Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Personalized Pet Slate

These beautiful, custom pet portraits are hand painted on genuine slate. Simply send a photograph or electronic image, and a professional portrait artist will re-create your pet's likeness in stunning detail. Your pet's name or WELCOME can also be included. Photo will be returned. The pet portrait includes leather strap for hanging. 8" x 12". Made in USA.
Average Customer Rating:
4.925 out of 5
4.9
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (67 reviews)
5 stars
62
4 stars
5
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
67 of 67(100%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Personalized Pet Slate
Review 1 for Personalized Pet Slate
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
My gorgeous boy!,
May 26, 2012
By: Heathercd2554
from Herefordshire
"The slate arrived much quicker than I expected...I had said that I would like to give it as a Father's Day present and all the stops were pulled out to ensure that was possible, so thank you to everyone at Orvis who made that possible.
Regarding the portrait...where do I start? When I first saw it, I was a little taken aback as it was painted more in "blocks" of colour, rather than with fine brush strokes to show off individual hairs,BUT it really is my beautiful boy Archie...the artist has captured both his nobility and cheekiness of character and all from a photo which was slightly out of focus!!! The more I look at it, the more I love it and I know that my husband for whom the gift is intended, will ABSOLUTELY LOVE IT!
This is a wonderful way to give a unique gift to a person you love,of a pet you adore, and at a very low price. I have pencil drawings of past dogs and they cost a lot more than this and are not as unusual as the lovely piece of slate these are painted on.
You can probably tell by now that I am quite pleased with my purchase !!!!!
I urge anyone who has thought about buying this, but not done anything about it yet, to go ahead. You will not be disappointed.
Just one down side....how do I top this when I buy my next gift?!!!
"
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Personalized Pet Slate
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Love my 2 springerboys,
December 15, 2014
By: BaxterandToto2
from Eden Prairie, MN
"The painting of Toto and Baxter on slate exceeded my expectations. They are beautiful......"
Review 3 for Personalized Pet Slate
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best present ever,
December 13, 2014
By: Suscow
from Woking
"I have now bought two of these and the artwork is great . The slate makes it extra special"
Review 4 for Personalized Pet Slate
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Great artist,
December 8, 2014
By: KAYAVA
from Chesapeake, VA
"The artist captured the likeness of my daughter's cat very well on the personalized pet slate.The delivery was timely. Unfortunately, the box arrived crushed and the slate was broken in half. Customer service at Orvis was sympathetic and re-ordered it to be re-done as quickly as possible."
Review 5 for Personalized Pet Slate
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Very impressed,
December 7, 2014
By: Mitch1188
"These slates are extremely well done. My gf was ecstatic when she received the 2 slates of our dogs. As with all Orvis products, buy with confidence! Now if only they'd open a store in Canada..."
Review 6 for Personalized Pet Slate
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Pet Slate Picture,
November 17, 2014
By: Tjs5132
from Albuquerque, New Mexico
"Exact image of my Golden Retriever.
Could not be more pleased.
Having another one done of my Australian Shepherd.
"
Review 7 for Personalized Pet Slate
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best Gift Ever,
November 11, 2014
By: Prancer06
from Fort Wayne, IN
"I was so excited when I received my "dog" slate. It was an excellent likeness and the artist did a great job of capturing my dog! I would recommend it to anyone wanting an extra special gift!"
Review 8 for Personalized Pet Slate
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ecstatic With Slate,
November 11, 2014
By: SetterLovers
from Lake County, Ohio
"I didn't expect the artist to have captured the essence of our setters as well as he/she has. I'm so excited that I'm not sure I can wait until Christmas to give it to my husband. It will be hung in our cabin and cherished by us both.
Thank you, Orvis, for offering this wonderful service as such a reasonable price!"
Review 9 for Personalized Pet Slate
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Really outstanding item,
November 6, 2014
By: Cocaco
"I have purchased six of these slates in the past and present for family and friends to give as Christmas presents. I also have two of my dogs on slates. They are truly wonderful to have to honor our dogs past and present. The artwork is really exceptional."
Review 10 for Personalized Pet Slate
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Beautiful gift,
October 14, 2014
By: Suscow
from Woking
"The slate was beautifully painted and so like my dog, it was also done very quickly .
I thoroughly recommend this and will probably be getting another done for a ffriend"
Review 11 for Personalized Pet Slate
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Breathtaking Realism!!!,
October 13, 2014
By: KimV
from Polo, IL
"I ordered 2 Personalized Pet Slates for Christmas gifts. My 2 Weims have completely individual looks and personalities and each was captured beautifully on their own slate. Magnificient artistry! Would highly recommend this product to every pet lover."
Review 12 for Personalized Pet Slate
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best Picture of Best Friend,
October 3, 2014
By: Bohickett
from Southport, NC
"I was so delighted when I received the painting of Kipperic on slate from this artist. Not only did it look like her but it totally captured her sweet expression."
Review 13 for Personalized Pet Slate
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great gift idea,
September 8, 2014
By: SandraDoglover
from San Francisco Bay area
"This will be a real winner this holiday for someone on my Christmas list. Beautifully done and a special keepsake. The likeness is very professional from the photo I emailed and the quality is first-rate. It was very carefully wrapped and arrived in pristine condition. Highly recommend."
Review 14 for Personalized Pet Slate
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Amazing Gift!,
May 24, 2014
By: KathieSG
from Dallas, Texas
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
"My 26 year old son is difficult to buy for at Christmas. When I came across this gift item of painting his dog on slate, I knew it would be a hit if the quality was as good as advertised.
Well, it surpassed my expectations, and our son will tell you it is one of the best gifts he has ever received because it is of his faith best buddy he has had since he was 18 years old!
"
Review 15 for Personalized Pet Slate
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Beautiful likeness!,
April 21, 2014
By: jcook729
from Yorktown Heights, NY
"Ordered one of our Golden Retriever and it was stunning. Looked just like her. She recently passed away and we decided to have our previous Golden done as well. Also gorgeous. Each dog's unique characteristics captured beautifully."
Review 16 for Personalized Pet Slate
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best purchase ever,
April 17, 2014
By: LainieMorrison
from Niceville, FL
"I have had two of these made now, and they are amazing. The artist really captures the spirit of the pet."
Review 17 for Personalized Pet Slate
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Pet Slate,
April 15, 2014
By: mjpriley
from Plattsburgh, NY
"The artist did a beaufiful job capturing our dogs!"
Review 18 for Personalized Pet Slate
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Picture,
April 15, 2014
By: SMS1
"I really am pleased with the results of the picture. It is a great representation of both pets and turned out better than I expected."
Review 19 for Personalized Pet Slate
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Amazing painting,
December 5, 2013
By: Socwkr
from Chicago
"I expected a great product based on all of the great reviews, but if did not expect the slate to painted in an exact likeness of my Alexander.
I expected a cute cavalier sketch and instead I received a very special piece I will have forever that captures both his good looks and personality. I just love it.
"
Review 20 for Personalized Pet Slate
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Rocky,
November 25, 2013
By: hootch
from Stuart, FL
"This is the second pet slate I've bought. The likeness to the pictures
are incredible. Several neighbors have asked about ordering one for themselves. I have never been disappointed ordering from Orvis.
"