Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Eye Tie® Fly Threader

Change your fly often and be more productive with this hook threader tool. Now the issue of threading a tiny fly in low-light conditions is solved. The Eye Tie has three magnetic slots to handle the most popular size flies. Insert the eye and slide the tippet down the funnel. You're done and back in the game. Comes with a split ring to attach to zinger or D-ring. Made in USA.3 hook slots fit sizes: 4,6,8 - 10,12,14 - 16,18,20,22.
Average Customer Rating:
4.528 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (89 reviews)
5 stars
72
4 stars
6
3 stars
2
2 stars
4
1 star
5
79 of 89(89%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Eye Tie® Fly Threader
Review 1 for Eye Tie® Fly Threader
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Stick with the wire threaders,
April 17, 2014
By: Birdz
"Product doesn't work all that well. wire threaders are better."
Review 2 for Eye Tie® Fly Threader
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
April 9, 2014
By: Iead
from Conn
"I have a hard time seeing so this product helps me with threading my hooks"
Review 3 for Eye Tie® Fly Threader
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I'm getting too old to see,
March 24, 2014
By: DoubleD7413
from SC
"This eye threader is the best money I've spent. Being 50 and fighting with tippet is a struggle but this product keeps me from cussing"
Review 4 for Eye Tie® Fly Threader
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great gift for the fisherman!,
February 17, 2014
By: SpiceOfLife
from White River Junction
"I bought this gift for my husband for Valentine's day. He had never seen it before being so new, but has tried it out already (in the house) and is super excited about it. He said it is going to be even more helpful with cold/wet fingers in the river trying to re-tie his flies."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Eye Tie® Fly Threader
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Threading Race Winner,
January 27, 2014
By: FishRacer
from Missoula, Montana
"Received the tool as a gift and have practiced a few times before the fishing season starts out west. My eyesight is poor, but my finger dexterity is about the same. The magnetic pull to hold the small flies in place is amazing. The tool firmly holds the flies which I often have trouble handling due to the small sizes that often stick to my fingers when I am fumbling to thread. Tool is everything advertised and the threading of size #22 flies is simple once again! Look forward to this upcoming fishing season."
Review 6 for Eye Tie® Fly Threader
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Not sure how this would help,
January 25, 2014
By: wortly
"The slots to put the eye in are pretty small, so I am not totally sure how this would make it easier to thread the eye.
It is a good quality product, but as far as being a visual aid to help folks thread flys, I don't think this is any good."
Review 7 for Eye Tie® Fly Threader
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Cool!,
September 24, 2013
By: TZCooper
from Georgia
"Really handy and useful - works easily and makes tying fast!"
Review 8 for Eye Tie® Fly Threader
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
An ingenious gadget,
August 17, 2013
By: Norfisher
from Norway, Europe
"As age increases ( I am not 50 yet) my vision is not like it was just 5 years ago, and this gadget really makes it easy to thread even small flies without using glasses. It is also a nice aid at low light conditions. If you are over 40 years, get one. If you are under 40, get one too!"
Review 9 for Eye Tie® Fly Threader
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Must Have,
August 6, 2013
By: Spugh
from Wildwood, MO
"Easy to use, takes up zero space, perfect for those size 20 and smaller! The cost and value make this a no-brainer."
Review 10 for Eye Tie® Fly Threader
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Great for Grandpa,
July 8, 2013
By: LTMF
from Georgia
"I struggle enough reading water, matching the hatch and setting my line. ANYTHING that helps this blind old man re-rig quickly really helps. I spend more time fishing Nd less time swearing! Great product"
Review 11 for Eye Tie® Fly Threader
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
great for tiny flies and nymphs,
June 24, 2013
By: UpperDamfoole
from Rangeley, Maine
"This product works as advertised, makes tying a different fly on much quicker when the hatch is happening but not what's on the end of your line and the sun's going down. Also helps with new flys that have the eye obscured."
Review 12 for Eye Tie® Fly Threader
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Tool,
May 31, 2013
By: jdwilliams
"Normally, with small flies, I have to use a threader box. This tool does everything the threaders do, and for me, is easier. First off, it's a hard body. The typical threaders often bend when I'm trying to thread the fly into them. This tool also has a slot and magnet, so the fly really locks into place. In addition, the slot has a funnel, so the tippet is naturally guided to the fly eye. You can use the tool for sizes 4-22 with three different sized slots to choose from. This is not bad for one tool vs several different size flimsy threaders. And the best part is the amount of space it saved me. Instead of carrying a threader box, I threw this small little tool in my pack."
Review 13 for Eye Tie® Fly Threader
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Helpful tool,
May 15, 2013
By: Neanderthal
from Puyallup, WA
"What an awesome tool for those of us who don't see like we did when we were 20."
Review 14 for Eye Tie® Fly Threader
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Easy to use,
April 16, 2013
By: Inkblotdoc
from South Carolina
"For those older guys and gals with a need for close up lenses this is a perfect tool. Snaps to vest and easy to manage"
Review 15 for Eye Tie® Fly Threader
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
brilliant,
February 9, 2013
By: mike26668
from scotland
"I love this item, Its great and does exactly as it says."
Review 16 for Eye Tie® Fly Threader
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Handy gadget,
January 2, 2013
By: RAMBOS
from COLFAX WV
"VERY WELL THOUGHT OUT ANDVERY WELL MADE. HANDY TOHAVE WITH YOUON THE STREAM ; REALY WHEN THE LIGHTIS GETING LOW ; MAKES LIFE A LOT BETTER."
Review 17 for Eye Tie® Fly Threader
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Old Eyes,
December 28, 2012
By: WVTrout
from Buckhannon, WV
"The older I get the shorter my arms get, this is a great little tool for those small flies. It works really great and holds on to the fly no worries about dropping them. I recommend it for everyone."
Review 18 for Eye Tie® Fly Threader
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
50th birthday gift,
December 28, 2012
By: onlyflyfish4vr
from West Michigan
"What a great product for those with aging eyes. Really realized the need for a little more help to add to the bifocals this past summer with the 22-28 tricos, and midges. Easy and simple to use !!!"
Review 19 for Eye Tie® Fly Threader
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Good idea,
December 10, 2012
By: Lighiche
from Nelson, NH
"Hate to admit it, but my 52 year old eyes just don't see the size 20 midges well any more, much less the eye of the hook through which I'm trying to thread a tippett finer than a hair. And I already wear trifocals. This tool takes an annoying and time consuming disability and makes it a no brainer. It's become part of my kit, as vital as nippers. And I like the blue."
Review 20 for Eye Tie® Fly Threader
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Works like a charm!,
October 18, 2012
By: DevonTX
from Dallas, TX
"I'm doing everything I can to avoid wearing reading glasses, and this little tool will hopefully allow me to go without the lens while on the water. It works very well. I just wish it was not quite so long, but that is a very minor complaint."