Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product
This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Orvis.

Herringbone Shirts

A unique herringbone weave with a touch of bright colour makes these shirts the perfect casual shirts to set off jeans and a fall jacket. The blue has a touch of purple and the brown/olive a splash of red. The shirts are finished with mock-suede elbow patches and piping inside the collar. Two-button adjustable cuff, centre box pleat, and locker loop. Casual spread collar. Herringbone shirts in blue. 100% Cotton. Washable.Sizes: M(38-40).
Average Customer Rating:
4.482 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (27 reviews)
5 stars
17
4 stars
7
3 stars
2
2 stars
1
1 star
0
24 of 27(89%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Herringbone Shirts
Review 1 for Herringbone Shirts
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Shirt,
March 4, 2013
By: Gadfly
from Houston
"I really liked this shirt Soft Fabric. Washed well, did not shrink, but I also did not dry in dryer"
Review 2 for Herringbone Shirts
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Wonderful Shirt,
February 5, 2013
By: Spanky2
"I originally purchased the blue one, loved it. Had to pick up the other color. Very nice and very comfortable."
Review 3 for Herringbone Shirts
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Very nice, but huge fit,
January 29, 2013
By: cda40
from Rochester, NY
"I was very excited to get this shirt. It's nicely made and just overall beautiful. But, the fit is huge! I ordered a large. I'm 6'3'' and about 200 lbs, and this shirt was both too long and far too big around the waist.
I gave it 4 stars just because the size is so strange. In terms of quality, though, this shirt is 5 stars all the way."
Review 4 for Herringbone Shirts
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
nice shirt overall,
January 22, 2013
By: ostrich
from michigan
"this shirt is as described. the fit is accurate and the fabric is quite thin and soft.
the elbow pads make the look, but the colors pictured are a bit different.
[i got both colors]the blue is brighter, and the red more muted.
overall, i am satisfied with the product, but i don't expect these to last beyond a few years due to the thin indian-made fabric.
"
Review 5 for Herringbone Shirts
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Softest Shirt Ever,
January 21, 2013
By: Bing17
from Texas
"Great feeling shirt ! It needs two buttons on the sleeve but other than that ...I wish I had more in different colors."
Review 6 for Herringbone Shirts
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Great Shirt,
January 17, 2013
By: Diverbob
from Olympia, WA.
"Soft, very comfortable. Sized a bit big. Glad I didn't order a large."
Review 7 for Herringbone Shirts
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Nice weight and washes well,
January 17, 2013
By: Dromos
from Brooklyn, NY
"This shirt is a good weight on its own, or as a light overshirt. It washes and dries without wrinkles, which is a big plus for casual wear."
Review 8 for Herringbone Shirts
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Nice Shirt,
January 17, 2013
By: toflyanytime
from GA
"One of my favorite shirts for cooler weather. Well made and comfortable. I bought one at regular price and a second in a different color at the sale price. Liked the sale price best!"
Review 9 for Herringbone Shirts
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quite good shirt,
January 14, 2013
By: Repps
from St. Louis
"This is a terrific shirt. Very nicely made. My single complaint is that it fits large. Usually an XL is just right. This one of a bit too big."
Review 10 for Herringbone Shirts
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Better than Expected,
December 31, 2012
By: therudder
from Dallas, TX
"My first ever order/product from Orvis and I my expectations were surpassed.
First, the ordering process was about as simple and intuitive as it can get and life would be better if all online transactions followed the Orvis model. After I purchased the shirt, I received regular tracking updates and it actually arrived before x-mas even though I ordered just a couple of days prior. I was delighted.
I ordered an XXL which was a tad larger than I expected but after one wash, it was the perfect fit. Soft yet rugged material means no need for an undershirt and it doesn’t itch one bit.
Besides feeling great, I have never received more compliments from strangers on a piece of clothing than I have/am with this shirt. One lady stopped me in the middle of the mall and asked me where I got my shirt so she could get it for her husband. I proudly told her Orvis!
Thanks,
A new, regular customer."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Herringbone Shirts
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Herringbone Shirts,
December 29, 2012
By: WMoo
"Incredibly soft, very vibrant color, a great weave to this material, the shirt is exactly as described by Orvis. I enjoy wearing it a great deal and it generates positive comments whenever worn. Orvis has always been one of my favorite brands of casual clothing, and my recent purchases have been nothing short of spectacular. Orvis has been on point with each and every item I've acquired lately - on a value basis the products are simply off the charts!"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Herringbone Shirts
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Classy Shirt,
December 28, 2012
By: imcarrie1
from Maumee, OH.
"I bought this beautiful Herringbone Shirt for my husband as a Christmas gift. He wore it on Christmas day, and he Loves it and so did our family and friends! You can't go wrong buying this shirt for your man, ladies...if you want your husband smartly dressed. The detail and leather on elbow makes for a great look... Casual and dressy combined...Class all the way!"
Review 13 for Herringbone Shirts
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
A real Man's Shirt,
December 28, 2012
By: Spiffy
from Anderson SC
"This is a good looking, versatile shirt. It can be dressed up or down and looks great either way."
Review 14 for Herringbone Shirts
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Quality Good But Over Priced,
December 28, 2012
By: MBW1
"Color on web deceiving. In reality it looks like a X-Mas ornament. Quality good, but over priced. At most this is a $50 shirt. I returned it. The experience cost me $6.95, but it was an easy return."
Review 15 for Herringbone Shirts
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
color is off,
December 4, 2012
By: tucsonted
from tucson, AZ
"The shirt is really green olive NOT brown olive as shown and described. Returned because I have enough Xmas shirts."
Review 16 for Herringbone Shirts
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best Buy!,
December 2, 2012
By: TrentRiver
from coastal N. Carolina
"For $90, I expected a nice, functional shirt: something to fill a gap in my wardrobe (in my case, too grande a term). But the herringbone is Very nice, an immediate hit that's become a favorite in short order.
The fabric actually feels like a light flannel, which makes it work in many conditions - with or without a sweater. The fit is perfect and the appearance bordors on elegant. (I bought the red plaid; my wife likes this since she complains too many of my shirts are "boring." Like me, probably.)
The details are impressive, despite a few lose threads, in the usual spots, before I clipped them off. That's the difference between a $90 and a $140 shirt. I'll clip quite a bit to save $50! The elbow patches seem actually to be useful (in time), rather than just a frill to justify a higher price.
In sum, this shirt was more than I expected. I'm very satisfied and may eventually order another: the blue this time."
Review 17 for Herringbone Shirts
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fantastic,
November 1, 2012
By: NewGuyLA
from LA, CA
"This is a great shirt - soft and comfortable, really nice looking. High quality fabric. Love it. The blue is a richer color than pictured, and looks great."
Review 18 for Herringbone Shirts
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
softer than flannel,
September 25, 2012
By: snakeoyl
from kalamazoo, mi
"i didn't expect a twill shirt to be so soft. the fit and quality were excellent. i'm very pleased with this purchase."
Review 19 for Herringbone Shirts
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Beautiful!,
September 7, 2012
By: Snibbo
"This shirt is warm but not too heavy and the material is soft to the touch. A lovely wear that looks striking when matched with jeans and a waistcoat.
A lumberjack look combined with the country feel is what I love about wearing it!
"
Review 20 for Herringbone Shirts
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
finally available,
February 7, 2012
By: olderthandirt
from west branch michigan
"nice shirt, great colors, nice and roomy for layering. Wear it with my brown corduroy sport coat and colors blend well. Made the mistake of not ordering it right away, and it became unavailable in ex. lg. Kept showing up in the catlg, but not in ex.lg. Finally got one. Nice soft material. Wish it was thicker, I'm 77 need all the help I can get!!"