personalized Pet Slate
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Blue on Bleu,
August 1, 2015
By: OttfamLATX
"We lost our beloved dog, Bleu, to cancer on July 15th, almost three weeks ago today. It was important to us to order the personalized pet slate from Orvis before we took her in to be euthanized, so that is exactly what we did on that sad day.
The personalized pet slate arrived yesterday (July 31st). We were somewhat apprehensive to open it. Would the flood gates open again? Would we like the work? To both of these questions a resounding YES!
The talented artist, Cynthia, not only captured Bleu's soulful eyes and beautiful markings, she also captured the very fiber of Bleu's canine being: her sensitivity, her smarts, her sweetness. It's almost like Cynthia knew our dog personally.
We may never have complete closure in our hearts over our loss, but Cynthia and Orvis have given us closure in our home. Thank you from the bottom of our hearts."
Review 3 for Personalized Pet Slate
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Beautiful Keepsake!,
May 21, 2015
By: Amy54321
from Jackson, OH
"I ordered a pet slate for a friend's birthday. I was afraid I'd waited too long given the website's time of delivery. The slate came within 3 weeks of ordering and in plenty of time for the birthday. The artist did a great job - the painting looks exactly like the picture of the dog I sent with my order. Ordering is very easy and it was no problem e-mailing the picture of the dog once my order was placed. The slate was so nicely done I immediately ordered another for a Father's Day present. You will be well pleased if you choose this item!"
Review 4 for Personalized Pet Slate
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best Portrait Artist Ever,
May 6, 2015
By: Tjs5132
from Albuquerque, New Mexico
"Personalized Pet Slate capture the essence of my pets perfectly. The artist has genuine interest in the feelings of the pet owner and delivers a quality product."
Review 5 for Personalized Pet Slate
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best gift ever for dog lovers.,
April 27, 2015
By: mydogBo
from Tulsa, OK
"I recently gave a good friend of mine a couple of these slates for his birthday. Everyone at his party wanted to know where I got them because they wanted to get some made for themselves and their friends. So get ready Cynthia, I think you are going to be very busy."
Review 6 for Personalized Pet Slate
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Loving dog memorial,
April 3, 2015
By: Bill7201947
from Huntington NY
"Absolute stunning reproduction of our Moly 10 year old Goldendoodle who we lost to cancer
Our hearts were filled with awe at this exact painting of our pet
5 stars !!!
To keep a memory alive we strongly urge all pet lovers to explore this option
"
Review 7 for Personalized Pet Slate
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Beautiful and heartfelt,
February 26, 2015
By: leslieluvsdogs
from Colorado
"We love this slate. The artist captured our dog perfectly! It is a wonderful memorial and will hang in our house for years to come. Exceptional work and quality."
Review 8 for Personalized Pet Slate
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
absolutely perfect,
February 12, 2015
By: andydog
"Purchased pet slate of my daughter's two dogs for her birthday. Could not believe the perfect likeness of the pit bulls! She cried when she opened the box.Would highly recommend.....the artist is incredible!!!"
Review 9 for Personalized Pet Slate
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Disappointing,
January 16, 2015
By: TurnBackTime
from Hampshire UK
"I am writing this a the purchaser of a gift that is yet to be given not as the recipient.
Ordering was confused. I got an email asking for digital photo which I provided. I then got another one asking for hard copy. I asked what size/finish and was told it didn't matter. Got photos back with a note saying one had been scanned. Asked why the hadn't used original file as that would have been higher quality. Was just told they had what was needed.
I think end result is disappointing, likeness of dogs is not good. But final verdict will be down to my wife when she gets it.
"
Review 10 for Personalized Pet Slate
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
artwork was great,
January 5, 2015
By: kathysu
"Sent a picture of my 2 dogs and was impressed with the quality of the artwork. Was an awesome likeness of the two of them. The artist did an amazing job."
Review 11 for Personalized Pet Slate
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Awesome & Accurate,
January 5, 2015
By: dallasdakota
from Texas
"I had the first portrait completed over 2 years ago of Dallas, we then rescued Dakota, and since our slate of Dallas turned out so awesome and accurate from the photo provided, we had Dakota's done and it is also beautiful and accurate. I also has one made for my mom's lab that just passed away at 14 years, and it turned out beautiful."
Review 12 for Personalized Pet Slate
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
words can not express,
January 2, 2015
By: CINDYDODD
from Lakewood Il.
"My husband works out of state.He misses our dog.We facetime so he can see her.I ordered the pet slate so he could have it with him.The artist did an awesome job.It turned out perfect.I t looks exactly like the picture.I would recommend this to anyone that has a pet.I'm so happy I got this for him.And just between us it brought a tear to his eye."
Review 13 for Personalized Pet Slate
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best Gift Ever!,
December 25, 2014
By: KellyShaw
from NY
"The artist nailed the likely of our Berner. Absolutely beautiful portrait, would definitely purchase again. And it was quick!
if i can post a pic i will!"
Review 14 for Personalized Pet Slate
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Love my 2 springerboys,
December 15, 2014
By: BaxterandToto2
from Eden Prairie, MN
"The painting of Toto and Baxter on slate exceeded my expectations. They are beautiful......"
Review 15 for Personalized Pet Slate
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best present ever,
December 13, 2014
By: Suscow
from Woking
"I have now bought two of these and the artwork is great . The slate makes it extra special"
Review 16 for Personalized Pet Slate
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Great artist,
December 8, 2014
By: KAYAVA
from Chesapeake, VA
"The artist captured the likeness of my daughter's cat very well on the personalized pet slate.The delivery was timely. Unfortunately, the box arrived crushed and the slate was broken in half. Customer service at Orvis was sympathetic and re-ordered it to be re-done as quickly as possible."
Review 17 for Personalized Pet Slate
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Very impressed,
December 7, 2014
By: Mitch1188
"These slates are extremely well done. My gf was ecstatic when she received the 2 slates of our dogs. As with all Orvis products, buy with confidence! Now if only they'd open a store in Canada..."
Review 18 for Personalized Pet Slate
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Pet Slate Picture,
November 17, 2014
By: Tjs5132
from Albuquerque, New Mexico
"Exact image of my Golden Retriever.
Could not be more pleased.
Having another one done of my Australian Shepherd.
"
Review 19 for Personalized Pet Slate
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best Gift Ever,
November 11, 2014
By: Prancer06
from Fort Wayne, IN
"I was so excited when I received my "dog" slate. It was an excellent likeness and the artist did a great job of capturing my dog! I would recommend it to anyone wanting an extra special gift!"
Review 20 for Personalized Pet Slate
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ecstatic With Slate,
November 11, 2014
By: SetterLovers
from Lake County, Ohio
"I didn't expect the artist to have captured the essence of our setters as well as he/she has. I'm so excited that I'm not sure I can wait until Christmas to give it to my husband. It will be hung in our cabin and cherished by us both.
Thank you, Orvis, for offering this wonderful service as such a reasonable price!"