Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Gear Keeper Net Retractor

Full 42" extension will not inhibit reach. The Gear Keeper Net Retractor works hanging on your back or on a float tube. Designed to survive extended saltwater and chlorine exposure. Spectra/nylon cord. Stainless steel spring and hardware. 60-lb. breaking strength. 12 lb. retraction force. Split-ring detachable connection for net. Fly-fishing retractor tool features snap-clip attachment to vest D-ring. Made in USA.
Average Customer Rating:
4.733 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (60 reviews)
5 stars
46
4 stars
12
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 star
0
59 of 60(98%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Gear Keeper Net Retractor
Review 1 for Gear Keeper Net Retractor
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Purchase,
August 14, 2014
By: VannD
"This retractor works exactly as stated. It has plenty of strength to keep my full-sized net high on my back. As stated in the title, great purchase!"
Review 2 for Gear Keeper Net Retractor
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best one yet,
July 31, 2014
By: Thenatural1
from Elverson , PAj
"This net minder held my biggest rubber net hanging in strong flowing water and it has the ability to be locked also. Best one I have owned or seen !"
Review 3 for Gear Keeper Net Retractor
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Perfect,
July 21, 2014
By: JJOIV
from Manhattan, Montana
"Does exactly what the discription says. No magnets to fuss with. Easy for people with limited shoulder movement to use. Walked through a sage brush flat and into little willows and it held net nice and high. Cable extends more than enough to reach fish and cable mechanism is very smooth. Going to buy one for my wife. Great stocking stuffer especially you get a Orvis net!"
Review 4 for Gear Keeper Net Retractor
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Product,
June 30, 2014
By: Alleycat1
from Concord, NH
"The gear keeper net retractor worked as advertised. Holds the net in place and allows easy retrieval of net for netting fish. Strong and durable product."
Review 5 for Gear Keeper Net Retractor
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent tool!,
June 24, 2014
By: truite41
"I tried it yeasterday and it works great. I love the lock button also . This simplifies the usage of my net and allows me to capture salmon or trout much easier."
Review 6 for Gear Keeper Net Retractor
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Works Great,
June 19, 2014
By: Wineplyr
from Essex, Connecticut
"I have 2 bad shoulders so reaching back to re-connect my net to my vest has always been difficult. This product eliminates the problem. The cord streches long enough for netting fish.and returns to its origional length after use....great product. The wading staff tender also works well."
Review 7 for Gear Keeper Net Retractor
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
gear keeper net retractor,
June 4, 2014
By: gemini70
from Portland, Oregon
"I used the net retractor for the first time recently. It worked well. It has a nice, long extension so that I could easily net fish. It seems sturdy and well-built. All in all, I am pleased that I purchased this particular product."
Review 8 for Gear Keeper Net Retractor
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
better than the rest,
May 2, 2014
By: mulletfinger
from north carolina
"works as advertised, sturdy and well made. Looking forward to many years of hard use."
Review 9 for Gear Keeper Net Retractor
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Highly Recommended !,
April 7, 2014
By: Rick46
from Tampa, Florida
"I've tried all types of net systems. I have a break-away right now that works OK, but it requires reconnecting the catch. I've tried other retractable lines, but they wear out quickly. This is the strongest one I've seen and I highly recommend it."
Review 10 for Gear Keeper Net Retractor
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
good tool,
April 4, 2014
By: djheng
"Used a friend's net retractor and was impressed enough to buy my own - worked well - well made."
Review 11 for Gear Keeper Net Retractor
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Very strong - works as advertised!,
April 1, 2014
By: KCheek
from Charlotte, NC
"Couldn't find anything locally, Charlotte, NC area, that was strong enough to hold my net up without getting tangled in my feed and dragging the ground. Ordered this from Orvil and must say it works perfectly...as advertised!"
Review 12 for Gear Keeper Net Retractor
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Problem Solved,
March 31, 2014
By: Darren1234
from The Driftless
"I have been looking for the right net keeper system for years, and this is it. It allows you to reach out for a fish, where other systems wont. When you're done with the net, it zips right back into place and out of the way. No searching for a magnet. Plus, you can lock it in place while you're hiking through the woods, so no more lost nets somewhere in the brush!"
Review 13 for Gear Keeper Net Retractor
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Strong and Secure,
March 22, 2014
By: Otch
from Grosse Pointe Farms, Michigan
"This is a perfect little retractor. After years of stuggling with hanging my net on a D ring on my back or on the back of by backpack, only to have the net swing around and club me in the head or face whenever I bent over, I finally found a net with a handle that slips onto to my belt. I simply attach the retractor on my belt next to where my net slips on, and I have the perfect outfit. The retractor gives me plenty of length to reach for a fish, and securely hold the net in case I drop it."
Review 14 for Gear Keeper Net Retractor
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Works well,
March 17, 2014
By: Yunick
from Manchester, CT
"The pull seems to be just right; strong enough so the net doesn't inch down my back but light enough so I don't have to struggle to pull my net around. Don't know how well it will hold up over time but we'll see."
Review 15 for Gear Keeper Net Retractor
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality is understatement,
March 15, 2014
By: Hughabio
"Very strong and sturdy. I've bought a ripoff version before and it gave out after a few trips. This is orvis; this is quality!"
Review 16 for Gear Keeper Net Retractor
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
As advertised,
February 25, 2014
By: Wickdog
from California
"Some years ago I was given a beautiful hand made wooden net which for some reason I never put into use. It was always easy to say I can tail or land this or that fish just fine without a net; and I did...for years. Well recently after a very nice multi-day solo outing to a Sierra trout stream I decided to get a keeper and take the net out for its maiden voyage. The local fly shop had a magnetized connector which I bought... I was immediately dissatisfied with my purchase. I ordered the Orvis Gear Keeper Retractor, it was easy to install and worked perfectly. I will not go stream fishing again without my net. Quality product, reasonable price, quick delivery, nice warranty."
Review 17 for Gear Keeper Net Retractor
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
excellent buy,
February 20, 2014
By: bigstegg
from Riverside,Ca
"Just think I went fly fishing all these years without this net retractor and never knew what I had been missing until I purchase and used it. Very durable and strong and keeps the net where it belongs and is there when you need it. Thanks Orvis, for offering this product"
Review 18 for Gear Keeper Net Retractor
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best retractor out there,
January 14, 2014
By: Revmlee
"Love that this connects right into a D-ring and has a way to lock the retractor, so it doesn't always zing back. Sturdy construction. Can't go wrong with this - better than the magnetic ones for sure."
Review 19 for Gear Keeper Net Retractor
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
First time use,
January 3, 2014
By: Stvnsc
from Greenville SC
"The product makes me wonder why I used bungee cord with my net for so long! Works like a charm for my last three fishing outings. Why didn't I buy one earlier? A great purchase that was worth the investment."
Review 20 for Gear Keeper Net Retractor
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Net Keeper,
December 27, 2013
By: Otch
from Grosse Pointe Farms, Michigan
"Perfect net keeper. Does a terrific job of keeping you net out of the way, while giving you plenty of line to land the fish."