Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Gear Keeper Super Zinger

Maximum strength super zinger with 50-lb. breaking strength Spectra cord with 3' reach. Excellent for heavier gadgets or big forceps. Threaded stud attachment keeps it secure through webbing straps or fabric. Quick connect and disconnect for tools.The Orvis heavy duty retractor is saltwater resistant. 1 7/16" x 1¼". Weight: 17.6 grams. Made in USA.
Average Customer Rating:
4.6 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (15 reviews)
5 stars
12
4 stars
2
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
1
14 of 15(93%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Gear Keeper Super Zinger
Review 1 for Gear Keeper Super Zinger
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
weak retraction,
January 17, 2014
By: Arizonan
from Tucson, AZ
"Orvis should tell customers what the retraction strength is. I had to send Super Zinger back because it would not retract a 9 oz. object"
Review 2 for Gear Keeper Super Zinger
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Good stuff,
January 8, 2014
By: Dirtyl24
from Livingston mt
"Works great for forceps . Good length . Keeps close to pack when not in use."
Review 3 for Gear Keeper Super Zinger
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Solves my problem,
January 3, 2014
By: Stvnsc
from Greenville SC
"I should have invested in one of these long ago. I no longer lose and so have to buy forceps. It's worth the cost and performs superbly."
Review 4 for Gear Keeper Super Zinger
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Well Made,
August 13, 2013
By: Banker3900
from Sylvania, Ohio
"Sturdy and well done. The extra length is a real plus."
Review 5 for Gear Keeper Super Zinger
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Zingers give quick access,
January 1, 2013
By: Steve1980
"It helps to have tools handy while fly fishing. Orvis Zingers have held up well and are very reliable."
Review 6 for Gear Keeper Super Zinger
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
finally,
December 30, 2012
By: cpflyguy
from Bend oregon
"Finally a zinger that is tough, does not break at the pin on site and oyu can remove your tool, nipper whatever when you need it. Very durable and above all functional.
Thanks Orvis
"
Review 7 for Gear Keeper Super Zinger
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Only one you need,
November 27, 2012
By: Bassin132
from Pittsburgh pa.
"This is the best zinger I have ever owned!!! I own three of these and never had know problems."
Review 8 for Gear Keeper Super Zinger
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Super Zinger,
October 5, 2012
By: Anonymous
from western New York State
"I love the way this super zinger stays on my jacket. The 36" reach is just what i need for removing hooks with forceps. Excellent product and well worth the price."
Review 9 for Gear Keeper Super Zinger
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
July 20, 2012
By: bummy
from Howard,PA
"Ilike the strength of the Zinger and also the ability to detach the tool you are using"
Review 10 for Gear Keeper Super Zinger
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
great zinger,
June 27, 2012
By: rudyd
from missouri
"really like this zinger-the screw in mounting will insure it does not fall off and cord is strong and the perfect length
thank you orvis for another quality product
"
Review 11 for Gear Keeper Super Zinger
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
So far , so good!!,
May 11, 2012
By: lespaul
from CT
"I bought this for my forceps. The magnetic holder failed and i lost two pairs. I went with this and so far I really like it. 3' of cord is more than enough. The screw-in holder is very secure and finally I have what I need. Good job orvis!!"
Review 12 for Gear Keeper Super Zinger
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
High-End Super Strong Zinger,
May 6, 2012
By: Michael1
from Germany
"This is a very sturdy zinger for larger tools like forceps with scissors etc. I use it attached to the inside of the front pocket of my ORVIS Sling Pack for a heavier snipper tool and a ceramic hook sharpener. I hope the rear screw-in-connection will be stable and as the other reviewer stated it is a little bit tricky to penetrate the fabric with it. I widened a little hole that I punched with a needle additionally with a toothpick. That worked well.
This zinger is apart from others as it is very well made in the USA. That is how it should always be.
"
Review 13 for Gear Keeper Super Zinger
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Product,
February 13, 2012
By: Troutbill
from Marion, NC
"I like the size, the way it attaches to my pack and ease
of use.
"
Review 14 for Gear Keeper Super Zinger
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Good 'heavy duty' zinger,
September 27, 2011
By: phdezra
from New York, NY
"I have several 'basic' zingers for nippers and whatnot, but this zinger is 'heavy duty' considering the screw-in style backing. But that is also why I took off one star--it is like a permanent fixture once you attach it to your vest or whatever. That is usually OK (I dont know many fishermen who constantly move zingers around), btu it can be a bit hard to get into a hole at first.
Nevertheless, it's a top notch reinforced zinger line that works superbly for holding a large pair of forceps or similar."
Ratings-Only Reviews for Gear Keeper Super Zinger
Based on 1 ratings-only review
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Would recommend? Yes 1 out of 1