Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Asheville, North Carolina 2-Day Fly Fishing School

The Orvis North Carolina Fly Fishing School is held in Asheville on the exquisite 8,000-acre Biltmore Estate. The Biltmore is located near some of the best fly fishing in the Southeast including the Davidson River, one of the Trout Unlimited Top 100 Trout Streams in America. While learning to fly fish with our expert instructors, students can combine the great fishing of Western North Carolina with its breathtaking scenery. The school covers everything from fly casting, choosing the right tackle, leaders and knots, to fly selection, and how to safely release fish.
Average Customer Rating:
5 out of 5
5
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (10 reviews)
5 stars
10
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
10 of 10(100%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Asheville, North Carolina 2-Day Fly Fishing School
Review 1 for Asheville, North Carolina 2-Day Fly Fishing School
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excited,
May 15, 2013
By: GVILLE
"The class provided a basis for fly fishing that was more than expected. Dustin's enthusiasm for fly fishing and all the intricate details was contagious . Very much looking forward to getting my own gear and getting out on a river."
Review 2 for Asheville, North Carolina 2-Day Fly Fishing School
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
New to Fly Fishing,
November 6, 2012
By: SCFisherman
from Asheville, NC
"Before taking the 2 day class, I had never fly fished but had always wanted to. Justin and the rest of the instructors were very professional yet engaging. They did not make me feel awkward and were very patient. I learned enough to go out the day after the course ended and caught my first rainbow trout on a wooly booger fly given to me by an instructor. I just ordered a new Orvis fly rod and can't wait to go again. I would definitely recommend this course to anyone who wants to fly fish but doesn't know where to start. Wish I would have done it sooner. I will be going back for a guided trip."
Review 3 for Asheville, North Carolina 2-Day Fly Fishing School
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Exactly What I Needed!,
September 12, 2012
By: Jaco
from Chilhowie, VA
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"Prior to taking the school I had been a self taught fly fisherman for 12 years. Even after learning a lot from family and friends there were still a few gaps in my fly fishing knowledge. This school was exactly what I needed to give me the all around knowledge to take my fishing to the next level! I learned more in two days than I have in the 12 years. The setting at the Biltmore property including the lunch was absolutely first class. The instructors were great and practical. At first glance the class may appear expensive but I can say its a great investment and I would recommend it to anyone just getting into the sport or anyone just needing more confidence on the water."
Review 4 for Asheville, North Carolina 2-Day Fly Fishing School
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Most fun I've had learning in a long time-,
July 19, 2012
By: luv2fish
from Raleigh, NC
"My husband and I attended the 7/7-8/2012 class and had a blast! Not only did we learn how to correct our bad casting habits, but really learned a lot during the entire class. The entomology section was really informative to me as I've been struggling with this. The instructors and guides were professional and personal. They catered to every person's skill level. I would recommend this to all that love (or want to love) the sport of fly fishing. It's a lot of fun and very educational. Thanks for a great week-end!"
Review 5 for Asheville, North Carolina 2-Day Fly Fishing School
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fly Fishing School,
July 9, 2012
By: wdmalm
from Ashville ,NC
"Attended the class on 7-7 and 7-8 2012. The instruction was exceptional and the attention from the staff was without a doubt professional. The total experience was enlightening and gave real meaning to the sport of fly fishing I recommend it to anyone who wants to get started in this sport."
Review 6 for Asheville, North Carolina 2-Day Fly Fishing School
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
wonderful experience,
May 7, 2012
By: oldfisherman
from Columbia SC
"I just completed the 2 day flyfishing course at Biltmore. It was one of the best things I have ever done for myself. I have been flyfishing for 40 years but have never gotten good at it. These guys taught me so much that will make my fishing much more enjoyable. I enjoyed every minute of the school. The instructors were awesome.They were awesome at diagnosing and teaching me how to correct my casting mistakes. I am so much better after only 2 days. They are true professionals."
Review 7 for Asheville, North Carolina 2-Day Fly Fishing School
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Greatest week with my Daughter,
April 2, 2012
By: Minidriver
from Wheaton, IL
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"My 13 year old daughter and myself just completed the 2 day class with Chris and Dustin last week. I have been looking forward to going to an Orvis school all winter and the opportunity came to bring my daughter. She had springbreak and the Ashville school was close and available that week. She was very excited about the school as well. Chris and Dustin were knowledgeable, approachable and overall great, great teacher. My daughter was single hauling by the end of the first day and double hauling by the end of the second. They helped me understand how to really use the rod so I could cast and shoot line, tie knots and have a good intro to entemology. We then went into the Great Smoky Mtn Nat park to apply what we learned and caught 7 wild trout. I could put the fly anywhere I wanted. In between branches, 10, 20 or 30 feet away, hitting the exact spot I wanted. It was a week I will never forget, and I don't think my daughter will forget it either. It all started by going to a real fly fishing school with real fly fishing experts. Chris and Dustin, Thanks!"
Review 8 for Asheville, North Carolina 2-Day Fly Fishing School
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
What a Great Experience!,
September 25, 2011
By: Terrel
"In a word.... Awesome! Chris and his team of experts are outstanding fishermen and excellent teachers. I went to the school as a true novice and in 2 days, they were able to impart a tremendous amount of fly fishing knowledge to me and give me the confidence to go out fishing on my own. All the instructors were very friendly, patient and easy going and just great people to get to know. The beautiful grounds of the Biltmore Estate were real plusses as well! I recommend this course to anyone who wants to learn the fine points of the sport in a short time and move on to more important things - like catching fish!"
Review 9 for Asheville, North Carolina 2-Day Fly Fishing School
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Team, Great Location!,
September 3, 2011
By: GreenDrakeNC
"I've been a frustrated, self-taught, female, fly-fisher for a few years. Though I've had the benefit of several guided trips, this class was just what I needed to help me with my casting, knot tying and entomology.
The instructors exhibit a passion for fly-fishing and willingly share their excitement and skills with the class. They are patient and professional with the varying skill levels demonstrated by class participants and make it a comfortable experience for everyone. Our student / teacher ratio was ideal so we had the benefit of one-on-one time with each instructor during our "field and stream" exercises.
Chris, John and Dustin made the class enjoyable and very productive. I can't wait to get on the river later this month and use all the new skills and catch some fish!
The classroom, presentations and lunch were all well above the standard and very classy -- it was a fabulous meal each day, not a bag lunch!
The Biltmore location along the French Broad River is extraordinary! Everything you need is there -- accomodations, dining, spa, etc., and all top-tier! I only wish I had the time to tour the estate before returning home. Do yourself a favor and extend your stay to enjoy all that The Biltomore offers. I look forward to returning again...there's always more to learn!"
Review 10 for Asheville, North Carolina 2-Day Fly Fishing School
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great School,
September 1, 2011
By: daggumbait
"This is a great place to go. The staff are awesome and the grounds of the Bitmore are amazing ."