Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product
This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Orvis.

Forest Quilt

Earthy hues of brown, tan, green, and red set off this traditional log cabin quilt. The log cabin quilt's popularity harkens back to 1863, when quilts of this design were raffled off to raise money for the Union army. It is believed they paid homage to President Lincoln, who was raised in a log cabin. In tan/print. Pure cotton. Washable. Imported.
Average Customer Rating:
4.643 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (14 reviews)
5 stars
10
4 stars
3
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
13 of 14(93%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Forest Quilt
Review 1 for Forest Quilt
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Great quilt,
November 8, 2012
By: Americangirl
from Hampshire, UK
"Best I could find on the internet in the UK. I was pleased the order was filled so promptly,coming from the USA. The fabric has intricate stitching, although the connective stitching could have been finer. The forest quilt is perfect where it lives at my home. Even my husband is pleased!"
Review 2 for Forest Quilt
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
The verdict is still out?,
October 27, 2012
By: BWCA
from Minnesota
"There were lots of threads that I had to pick off and when doing so I saw a small section that had not been sewn down. It was easier to hand, slip stitch the section than package it up and mail it back. I thought the quilt was a bit pricey for what I received. After all, it's not a hand sewn quilt."
Review 3 for Forest Quilt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Beautiful quilt,
August 20, 2012
By: Irion
from TN
"The Forest quilt and shams arrived quickly and look beautiful. Colors and thickness as anticipated - it will warm the room I use it in."
Review 4 for Forest Quilt
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
OK,
July 6, 2012
By: Quiltgirl
from Columbus, OH
"I have purchased a couple of quilts from Orvis. While I like the colors and design on this quilt, I must say that the material and weight
are not as good as the others and the price was almost double. I will keep it because I do like the look but I am very disappointed in the quality.
"
Review 5 for Forest Quilt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Looks handmade,
June 7, 2012
By: MissM
"The stitching on this quilt makes it look as if it is handmade. It's a beautiful quilt. (Unfortunately the colors don't work with my wallpaper as well as I had hoped so I will probably return it.)"
Review 6 for Forest Quilt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Nice!,
March 28, 2012
By: Penzbenz
from Denver, CO
"I have never ordered anything from Orvis, a friend recommended you. I was a little nervous to make such a pricey purchase but we absolutely love it! Nice weight and good quality. I'm glad we tried you!! Great summer cover."
Review 7 for Forest Quilt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Really like this quilt,
February 28, 2012
By: crazyacres
"I love log cabin quilts and this one is beautiful and very cozy to sleep under."
Review 8 for Forest Quilt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Husband pleaser,
February 11, 2012
By: Gerryd
from South Texas
"Finally, a quilt that has eye appeal to both husband and wife. The rich earthy tones make it perfect for the 6 chillier months of the year. Not too bulky, therefore it's a snap to fold back and place on the quilt rack. This Quilt laundered superbly in our large capacity GE Profile Washer and the quilt did NOT spend extra time in the dryer, so shrinkage was undetected......"
Review 9 for Forest Quilt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Quilt,
February 3, 2012
By: Sconnie
from Wisconsin
"Quality of this quilt and the shams is fantastic. I have been looking for the right style and color for about two years and I have finally found what I was looking for in your catalog. Thank you Orvis, my bedroom remodel is finally complete."
Review 10 for Forest Quilt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
very impressed,
November 29, 2011
By: fewyofHB
"Bought this quilt and must say I am impressed with it. Made well, quite pretty and was generously sized."
Review 11 for Forest Quilt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I love this quilt!,
October 25, 2011
By: TeryJo
"This quilt is very high quality. I fell in love with the pattern and colors. It is perfect for our bedroom. I also ordered two matching shams. They fit nicely on the top of the night stand and top of the dresser."
Review 12 for Forest Quilt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Here's why I bought the pillow sham,
July 15, 2011
By: WOZNO
from Lancaster PA
"I bought the pillow sham, just one, to use as repair fabric for a very small area ( 6"x6" ) of my ORVIS BATTENKILL QUILT. Why the need for repair?
My daily huosekeeper was on vacation, and the substitute housekeeper spolied just one side of the BATTENKILL QUILT by setting a BLEACH soaked something, maybe a cleaning rag, on the 'reverse', non-patchwork side of the BATTENKILL QUILT.
I contacted the bleach manufacturer to find if the bleach damaged area would leech the small amount of bleach into surrounding areas when the BATTENKILL QUILT is washed. The manufacturer's tech rep said that because the bleach on the quilt is dry there would be no problem with the bleach spreading out. She said that because the bleach is dry, it's chemistry is INERT, and washing this heirloom quilt in cold water, with a laundry detergent that has no bleach additive would be OK. It worked just fine.
I wash the BATTENKILL QUILT at least twice yearly.
So, now the quilt and the pillow sham go to a local seamstress for her to cut the pillow sham into a 6"x6" square and sew it over the bleach damaged area of my 5 year old heirloom quality BATTENKILL QUILT. Now the non-patchwork side of the quilt will be ever so small patchwork repaired. That's it. Unfortunate accident, but a good resolution to the problem. ORVIS does not sell the BATTENKILL QUILT or pillow shams anymore, and the colors in the sham I bought for the repair job will look just fine with the colors on the reverse side of the BATTENKILL QUILT. I'd say that the repair job makes my BATTENKILL QUILT unique, and still heirloom quality.
"
Review 13 for Forest Quilt
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Did not knock my socks off,
April 22, 2011
By: sailfish
Good Value: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
"We purchased this along with a Star quilt from Orvis. This was more expensive and I do not see any difference in quality. We like it and it goes well in our cabin."
Review 14 for Forest Quilt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Wonderful Quilt!,
April 20, 2011
By: Packmother
from Box Springs, GA
Good Value: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"I purchased this quilt because I was looking for a bed spread/cover that was lightweight, washable and pretty. This one hit a home run! The colors are beautiful, the quality of the work is outstanding, and the attention to details meticulous. I love it and definitely recommend it to others."