Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product
This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Orvis.

Wool Duffle Coat

Made in England from plush and velvety-soft, double-faced melton wool blend, our classic duffle is traditionally styled with cozy hood, detachable throat latch, and faux-horn toggles with leather laces. Zip-front closure concealed by storm flap, front patch pockets. Bright riding-coat red with cheery red-tartan interior. Wool duffle coat for women in red. Wool/polyester/polyamide. Dry clean. Imported.Sizes: M(10-12); about 38½" long.
Average Customer Rating:
4.188 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (16 reviews)
5 stars
7
4 stars
7
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
1
14 of 16(88%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Wool Duffle Coat
Review 1 for Wool Duffle Coat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Gorgeous Coat,
August 2, 2013
By: JerseyJoyce
"Beautifully made. Just look inside. Wonderfully soft fabric with a beautiful fit. I'm going to have a very comfortable, warm winter."
Review 2 for Wool Duffle Coat
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Duffle coat - Hail Brittania!,
July 11, 2013
By: Beachie
from Jersey Shore
"Handsome coat - sleeves are long, but that may be a plus in the winter. I think I will be wearing this coat for years to come. Just enough out of the ordinary to be attractive - not too trendy, so will not be dated."
Review 3 for Wool Duffle Coat
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Little Red Riding Hood Gets Style and Flair,
July 1, 2013
By: TxRuby
from Fort Worth, TX
"The coat is an inviting shade of red and is lined in a coordinated plaid. The fabric is amazingly soft and drapes very well on the figure. These factors support the four-star rating with ease. The hood, however, does not detach and the lining may adhere to wool or other textured clothing worn beneath the coat. Those factors cost this creation one star."
Review 4 for Wool Duffle Coat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Winter warm,
July 1, 2013
By: Anonymous
"This is a heavy, wool coat that is perfect for cold weather. Look forward to wearing it then."
Review 5 for Wool Duffle Coat
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Surprisingly large,
June 28, 2013
By: TDNight
from Philadelphia, PA
"I bought this coat for my daughter, who always wanted a duffle coat with toggles. She wears a 6-8, so I ordered the small. It was big all over and the arm length was made for someone over 6 ft. tall (she is 5'4"). The quality of construction is good and the wool beautiful, so we will probably keep and have the sleeves altered."
Review 6 for Wool Duffle Coat
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Mixed Feelings,
June 26, 2013
By: Cooneygram
from Milwaukee suburbs
"I love the way this coat looks. The bright red is wonderful and I love the longer length. I normally take a Large but reviewers said it runs large so order down a size. I did just that and ordered the Medium. To avoid confusion for future buyers, I measured my size Medium and it measures 22.5" across, measured from armpit to armpit lying flat and zipped. The hip measurement was 46" (23" across and then doubled). I would re-order in Large but there are no larges left in stock. The coat is not lined. The plaid is the backside of the red - even the sleeves. Fabric is only 55% wool so pilling will be a problem. Neck opening is cut 2" below my collar bone so will need a scarf. I still love the coat though and the sale price was a fair price."
Review 7 for Wool Duffle Coat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Beautiful Classic Coat,
May 29, 2013
By: Barcus3
from Northeast Tennessee
"I love this coat!! The red is a very rich beautiful color, the details great, and it's very slimming. It does run rather large. I would have been fine with a size smaller, but the larger size doesn't look bulky in the least. The sleeves are long as someone else mentioned in reviews, but they can be rolled nicely to reveal the tartan lining. The length is perfect for me. This is a definite must for tall gals. I'm 5' 9", and I'm very pleased with the way this coat looks and feels. It's quality through and through."
Review 8 for Wool Duffle Coat
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Lovely coat,
March 21, 2013
By: mrsp
from long island, ny
"Coat looks the same as the picture in the catalogue. Order a size smaller as the coat is cut very generously. It is warm too!"
Review 9 for Wool Duffle Coat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Classic Coat,
December 30, 2012
By: CAMS
from Northeast OH
"This red toggle coat was just as classic as it is in the picture. It is warm, a true red color, well-sized for winter clothing, but not sloppy, and well made. The fabric, a key to a good piece of clothing, is of superior quality. The The toggles are easy to fasten if you choose to do that and the leather is good quality. I love this coat. All of my family members thin it looks great. It is a bit casual due to the style. The fabric is not all wool, but yet warm. However, the type of wool blend gives a blanket-type of feel to the fabric. Nice styling and well tailored. Yes, it is a bit on the pricey side, but it should look great for a long time."
Review 10 for Wool Duffle Coat
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Good looking coat,
December 28, 2012
By: BCSR
from Eastern Washington state
"Warm, fits well except the sleeves were two inches too long. I turned them up , better than being too short and not being able to do anything about it. Love the color. I would like the pockets to be a little larger and have snaps or buttons. The inside pocket needs to be big enough to put your ice cleats in. We get a Lot of snow and ice"
Review 11 for Wool Duffle Coat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Classic,
October 24, 2012
By: Platinum
from Somerset, PA
"I have had duffle coats in the past and the breeze would get in between the toggles. The zipper stops that. I may use it as a car coat but not as warm as my down for long walks in the snow with my labs. I found it exactly as advertised very satisfied"
Review 12 for Wool Duffle Coat
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Great Coat,
December 29, 2011
By: HUSKER
"A terrific coat - very well
constructed - great lining.
Product listed in catalogue should indicate the actual percentage content of the
product. I had expected a
higher wool content.
"
Review 13 for Wool Duffle Coat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
dressy and warm,
December 19, 2011
By: FlyFishingWoman
from cold mid-west USA
"Made of thick wool, this coat is very warm and flattering. The lining allows it to slip on easily. It is warm enough that I have not worn a sweater or other layer underneath. The two way zipper allows me to unzip a bit from the bottom and sit down with out a lot of bulk gathered around my middle. The hood sits nicely upon my head and blocks the wind. The toggle buttons are easy to use. I look forward to enjoying the traditional style and warmth for seasons to come."
Review 14 for Wool Duffle Coat
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Duffle coat,
November 23, 2011
By: eliz23
"hood does not fit as well as the traditional duffle coat -- maybe bigger, sticks out from head more so doesn't keep you as warm -- this is when not fastened.
Also zipper not needed and is a nuisance
Otherwise excelllent. Glad you had it as I have had great trouble with the post office when ordering one directly from England.
"
Review 15 for Wool Duffle Coat
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
strange fit,
November 11, 2011
By: Marti
from Wisconsin
"There is something strange in the fit through the chest and upper arms."
Review 16 for Wool Duffle Coat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Duffle coat,
November 2, 2011
By: hanny
"I love my new duffle coat. It's exactly what I wanted; it fits well, roomy enough for a bulky sweater if necessary and the red is gorgeous"