Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Callahan Adjustable Lamp

Easily adjustable and cleverly designed, these steel table and floor lamps incorporate classic styling with modern appeal. The table lamp adjusts from 20" to 28" high and features a swiveling head, allowing you to position light exactly where it's needed. The floor lamp incorporates a lower swiveling reading lamp to provide light where needed, similar in design to the table lamp, as well as a torchiere, which faces upward to provide soft, indirect light. Brushed-bronze finish. Table lamp accommodates one 60-watt max. bulb; floor lamp accommodates one 60-watt max. Bulb in reading lamp; 150-watt max. in torchiere. UL listed. Imported.
Average Customer Rating:
4.185 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (27 reviews)
5 stars
15
4 stars
7
3 stars
2
2 stars
1
1 star
2
23 of 27(85%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Callahan Adjustable Lamp
Review 1 for Callahan Adjustable Lamp
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Lamp,
July 15, 2014
By: Gwen3
from SoCal
"Attractive, easy to assemble. I like the adjustable height. I wish the switch on the table lamp was on the,lamp ather than a switch in the cord. Also, use very low wattage bulbs or the light cab bee too bright. The glass shade does not soften the light as much as a fabric shade."
Review 2 for Callahan Adjustable Lamp
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
1st received couldn't be put together,
July 15, 2014
By: PagePHP
from Richmond VA
"1st received could not be put together.
2nd received could be put together.
"
Response from Orvis:By MarissaVOCJuly 25, 2014
We apologize that you were unable to assemble your first lamp, and hope that you will be pleased with the replacement for many years to come.

Here at Orvis, our goal for more than 150 years has been to provide world-class customer service and products, backed by an unconditional 100% satisfaction guarantee. Thank you for sharing your valuable feedback with us.
Review 3 for Callahan Adjustable Lamp
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Night & Day,
July 4, 2014
By: Easytolove
from Naperville, IL
"Whether on or off, this tasteful, sturdy, perfectly proportioned floor lamp suits every lighting situation and exceeds our expectations in its design, functionality and ease of use. Top quality materials and superb packing/shipping added to the pleasure of this purchase. Illustrated instructions made assembly a breeze. Once again Orvis provides excellence."
Review 4 for Callahan Adjustable Lamp
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
lamp,
June 19, 2014
By: KJMG
"IT IS THE RIGHT HEIGHT TO GIVE OFF SOFT LIGHTING FROM THE TOP LIGHT AND THE READING LIGHT IS PERFECT.
My elderly father tipped the lamp over and shattered the top globe and I can't seem to connect to the right place for a replacement any suggestions would be appreciated.
"
Review 5 for Callahan Adjustable Lamp
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quite Satisfactory,
June 16, 2014
By: Nungman
from Queens, NY
"This lamp is handsome and provides useful light. It assembles easily enough if you are careful screwing the bottom section to the base and the rings to the lamp sockets.
The only negative is a somewhat dated design which makes the torchiere less than ideal for the new, compact fluorescent bulbs of higher wattage."
Review 6 for Callahan Adjustable Lamp
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
good value,
June 2, 2014
By: snowbecker
"Lamp is very pretty and functional, especially with both heights. The torchiere was a bit taller than I expected."
Review 7 for Callahan Adjustable Lamp
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
The type of lamp I wanted,
May 30, 2014
By: MsKay
from Terre Haut, IN
"Exactly what I wanted. Although I'm 73, but work 40+ hours per week (so I'm self-sufficient) I could not get it assembled by myself. Tried more than once. My daughter and her boyfriend assembled it in about 10 - 15 minutes for me. I could not get the cord pulled thru the bottom, thus was not able to screw two of the pole pieces together."
Review 8 for Callahan Adjustable Lamp
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Disappointed in Lamp,
May 20, 2014
By: Bebe84106
from Salt Lake City, UT
"First of all, there must be a better way to package a lamp than in styrofoam that breaks and crumbles everywhere when unpacked. The lamp would have been easy to assemble if the socket ring on top was not stuck to the upper socket. The connecting threads don't hold up; they appear to have been poorly made and the metal appears cheap. There is also a slash of white paint on the lower reading lamp arm. Very difficult to get the lamp to stand up straight. This is the first time I have been disappointed in an Orvis purchase."
Review 9 for Callahan Adjustable Lamp
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Very pleasing,
May 9, 2014
By: Alurable
from Carson city, Nevada
"This item is very well done and is sturdy and gives off very good light. It looks elegant when turned on at night and gives ample light to read by. The price compares very well with other similar products."
Review 10 for Callahan Adjustable Lamp
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
lamp,
May 8, 2014
By: dogbeemer
from Holland, MI
"This lamp is as good or better than it looks in the picture. The color of the glass is soft and would work with colors in a room. The on/off switch works perfectly. In total, it is high quality."
Review 11 for Callahan Adjustable Lamp
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fabulous Lamp,
April 29, 2014
By: Cackie
from Lancaster County, PA
"I bought this to replace and existing floor lamp and this is a much better quality lamp. I love the second lower lamp so that the person can read while sitting in the chair. The shades also match our taupe walls beautifully and I never even thought of that when I purchased it!"
Review 12 for Callahan Adjustable Lamp
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
love it,
January 28, 2014
By: ny2nc
from nc
"Great lightening. Easy to put together.looks fabulous in office. only negative thing was the packing. Hard to get into, had to bust it apart and then Styrofoam went everywhere."
Review 13 for Callahan Adjustable Lamp
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Lamp for dad,
January 1, 2014
By: MMS3
from Ohio
"I bought this for my 87 year old father who is very particular and resists change. His old desk light was constantly burning out and I shop for him so I bought and changed bulbs often.
I decided this lamp would compliment the bird lamp I had purchased previously from Orvis. He liked it from the moment he saw it on his desk and told me I could have the old one for my sewing room...thanks dad!
"
Review 14 for Callahan Adjustable Lamp
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Nice lamp,
November 19, 2013
By: Ritty
from Duluth, MN
"I love the design style but I'm not that happy with the way the cord hangs loose. It makes it look unfinished. Also wished it came in black finish with white globe"
Review 15 for Callahan Adjustable Lamp
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent selection,
May 30, 2013
By: Peg45
from Kansas City, MO
"When we ordered this lamp, we were told it would be delivered in two to three weeks. It came within a week. We use it all the time and absolutely love it. It was exactly what we needed ans wanted. Very good product!"
Review 16 for Callahan Adjustable Lamp
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Very good value,
May 6, 2013
By: fenderman
from Keokuk, IA
"The lamp arrived quickly and was easy to assemble. It is attractive, better than the illustration, substantial and works well. We bought two floor models and might buy a desk version, based on this experience."
Review 17 for Callahan Adjustable Lamp
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Slim & Effective,
April 30, 2013
By: Calmtrend
from Plano, Texas
"Nice lamp! - solid structure with effective lighting and minimal assembly. Glad we chose it, we're totally satisfied!"
Review 18 for Callahan Adjustable Lamp
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great floor lamp!,
April 5, 2013
By: AudreyU
from PA.
"I had been looking for a solid floor lamp for sometime -what a find! The grandkids and dog can't knock it over.
Only difficultly was getting the correct wattage light bulb - for soft lighting. It would be even better if the tourch light bulb could be a
3 way bulb..
"
Review 19 for Callahan Adjustable Lamp
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Great lamp,
March 6, 2013
By: Rooz
from Santa Barbara, CA
"I ordered one of these lamps and then ordered two more because i like the way it lights the whole room but still has a nice task light which is a good height next to a chair, table or bed. You can choose one or both of the light to be on. The glass shades go with anything and soften and warm the light.
On the down side it is hard to screw the sectiond together straight because the material in the threaded section is soft an it is easy to strip the threads id you dont get the sections lined up perfectly straight. Then it is impossible to unscrew and try again its all locked up. Also, the decorative cover on the on off knob comes off rather quickly, its just glued on. But it actually works better with the little funtional knob underneath. Also, when you order, be sure you have specified the FLOOR lamp, not the table lamp. I had to send back two table lamps.
"
Review 20 for Callahan Adjustable Lamp
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great purchase!,
October 10, 2012
By: Carol1218
from Ferndale, MI
"Bought the floor lamp. The height works great in the window by my fireplace and sofa. Reading light is at the perfect height. It even looks great from the outside!"