Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product
This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Orvis.

Vintage Orvis Turtleneck

We went back into the Orvis archives and found, updated, and remade an old favorite from the '70s. Incredibly soft interlock-knitted turtleneck that is brushed for extra softness. Original Orvis mallard embroidery on the left chest. Rib-knit cuffs. Pure cotton. Washable. Imported.Sizes: L(42-44), XL(46-48).
Average Customer Rating:
4.455 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (22 reviews)
5 stars
14
4 stars
5
3 stars
2
2 stars
1
1 star
0
20 of 22(91%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Vintage Orvis Turtleneck
Review 1 for Vintage Orvis Turtleneck
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
average quality,
October 31, 2013
By: TJJO
from NJ
"this seems to be closer to a commodity than a differentiated product... nice enough but probably could get the same quality elsewhere, maybe for less money too. Thus the average score."
Review 2 for Vintage Orvis Turtleneck
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Found a good turtleneck,
December 14, 2012
By: boby13
from Washougal, WA
"I have looked for some time for a comfortable and affordable turtleneck and I found two of them at Orvis. I use them for keeping warn while fishing and while golfing in the colder weather. They feel good and I am happy that I bought them."
Review 3 for Vintage Orvis Turtleneck
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Turtleneck,
October 26, 2012
By: Doogal
from Edenbridge Kent UK
"Excellent value (£18) Super Quality and the usual prompt Orvis delivery serviice.
Thank you"
Review 4 for Vintage Orvis Turtleneck
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Good all-round turtleneck,
October 25, 2012
By: fablee
from Malmesbury UK
"Good burgundy colour, fits very well. Discreet little logo. Looks good with chinos, jeans, cords and is good on its own or under a jacket."
Review 5 for Vintage Orvis Turtleneck
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
like the mallard !!!,
September 26, 2012
By: 1133
from clearwater beach fl
"consistant superb quality have ordered from you for over 40 years!!"
Review 6 for Vintage Orvis Turtleneck
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
solid turtleneck,
September 25, 2012
By: maibock
from Philly
"The dark, richly colored, navy blue turtleneck fits really well for it's size. I've just worn it during cool Autumn nights and there's plenty of comfort"
Review 7 for Vintage Orvis Turtleneck
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Poorly placed logo,
September 9, 2012
By: Anonymous
from Philadelphia,PA
"The shirts are comfortable but a bit to loose. The thing I do not like is that the logo is not properly positioned. It should de right were a breast pocket would be but it is up to high and to far to the side. It doesn't look right there."
Review 8 for Vintage Orvis Turtleneck
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I love this shirt.,
September 7, 2012
By: RichardC
from Meridian, MS
"Here again I have to say that you cannot go wrong buying from Orvis."
Review 9 for Vintage Orvis Turtleneck
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Good but not great,
July 24, 2012
By: Glugg
from Upstate, NY
"The Orvis cotton turtleneck is very good. The fabric is the right weight, not too heavy nor too light and the general sizing after the first wash is OK. I would prefer it to be a bit longer in the body. The major problem is the turtleneck; it is simply too loose. Some of my old turtlenecks from other makers get this way in their old age, but this one really starts out that way. It needs to be a bit tighter, perhaps with a bit of elastic. I really don't much care for the Orvis logo on the front either. Still, it is a nice, solid, useful shirt."
Review 10 for Vintage Orvis Turtleneck
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Classy turtle,
February 27, 2012
By: AJLF
from Phila PA
"The turtleneck is worm, soft to the feel, and does not fad w/ washing. I have two and love 'em."
Review 11 for Vintage Orvis Turtleneck
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Great shirts,
December 29, 2011
By: Lonnie
from Minneapolis, MN
"The turtlenecks I bought for my husband are beautiful. Even like the little duck on the front. Lonnie"
Review 12 for Vintage Orvis Turtleneck
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Turtleneck,
December 22, 2011
By: Riki1
from Port Angeles, WA
"I live in what can be a cold and windy climate; this turtle neck fits the bill to keep me warm, worn with a sweater or wool shirt."
Review 13 for Vintage Orvis Turtleneck
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
He is going to love it!,
December 12, 2011
By: Drewz
from Ct.
"This turtleneck is just what I have been looking for ! It will be a present for my husband.It is very difficult to find a turtleneck that doesn't have elastic in the neck,which he finds uncomfortable.This item is both soft and non-binding!He will love it!"
Review 14 for Vintage Orvis Turtleneck
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
December 4, 2011
By: Mandeep
from Boston MA
"I love the color and feel of the shirt. Unfortunately the collar of the shirt does not stay snug around the neck. the collar hangs loose and I think it is not how turtle neck collars are designed to perform"
Review 15 for Vintage Orvis Turtleneck
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent Shirt,
November 29, 2011
By: Ranger44
from Beaumont,Texas
"Was pleased with the color anf fit. The shirt was exactely what I expected."
Review 16 for Vintage Orvis Turtleneck
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best in Class!,
November 13, 2011
By: Berkshires
from Western Massachusetts
"After a lifetime of looking, I've found my dream turtleneck. With so many manufacturers switching to restrictive spandex necks and cuffs, the comfort of the generous neck and its drape is unparalleled. The cotton is also jersey-heavy and suede-smooth.
This connoisseur of cotton turtlenecks will look no further. Please consider more colors in future seasons.
Agree with earlier reviewer that the embroidered mallard isn't that attractive but it still doesn't diminish my enthusiasm."
Review 17 for Vintage Orvis Turtleneck
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I would, but...,
November 9, 2011
By: Allegro
from Springfield, MA
"If only the duck could fly off the chest my pal would happily find three of these under the tree. 'just can't wear those little advertising logos, and the cotton/silk/cashmere alternative is in a different category."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Ratings-Only Reviews for Vintage Orvis Turtleneck
Based on the average of (5) ratings-only reviews
Overall Rating: 
4.8 / 5
4.8 / 5
Would recommend? Yes 5 out of 5