Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Gear Keeper Staff Tether

Keep the staff handle at your side when you need it with this wading staff retractor tool. The Gear Keeper Staff Tether features a Spectra/nylon cable. Stainless steel spring and hardware. 60 lb. breaking strength. Mounts anywhere with threaded stud. Extends 30". Made in USA.
Average Customer Rating:
4.652 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (23 reviews)
5 stars
17
4 stars
4
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 star
0
21 of 23(91%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Gear Keeper Staff Tether
Review 1 for Gear Keeper Staff Tether
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great solution for keeping wading staff close!,
October 23, 2014
By: zackm98
from Montreal QC
"I would highly recommend this to anyone who gets discouraged having their wading staff dangling and pulling down stream on a cord while fishing. It keeps your staff close to your body while fishing and it has more than enough cord for you to wade freely. It retracts extremely well and is essential in my opinion to have by your side. Very well made as well (no surprise being an Orvis product)"
Review 2 for Gear Keeper Staff Tether
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Purchase,
September 15, 2014
By: luv2flyfish
from Smithers, Canada
"I attached this to my wading staff while fishing for steelhead in Canada. The river I fished had fast flowing water and the retractable tether worked very well. The wading staff was always by my waist rather than floating somewhere getting in my road. It made fishing much safer for me in the fast flowing water."
Review 3 for Gear Keeper Staff Tether
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Great for what it is,
September 3, 2014
By: Alterego
"I have to use a walking stick when I fly fish and I was sick of never knowing what to do with it or leaving it on shore and loosing track of it. This is perfect for attaching walking stick to vest and keeping it there. The line is a good length and recoils easily and it stays attached to the walking stick without any problem. Broke after many trips and hard use and I had to replace it"
Review 4 for Gear Keeper Staff Tether
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great for wading stick,
August 23, 2014
By: Nitro3346
from Grapevine, TX
"This is a heavy duty zinger, and does a great job with a heavy wading stick."
Review 5 for Gear Keeper Staff Tether
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Back Country Backpacking,
August 11, 2014
By: RedAdMan
from Hungry Horse, MT
"I used this to attach one of my trekking poles to my belt to act as a wading staff. It performed perfecting. The retractor has just the right amount of tension to keep it handy without creating so much pull that your arm gets tired during some long and often treacherous stream crossings."
Review 6 for Gear Keeper Staff Tether
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
wading staff keeper,
July 21, 2014
By: buddylove9
from charlottesville, va
"I like it, keeps the staff close and out of the way, no cord to deal with, no line tangle. do wish it had a little longer rope, but over all, great/"
Review 7 for Gear Keeper Staff Tether
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Excellent accessory,
February 1, 2014
By: glennbull
"A neat and very functional staff keeper. The working parts and belt attachment are super. the plastic snap is mediocre and the threaded stud is a joke. there is no way that it will hold in a cork handle, otherwise it is a good value!"
Review 8 for Gear Keeper Staff Tether
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Good gear,
December 31, 2013
By: JChant
from Steelhead alley, Ohio
"Reliable and keeps staff nearby preventing tangles with my fly line."
Review 9 for Gear Keeper Staff Tether
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Strong and Secure,
December 27, 2013
By: Otch
from Grosse Pointe Farms, Michigan
"As I have grown older, I have found myself relying more and more on a wading staff. Once I engage the staff, it is a pain to refold it and unfold it continuously on the river, so I end up just letting it hang in the water. The problem is that it just ends up getting tangled in my legs or tripping me. So I tried this tether - I cut off the line on my wading staff about 4 inches from the handle, and then connected it to the connection on the tether. Then when I'm not using the staff, the tether draws it tight to my waist out of the way."
Review 10 for Gear Keeper Staff Tether
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great little item,
October 31, 2013
By: Scotty87
from Rutland.
"This is a great little keeper.
I liked the way you can either clip it or pin it as required.
Works really well and keeps by old wading stick close to hand.
Good feature is that you can easily remove your stick from the keeper by way of a simple clip, rather that having to remove the keeper.
"
Review 11 for Gear Keeper Staff Tether
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
No instructions,
July 23, 2013
By: babydoc
from Hendersonville, NC
"I did go online and received some help in how to attach this but even then it was difficult to understand. Instructions should be included and made easy to understand."
Review 12 for Gear Keeper Staff Tether
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Good product,
November 2, 2012
By: vteddie
"I received this item as a gift. I have useed it quite often and liked it so much that I sent one to my brother."
Review 13 for Gear Keeper Staff Tether
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great idea,
October 23, 2012
By: STill
from Endicott, NY
"At last a way to stop your staff from getting wrapped around your feet.
It stays out of the way but when you need it , its there
"
Review 14 for Gear Keeper Staff Tether
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Staff support,
October 17, 2012
By: TennaSea
from Tennessee
"I think this will do the job nicely when I am wading. I have had problems in the past with my walking staff as I just tied it with a short rope. This little device should do the job well."
Review 15 for Gear Keeper Staff Tether
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
What I needed,
September 4, 2012
By: Vibrato
from Newark, DE
"I have been looking for this to help me walk and hike."
Review 16 for Gear Keeper Staff Tether
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Not what I expected,
July 2, 2012
By: slackline
from Texas
"I thought it would be strong enough to hold an extended staff at the waste when not in use, but apparently it just takes the place of a cord to keep the staff from washing away if dropped."
Review 17 for Gear Keeper Staff Tether
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
good purchase,
May 24, 2012
By: Hobbycat
from PA
"I may be using a staff that it is a little heavy, so, I could use a little stronger retraction. However, it has not caused a problem. I'm 74 and my balance is not what it used to be. This was a good solution. It hangs down my back and is out of the way when not needed."
Review 18 for Gear Keeper Staff Tether
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Gave one to friend,
May 21, 2012
By: flytyer64
from Elgin, Il
"Liked it so much that I gave this one to a friend. He had his wader staff dragging behind him and I was afraid that he might trip over it. It is a keeper!!!"
Review 19 for Gear Keeper Staff Tether
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Very good product,
April 6, 2012
By: eagle1
from Duluth, MN.
"This product is going to work perfect for my walking staff. It looks like it is quality made and it should last a long time. Thanks for having it."
Review 20 for Gear Keeper Staff Tether
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
A must have product,
October 19, 2011
By: Bergomi
from Oslo, Norway
"Super service and a super product again Orvis. Thank you!
This keeps my staff close at hand when I am wading. I no longer have to look around to wonder where my staff is, it's right there it should be all the time. The stainless steel cable is long enough en strong too. I do not leave without it.
"