Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Gear Keeper Net Retractor

Full 42" extension will not inhibit reach. The Gear Keeper Net Retractor works hanging on your back or on a float tube. Designed to survive extended saltwater and chlorine exposure. Spectra/nylon cord. Stainless steel spring and hardware. 60-lb. breaking strength. 12 lb. retraction force. Split-ring detachable connection for net. Fly-fishing retractor tool features snap-clip attachment to vest D-ring. Made in USA.
Average Customer Rating:
4.75 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (64 reviews)
5 stars
50
4 stars
12
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 star
0
63 of 64(98%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Gear Keeper Net Retractor
Review 1 for Gear Keeper Net Retractor
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Really Handy,
September 23, 2014
By: flydog89
from Mount Sidney,Va
"The net I have has an elastic cord that let it hang too low. With this retractor I no longer have a net floating between my legs and behind me. Strong retraction, works great."
Review 2 for Gear Keeper Net Retractor
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
hands down the best net retractor out there.,
September 3, 2014
By: Gerst
from southern alberta.
"Quick shipping. Easy payment. Keep that net out of the way. Easily access it when you need it with plenty of reach. One of the most important pieces of equipment I wear."
Review 3 for Gear Keeper Net Retractor
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
well made,
August 25, 2014
By: AdkBob
from Adirondacks, NY
"I thought it was a bit on the pricey side but, upon close review, it appears well made and I expect will last awhile."
Review 4 for Gear Keeper Net Retractor
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This one works,
August 20, 2014
By: pippin4
"This net retractor is not inexpensive, but it is the only one that actually retracts my wooden landing net or wading staff. I have purchased a number of other brands and none come close to the strength of this retractor. Don't waste your money on the others."
Review 5 for Gear Keeper Net Retractor
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Purchase,
August 14, 2014
By: VannD
"This retractor works exactly as stated. It has plenty of strength to keep my full-sized net high on my back. As stated in the title, great purchase!"
Review 6 for Gear Keeper Net Retractor
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best one yet,
July 31, 2014
By: Thenatural1
from Elverson , PAj
"This net minder held my biggest rubber net hanging in strong flowing water and it has the ability to be locked also. Best one I have owned or seen !"
Review 7 for Gear Keeper Net Retractor
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Perfect,
July 21, 2014
By: JJOIV
from Manhattan, Montana
"Does exactly what the discription says. No magnets to fuss with. Easy for people with limited shoulder movement to use. Walked through a sage brush flat and into little willows and it held net nice and high. Cable extends more than enough to reach fish and cable mechanism is very smooth. Going to buy one for my wife. Great stocking stuffer especially you get a Orvis net!"
Review 8 for Gear Keeper Net Retractor
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Product,
June 30, 2014
By: Alleycat1
from Concord, NH
"The gear keeper net retractor worked as advertised. Holds the net in place and allows easy retrieval of net for netting fish. Strong and durable product."
Review 9 for Gear Keeper Net Retractor
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent tool!,
June 24, 2014
By: truite41
"I tried it yeasterday and it works great. I love the lock button also . This simplifies the usage of my net and allows me to capture salmon or trout much easier."
Review 10 for Gear Keeper Net Retractor
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Works Great,
June 19, 2014
By: Wineplyr
from Essex, Connecticut
"I have 2 bad shoulders so reaching back to re-connect my net to my vest has always been difficult. This product eliminates the problem. The cord streches long enough for netting fish.and returns to its origional length after use....great product. The wading staff tender also works well."
Review 11 for Gear Keeper Net Retractor
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
gear keeper net retractor,
June 4, 2014
By: gemini70
from Portland, Oregon
"I used the net retractor for the first time recently. It worked well. It has a nice, long extension so that I could easily net fish. It seems sturdy and well-built. All in all, I am pleased that I purchased this particular product."
Review 12 for Gear Keeper Net Retractor
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
better than the rest,
May 2, 2014
By: mulletfinger
from north carolina
"works as advertised, sturdy and well made. Looking forward to many years of hard use."
Review 13 for Gear Keeper Net Retractor
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Highly Recommended !,
April 7, 2014
By: Rick46
from Tampa, Florida
"I've tried all types of net systems. I have a break-away right now that works OK, but it requires reconnecting the catch. I've tried other retractable lines, but they wear out quickly. This is the strongest one I've seen and I highly recommend it."
Review 14 for Gear Keeper Net Retractor
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
good tool,
April 4, 2014
By: djheng
"Used a friend's net retractor and was impressed enough to buy my own - worked well - well made."
Review 15 for Gear Keeper Net Retractor
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Very strong - works as advertised!,
April 1, 2014
By: KCheek
from Charlotte, NC
"Couldn't find anything locally, Charlotte, NC area, that was strong enough to hold my net up without getting tangled in my feed and dragging the ground. Ordered this from Orvil and must say it works perfectly...as advertised!"
Review 16 for Gear Keeper Net Retractor
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Problem Solved,
March 31, 2014
By: Darren1234
from The Driftless
"I have been looking for the right net keeper system for years, and this is it. It allows you to reach out for a fish, where other systems wont. When you're done with the net, it zips right back into place and out of the way. No searching for a magnet. Plus, you can lock it in place while you're hiking through the woods, so no more lost nets somewhere in the brush!"
Review 17 for Gear Keeper Net Retractor
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Strong and Secure,
March 22, 2014
By: Otch
from Grosse Pointe Farms, Michigan
"This is a perfect little retractor. After years of stuggling with hanging my net on a D ring on my back or on the back of by backpack, only to have the net swing around and club me in the head or face whenever I bent over, I finally found a net with a handle that slips onto to my belt. I simply attach the retractor on my belt next to where my net slips on, and I have the perfect outfit. The retractor gives me plenty of length to reach for a fish, and securely hold the net in case I drop it."
Review 18 for Gear Keeper Net Retractor
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Works well,
March 17, 2014
By: Yunick
from Manchester, CT
"The pull seems to be just right; strong enough so the net doesn't inch down my back but light enough so I don't have to struggle to pull my net around. Don't know how well it will hold up over time but we'll see."
Review 19 for Gear Keeper Net Retractor
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality is understatement,
March 15, 2014
By: Hughabio
"Very strong and sturdy. I've bought a ripoff version before and it gave out after a few trips. This is orvis; this is quality!"
Review 20 for Gear Keeper Net Retractor
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
As advertised,
February 25, 2014
By: Wickdog
from California
"Some years ago I was given a beautiful hand made wooden net which for some reason I never put into use. It was always easy to say I can tail or land this or that fish just fine without a net; and I did...for years. Well recently after a very nice multi-day solo outing to a Sierra trout stream I decided to get a keeper and take the net out for its maiden voyage. The local fly shop had a magnetized connector which I bought... I was immediately dissatisfied with my purchase. I ordered the Orvis Gear Keeper Retractor, it was easy to install and worked perfectly. I will not go stream fishing again without my net. Quality product, reasonable price, quick delivery, nice warranty."