Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Gear Keeper Net Retractor

Full 42" extension will not inhibit reach. The Gear Keeper Net Retractor works hanging on your back or on a float tube. Designed to survive extended saltwater and chlorine exposure. Spectra/nylon cord. Stainless steel spring and hardware. 60-lb. breaking strength. 12 lb. retraction force. Split-ring detachable connection for net. Fly-fishing retractor tool features snap-clip attachment to vest D-ring. Made in USA.
Average Customer Rating:
4.73 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (74 reviews)
5 stars
57
4 stars
14
3 stars
3
2 stars
0
1 star
0
72 of 74(97%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Gear Keeper Net Retractor
Review 1 for Gear Keeper Net Retractor
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
net retractor,
April 20, 2015
By: Dragonfire
"Only used it twice so far, seems to be made well,so far so good."
Review 2 for Gear Keeper Net Retractor
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality item,
April 6, 2015
By: richfish1
from Bridgnorth, Shropshire, UK
"Well made, good strong cord with an ideal amount of tension.
would recommend this product to anyone.
"
Review 3 for Gear Keeper Net Retractor
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Highly recommend,
April 4, 2015
By: Dazzfly
from Australia
"Find it to be a great way to manage the net stress free"
Review 4 for Gear Keeper Net Retractor
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fantastic product,
April 3, 2015
By: Bad694x4
from Gillette, WY
"I recently purchased this retractor and have been out with it on one trip and it appears to be made of quality materials...Retracts the net very nicely! I will post another review at the end of the summer to see if it's still "holding up"."
Review 5 for Gear Keeper Net Retractor
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great product,
April 1, 2015
By: DaneJohnson
from Portland, OR
"What you would except of an Orvis product - works great!"
Review 6 for Gear Keeper Net Retractor
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
weighty but worth it,
March 25, 2015
By: paul16
from UK
"When the retractor arrived I was suprised at its weight. However I used it for the the first time today and light dawned! When landing a feisty greyling, the net came readily to hand and more importantly removed itself immediately after I released the fish.Trying to resite a magnetic net keeper was thus avoided,especially important when balancing on the rocky bed of a northern UK river! Well done Orvis, a practical product which works extremely well."
Review 7 for Gear Keeper Net Retractor
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Net Retractor Gear Keeper,
February 6, 2015
By: Flyfisher51
"This item is much larger and bulkier than I anticipated. I have returned to using a magnetic vest attachment"
Review 8 for Gear Keeper Net Retractor
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Second one purchased,
November 26, 2014
By: Alleycat1
from Concord, NH
"Gave the first one to my son. Needed another one for my net.
It's a great product and works as advertised. Highly recommend to anyone needing a net retractor.
"
Review 9 for Gear Keeper Net Retractor
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Life Saver,
November 25, 2014
By: Cosmicflyfisher
from London, UK
"You've heard the saying 'buy cheap buy four times over' before I got this gem. This withstands my gentle tugs to brutish snatches and has not failed yet. It's a tough little cookie and the only one that's hasn't been destroyed by me yet. Big thumbs up and not failing on me :)"
Review 10 for Gear Keeper Net Retractor
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Perfect !!,
November 13, 2014
By: ONNY1
from West Midlands . UK
"Forget about magnet net holders , this is the real deal .
Trust me you'll never look back
"
Review 11 for Gear Keeper Net Retractor
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Really Handy,
September 23, 2014
By: flydog89
from Mount Sidney,Va
"The net I have has an elastic cord that let it hang too low. With this retractor I no longer have a net floating between my legs and behind me. Strong retraction, works great."
Review 12 for Gear Keeper Net Retractor
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
hands down the best net retractor out there.,
September 3, 2014
By: Gerst
from southern alberta.
"Quick shipping. Easy payment. Keep that net out of the way. Easily access it when you need it with plenty of reach. One of the most important pieces of equipment I wear."
Review 13 for Gear Keeper Net Retractor
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
well made,
August 25, 2014
By: AdkBob
from Adirondacks, NY
"I thought it was a bit on the pricey side but, upon close review, it appears well made and I expect will last awhile."
Review 14 for Gear Keeper Net Retractor
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This one works,
August 20, 2014
By: pippin4
"This net retractor is not inexpensive, but it is the only one that actually retracts my wooden landing net or wading staff. I have purchased a number of other brands and none come close to the strength of this retractor. Don't waste your money on the others."
Review 15 for Gear Keeper Net Retractor
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Purchase,
August 14, 2014
By: VannD
"This retractor works exactly as stated. It has plenty of strength to keep my full-sized net high on my back. As stated in the title, great purchase!"
Review 16 for Gear Keeper Net Retractor
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best one yet,
July 31, 2014
By: Thenatural1
from Elverson , PAj
"This net minder held my biggest rubber net hanging in strong flowing water and it has the ability to be locked also. Best one I have owned or seen !"
Review 17 for Gear Keeper Net Retractor
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Perfect,
July 21, 2014
By: JJOIV
from Manhattan, Montana
"Does exactly what the discription says. No magnets to fuss with. Easy for people with limited shoulder movement to use. Walked through a sage brush flat and into little willows and it held net nice and high. Cable extends more than enough to reach fish and cable mechanism is very smooth. Going to buy one for my wife. Great stocking stuffer especially you get a Orvis net!"
Review 18 for Gear Keeper Net Retractor
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Product,
June 30, 2014
By: Alleycat1
from Concord, NH
"The gear keeper net retractor worked as advertised. Holds the net in place and allows easy retrieval of net for netting fish. Strong and durable product."
Review 19 for Gear Keeper Net Retractor
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent tool!,
June 24, 2014
By: truite41
"I tried it yeasterday and it works great. I love the lock button also . This simplifies the usage of my net and allows me to capture salmon or trout much easier."
Review 20 for Gear Keeper Net Retractor
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Works Great,
June 19, 2014
By: Wineplyr
from Essex, Connecticut
"I have 2 bad shoulders so reaching back to re-connect my net to my vest has always been difficult. This product eliminates the problem. The cord streches long enough for netting fish.and returns to its origional length after use....great product. The wading staff tender also works well."