Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Eye Tie® Fly Threader

Change your fly often and be more productive with this hook threader tool. Now the issue of threading a tiny fly in low-light conditions is solved. The Eye Tie has three magnetic slots to handle the most popular size flies. Insert the eye and slide the tippet down the funnel. You're done and back in the game. Comes with a split ring to attach to zinger or D-ring. Made in USA.3 hook slots fit sizes: 4,6,8 - 10,12,14 - 16,18,20,22.
Average Customer Rating:
4.547 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (95 reviews)
5 stars
77
4 stars
7
3 stars
2
2 stars
4
1 star
5
85 of 95(89%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Eye Tie® Fly Threader
Review 1 for Eye Tie® Fly Threader
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fly Threader,
July 14, 2014
By: Captain2
from Rockford, MI
"This handy device facilitates my tying flies to tippets and can be used at home as well as on site."
Review 2 for Eye Tie® Fly Threader
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Neat Gadget,
July 11, 2014
By: reeltah
from meredith nh
"Really works well at dusk. Saved my night into dark slamming brookies on a late hatch."
Review 3 for Eye Tie® Fly Threader
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Makes life easier,
June 24, 2014
By: Josh54
from Colorado Rockies
"This is a pretty handy devise. Just place the eyelet in position and push the line through. Pretty nice for us old guys."
Review 4 for Eye Tie® Fly Threader
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fly Threader Automatic,
June 6, 2014
By: rivercaptain
from Evergreen, CO
"This truly simplifies that simple step that can be so challenging at times. I carry far too many tools, but this one will remain..."
Review 5 for Eye Tie® Fly Threader
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Seeing Eye" fish,
May 6, 2014
By: TerryG
from Midwest
"With magnets at the three spots, threading a fly while standing in knee deep running water is easy! No longer a rigid, delicate surgical procedure performed under adverse conditions. Good for all fishing, and even in a calm boat on a windless day."
Review 6 for Eye Tie® Fly Threader
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Stick with the wire threaders,
April 17, 2014
By: Birdz
"Product doesn't work all that well. wire threaders are better."
Review 7 for Eye Tie® Fly Threader
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
April 9, 2014
By: Iead
from Conn
"I have a hard time seeing so this product helps me with threading my hooks"
Review 8 for Eye Tie® Fly Threader
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I'm getting too old to see,
March 24, 2014
By: DoubleD7413
from SC
"This eye threader is the best money I've spent. Being 50 and fighting with tippet is a struggle but this product keeps me from cussing"
Review 9 for Eye Tie® Fly Threader
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great gift for the fisherman!,
February 17, 2014
By: SpiceOfLife
from White River Junction
"I bought this gift for my husband for Valentine's day. He had never seen it before being so new, but has tried it out already (in the house) and is super excited about it. He said it is going to be even more helpful with cold/wet fingers in the river trying to re-tie his flies."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Eye Tie® Fly Threader
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Threading Race Winner,
January 27, 2014
By: FishRacer
from Missoula, Montana
"Received the tool as a gift and have practiced a few times before the fishing season starts out west. My eyesight is poor, but my finger dexterity is about the same. The magnetic pull to hold the small flies in place is amazing. The tool firmly holds the flies which I often have trouble handling due to the small sizes that often stick to my fingers when I am fumbling to thread. Tool is everything advertised and the threading of size #22 flies is simple once again! Look forward to this upcoming fishing season."
Review 11 for Eye Tie® Fly Threader
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Not sure how this would help,
January 25, 2014
By: wortly
"The slots to put the eye in are pretty small, so I am not totally sure how this would make it easier to thread the eye.
It is a good quality product, but as far as being a visual aid to help folks thread flys, I don't think this is any good."
Review 12 for Eye Tie® Fly Threader
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Cool!,
September 24, 2013
By: TZCooper
from Georgia
"Really handy and useful - works easily and makes tying fast!"
Review 13 for Eye Tie® Fly Threader
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
An ingenious gadget,
August 17, 2013
By: Norfisher
from Norway, Europe
"As age increases ( I am not 50 yet) my vision is not like it was just 5 years ago, and this gadget really makes it easy to thread even small flies without using glasses. It is also a nice aid at low light conditions. If you are over 40 years, get one. If you are under 40, get one too!"
Review 14 for Eye Tie® Fly Threader
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Must Have,
August 6, 2013
By: Spugh
from Wildwood, MO
"Easy to use, takes up zero space, perfect for those size 20 and smaller! The cost and value make this a no-brainer."
Review 15 for Eye Tie® Fly Threader
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Great for Grandpa,
July 8, 2013
By: LTMF
from Georgia
"I struggle enough reading water, matching the hatch and setting my line. ANYTHING that helps this blind old man re-rig quickly really helps. I spend more time fishing Nd less time swearing! Great product"
Review 16 for Eye Tie® Fly Threader
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
great for tiny flies and nymphs,
June 24, 2013
By: UpperDamfoole
from Rangeley, Maine
"This product works as advertised, makes tying a different fly on much quicker when the hatch is happening but not what's on the end of your line and the sun's going down. Also helps with new flys that have the eye obscured."
Review 17 for Eye Tie® Fly Threader
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Tool,
May 31, 2013
By: jdwilliams
"Normally, with small flies, I have to use a threader box. This tool does everything the threaders do, and for me, is easier. First off, it's a hard body. The typical threaders often bend when I'm trying to thread the fly into them. This tool also has a slot and magnet, so the fly really locks into place. In addition, the slot has a funnel, so the tippet is naturally guided to the fly eye. You can use the tool for sizes 4-22 with three different sized slots to choose from. This is not bad for one tool vs several different size flimsy threaders. And the best part is the amount of space it saved me. Instead of carrying a threader box, I threw this small little tool in my pack."
Review 18 for Eye Tie® Fly Threader
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Helpful tool,
May 15, 2013
By: Neanderthal
from Puyallup, WA
"What an awesome tool for those of us who don't see like we did when we were 20."
Review 19 for Eye Tie® Fly Threader
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Easy to use,
April 16, 2013
By: Inkblotdoc
from South Carolina
"For those older guys and gals with a need for close up lenses this is a perfect tool. Snaps to vest and easy to manage"
Review 20 for Eye Tie® Fly Threader
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
brilliant,
February 9, 2013
By: mike26668
from scotland
"I love this item, Its great and does exactly as it says."