Orvis Ratings and Reviews

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Orvis.

Barbarian Authentic Rugby Shorts

Built by Barbarian of Canada for rough game-time action on the pitch. These authentic men's cotton rugby shorts feature an elastic waist with an inner drawcord and concealed side-seam pockets with heavy-duty bar tacks and twill-tape reinforcement. Authentic zipperless design. Men's rugby shorts are made of pure cotton. Washable. Imported from Canada.Waist sizes: S(34-36), XL(46-48). 4" inseam.
Average Customer Rating:
3.864 out of 5
3.9
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (22 reviews)
5 stars
12
4 stars
4
3 stars
0
2 stars
3
1 star
3
15 of 22(68%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Barbarian Authentic Rugby Shorts
Review 1 for Barbarian Authentic Rugby Shorts
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
February 4, 2013
By: keebler
from Torrance Ca
"Good tough pair of shorts that hold up well during gym work outs. Leg openings are wide enough to accomdate squats without bunching or binding."
Review 2 for Barbarian Authentic Rugby Shorts
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality, but Size Chart Not Accurate!,
December 12, 2012
By: Barnabas611
from Providence, RI
"While a quality product in terms of material, the fit of these shorts leaves something to be desired. The waist sizes are not accurate in the least. I wear a size 32, so according to the size chart I ordered a small. However, I could just barely get them on. I have exchanged them for a medium, which fits, but that also means the leg opening is a bit wider, too..."
Review 3 for Barbarian Authentic Rugby Shorts
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
another problem,
October 9, 2012
By: Transo
from Dundee
"The shorts are fine, but its the size issue with Orvis, prior to ordering I asked - Im a 34 waist they told me to order small they arrive and would get one leg in them I had the same problem with a belt twice and finally gave up - but as I say nothing wrong with the product."
Review 4 for Barbarian Authentic Rugby Shorts
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great for All Around,
October 5, 2012
By: Anonymous
from Upstate SC
"These shorts are well made and they are just as comfortable on the boat as they are working and playing in the yard."
Review 5 for Barbarian Authentic Rugby Shorts
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Barbarian Shorts,
September 21, 2012
By: topgun357
"The sizing chart does not reflect the actual sizing of the garment. I ordered one size above what my waist measurement is and they were still too small. Other than fit, the shorts are a quality product."
Review 6 for Barbarian Authentic Rugby Shorts
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
barbarian rugby shorts,
September 11, 2012
By: longjockey
from Newmarket
"Tough enough for Rugby forwards tugging at them, smart enough to go to supermarket, comfortable for any circumstance, pockets, deep and strong. very useful drawstring and elastic waist inserts."
Review 7 for Barbarian Authentic Rugby Shorts
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Rugby shorts,
August 22, 2012
By: tommyv
from Palm Beach Gardens,Fl
"The cut of these shorts is too big overall while the waste measurement is smaller than usual for the sizes listed. They fit like a tent is the best description I could give. Waste band is also rather cheap IMV."
Review 8 for Barbarian Authentic Rugby Shorts
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
MAJOR SIZING ERROR,
August 21, 2012
By: MRKURLEY
"I wear 38" pants and they're usually loose fitting. This product claims that a medium is a 38-40". Wrong! Shorts are so tight in the waist I almost can't get them on. A medium is more accurately 34-36". Hopefully, Orvis will quickly correct this error."
Review 9 for Barbarian Authentic Rugby Shorts
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Husband delighted,
August 20, 2012
By: Kayzje
from Boerne, TX
"I have looked for shorts like this for two summers. My husband loves them and wears them constantly, but he wishes they came in a tan or khaki color also"
Review 10 for Barbarian Authentic Rugby Shorts
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Tradition continued,
August 20, 2012
By: rugger
"Barbarian continues with it product excellence. Anyone familar with their current line of jerseys, old style as well as current, will not be suprised at the products quality. Expect to get many years of use out of these rugged shorts."
Review 11 for Barbarian Authentic Rugby Shorts
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Sturdy as a Brick-Built Outhouse!,
July 26, 2012
By: Hoverstop
from Lincolnshire, Great Britain
"Very substantial and comfortable. Haven't washed them yet, so I don't know whether they'll shrink or not..."
Review 12 for Barbarian Authentic Rugby Shorts
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Would Not Have Ordered,
July 25, 2012
By: 1badger
"Had I known that the shorts did not have a fly front I would't have ordered."
Review 13 for Barbarian Authentic Rugby Shorts
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
overpriced,
April 22, 2012
By: xbonefish
from Maine
"Great shorts-hard to find heavyweight cotton shorts anymore. Unfortunately the Orvis price is about 40% above other merchants."
Review 14 for Barbarian Authentic Rugby Shorts
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent shorts,
March 29, 2012
By: Shorts101
"Excellent quality and comfortable to wear. I looked for one of these type of shorts without a liner and still feel comfortable for a long time. I would recommend it!"
Review 15 for Barbarian Authentic Rugby Shorts
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best Purchase Ever,
December 7, 2011
By: lonewolf
"Great price, and excellent quality. Also, outstanding service. What more can you ask for?""
Review 16 for Barbarian Authentic Rugby Shorts
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Baggy Shorts,
September 15, 2011
By: NoBaggyPants
"These shorts are so large in the seat that I had to return them. Despite having a 2.5 inch inseam, they were too long and the seat way too big & baggy."
Review 17 for Barbarian Authentic Rugby Shorts
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Barbarian Authentic Rugby Shorts,
September 13, 2011
By: archie22
"1.) Sizes in catalog are wrong i.e. L (42-44), XXL (50-52) waist. I am 43 in the waist; therefore I ordered a L (42-44) after questioning your order taker (she assured me I was ordering the right size). When the shorts arrived - way to small. I sent the size L back and requested a XXL - I explained my problem and told your person that I though you may have made mistake in the catalog with the sizes - see above, In so many words the lady told me "we don't make mistakes"."
Review 18 for Barbarian Authentic Rugby Shorts
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great, comfortable shorts,
September 9, 2011
By: Orvisflyfishing
from Ft. Lauderdale, FL
"For a heavy guy, actually for any guy, these are great shorts. Durable fabric, deep front pockets so things won't fall out and nice style makes these a real buy."
Review 19 for Barbarian Authentic Rugby Shorts
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
rugby action,
August 23, 2011
By: Hobart
from San Francisco CA
"excellent ease of motion for rugby and touch football."
Review 20 for Barbarian Authentic Rugby Shorts
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
August 2, 2011
By: JPW13
"Barbarian is high quality. These shorts are solid and well-made. Durable material with strong stitching. My only piece of advice is mind the details regarding these shorts; especially the noted two-inch inseem. Most mens' shorts run 9-11 inches these days, so these rugby shorts are very short by American standards."