Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Personalised Pet Slate

These beautiful, custom pet portraits are handpainted on genuine slate. Simply send a photograph or electronic image, and a professional portrait artist will re-create your pet's likeness in stunning detail. Your pet's name or WELCOME can also be included. Photo will be returned. The pet portrait includes leather strap for hanging. 7" x 12". Allow 9 weeks for delivery. USA.
Average Customer Rating:
4.903 out of 5
4.9
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (72 reviews)
5 stars
66
4 stars
5
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
71 of 72(99%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Personalised Pet Slate
Review 1 for Personalised Pet Slate
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
My gorgeous boy!,
May 26, 2012
By: Heathercd2554
from Herefordshire
"The slate arrived much quicker than I expected...I had said that I would like to give it as a Father's Day present and all the stops were pulled out to ensure that was possible, so thank you to everyone at Orvis who made that possible.
Regarding the portrait...where do I start? When I first saw it, I was a little taken aback as it was painted more in "blocks" of colour, rather than with fine brush strokes to show off individual hairs,BUT it really is my beautiful boy Archie...the artist has captured both his nobility and cheekiness of character and all from a photo which was slightly out of focus!!! The more I look at it, the more I love it and I know that my husband for whom the gift is intended, will ABSOLUTELY LOVE IT!
This is a wonderful way to give a unique gift to a person you love,of a pet you adore, and at a very low price. I have pencil drawings of past dogs and they cost a lot more than this and are not as unusual as the lovely piece of slate these are painted on.
You can probably tell by now that I am quite pleased with my purchase !!!!!
I urge anyone who has thought about buying this, but not done anything about it yet, to go ahead. You will not be disappointed.
Just one down side....how do I top this when I buy my next gift?!!!
"
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Personalised Pet Slate
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Disappointing,
January 16, 2015
By: TurnBackTime
from Hampshire UK
"I am writing this a the purchaser of a gift that is yet to be given not as the recipient.
Ordering was confused. I got an email asking for digital photo which I provided. I then got another one asking for hard copy. I asked what size/finish and was told it didn't matter. Got photos back with a note saying one had been scanned. Asked why the hadn't used original file as that would have been higher quality. Was just told they had what was needed.
I think end result is disappointing, likeness of dogs is not good. But final verdict will be down to my wife when she gets it.
"
Review 3 for Personalised Pet Slate
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
artwork was great,
January 5, 2015
By: kathysu
"Sent a picture of my 2 dogs and was impressed with the quality of the artwork. Was an awesome likeness of the two of them. The artist did an amazing job."
Review 4 for Personalised Pet Slate
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Awesome & Accurate,
January 5, 2015
By: dallasdakota
from Texas
"I had the first portrait completed over 2 years ago of Dallas, we then rescued Dakota, and since our slate of Dallas turned out so awesome and accurate from the photo provided, we had Dakota's done and it is also beautiful and accurate. I also has one made for my mom's lab that just passed away at 14 years, and it turned out beautiful."
Review 5 for Personalised Pet Slate
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
words can not express,
January 2, 2015
By: CINDYDODD
from Lakewood Il.
"My husband works out of state.He misses our dog.We facetime so he can see her.I ordered the pet slate so he could have it with him.The artist did an awesome job.It turned out perfect.I t looks exactly like the picture.I would recommend this to anyone that has a pet.I'm so happy I got this for him.And just between us it brought a tear to his eye."
Review 6 for Personalised Pet Slate
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best Gift Ever!,
December 25, 2014
By: KellyShaw
from NY
"The artist nailed the likely of our Berner. Absolutely beautiful portrait, would definitely purchase again. And it was quick!
if i can post a pic i will!"
Review 7 for Personalised Pet Slate
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Love my 2 springerboys,
December 15, 2014
By: BaxterandToto2
from Eden Prairie, MN
"The painting of Toto and Baxter on slate exceeded my expectations. They are beautiful......"
Review 8 for Personalised Pet Slate
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best present ever,
December 13, 2014
By: Suscow
from Woking
"I have now bought two of these and the artwork is great . The slate makes it extra special"
Review 9 for Personalised Pet Slate
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Great artist,
December 8, 2014
By: KAYAVA
from Chesapeake, VA
"The artist captured the likeness of my daughter's cat very well on the personalized pet slate.The delivery was timely. Unfortunately, the box arrived crushed and the slate was broken in half. Customer service at Orvis was sympathetic and re-ordered it to be re-done as quickly as possible."
Review 10 for Personalised Pet Slate
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Very impressed,
December 7, 2014
By: Mitch1188
"These slates are extremely well done. My gf was ecstatic when she received the 2 slates of our dogs. As with all Orvis products, buy with confidence! Now if only they'd open a store in Canada..."
Review 11 for Personalised Pet Slate
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Pet Slate Picture,
November 17, 2014
By: Tjs5132
from Albuquerque, New Mexico
"Exact image of my Golden Retriever.
Could not be more pleased.
Having another one done of my Australian Shepherd.
"
Review 12 for Personalised Pet Slate
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best Gift Ever,
November 11, 2014
By: Prancer06
from Fort Wayne, IN
"I was so excited when I received my "dog" slate. It was an excellent likeness and the artist did a great job of capturing my dog! I would recommend it to anyone wanting an extra special gift!"
Review 13 for Personalised Pet Slate
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ecstatic With Slate,
November 11, 2014
By: SetterLovers
from Lake County, Ohio
"I didn't expect the artist to have captured the essence of our setters as well as he/she has. I'm so excited that I'm not sure I can wait until Christmas to give it to my husband. It will be hung in our cabin and cherished by us both.
Thank you, Orvis, for offering this wonderful service as such a reasonable price!"
Review 14 for Personalised Pet Slate
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Really outstanding item,
November 6, 2014
By: Cocaco
"I have purchased six of these slates in the past and present for family and friends to give as Christmas presents. I also have two of my dogs on slates. They are truly wonderful to have to honor our dogs past and present. The artwork is really exceptional."
Review 15 for Personalised Pet Slate
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Beautiful gift,
October 14, 2014
By: Suscow
from Woking
"The slate was beautifully painted and so like my dog, it was also done very quickly .
I thoroughly recommend this and will probably be getting another done for a ffriend"
Review 16 for Personalised Pet Slate
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Breathtaking Realism!!!,
October 13, 2014
By: KimV
from Polo, IL
"I ordered 2 Personalized Pet Slates for Christmas gifts. My 2 Weims have completely individual looks and personalities and each was captured beautifully on their own slate. Magnificient artistry! Would highly recommend this product to every pet lover."
Review 17 for Personalised Pet Slate
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best Picture of Best Friend,
October 3, 2014
By: Bohickett
from Southport, NC
"I was so delighted when I received the painting of Kipperic on slate from this artist. Not only did it look like her but it totally captured her sweet expression."
Review 18 for Personalised Pet Slate
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great gift idea,
September 8, 2014
By: SandraDoglover
from San Francisco Bay area
"This will be a real winner this holiday for someone on my Christmas list. Beautifully done and a special keepsake. The likeness is very professional from the photo I emailed and the quality is first-rate. It was very carefully wrapped and arrived in pristine condition. Highly recommend."
Review 19 for Personalised Pet Slate
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Amazing Gift!,
May 24, 2014
By: KathieSG
from Dallas, Texas
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
"My 26 year old son is difficult to buy for at Christmas. When I came across this gift item of painting his dog on slate, I knew it would be a hit if the quality was as good as advertised.
Well, it surpassed my expectations, and our son will tell you it is one of the best gifts he has ever received because it is of his faith best buddy he has had since he was 18 years old!
"
Review 20 for Personalised Pet Slate
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Beautiful likeness!,
April 21, 2014
By: jcook729
from Yorktown Heights, NY
"Ordered one of our Golden Retriever and it was stunning. Looked just like her. She recently passed away and we decided to have our previous Golden done as well. Also gorgeous. Each dog's unique characteristics captured beautifully."