Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Non-Toxic Camo Split Shot

Match the river bottom with camo fishing split shot in different shades of brown and green. Double cut and easy to use and reuse. Nine sizes of shot. Two container sizes. Size/weight/grams: SSG-1.6, SA-1.2, AAA-0.8, AB-0.6, BB-0.4, #1-0.3, #4-0.2, #6-0.1, #8-0.06.
Average Customer Rating:
4.524 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (21 reviews)
5 stars
15
4 stars
4
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
1
19 of 21(90%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Non-Toxic Camo Split Shot
Review 1 for Non-Toxic Camo Split Shot
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Nice set of shot!,
May 1, 2014
By: Riceweevel
from College Park, MD
"Review for the large set of camo split shot- The packaging is quite nice compared to small circular dispensors. This has a rotary dispensor with angled slots that allow for the shot to slide up to the middle. The middle has a raised, circular frame which keeps the shot from rolling away. This make it perfect for me, as I can't tell you the number of times I've had my shot roll into the stream below. The shot is good quality. No complaints."
Review 2 for Non-Toxic Camo Split Shot
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great weights,
April 2, 2014
By: CarolinaThrilla
"These are all well formed weights with no toxic effects. They are a nice camo color that helps not take any attention away from the fly."
Review 3 for Non-Toxic Camo Split Shot
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
On and off !!,
March 24, 2014
By: lespaul
from CT
"These are one of my go to split shots. Easy on easy off and non toxic. Yeah lead works a bit better but you have to keep safety in mind for our creatures. Great stuff!"
Review 4 for Non-Toxic Camo Split Shot
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Good product...non toxic and easy to use and reuse,
January 7, 2014
By: KLCE
"Love this product for weighting my leader to get flies down deep. Camouflaged as well which is plus. Good selection of different sizes. Once used can easily be removed and reused once needed."
Review 5 for Non-Toxic Camo Split Shot
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Good Gift for In-Law,
January 3, 2014
By: honeypunky
"Was happily received by son-in-law at Christmas - good stocking stuffer."
Review 6 for Non-Toxic Camo Split Shot
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
finding the bottom,
January 2, 2014
By: rjjr
from southern New Mexico
"He was a buster brown trout, and apparently he didn't mind a mossy little pebble bouncing along the bottom of the Rio Penasco, because he swam right over it and slammed my lucky hare's ear nymph swimming right behind, right off the bottom. He was a lot of trouble, a lot of work, and he was too big to lift, I was afraid for my rod -- and to make matters worse, my Jack Russell terrier, Cutie, was a very bad girl; she jumped into the Penasco and started fighting with the big guy. Somehow, I got them both out of the water and into the grass, and the mossy little pebble -- well, actually it was an Orvis split shot, cleverly disguised -- was still firmly in place. Thanks, Orvis!"
Review 7 for Non-Toxic Camo Split Shot
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
the art of split shot,
September 6, 2013
By: rjjr
"The shot stays on the line; in the water the weights appear to be small pebbles caught in the current. I don't know whether this makes the fish more inclined to strike, but it looks pleasing from above, to my eyes at least."
Review 8 for Non-Toxic Camo Split Shot
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Truly Camo shot,
August 30, 2013
By: BernieBear
"Why didnt i think of this first - camo shot. yea- why it is it always silver?!
Really like the color especially when i have it up close to a fly. i dont know what fish think of shot- no matter the color - but at least the camo close to a flu can actually seem like part of the fly in some cases.
"
Review 9 for Non-Toxic Camo Split Shot
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Product!,
August 11, 2013
By: Stephen85
from Decatur, AL
"Does what I bought it for. Nice container with easy access!"
Review 10 for Non-Toxic Camo Split Shot
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Non-toxic Split Shot,
July 8, 2013
By: LTMF
from Georgia
"Essential for your outfit. Must have a good sized bag as it is the larger, more versatile size. A no-brainer."
Review 11 for Non-Toxic Camo Split Shot
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
A better lead free shot,
June 7, 2013
By: Penns
from Paxtonville, PA
"The shot is much easier to use than other tin shot, a better size asortment and the dispencer works better than others"
Review 12 for Non-Toxic Camo Split Shot
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Decent Shot,
January 25, 2013
By: NNCC
from San Jose, CA
"I like the large dispenser and the variety of sizes. The non-toxic aspect is also very important. I'm not a fan of these for the following: they are a pain to crimp on tight enough to not slide all over the place or fly off when casting, but when you crimp them too hard, they split in half. Also, they are a pain to remove."
Review 13 for Non-Toxic Camo Split Shot
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Nice Splitshot,
December 28, 2012
By: Cobrarem
from Rochester, NY
"Nice variety of sizes. The differing colors are nice. Nothing to distract the fish. The dispenser is nice."
Review 14 for Non-Toxic Camo Split Shot
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Just the right weights,
December 28, 2012
By: Flyweight
"These weights are just the right sizes I needed to get the size 18 flies down and keep them right where the trout want them. Great weights!"
Review 15 for Non-Toxic Camo Split Shot
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
what you need,
August 2, 2012
By: Scudbud
from Centreville VA
"This split shot is all I use anymore . The large slits and sphere shape is what you need to get down to the fish feeding hard on the bottom size 4 is ideal for fast spring creek runs and deep free stone riffles . The dispenser is smooth operating and large openings minimize fumbling on the water. Doesnt oxidize if you take a spill or wade out deep."
Review 16 for Non-Toxic Camo Split Shot
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Good stuff.....!,
May 21, 2012
By: Axeman29
from Cordelia, Ca
"Love it that they are not lead and will not contaminate our straems.....!"
Review 17 for Non-Toxic Camo Split Shot
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Cast Away,
May 12, 2012
By: voxinsceniccity
from SE TN
"Made by Anchor, this split shot may work if you are dropping your line. Even after crimping on tippet knot, none of the four split shots stayed on the line for more than two casts. (Had similar results with other Anchor split shot)
Returned and Orvis credited my card."
Review 18 for Non-Toxic Camo Split Shot
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Nice Assortment,
January 18, 2012
By: FlyFiend
from St. Louis, MO
"I like the assortment of weights and the dipenser, which makes it easier to select a weight when you have line, rod, and forecips in your hands. With other dispensers I usually drop several wieghts as I am fumbling around to open/close the dispenser."
Review 19 for Non-Toxic Camo Split Shot
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Eco Friendly Product,
December 29, 2011
By: JJK1
from CO
"The non-toxic aspect of the product sold me. The grawback is the weights are somewhat hard to remove from the line."
Ratings-Only Reviews for Non-Toxic Camo Split Shot
Based on the average of (2) ratings-only reviews
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Would recommend? Yes 2 out of 2