Orvis Ratings and Reviews

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Orvis.

Fisherman's Spotlight

Our LED fishing light offers hands-free illumination for low-light conditions. Bright white 35-lumen LED spotlight fits in the palm of your hand and attaches to clothing or pack with steel belt clip. Magnetic base for use on metal surfaces. LED fishing light features a tough aluminum body; glow-in-dark power switch; water-resistant; light is visible from 80 yards. Gives eight hours of continuous light. Runs on one AA battery (included).
Average Customer Rating:
3.733 out of 5
3.7
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (15 reviews)
5 stars
5
4 stars
7
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
3
12 of 15(80%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Fisherman's Spotlight
Review 1 for Fisherman's Spotlight
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Product!,
November 29, 2011
By: MountainFlyGuy
from Seattle, WA
"This is my first product review, but I was compelled to write it after I received the Fisherman's Spotlight and used it for a bit. The quality was above my expectations, and I can safely say that I am 100% satisfied with this product. The flashlight is very tough, and its single LED is powerful enough to walk around at night. One thing that isn’t obvious from the description is that the LED is behind what looks to be a small lens to “broaden” the beam (which makes it more effective at lighting a wider area then a standard LED flashlight). The magnet is powerful enough to hold the light to a metal surface (e.g. hood of a car while running line in my rod), and also does a good job at holding flies in a pinch! This will become a part of my fishing vest for those times that I stay on the river a bit too late in the summer...
Thank you Orvis for carrying this unique flashlight, and I hope that my review helps others in their decision-making. I also want to take this opportunity to thank you for Tom’s Fly Fishing podcast; I am a regular listener and thoroughly enjoy the podcast!"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Fisherman's Spotlight
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Fishermens spotlight,
January 17, 2013
By: GSPTAXY
"I am kind of a flashlight junkie.I know that sounds kinda weird but I ams what I ams. I saw this little guy and thought it would be perfect for those low light situations on stream.It really is good. the clip is great so you don't have to hold it in your mouth while tying knots or fly's onto your tippet and the little guy is bright.The beam is more suited for close in work, I carry another light in my pack for walking out in the dark."
Review 3 for Fisherman's Spotlight
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Different,
January 16, 2013
By: Vibrato
from Newark, DE
"New & better way for light when fly fishing & working on changing small things."
Review 4 for Fisherman's Spotlight
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Disappointed,
January 12, 2013
By: rlb52
from Austin, TX
"Spotlight worked for about one minute then shorted out when bumped on the table. Returned to Orvis for refund."
Review 5 for Fisherman's Spotlight
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Fishermans fingertip spot light,
January 1, 2013
By: fbljr
from Union, ME
"Small durable light with bright led light with a battery which seems to last forever. Overall very good product."
Review 6 for Fisherman's Spotlight
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Bright Light,
December 15, 2012
By: cherry5
from Great Falls, MT
"Well made and easy to use. The bright light can be pinned in a place for threading a fly in low light. It is on my vest."
Review 7 for Fisherman's Spotlight
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Stay away,
November 26, 2012
By: UncleSam
from Upstate Vermont
"The first light I received the lens was broken. Orvis was great and did a fast exchange. The second one the light did not work. Orvis took it back. It would be a great light if it worked but I am not willing to give it another try."
Review 8 for Fisherman's Spotlight
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Well Constructed Spotlight,
October 23, 2012
By: BioMan
from Concord,Ohio
"The Fisherman's spotlight is a well built, extremely bright flashlight for use on the water. It appears to be made of good looking metal with a good heft to it. It is a very bright light for such a small size. The clip could be a bit stronger (the reason for 4 stars.) I do not know how long the batteries last as yet, it is easily worth the price so far."
Review 9 for Fisherman's Spotlight
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Nice light,
October 4, 2012
By: HHCustom
from VA
"Bright, lite, well built...battery was 'DOA', but AA are easy to find."
Review 10 for Fisherman's Spotlight
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Essential equipment,
September 28, 2012
By: Santafecino
from Santa Fe, NM
"The little spotlight fills a real need--light to tie on a fly or untangle a leader, when twilight hits the stream. It looks sturdy, although there doesn't seem to be any way to change a bulb. The clip is strong, but most fishermen know that one needs to tape or pin something to make sure it isn't lost.
Big problem with Orvis's service: Mine arrived non-working, and I've sent it back. Orvis's information said that they had arranged for easy returns, only they would deduct $6.95 from my refund for shipping. That's fine if I've just changed my mind--but when Orvis sends a defective product, they should pay for shipping the bad one back and a new one out."
Review 11 for Fisherman's Spotlight
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Terrific Small Light...,
September 24, 2012
By: chucks
from Indy
"Even if you don't fish, this light is handy. I am up at night and this light helps me get around."
Review 12 for Fisherman's Spotlight
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
perfect Light for fishing in low light conditions,
September 19, 2012
By: Marktwodogs
from Chesterfield, MO
"Love my new light, it fits right, right size, right amount of light to accommodate low light situations."
Review 13 for Fisherman's Spotlight
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fisherman's Fingertip Spot-Light,
May 3, 2012
By: Johnnybegood
from Somerset, KY
"Mine came with a dead battery, but I'll still give it 5 stars! I've never seen a light quite like this one. Very handy! The light beam has an even field of light all the way across, with no hot spots. from a foot away, you have an even 12-14 inch-perfect circle-of light. And at a distance of 2 feet away, there is an evenly dispersed circle of light about 30 inches across. Built like a little tank-I dropped mine first thing, with no damage. The LED bulb is shockproof (obviously), and rated for 100,00+ hours of bulb life, and the one AA battery is very common and easy to find at any gas or grocery to replace, and is rated for 8 hours of continuous burn time. A great light to attach to your shirt pocket or clothing for working at arms length, but powerful enough to find your way back to your vehicle after dark from your favorite fishing hole! Buy more than one, because your buddy is going to want one too!"
Review 14 for Fisherman's Spotlight
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Poor quality,
January 20, 2012
By: dafox
from Lander, Wyoming
"Nice idea, but like a previous reviewer, mine arrived with a dead battery. The pocket clip was also loose and would not tighten. A new battery and some super glue sort of solved the problems. Now the on/off switch only works intermittently, often staying "on" when the light is not shinning! I've been through several batteries and believe this is the cause. I can usually make it work if I turn it on and the hold the switch down lightly. Since it is the deepest of winter here in Wyoming I have only been using it as a light to get up at night and not wake my wife. It works "OK" for that, but I doubt if I will ever take out on a stream. In forty years of using many Orvis products, this is the worst quality I have ever seen. Buy a headlamp and forget this thing."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Fisherman's Spotlight
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Very useful light,
December 26, 2011
By: WA7DJZ
"I purchased several of these for Christmas gifts and on Christmas day we lost power. The light was very useful in working on the generator in the dark. The size and light output are great. The magnetic base is very handy.
I did have a couple of problems, 1) that out of the dozen or so we purchaed, 3-4 of them came without the lens. The light still works but it appears the plastic lens came out somplace. The packaging is such that if the lens fell out it would not stay in the packaging, and 2) the batteries were dead. It appears that maybe they got turned on by accident and the batteries were run down."