Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Black Diamond Z-pole Wading Staff

Three-section Z-Pole wading staff with FlickLock adjustability. Three key components: an inner cord, a push-button release to collapse the staff, and one-pull deployment. Foam grips with mini extension for quick choke-ups. Wading staff features rubber and carbide tip for traction. Aluminum construction, neoprene sheath, and attached retractor. Length 47" adjustable to 55". Weighs 1 lb.
Average Customer Rating:
3.778 out of 5
3.8
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (27 reviews)
5 stars
15
4 stars
4
3 stars
0
2 stars
3
1 star
5
19 of 27(70%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Black Diamond Z-pole Wading Staff
Review 1 for Black Diamond Z-pole Wading Staff
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
A necessary accessory,
October 7, 2014
By: BucksFan
from Eastern Pennsylvania
"I'm past the age where you really need something to keep you steady and as I spend more time fishing the very rocky Delaware River I can't do it without a walking stick. I just used this pole for several hours yesterday and it worked beautifully. Had a little trouble figuring out the adjustments at the top section but got it locked in place after looking at the directions again. Hangs nicely at the hip. Would definitely recommend."
Review 2 for Black Diamond Z-pole Wading Staff
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Easy once you know,
February 19, 2014
By: quiddity
from Damascus, PA
"I had to look up the mfg directions to figure this one out but once I did I love it. Incredibly easy to use and so far takes a beating with no problems... I especially like that it can be totally adjusted for fit and even easily for different river conditions."
Review 3 for Black Diamond Z-pole Wading Staff
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Not worth the money if it doesn't work,
January 27, 2014
By: jjensen
from Honey Brook, PA
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"Have to admit to loving this wading staff in pretty much every way until it stopped working after about 15 days of fishing. Honestly don't know what caused the problem. Probably a one off kind of thing, but out of the blue I couldn't separate one of the sections to collapse the whole staff. Nothing out of the usual happened to the staff while fishing. It wasn't bent or dinged or hurt in any way that I either remembered or could see after the fact. Couldn't separate the sections, even with two strong guys pulling on each end. Tried and tried to lubricate and pull, pull and lubricate again and again. Almost gave up and let the staff just sit for months and tried one last time by submerging the whole staff in WD-40 for a day. Finally separated the sections. Only thing I could see wrong was that one of the connecting rubberized links (see attached photo) had deteriorated and cracked. Not sure if that caused the sections to stick, but considering how little use it had and how expensive it was I'd never buy one again. Wend with a new Simms model. Great staff concept, but not worth anything unless you get years of service out of it."
Review 4 for Black Diamond Z-pole Wading Staff
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Product design,
January 24, 2014
By: TSGill
from CO & FL
"Great product for several months. Did what it was intended to do. Then, bingo, it froze and there is no way I can pull the sections apart. So you are stuck with a long straight pole. Not like Orvis, the BEST in quality and design."
Response from Orvis:By Orvis Customer ServiceJanuary 29, 2014
Thank you for your feedback regarding this product. Ideally, poles should be stored in the collapsed position, as this allows them to fully dry. In this particular model, it is possible the nylon tighteners will absorb moisture and swell, making them difficult to separate. Black Diamond is moving to a new material for this piece that will eliminate the issue, and will readily warranty any poles currently experiencing this issue. Again, we appreciate your feedback. As always, we offer a 100% satisfaction guarantee on all our products.
Review 5 for Black Diamond Z-pole Wading Staff
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Black Diamond Wading Staff - YES!,
January 7, 2014
By: JillsArtStudio
from Pasadena, CA.
"I was looking for a lighter yet stronger wading staff as a replacement for my Folstaff wading stick. Black Diamond is first class Hi-Tech equipment used for mountain climbing and trekking. I am purchasing a 2nd one to double as a hiking staff.
Note to Orvis - it may be a good idea to provide better product instructions. I visited the BD website for all the details that Orvis product packaging did not. Just a thought."
Review 6 for Black Diamond Z-pole Wading Staff
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
works well for me,
September 19, 2013
By: steelcase
from Kings Mountain, NC
"I purchased this item @ six months ago and have used it several times a week since. The staff has functioned flawlessly and i have relied on it in Green River which is consistently high flows and dangerous to wade w/o a staff. Hard and frequent use and no issues yet. The carbide tip is the one i use and it sticks to anything."
Review 7 for Black Diamond Z-pole Wading Staff
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Love it,
September 15, 2013
By: 101Fisher
from Worcester, MA
"I've read the other reviews with some folks having problems with this staff, but I have nothing but praise. I've been using it for 6 months of frequent fishing.
The staff fits together in under 10 seconds, and folds up in about the same amount of time. It is light, so when it is in it's holster, I barely am aware of it being there.
I have not experienced any failure of the staff, tip, rubber or had any problem getting it together or apart.
I am a smaller person, so perhaps I do not place the same amount of stress on it during use. The rivers and streams I have been fishing have not exactly been raging torrents either (it's been a pretty dry summer here).
If I lost this staff, I would purchase another without hesitation."
Review 8 for Black Diamond Z-pole Wading Staff
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Excellent wading staff,
September 10, 2013
By: timtrout
from Superior, Colorado
"I used this on a recent fishing trip and really liked it. It snaps into place easily, Also folds easily if you relieve the tension, and it kept me from falling several times.
One small complaint - the extra tip came in miniature sandwich bag which I immediately lost. Should have a pouch on the holster for the extra tip.
"
Review 9 for Black Diamond Z-pole Wading Staff
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Mine failed after a few uses,
August 19, 2013
By: LarryDJ
from Steamboat Springs, CO
"I like the design, and used it a few times. I always folded the pole up and kept it in the sheath. However, I experienced the same failures as others. The lower connection got so I couldn't plug the pole back in to extend it. This occurred in the middle of a rushing river. I got a screwdriver and pushed the nylon bushing down so I could push it together, but then I can't pull it apart! There is nothing I can do except throw it away and buy another brand. Too sad, because when it works, it is a great design. Get caught in a river once, and you'll never go back to it again."
Review 10 for Black Diamond Z-pole Wading Staff
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Worst Orvis product I have ever purchased,
August 10, 2013
By: FlyFishingDBB
"In the store I really liked the design of this wading staff. It is compact and light. I purchased two and they have been nothing but problems. One of them currently will not separate (this has happened to both) despite two grown men trying to pull it apart. The other simply collapsed in the middle of a fast moving stream when the piece that connects two of the pole sections slide completely into one of the sections. You can imagine how pleasant that was. In truth this is the only Orvis product I have ever purchased that I did not like so I was qutie surprised especially after the positive comments by the sales person."
Review 11 for Black Diamond Z-pole Wading Staff
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Failed on the water,
December 25, 2012
By: Frankm205
from Salt point NY
"I purchased this stic thinking I was getting a high quality wading stick. I used it 3x before it started to malfunction. The main complaint was trying to put it back together after getting out of the water. The yellow rubber connections came out of the shaft and would not go back. I am really dissapointed in this product."
Review 12 for Black Diamond Z-pole Wading Staff
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
My new fishing companion,
October 4, 2012
By: 1avidangler
from Sun Valley, Idaho
"Just returned from a 3 day fishing trip with my new wading staff. It performed beautifully. It locks in place securely and is easy to disassemble and stow in neoprene sheath. The instructions that came with it were a little difficult to decipher so I looked at the Black Diamond website for more detailed instructions. I am very satisfied with the wading staff."
Review 13 for Black Diamond Z-pole Wading Staff
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Nice Staff, but suffers from Sticking,
September 26, 2012
By: FlyFishFlorida
from Fort Lauderdale, FL
"As mentioned by previous reviewers, I have had problems with the 2 lower sections of this staff sticking together, and extreme force needed to get them apart. I purchased 2 of these at the same time, and both had similar problems. I intend to return them to ORVIS when I get the opportunity. Maybe it is a batch issue. These things happen, and I am sure ORVIS will deal with the issue in the exemplary way that they always do."
Review 14 for Black Diamond Z-pole Wading Staff
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Black Diamond Z-Pole,
September 23, 2012
By: selway
"I have had repeated problems with the sections sticking together. Like another reviewer, I am in the situation where the lower two sections are stuck together and no matter how hard I pull I can't get them to separate. I also had a problem with the upper sections sticking and could not use it on my last fishing trip."
Response from Orvis:By Orvis Customer Service TeamNovember 1, 2012
We truly value all feedback from our customers and strive to provide the best equipment possible. According to the head designer at Black Diamond, the Z-Pole has no problems if it is fully submerged and then stored in the collapsed position; however, if the pole is stored fully extended after being submerged, the glass-filled nylon tightener swells and the pole becomes difficult to collapse. After use, we advise all customers to store the poles in the collapsed position so the nylon has ample time and space to dry out and shrink to its intended size. Black Diamond has assured us they are fixing this issue and all Z-Poles moving forward will not have this problem. In this instance, we are happy to replace the customer's Z-Pole. As always, Orvis offers a 100% satisfaction guarantee on our products.
Review 15 for Black Diamond Z-pole Wading Staff
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Disapointed,
August 25, 2012
By: derf1962
from Columbia, SC
"I purchased the Z-pole last year and was very please with the Black Diamond product. However, I couldn't get the lower section of the pole to come apart pulled so hard I broke the cable. Orvis replaced it. On to my second pole and I am having the same problem, can't pull apart the lower section. Orvis again is going to replace the pole, but if this happens again I will be on to a new product. I have Black Diamond trekking poles I have used for years for backpacking and have not had any problem, so I'm convident in the company. Well have to wait and see."
Review 16 for Black Diamond Z-pole Wading Staff
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Wading Staff,
June 7, 2012
By: Skyfly
from St. Albans, WV
"The staff worked great. Provided greater confidence when wading in swift water with a rocky bottom. Both my son & I used it for the first time on our last fishing adventure and we both were pleased. Two things to note; it takes two hands to assemble and dis-assemble and it assembles easier when the inside of the tube is wet."
Review 17 for Black Diamond Z-pole Wading Staff
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fit the bill,
May 7, 2012
By: dutyboy
"With a new hip, I needed a new wading staff; one that did not come apart in crucial situations. This fit the bill. Rocky rivers did not present a problem and at 240# and 6'2", I was able to adjust the height when needed. Light but strong."
Review 18 for Black Diamond Z-pole Wading Staff
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
msds,
May 4, 2012
By: msds
from Laconia, NH
"I bought this for my wife before a recent fishing trip. If you are wading and you do not want to fall, this is an essential item. This was light weight, easy to deploy and to fold back up. Really an excellent product. A wading staff is, in my opinion, a must have item and this model was great."
Review 19 for Black Diamond Z-pole Wading Staff
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
New Wading Staff,
April 29, 2012
By: flychucker
from Calgary,AB
"Looks like a winner ! Have not had the chance yet to try in the mountain streams where I fish normally,but the staff functions well when tested."
Review 20 for Black Diamond Z-pole Wading Staff
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Steady in the Water,
April 19, 2012
By: Whiz
"I purchased the Black Diamond Z-pole Wading Staff not knowing how this was going to work for me. This was the best purchase I could have made. I am 6'6" and the pole is perfect for me. The quality is excellent and easy to put together and sturdy. The retactable is great and a plus. I purchase all my fishing gear at Orvis because the quaity of the merchandise and the prices are good. I will recommend this to all my members in TU."