Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Boiled Wool Zip-Front Jacket

A unique pairing of boiled wool and conforming rib-knit wool panels makes this stylish zip front jacket a one-of-a-kind. Warm and flattering, it is lightweight enough for indoor comfort. Decorative silver-toned filigree buttons and rivets. Shaped boiled wool panels with ribbed back, sides, and sleeves. Zip-front design with small stand collar. Pure wool zip front jacket. Dry clean. Imported.Sizes: XS(4), S(6-8), M(10-12), L(14-16), XL(18-20); about 25" long.
Average Customer Rating:
4.109 out of 5
4.1
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (55 reviews)
5 stars
26
4 stars
19
3 stars
4
2 stars
2
1 star
4
46 of 55(84%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Boiled Wool Zip-Front Jacket
Review 1 for Boiled Wool Zip-Front Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Boiled Wool Zip Front Jacket,
October 27, 2012
By: ArbiterOfTaste
"This jacket will prove to be a real "go to" item in the three-season wardrobe! Subtle yet unique, its versatility will lend itself to multiple applications of wardrobe service, in every one presenting you as an arbiter of taste and style!"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Boiled Wool Zip-Front Jacket
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Nice,
April 21, 2014
By: jcw2
"I like this sweater but only the front panel is boiled wool. The sleeves, sides and back are rib knit wool-so referring to the sweater as 'boiled wool' is a bit of a misnomer, however it is comfortable. It is a little large but I intend to wear it as a jacket, so I'm keeping it. It is very cute."
Review 3 for Boiled Wool Zip-Front Jacket
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Not a good quality jacket!,
April 9, 2014
By: grannyof17
from Huntington, UT
"This was not attractive at all ! Nor did it seem to be of quality material ! It was a very light weight boiled wool, not the quality that I've gotten from Orvis! "Sleazy' comes to mind in describing this. It went back on the same day!"
Review 4 for Boiled Wool Zip-Front Jacket
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Beautiful but runs big,
March 26, 2014
By: hbremerkamp
from St. Louis, MO
"I bought this in a medium in Ash and was pleasantly surprised when it arrived. The color is a clear grey--not muddy at all--and the buttons are very pretty. The only issue I would consider to be a problem is that it runs very large, especially in the sleeves, which are very full."
Review 5 for Boiled Wool Zip-Front Jacket
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Ash = dove gray,
February 27, 2014
By: Jensa
from Lexington, KY
"I ordered the Ash thinking it's off white or cream. The website picture shows no hint of gray in it but in actuality it is light gray. Sending it back."
Review 6 for Boiled Wool Zip-Front Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Perfect jacket for work or leasure,
February 22, 2014
By: Motherof4Boys
from Richmond, VA
"Love this jacket! I am able to dress it up for the office with a scarf or wear it with jeans for a more casual look. Long lasting quality you expect from Orvis. The jacket creates a slimming appearance, Fits true to size. Will purchase soon in another color."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Boiled Wool Zip-Front Jacket
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Fabulous Fit,
February 12, 2014
By: TxRuby
from Fort Worth, TX
"The ribbed knit panels gracefully hug your contours while the smoother boiled knit front lends a neat, smooth line. As an XS customer I cherish the garments that drape well on my shape and also are longer in length. This jacket has it all. The color navy, however, is a very black tone and hence cost it a star as I would have preferred a classic navy color. The fit was so great, though, that I have proceeded to order it in berry. As yet, I have not received Jacket #2 to view the actual color but will probably keep it as fit is the most important element in purchase. Thank you, Orvis, for another terrific jacket."
Review 8 for Boiled Wool Zip-Front Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Satisfaction!,
February 10, 2014
By: Shore4sure
"I wore the jacket the day after I received it and liked it so much I wore it again the next day! I love the color and especially how warm it is. It has been really cold in TN and I found I had very little wool in my wardrobe. The boiled wool jacket was just what I needed. I would love to have the navy one as well."
Review 9 for Boiled Wool Zip-Front Jacket
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Very nice jacket,
February 10, 2014
By: cisse
from St. Louis, MO
"I liked the jacket very much, but it was too large. I returned it to exchange the size extra-large for a large but unfortunately it was no longer available. I was disappointed
that I could not get the jacket.
"
Review 10 for Boiled Wool Zip-Front Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Comfortable Classic Look,
January 27, 2014
By: Sarahrose1
from Modesto, CA
"Warm and Easy to wear -- well made traditional styling. This sweater is just as pictured and even more. Perfect fit including the arm length. I am very very happy with this purchase!"
Review 11 for Boiled Wool Zip-Front Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Perfect Finish,
January 15, 2014
By: Guyslady
from Ninety Six, SC
"This jacket is exactly what I wanted. It has great style and the texture of the two fabrics, boiled wool and knit, create a look that works with both skirts and slacks. The biggest question is which color."
Review 12 for Boiled Wool Zip-Front Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
a beautiful jacket,
January 13, 2014
By: jillmackenzie
from gettysburg, pa
"this is a very lovely, fashionable jacket. I ordered ash, and would order another, but I bit pricey. keep looking for it to go on sale."
Review 13 for Boiled Wool Zip-Front Jacket
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Very Stylish:Very Warm,
December 24, 2013
By: OrangesLemons
from Cape Cod MA
"This jacket is an ideal way to warm up without looking bundled up. It is smart and stylish. The sizing is roomy, so I'd say go a size down...that always feels good! The navy is rich and the wool good quality."
Review 14 for Boiled Wool Zip-Front Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Warm Comfy Classic,
December 7, 2013
By: WiWi
"This mid-weight sweater-jacket has a classic look and soft, comfortable feel. The zip front with two rows of small buttons give it a finished and professional look. The knit sleeves and side panels are much softer than I anticipated. The length - below the hips - makes it an ideal 'coat' in all but extreme cold weather. I'm loving wearing it!"
Review 15 for Boiled Wool Zip-Front Jacket
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Great find,
December 6, 2013
By: coker
from Ottumwa, Iowa
"Love the boiled wool sweater jacket. I ordered a small in navy and it fits fine. I am normally a size 6 and it fits perfectly. This is a nice style you can dress up or down. I am a teacher so it works well for my job."
Review 16 for Boiled Wool Zip-Front Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Hint of Austria,
December 5, 2013
By: BeadHead222
from Atlanta, GA
"Instantly attracted to this good looking style of a boiled wool sweater.Comfortable even under a short sleeve shirt .No itch. Might change buttons for a fancier Austrian style. The zip front blends nicely with the design."
Review 17 for Boiled Wool Zip-Front Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great purchase,
November 4, 2013
By: 1224
"Perfect fit and so good looking !!!
very comfortable and the color is perfect !!! I will get a lot of use out of this jacket !!!
"
Review 18 for Boiled Wool Zip-Front Jacket
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
great sweater-jacket,
October 22, 2013
By: Yvetta
from Easter Shore, VA.
"I love the color and warmth of this zip-front sweater. I am a size 14 and found the Large size was almost to big. I wouldn't trade it to medium. It can be worn as a jacket."
Review 19 for Boiled Wool Zip-Front Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Classic look,lots of comfort,
October 16, 2013
By: Nanilee
from Orchard Park, NY
"This boiled wool jacket has immediately become a favorite that I reach for in my closet when I want to look polished and still be cozy and comfortable. It looks fabulous with jeans or dressed up with a skirt or slacks. I am thinking of ordering the other two colors(red and cream) to round out my wardrobe."
Review 20 for Boiled Wool Zip-Front Jacket
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Good purchase,
March 11, 2013
By: Dinky
from Shropshire UK
"This is a really nice cardigan/jacket. I bought the ash colour because I didn't want yet another navy cardigan, although I thought it may possibly be a little bit insipid.However it is a gorgeous silver grey colour and just what I was looking for. It is very smart and could be worn with a skirt or trousers. I'm very pleased. The only problem for me is that it is slightly large and,as others have commented, the sleeves are quite long."