Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Personalized Pet Slate

These beautiful, custom pet portraits are hand painted on genuine slate. Simply send a photograph or electronic image, and a professional portrait artist will re-create your pet's likeness in stunning detail. Your pet's name or WELCOME can also be included. Photo will be returned. The pet portrait includes leather strap for hanging. 8" x 12". Made in USA.
Average Customer Rating:
4.942 out of 5
4.9
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (52 reviews)
5 stars
49
4 stars
3
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
52 of 52(100%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Personalized Pet Slate
Review 1 for Personalized Pet Slate
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
My gorgeous boy!,
May 26, 2012
By: Heathercd2554
from Herefordshire
"The slate arrived much quicker than I expected...I had said that I would like to give it as a Father's Day present and all the stops were pulled out to ensure that was possible, so thank you to everyone at Orvis who made that possible.
Regarding the portrait...where do I start? When I first saw it, I was a little taken aback as it was painted more in "blocks" of colour, rather than with fine brush strokes to show off individual hairs,BUT it really is my beautiful boy Archie...the artist has captured both his nobility and cheekiness of character and all from a photo which was slightly out of focus!!! The more I look at it, the more I love it and I know that my husband for whom the gift is intended, will ABSOLUTELY LOVE IT!
This is a wonderful way to give a unique gift to a person you love,of a pet you adore, and at a very low price. I have pencil drawings of past dogs and they cost a lot more than this and are not as unusual as the lovely piece of slate these are painted on.
You can probably tell by now that I am quite pleased with my purchase !!!!!
I urge anyone who has thought about buying this, but not done anything about it yet, to go ahead. You will not be disappointed.
Just one down side....how do I top this when I buy my next gift?!!!
"
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Personalized Pet Slate
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Pet Slate,
April 15, 2014
By: mjpriley
from Plattsburgh, NY
"The artist did a beaufiful job capturing our dogs!"
Review 3 for Personalized Pet Slate
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Picture,
April 15, 2014
By: SMS1
"I really am pleased with the results of the picture. It is a great representation of both pets and turned out better than I expected."
Review 4 for Personalized Pet Slate
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Amazing painting,
December 5, 2013
By: Socwkr
from Chicago
"I expected a great product based on all of the great reviews, but if did not expect the slate to painted in an exact likeness of my Alexander.
I expected a cute cavalier sketch and instead I received a very special piece I will have forever that captures both his good looks and personality. I just love it.
"
Review 5 for Personalized Pet Slate
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Rocky,
November 25, 2013
By: hootch
from Stuart, FL
"This is the second pet slate I've bought. The likeness to the pictures
are incredible. Several neighbors have asked about ordering one for themselves. I have never been disappointed ordering from Orvis.
"
Review 6 for Personalized Pet Slate
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great painting,
November 18, 2013
By: Veric
from Baltimore, MD
"Pleasantly surprised at the artistic quality of the painting."
Review 7 for Personalized Pet Slate
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Love these!,
November 11, 2013
By: Cocaco
"I have gotten three pet portraits painted on a slate for different family members and they are just great. They are just like the pictures sent to be used. It is a great Christmas gift."
Review 8 for Personalized Pet Slate
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Gift!!,
November 7, 2013
By: thedocmom
"Love this! The artist really captured our dog. Very nice quality. I would recommend this to whomever wants to give a really special gift. PERFECT!"
Review 9 for Personalized Pet Slate
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Beautiful,
September 19, 2013
By: Abex
from New York
"I ordered the slate of our two German shepherds for my husband's Christmas present. When I received it in September, I couldn't wait to give it to him.- so it is Christmas in Sept.
The painting is beautiful and shows not only their exact likeness but personality. I couldn't be happier.
"
Review 10 for Personalized Pet Slate
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Better than Expected,
September 4, 2013
By: bmt87
from Jacksonville, FL
"The artist did a phenomenal job of capturing our dog's appearance and personality. The personalized pet slate exceeded our expectations and we have ordered another one for our other dog. Well worth the money and it arrived much quicker than expected as well."
Review 11 for Personalized Pet Slate
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Wow...breathtaking!,
August 15, 2013
By: Mimione
from NJ
"When I unwrapped the package my heart skipped a beat. The portrait has brought my baby back to life. The artist captured the light and life in her eyes. The likeness is stunning. Exceptional artistry. Thank you so much."
Review 12 for Personalized Pet Slate
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great likeness!,
August 11, 2013
By: Tania
from Livingston, Montana
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
"These slates are amazing and worth every penny. I got one of my Newfoundland mix first and was so impressed I got a second one of my Saint Bernard."
Review 13 for Personalized Pet Slate
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Beautiful Memory of My Pet,
May 26, 2013
By: CMama
from St. James, MO
"Exquisite rendition of my beautiful Abby, who passed away earlier this year. So happy to have this wonderfully crafted piece hanging in my home where I can always remember her by. Love it!!!!"
Review 14 for Personalized Pet Slate
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ty Immortalized,
May 9, 2013
By: TYANDTEDDIE
"We lost our Jack Russell Terrier, Ty, earlier this year after 15+ years. We decided to purchase this as a memorial to help our family cope with the loss and keep her memory alive. She loved to sit out in the sunshine near the pool and we had a nice picture of her in the sunshine. The artist captured her beautifully on the slate and we will be hanging it out near the poolhouse. Very nice product for those trying to keep memories of their pets."
Review 15 for Personalized Pet Slate
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Stunning!,
February 19, 2013
By: Turtledog223
from New York
"I ordered this slate for my husband. It has 2 portraits on it: our dog, Benny, and our late dog, Poochie. Since we adopted Benny after Poochie died, we never had a picture of the two of them together. Now we have them together on this slate.
I was worried that they would only resemble our dogs but they were captured beautifully. When we opened the box, my mouth fell open and my husband was in tears. It's beyond gorgeous.
"
Review 16 for Personalized Pet Slate
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Perfect Gift,
January 28, 2013
By: Misti430
"I bought this for my friend and her husband, that lost their dog a year ago. It was a gift, to remember what a wonderful member of the family he was. The photo I sent was not the best quality, but the painting was amazing! It brought tears to my eyes when I first opened it. Absolutely perfect!!!"
Review 17 for Personalized Pet Slate
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Dog painting likeness,
January 26, 2013
By: Hickster
from Lake Clear, NY
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"Thought the painting of our dog was quite good however the dogs nose is jet black when her nose and most yellow labs noses are more of a brown color."
Review 18 for Personalized Pet Slate
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Beautiful Memorials,
January 15, 2013
By: TheZoo
"I ordered several custom pet portraits for three of the Malamutes from our past, from various artists. The most expensive was the most disappointing (I was told afterwards that the artist "doesn't paint from life but from spirit" - needless to say the result did not at all resemble my beloved Lakota at all but what a stranger thought she was like....), so I was a little hesitant to try again. To my (very happy) surprise, the pet portraits I received from this artist are stunning! This is what I call "capturing the spirit"! After all, I selected the photos I sent because they did clearly show the character of our dogs (no further "interpretation" needed!). All three slates are truly beautiful, and I am extremely pleased with them. Thank you!"
Review 19 for Personalized Pet Slate
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Exquisite and Precise with detail,
January 13, 2013
By: DaLynn
from Texas
"This was a Christmas gift for my father who is retired and spends a lot of time with his two dogs. The artists captured them perfectly, right down to the detail of their spots, collars and jackets. Dad has said it is one of the most meaningful presents he has received. Thank you for capturing the beauty of his dogs for him."
Review 20 for Personalized Pet Slate
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
fantastically accurate,
December 3, 2012
By: abbieg
from Greenwich, CT
"This is a fantastic head portrait of my daughter's dog- simply perfect! thank you so much - the artist captured the pooch perfectly and it was t
rushed to me in order to arrive before Christmas.
"