Orvis Ratings and Reviews

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Orvis.

Targhee Wind Fleece

Our fly-fishing fleece pullover blocks 98% of the wind. A perfect nonrestrictive layering piece. Made with Polartec Power Shield fleece, this is a cold weather pullover with brushed fleece on the face, a stretch water and wind resistant laminate in the middle, and a mesh interior for easy on and off. Highly breathable, water repellent, and extremely abrasion resistant. Two fleece-lined handwarmer pockets and one zip-closed chest pocket. Fly-fishing fleece pullover is made from polyester. Washable. Imported.Sizes: S(34-36), M(38-40), L(42-44), XL(46-48), XXL(50-52).
Average Customer Rating:
2.909 out of 5
2.9
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (11 reviews)
5 stars
4
4 stars
0
3 stars
1
2 stars
3
1 star
3
4 of 11(36%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Targhee Wind Fleece
Review 1 for Targhee Wind Fleece
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
I don't know who this is sized for.,
October 8, 2012
By: kzin
from houston, texas
"I ordered this in 2XL, which usually fits--and that was before I lost 40lbs. I loved the look of the jacket, but it was tight over my ribs, the shoulders poofed several inches above my shoulders (maybe because of the waist problem) and the cuffs hung down to the end of my finger tips. The cuffs are not adjustable.
Obviously, I returned it. Very disappointing."
Review 2 for Targhee Wind Fleece
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Just the Right Fit!!!,
June 7, 2012
By: 4EVERORVIS
from Kentucky
"Great fit, nice looking fleece jacket. I have had no problems with the zippers on this jacket as some reviewers have stated. Just another great looking product from Orvis!!"
Review 3 for Targhee Wind Fleece
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
My new favorite,
March 10, 2012
By: Fortworther
"I got mine on sale, so I probably would not have paid full price. No problem with zippers. Very warm and wind proof. The best part is that it slides over my long sleeve shirts without having to pull the shirt cuffs back out every time. It is snug if you are the least bit "full" around the belly. No brand or style ever fits the same way for everyone, but this fits me fine. It is my new favorite."
Review 4 for Targhee Wind Fleece
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
No problems here,
February 21, 2012
By: Badbdawwg
"Not sure what the other posters are talking about. No problem with the zippers, fit is as expected for a lightweight fleece. Very warm. Great as an underlayer."
Review 5 for Targhee Wind Fleece
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
zipper problem. do not buy without testing,
February 18, 2012
By: jimmyf
from Rockville Centre, NY
"There seems to be a manufacturing problem with this product. Saw it first at Manchester, VT store. Went to buy it, but the zipper did not work cleanly, i.e., it was difficult to start. Salesperson agreed. So it was ordered from another store. Same problem. Called Orvis and explained the situation. They re-ordered it with a note to check the zipper. When the third jacket arrived.... same problem. Therefore, I am returning it and giving up."
Review 6 for Targhee Wind Fleece
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Product needs to be redesigned,
February 16, 2012
By: Hoff
from Kentucky
"Unfortunately the problems that were brought up by earlier reviewer are still a problem. The overall sizing of the jacket is too small, as marked, the sleeves are too narrow for an average male and all the zippers just plain do not function. I would suggest that Orvis pull this item from sales and discontinue selling a product with so many errors in manufacturing. Ovis products are generally of much higher quality."
Review 7 for Targhee Wind Fleece
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
average purchase,
February 12, 2012
By: soeedway
from michigan
"Thought better zippers could have been used for the amount of money it cost it . Order a size larger than normal. Also thought it would be heavier fleece for the cost. It is not that warm in the colder weather It is a good design and with a couple of up grades if could be great."
Review 8 for Targhee Wind Fleece
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Loved it, but...,
January 13, 2012
By: PI007
from Erie, Pennsylvania
"Generally, this is a very nice fleece fishing jacket. I used it a few times for steelhead fishing and it was very warm--even in harsh winter conditions. The fabric allows for easy movement and there are ample pockets throughout. The problem is the zipper system. It's very difficult to use and, in many instances, is literally impossible to unzip once the jacket is on. I loved it, but ended up returning the item because of the flawed zipper design."
Review 9 for Targhee Wind Fleece
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Good Product...Bad Sizing,
January 11, 2012
By: Ginnygdad
from Radford, Virginia
"I am about to return the third jacket. I normally wear a Medium in any Orvis jacket or shirt. I am the point now of seeing if an Extra-Large will do! The jacket is beautifully designed, and I would love to wear it. However, I am not confident of finding a comfortable fit."
Review 10 for Targhee Wind Fleece
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best Fleece Ever,
December 29, 2011
By: Bentley
"I purchased this fleece to keep me warm walking my Golden Retrevier and fly fishing It's the best one I've owned ever, and I have a few in the closet that just don't stand up to the job."
Review 11 for Targhee Wind Fleece
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Good Design, Poor Quality,
November 28, 2011
By: Rudster
from Coastal, NC
"Good colors/design. The double zipper is hard to zip, very frustrating, it takes numerous tries to get it to attach. The fleece is definitely not warm enough to match the price. The inside pockets are sewn in, they are not actually built into the jacket. It seems they could easily tear out. You are paying for design rather than performance."