Orvis Ratings and Reviews

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Orvis.

Faux-Shearling Car Coat

With the plush look and feel of genuine shearling, our warm and cosy polyester-shearling car coat has a clean, elegant design. Defined by darker faux-suede trim along the point collar, button-front placket, cuff edges, and welt pockets. Faux-leather knot buttons. Fully lined. Faux shearling winter coat in camel. Shell: 100% polyester faux suede. Lining: 100% acrylic. Washable. Sizes: XS, S, M, L, XL; about 33" long.
Average Customer Rating:
3.205 out of 5
3.2
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (39 reviews)
5 stars
11
4 stars
9
3 stars
5
2 stars
5
1 star
9
21 of 39(54%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Faux-Shearling Car Coat
Review 1 for Faux-Shearling Car Coat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Very Good Purchase for the Great Price.,
February 24, 2014
By: Judts
from White Bear Lake, MN
"I am very satisfield with the quality of the beautiful Faux Shearling Car Coat. I might have been able to get the Large but if I have layers on under it, it will be more comfortable. I will be wearing it tomorrow. As we are in another cold spell here in Our Beautiful Snowy State of Minnesota."
Review 2 for Faux-Shearling Car Coat
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Works for Me,
February 24, 2014
By: vonhotal
from NJ
"Very pleased with this coat. Agree with other reviewers that it is not a heavy winter coat suitable for people living in very cold areas but it will be nice for cool Fall and Spring days. Well made, nice style."
Review 3 for Faux-Shearling Car Coat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
First Impressions,
February 18, 2014
By: KellyO
from Wisconsin
"Upon opening the box the coat was a wrinkled mess and I thought I would have to send it back or have it cleaned to ever wear it! Fortunately and thankfully, I smoothed it out and hung it up and the next day it was ready to wear! I love the look, the feel and the length - it is perfect for the cool to chilly days, it is not suited for severe weather. The coat has a classy look that will never go out of style."
Review 4 for Faux-Shearling Car Coat
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Very disappointing,
February 3, 2014
By: convivia
from State College, PA
"Had I read reviews of this coat before ordering, I might have reconsidered. As it is, the fit wasn't right, and the fabric lining did not keep me warm. I would like say it would have worked for spring, however it was out of style. Ironically, since I'm 72, the look of it is too fuddy tuddy."
Review 5 for Faux-Shearling Car Coat
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Coat,
January 15, 2014
By: Littlejeff35
from Arvada, Co.
"My son Ron bought me this coat for Christmas. It is very beautiful but the first time I wore it it wrinkled badly so don't know if I can wear it. I am disappointed because the coat is so pretty.
Thanks, Glàdys
"
Review 6 for Faux-Shearling Car Coat
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Disappointed,
November 13, 2013
By: betmason
from Roanoke,VA
"The coat arrived I was so excited. I tried it on and I found it to be tight in the arms and the shoulders. I even let someone else in the office try it on. She complained of the same thing. Thinner that I thought it would be. The workmanship was not very good quality for the cost. So...it's going back."
Review 7 for Faux-Shearling Car Coat
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Poor Quality,
November 7, 2013
By: Pinkles
"This coat arrived with a dirty look to it and it also smelled funny. I was told I could return it to a local Orvis store which I did and was an ordeal. The sales people could not figure out how to give me back what I paid for this coat and my refund was shorted by $ 5.00 and I was so frustrated with how long this was taking I just settled for the refund being $ 5.00 short. Not at all happy with the product or the service. Not sure if I would ever shop at Orvis again."
Review 8 for Faux-Shearling Car Coat
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
good looking coat,
October 17, 2013
By: coatgirl
"this is very attractive and the fit
is perfect. am a little disappointed as I expected it to be a little heavier, warmer weight.
"
Review 9 for Faux-Shearling Car Coat
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Disappointing quality,
February 27, 2013
By: Nellie11
from Alvechurch
"This item was reduced but at the reduced price I still feel the quality is not value for money. The coat lacks "body" and the fit not good."
Review 10 for Faux-Shearling Car Coat
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
only if you like to sew buttons.,
February 21, 2013
By: megc
from Merrimack, NH
"My dad sent me this last fall as a gift. It looked great until the buttons all started to fall off and two of them were lost before Christmas. Now I have to find matching buttons and get them sewn on before the weather warms up."
Review 11 for Faux-Shearling Car Coat
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Tacky Jacky,
January 30, 2013
By: missel
from Hernando, Mississippi
"I was so disgusted with the quality of this jacket! I could't believe that it wasn't even lined!!!! One's buys a "winter" jacket to keep warm. How on earth could an unlined jacket keep you warm? The idea is to have "some" layers inside the coat to keep one insulated from the cold. The quality of the jacket was pitiful, even the buttons were barely sewn on and hanging loose when I received the jacket. My evaluation---poor quality and poor workmanship. To top it all the inside "shearling" side of the coat shed white balls onto my black sweater when I tried it on. This coat and its material are a disaster!!!!"
Review 12 for Faux-Shearling Car Coat
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
faux shearling car coat,
January 11, 2013
By: whydoihavetohaveone
"I bought one for each of my two daughters and they really like them. The cut is nice and the fabric is very light weight so they drape nicely. They run big so I had to return for extra small."
Review 13 for Faux-Shearling Car Coat
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Grat Jacket,
December 29, 2012
By: Kido
from Springfield, IL
"I like this Jacket. Perfect length, warm and cozy very comfortable. Great for an in between jacket in the Mid West."
Review 14 for Faux-Shearling Car Coat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
jacket faux shearling,
December 29, 2012
By: scooteradnil
from Memphis Tn
"I saw the jacket in the catalog and liked what I saw, ordered it, and it came quickly. I have worn it several times already to find it warm, and comfortable. I like it very much"
Review 15 for Faux-Shearling Car Coat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great fit!,
December 28, 2012
By: stylegirl
from Iowa
"The coat fits the way a coat should, with no excessive material to hide the style. It's warm and very wearable. I like it!"
Review 16 for Faux-Shearling Car Coat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Perfect car coat,
December 28, 2012
By: BobLC
from SCOTTSVILLE, NY
"This coat is warm and comfortable, not bulky or heavy. It is the amazing fleece lining which adds so much warmth while not adding bulk.
A classic example of elegant simplicity.
"
Review 17 for Faux-Shearling Car Coat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality items and excellent service,
December 25, 2012
By: memato4
from Oxford, Al
"I have made several online purchases for this Christmas season. I have gotten excellent services and delivery. Would recommend Orvis for everyone thats wants quality products."
Review 18 for Faux-Shearling Car Coat
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Not what was expected,
December 23, 2012
By: clrjr
from Boston, MA
"The sizing was larger than normal.
The "faux shearling" might have been described more accurately as "faux sheared shearling car coat" in that the "shearling" was much thinner than a true shearling coat.
"
Review 19 for Faux-Shearling Car Coat
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Not good quality,
December 22, 2012
By: Robbiesmom1234
from Louisiana
"Not worth $149! Not what I expected. Returned coat"
Review 20 for Faux-Shearling Car Coat
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Long sleeves,
December 14, 2012
By: Boiseid
from Boise, Idaho
"I usually have trouble buying coats because I have very long arms. But this coat really surprised me - I even had to have the sleeves shortened. I like the coat otherwise."