Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Personalized Pet Slate

These beautiful, custom pet portraits are hand painted on genuine slate. Simply send a photograph or electronic image, and a professional portrait artist will re-create your pet's likeness in stunning detail. Your pet's name or WELCOME can also be included. Photo will be returned. The pet portrait includes leather strap for hanging. 8" x 12". Made in USA.
Average Customer Rating:
4.946 out of 5
4.9
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (56 reviews)
5 stars
53
4 stars
3
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
56 of 56(100%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Personalized Pet Slate
Review 1 for Personalized Pet Slate
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
My gorgeous boy!,
May 26, 2012
By: Heathercd2554
from Herefordshire
"The slate arrived much quicker than I expected...I had said that I would like to give it as a Father's Day present and all the stops were pulled out to ensure that was possible, so thank you to everyone at Orvis who made that possible.
Regarding the portrait...where do I start? When I first saw it, I was a little taken aback as it was painted more in "blocks" of colour, rather than with fine brush strokes to show off individual hairs,BUT it really is my beautiful boy Archie...the artist has captured both his nobility and cheekiness of character and all from a photo which was slightly out of focus!!! The more I look at it, the more I love it and I know that my husband for whom the gift is intended, will ABSOLUTELY LOVE IT!
This is a wonderful way to give a unique gift to a person you love,of a pet you adore, and at a very low price. I have pencil drawings of past dogs and they cost a lot more than this and are not as unusual as the lovely piece of slate these are painted on.
You can probably tell by now that I am quite pleased with my purchase !!!!!
I urge anyone who has thought about buying this, but not done anything about it yet, to go ahead. You will not be disappointed.
Just one down side....how do I top this when I buy my next gift?!!!
"
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Personalized Pet Slate
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great gift idea,
September 8, 2014
By: SandraDoglover
from San Francisco Bay area
"This will be a real winner this holiday for someone on my Christmas list. Beautifully done and a special keepsake. The likeness is very professional from the photo I emailed and the quality is first-rate. It was very carefully wrapped and arrived in pristine condition. Highly recommend."
Review 3 for Personalized Pet Slate
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Amazing Gift!,
May 24, 2014
By: KathieSG
from Dallas, Texas
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
"My 26 year old son is difficult to buy for at Christmas. When I came across this gift item of painting his dog on slate, I knew it would be a hit if the quality was as good as advertised.
Well, it surpassed my expectations, and our son will tell you it is one of the best gifts he has ever received because it is of his faith best buddy he has had since he was 18 years old!
"
Review 4 for Personalized Pet Slate
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Beautiful likeness!,
April 21, 2014
By: jcook729
from Yorktown Heights, NY
"Ordered one of our Golden Retriever and it was stunning. Looked just like her. She recently passed away and we decided to have our previous Golden done as well. Also gorgeous. Each dog's unique characteristics captured beautifully."
Review 5 for Personalized Pet Slate
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best purchase ever,
April 17, 2014
By: LainieMorrison
from Niceville, FL
"I have had two of these made now, and they are amazing. The artist really captures the spirit of the pet."
Review 6 for Personalized Pet Slate
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Pet Slate,
April 15, 2014
By: mjpriley
from Plattsburgh, NY
"The artist did a beaufiful job capturing our dogs!"
Review 7 for Personalized Pet Slate
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Picture,
April 15, 2014
By: SMS1
"I really am pleased with the results of the picture. It is a great representation of both pets and turned out better than I expected."
Review 8 for Personalized Pet Slate
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Amazing painting,
December 5, 2013
By: Socwkr
from Chicago
"I expected a great product based on all of the great reviews, but if did not expect the slate to painted in an exact likeness of my Alexander.
I expected a cute cavalier sketch and instead I received a very special piece I will have forever that captures both his good looks and personality. I just love it.
"
Review 9 for Personalized Pet Slate
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Rocky,
November 25, 2013
By: hootch
from Stuart, FL
"This is the second pet slate I've bought. The likeness to the pictures
are incredible. Several neighbors have asked about ordering one for themselves. I have never been disappointed ordering from Orvis.
"
Review 10 for Personalized Pet Slate
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great painting,
November 18, 2013
By: Veric
from Baltimore, MD
"Pleasantly surprised at the artistic quality of the painting."
Review 11 for Personalized Pet Slate
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Love these!,
November 11, 2013
By: Cocaco
"I have gotten three pet portraits painted on a slate for different family members and they are just great. They are just like the pictures sent to be used. It is a great Christmas gift."
Review 12 for Personalized Pet Slate
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Gift!!,
November 7, 2013
By: thedocmom
"Love this! The artist really captured our dog. Very nice quality. I would recommend this to whomever wants to give a really special gift. PERFECT!"
Review 13 for Personalized Pet Slate
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Beautiful,
September 19, 2013
By: Abex
from New York
"I ordered the slate of our two German shepherds for my husband's Christmas present. When I received it in September, I couldn't wait to give it to him.- so it is Christmas in Sept.
The painting is beautiful and shows not only their exact likeness but personality. I couldn't be happier.
"
Review 14 for Personalized Pet Slate
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Better than Expected,
September 4, 2013
By: bmt87
from Jacksonville, FL
"The artist did a phenomenal job of capturing our dog's appearance and personality. The personalized pet slate exceeded our expectations and we have ordered another one for our other dog. Well worth the money and it arrived much quicker than expected as well."
Review 15 for Personalized Pet Slate
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Wow...breathtaking!,
August 15, 2013
By: Mimione
from NJ
"When I unwrapped the package my heart skipped a beat. The portrait has brought my baby back to life. The artist captured the light and life in her eyes. The likeness is stunning. Exceptional artistry. Thank you so much."
Review 16 for Personalized Pet Slate
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great likeness!,
August 11, 2013
By: Tania
from Livingston, Montana
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
"These slates are amazing and worth every penny. I got one of my Newfoundland mix first and was so impressed I got a second one of my Saint Bernard."
Review 17 for Personalized Pet Slate
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Beautiful Memory of My Pet,
May 26, 2013
By: CMama
from St. James, MO
"Exquisite rendition of my beautiful Abby, who passed away earlier this year. So happy to have this wonderfully crafted piece hanging in my home where I can always remember her by. Love it!!!!"
Review 18 for Personalized Pet Slate
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ty Immortalized,
May 9, 2013
By: TYANDTEDDIE
"We lost our Jack Russell Terrier, Ty, earlier this year after 15+ years. We decided to purchase this as a memorial to help our family cope with the loss and keep her memory alive. She loved to sit out in the sunshine near the pool and we had a nice picture of her in the sunshine. The artist captured her beautifully on the slate and we will be hanging it out near the poolhouse. Very nice product for those trying to keep memories of their pets."
Review 19 for Personalized Pet Slate
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Stunning!,
February 19, 2013
By: Turtledog223
from New York
"I ordered this slate for my husband. It has 2 portraits on it: our dog, Benny, and our late dog, Poochie. Since we adopted Benny after Poochie died, we never had a picture of the two of them together. Now we have them together on this slate.
I was worried that they would only resemble our dogs but they were captured beautifully. When we opened the box, my mouth fell open and my husband was in tears. It's beyond gorgeous.
"
Review 20 for Personalized Pet Slate
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Perfect Gift,
January 28, 2013
By: Misti430
"I bought this for my friend and her husband, that lost their dog a year ago. It was a gift, to remember what a wonderful member of the family he was. The photo I sent was not the best quality, but the painting was amazing! It brought tears to my eyes when I first opened it. Absolutely perfect!!!"