Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Nail Knotter Tool

The best nail knot tool for fly fishing we've found. Compact 3½" nail knot tyer tool attaches to a zinger for instant access. The Nail Knotter Tool is easy to use, with line groove and thumb detent to keep ends stable and in place when tying the knot. Fly-fishing tool is made from lightweight green anodized aluminum. Made in USA.
Average Customer Rating:
4.588 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (17 reviews)
5 stars
13
4 stars
2
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 star
0
16 of 17(94%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Nail Knotter Tool
Review 1 for Nail Knotter Tool
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Nail Knotter Tool,
February 18, 2014
By: Anonymous
from Up State NY
"I use a Nail knot tool more offend then most anglers. I this is hands down the best one I have ever used.. I like is so I will buy another one just to have as a back up...."
Review 2 for Nail Knotter Tool
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best Nail Knot Tool!,
December 4, 2013
By: Remmmm
from Houston, TX
"The Orvis Nail Knotter Tool is a snap to use, easy on the fingers and makes a flawless knot! I keep one in my vest and one with my spool winder."
Review 3 for Nail Knotter Tool
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
a superb handy tool,
December 4, 2013
By: nathadam
from belfast
"I had tried different ways of tying the nail knot,watched videos and still found it difficult.
I then ordered the nail knotter tool what a difference I was able to tie the knot in seconds.It feels great in your hands and is very easy to use.
This is one tool i would not be without
"
Review 4 for Nail Knotter Tool
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Works great,
July 24, 2013
By: AC111
from Northern NH
"This little tool works great. The first time I used this it took a few tries to get it right but once I did, it works as advertised. My only complaint is that the instructions could be clearer. That's probably why it took a few tries; that and I was in a rocking boat. If not for the vague instructions, I would have given it 5 stars."
Review 5 for Nail Knotter Tool
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Handy tool,
July 23, 2013
By: Lagoon
from Space Coast, FL
"This little gem works great.
The instructions could have been printed larger and clearer. I just scanned them and enlarged them.
"
Review 6 for Nail Knotter Tool
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best knot tool there is,
January 10, 2013
By: ChefFish
from Colorado
"I use nail knots on everything now because of this. And this one is quiet on your vest too."
Review 7 for Nail Knotter Tool
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
A simple product made even better,
October 24, 2012
By: Marmot1
from Las Vegas, NV
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"This is the best nail knot tool I've ever used. The super-smooth green anodized finish makes it easier to pull the leader wraps off and keeps them from getting out of place while tightening the knot. Creates correct, good looking nail knots with integrity and less frustration, virtually eliminating tangling of the knot structure."
Review 8 for Nail Knotter Tool
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent Product,
October 21, 2012
By: scruffbag
"I would recommend this tool with confidence.
I have always struggled to tie nail knots neatly and quickly - not any more.
Perfect knots every time achieved with ease.
"
Review 9 for Nail Knotter Tool
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great tool,
October 2, 2012
By: AlHa
from Falmouth, Maine
"It does what it says and does it well.
If you hate making nail knots this is the tool for you.
"
Review 10 for Nail Knotter Tool
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
...just a little bigger,
August 14, 2012
By: mikefromsf
from San Francisco, CA
"I ordered this and my first impression was... its so small. Sure enough, using it-- yes it was helpful-- but it was added burden to work with line and hook(all ready)-- but to work with a devise that was just as small. They were not saving on weight or space in my vest by making it that thin--- sure it beats a finger--against a nail?"
Review 11 for Nail Knotter Tool
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
June 4, 2012
By: Rebeltrout1
from Selkirk, ny
"This tool is extremely useful for nail knots, it ties them fast and easy, and it feels solid in my hand"
Review 12 for Nail Knotter Tool
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
nice product,
April 5, 2012
By: rodnreel53
from preston lancashire
"just bought fly tackle to catch carp. so know nothing about fly fishing. bought this to tie the nail knot because it looked classier than all the rest. it does the job ties the knot great. all i have to do now is put the rod and line to the test this summer. product looks and feels great and i would recommend this and the supplier to anyone wanting this product."
Review 13 for Nail Knotter Tool
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I really liked this tool.,
February 13, 2012
By: flyboy54401
from WAUSAU, WI
"I learned to tie nail knots the old fashioned way....with a nail. This really makes the knots easier with fewer knots falling apart or getting piled up to the extent that I have to redo the whole thing. Much easier than a nail!"
Review 14 for Nail Knotter Tool
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Flatter is better,
January 29, 2012
By: Redbarn
from Hollis, ME
"I own one of these tools. It is a very elegant, and nicely machined bit of aluminum. I chose it because it was much more pleasing than the sheet metal alternatives stamped in a flattish U-shaped pattern.
Admittedly I had not considered the utility of the flat sides when I made my purchase. Save yourself bunches of sliding tippet and or backing etc. Buy an ugly nail knot tool with the flat stamped sides, you will thank yourself.
This does look cool floating in with your fishing tools; kind of a macho knitting needle of an apparatus just not so useful."
Review 15 for Nail Knotter Tool
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Good Purchase,
January 27, 2012
By: Jayhawker
from Kansas
"I’m 67yrs.old with poor eye sight and fingers that don’t work so well anymore, I struggle at tying a nail knot. I purchase this little tool and it made tying one a breeze. Well worth the price. This tool is a must have in your tackle accessories."
Review 16 for Nail Knotter Tool
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Orvis Nail Knotter,
December 9, 2011
By: Skyraider50
from Naples, Florida
"While I have the knowledge more or less to tie the few knots that I really need to get the job done, I am all thumbs. This is a quality tool that should last forever and most importantly.......gives a Great Nail Knot! quick...easy
So light and compact, I don't even know its there.
Thumbs up!
"
Ratings-Only Reviews for Nail Knotter Tool
Based on 1 ratings-only review
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Would recommend? Yes 1 out of 1