Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Gear Keeper Net Retractor

Full 42" extension will not inhibit reach. The Gear Keeper Net Retractor works hanging on your back or on a float tube. Designed to survive extended saltwater and chlorine exposure. Spectra/nylon cord. Stainless steel spring and hardware. 60-lb. breaking strength. 12 lb. retraction force. Split-ring detachable connection for net. Fly-fishing retractor tool features snap-clip attachment to vest D-ring. Made in USA.
Average Customer Rating:
4.712 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (52 reviews)
5 stars
39
4 stars
11
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 star
0
51 of 52(98%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Gear Keeper Net Retractor
Review 1 for Gear Keeper Net Retractor
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Highly Recommended !,
April 7, 2014
By: Rick46
from Tampa, Florida
"I've tried all types of net systems. I have a break-away right now that works OK, but it requires reconnecting the catch. I've tried other retractable lines, but they wear out quickly. This is the strongest one I've seen and I highly recommend it."
Review 2 for Gear Keeper Net Retractor
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
good tool,
April 4, 2014
By: djheng
"Used a friend's net retractor and was impressed enough to buy my own - worked well - well made."
Review 3 for Gear Keeper Net Retractor
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Very strong - works as advertised!,
April 1, 2014
By: KCheek
from Charlotte, NC
"Couldn't find anything locally, Charlotte, NC area, that was strong enough to hold my net up without getting tangled in my feed and dragging the ground. Ordered this from Orvil and must say it works perfectly...as advertised!"
Review 4 for Gear Keeper Net Retractor
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Problem Solved,
March 31, 2014
By: Darren1234
from The Driftless
"I have been looking for the right net keeper system for years, and this is it. It allows you to reach out for a fish, where other systems wont. When you're done with the net, it zips right back into place and out of the way. No searching for a magnet. Plus, you can lock it in place while you're hiking through the woods, so no more lost nets somewhere in the brush!"
Review 5 for Gear Keeper Net Retractor
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Strong and Secure,
March 22, 2014
By: Otch
from Grosse Pointe Farms, Michigan
"This is a perfect little retractor. After years of stuggling with hanging my net on a D ring on my back or on the back of by backpack, only to have the net swing around and club me in the head or face whenever I bent over, I finally found a net with a handle that slips onto to my belt. I simply attach the retractor on my belt next to where my net slips on, and I have the perfect outfit. The retractor gives me plenty of length to reach for a fish, and securely hold the net in case I drop it."
Review 6 for Gear Keeper Net Retractor
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Works well,
March 17, 2014
By: Yunick
from Manchester, CT
"The pull seems to be just right; strong enough so the net doesn't inch down my back but light enough so I don't have to struggle to pull my net around. Don't know how well it will hold up over time but we'll see."
Review 7 for Gear Keeper Net Retractor
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality is understatement,
March 15, 2014
By: Hughabio
"Very strong and sturdy. I've bought a ripoff version before and it gave out after a few trips. This is orvis; this is quality!"
Review 8 for Gear Keeper Net Retractor
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
As advertised,
February 25, 2014
By: Wickdog
from California
"Some years ago I was given a beautiful hand made wooden net which for some reason I never put into use. It was always easy to say I can tail or land this or that fish just fine without a net; and I did...for years. Well recently after a very nice multi-day solo outing to a Sierra trout stream I decided to get a keeper and take the net out for its maiden voyage. The local fly shop had a magnetized connector which I bought... I was immediately dissatisfied with my purchase. I ordered the Orvis Gear Keeper Retractor, it was easy to install and worked perfectly. I will not go stream fishing again without my net. Quality product, reasonable price, quick delivery, nice warranty."
Review 9 for Gear Keeper Net Retractor
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
excellent buy,
February 20, 2014
By: bigstegg
from Riverside,Ca
"Just think I went fly fishing all these years without this net retractor and never knew what I had been missing until I purchase and used it. Very durable and strong and keeps the net where it belongs and is there when you need it. Thanks Orvis, for offering this product"
Review 10 for Gear Keeper Net Retractor
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best retractor out there,
January 14, 2014
By: Revmlee
"Love that this connects right into a D-ring and has a way to lock the retractor, so it doesn't always zing back. Sturdy construction. Can't go wrong with this - better than the magnetic ones for sure."
Review 11 for Gear Keeper Net Retractor
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
First time use,
January 3, 2014
By: Stvnsc
from Greenville SC
"The product makes me wonder why I used bungee cord with my net for so long! Works like a charm for my last three fishing outings. Why didn't I buy one earlier? A great purchase that was worth the investment."
Review 12 for Gear Keeper Net Retractor
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Net Keeper,
December 27, 2013
By: Otch
from Grosse Pointe Farms, Michigan
"Perfect net keeper. Does a terrific job of keeping you net out of the way, while giving you plenty of line to land the fish."
Review 13 for Gear Keeper Net Retractor
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Perfect For Wading,
December 21, 2013
By: MOTroutMan
"Perfect for when I wade. Doesn't let the net drag through the moss and weeds when getting into the stream and doesn't set in the water and catch unwanted stuff that is floating by. Liked it so much I bought some as stocking stuffers for my fishing buddies."
Review 14 for Gear Keeper Net Retractor
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Works Great With Net,
November 13, 2013
By: FlyTech
"The Gear Keeper Net Retractor works very well with net and don't have to fiddle with magnet as the other model. This is a great choice for your net."
Review 15 for Gear Keeper Net Retractor
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
First Impression,
October 11, 2013
By: caskew13
from Atlanta GA
"I still havent gone out with the retractor yet, however the build seems solid. I like the locking switch as well. The tension seems strong enough to keep the net from dragging, but being able to lock it in place is great for creeping and crwaling through brush. Cant wait to get out and really test it."
Review 16 for Gear Keeper Net Retractor
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fly Fisherman Must Have,
September 24, 2013
By: Wish4Fish
from Minneapolis, MN
"This product is great! Easy access to your net at all times. Quick and easy to help with a quick and safe release of your fish. I was tucking my handle in my belt but then I would run into the trouble of grabbing it quickly... putting it back easy.... it would get jacked up sideways... or worse, it would pop out! 3 great features are the retractor lock, quick release buckle and D-ring clip (vs the pin)"
Video Review:
W4F - Review "Orvis Gear Keeper Net Retractor"
Review 17 for Gear Keeper Net Retractor
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Net Minder,
August 26, 2013
By: crash57
"This was a fantastic purchase for me. I have not always been too keen on magnet net hangers. Just got back from a 7 day trip to the Rio in CO and found it to be easy to use, reliable and sturdy. Pulls out as far as I need and returns with a snap. It is better for those occasional hang ups while hiking as well. I highly recommend this quality Orvis product."
Review 18 for Gear Keeper Net Retractor
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Net Keeper,
August 20, 2013
By: Dwhead2
from West Chester, PA
"I had a magnetic net holder for years and struggled getting it reconnected after I landed a fish. I forgot several times to reconnect and the net got tangled up in the brush as I walked down the stream. No More! This retractor does the job very well--a lot of retrieve power and I don't have to worry anymore about the net dangling after I release a fish!"
Review 19 for Gear Keeper Net Retractor
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Very nice retractor.,
August 17, 2013
By: Norfisher
from Norway, Europe
"I use this retractor with the Orvis Classic Landing Net size large, and it works great. This is a must have. Keeps my landing net in place and ready for action. Has the necessary power to retract the landing net without any problems."
Review 20 for Gear Keeper Net Retractor
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Great Product,
August 6, 2013
By: Troutbill
from Marion, NC
"I replaced my magnet net keeper with the Gear Keeper Net Retractor. It works great. My only draw back is it's size. I would like it to be a little smaller over all. Especially it length. note: lenge of cord is just find as is."