Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Submariner's Sunglasses

These US-crafted sunglasses are standard-issue protection for the US Navy's submariners. Lightweight polycarbonate lenses feature a versatile green tint; machine milled for strength and precise fit, the frames are engineered to closely follow your head's contours without unnecessary pressure. Nonslip silicone nose pads. USA.
Average Customer Rating:
4.588 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (17 reviews)
5 stars
14
4 stars
1
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
1
16 of 17(94%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Submariner's Sunglasses
Review 1 for Submariner's Sunglasses
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Exceptional sunglasses,
October 7, 2012
By: danielb
from Hickory, North Carolina
"The Submariner's sunglasses manufactured by Randolph Engineering for Orvis incorporate all of the advantages of most products manufactured in the US. Having worn these glasses now for the past few weeks, I have found them to be better than most of those many glasses that I have purchased over the past fifty years including many well know quality brands."
Review 2 for Submariner's Sunglasses
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Style on Land,
March 5, 2014
By: anthony15
from Wildwood, NJ
"Theses glasses were desinnes for submarine sailors. I hope they had the sense to wear them on shore leave......"
Review 3 for Submariner's Sunglasses
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great product,
February 28, 2013
By: Coussaie
from San Diego, Ca
"I wanted to sunglasses that are made in the US and these are great.
They are stylish and well made.
Love them
"
Review 4 for Submariner's Sunglasses
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent,
February 25, 2013
By: EastBayGrease
from Berkeley, CA
"The Submariners Sunglasses are an excellent product. They arrived with all the additions you'd hope for (repair kit and microfiber cloth) and they are most comfortable. They look completely different and as sunglasses for the eyes are terrific. I'll probably buy another pair soon just to have them when(if!) the first pair wear out."
Review 5 for Submariner's Sunglasses
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
perfect timming for summer,
January 15, 2013
By: gusbus
from australia sydney
"recieved these sunglasses perfect timming for summer in australia. great quality and very happy"
Review 6 for Submariner's Sunglasses
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Submariners Sunglasses,
January 13, 2013
By: caimi
from beneath the waves
"Very well made, a quality product. I think I can expect them to last many years and withstand the rigors of living on a submarine for extended periods."
Review 7 for Submariner's Sunglasses
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Sun Glasses,
January 4, 2013
By: Bassilieo
from Los Angles, CA
"Fits extremely well. very stylist. One of my best buys this year!"
Review 8 for Submariner's Sunglasses
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
December 12, 2012
By: HMDNGR
from Utah
"These glasses seem to be very well made. The fit is solid and comfortable, and the structural details are clean and well-thought out. I plan to replace the dark lenses with my own, clear prescription lenses. I anticipate using this frame-set for years to come."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Submariner's Sunglasses
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Too Bad,
December 8, 2012
By: socoma
from New England
"Great glasses, well-made, solid and attractive. However, too big for my face. Boo. Should make two sizes."
Review 10 for Submariner's Sunglasses
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Glasses for life,
November 19, 2012
By: CorComm
from Toronto
"I've been looking for a pair of gold wire-frames with cable ear-pieces for years - they don't make 'em any more. These were perfect, and built like fine jewelry. I've swapped out the lenses for prescription, and, as they're guaranteed for life, I won't be buying another pair of glasses"
Review 11 for Submariner's Sunglasses
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Only Cable Temples Around,
October 29, 2012
By: Legalloud
"These worked out well with my prescription. Now I have some glasses that won't fall off without those funky cords around my neck."
Review 12 for Submariner's Sunglasses
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
October 17, 2012
By: jaguar96
"Very quality, and satisfied with service and product."
Review 13 for Submariner's Sunglasses
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Be careful when ordering!,
September 12, 2012
By: Suvvy
from Iola, WI
"The glasses are of great quality in construction. They are unfortunatley very small, both in width on the face and in the reach of the temples to the ears.
As a person with a large head they did not fit- and were returned."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Submariner's Sunglasses
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Style,
August 14, 2012
By: Dobro
"I like the way they fit and the way they look. I have been looking for a pair of round frame sunglasses and finally I found them."
Review 15 for Submariner's Sunglasses
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best purchase ever,
August 7, 2012
By: Katsman
from Montreal, Qc
"wonderfull submariner's sunglass. Very good product, well designed, fair eprice. good vintage looking."
Review 16 for Submariner's Sunglasses
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent Glasses,
September 6, 2011
By: Krusty
from SF Bay Area
"I received them promptly even though they were on backorder. Excellent workmanship and clairity."
Review 17 for Submariner's Sunglasses
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
WZ Glasses,
August 15, 2011
By: Spooty
from St. Louis, MO
"So, I dunno about what submariners wear but I have been looking for a frame shaped like this for several years, reminiscent of the style of the eyeglasses worn by the late singer/songwriter, Warren Zevon.
The frames are well constructed by Randall Engineering; they appear to be strong and of optical quality construction. The cable-wire earpieces are comfortable and keep the frame in place. The nosepieces are comfortable and well adjusted.
The product comes with a hard clam-shell case and includes a repair kit with extra parts.
I'm pleased with my purchase; just can't decide whether to use as sunglasses or re-lens as eyeglasses."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.