Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Heavy Metal Extra Sink Putty

Heavy Metal Extra fishing line weight offers a vastly improved alternative to lead shot. Due to its incredible content of tungsten, its weight is comparable to lead, but completely safe and non-toxic. As it warms up it becomes softer. As it cools down it reverts back to its original hardness. Once it has softened to the consistency of chewing gum mold it around your line to your required shape. Immerse fishing line weight in water for ten seconds for the putty to cure and harden before casting. 25g per tub.
Average Customer Rating:
4.333 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (30 reviews)
5 stars
17
4 stars
8
3 stars
3
2 stars
2
1 star
0
30 of 30(100%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Heavy Metal Extra Sink Putty
Review 1 for Heavy Metal Extra Sink Putty
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Good escape,
July 30, 2015
By: BradNC
"The sink putty is a good escape from conventional split shot. The putty when placed on the line and quenched stays in place and does not move. Nothing is more aggregating than moving split shot or having to tie knots in your leader. This putty is better than other sink putting on the market."
Review 2 for Heavy Metal Extra Sink Putty
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Better than expected,
May 20, 2015
By: AndyB2658
from Severn Vale
"The amount of putty for the money paid is excellent. Once warmed up in the hand it moulds perfectly to whatever shape you need."
Review 3 for Heavy Metal Extra Sink Putty
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This stuff is really great.,
May 12, 2015
By: scoreby6
"I use this stuff when using nymphs and it works very well. I like it in place of split shot in spots where you can get stuck in the rocks and I like the idea of adjusting the weight by using just as much as you need."
Review 4 for Heavy Metal Extra Sink Putty
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Split shots...who needs them! ;-),
May 1, 2015
By: JoeBeFlyFish
from Upper St. Clair, PA
"Must admit I was a little skeptical when I first tried the sink putty. Didn't think it would stay on but I've used the same little piece for three straight outings! Works great. Has a fast sink rate, stays on, doesn't slide and it comes off easily when you decide to take it off.
Great product Orvis!"
Review 5 for Heavy Metal Extra Sink Putty
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
A Must,
April 20, 2015
By: Stegen1982
"If you fish with a floating line this is a must! Does not stick to your rod like similar products and stays on until you take it off! Brilliant product"
Review 6 for Heavy Metal Extra Sink Putty
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
A real improvement,
March 26, 2015
By: gehb
from MT
"Ive been slow to adopt new things and I'm not an avid fisherman, but I do enjoy my days on the water. I wish I'd had this stuff in my vest over the last couple years - its easy to shape, apply and remove - and I'm all for that"
Review 7 for Heavy Metal Extra Sink Putty
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Soft plunk!,
November 24, 2014
By: shadowcastaz
from NH
"This putty was recommended by someone that had used it for steelhead. You could shape it as you wished, as much as you needed to get down & dirty. There was much less of an audible plunk compared to slinkys or split shot. More hook ups? not sure but I will always have it in my vest."
Review 8 for Heavy Metal Extra Sink Putty
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Better than Split Shot,
November 10, 2014
By: RickinWA
from Washington State
"After returning to fly fishing after a 12 year layoff, I quickly remembered disliking dealing with split shot. Still playing with getting just the right amount of putty during nymph fishing.
Great product. Try it!!"
Review 9 for Heavy Metal Extra Sink Putty
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great product,
July 15, 2014
By: scoreby6
"A great product for nymphing , I was introduced to this by a guide in NH.... Awesome stuff!"
Review 10 for Heavy Metal Extra Sink Putty
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
tungsten putty,
January 29, 2014
By: Hcrews
"This product is very useful and molds very easily, there is a smaller amount of it than it appears in the picture, but there is still plenty."
Review 11 for Heavy Metal Extra Sink Putty
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
side driftin bobber fishin,
December 21, 2013
By: sekiu
from oregon
"This is for those steelheading nymphers that want to think they are so much more pure than the gear fisherman and still catch fish. Or the gear fisherman that wants to bobber fish the deep runs and side drift the shallow rifles while using a rod instead of a pole. All humor aside great product won't get hung up."
Review 12 for Heavy Metal Extra Sink Putty
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best Sinking Putty Formula,
September 20, 2013
By: STFAM
from New York
"Have been using the Orvis Heavy Metal Putty for about a year when nymphing. Really like its ease of use, infinite sizing options and reusability. If used correctly; 1) work it till its very soft, 2) apply it in a long shape, it sticks well and doesn't get hung up in rocks as much as split shot.
When I ran out of it on recent trip I bought the sinking putty the nearest store had which was Loon brand. The Loon brand was a sticky mess that ruined every leader it touched and got stuck on my fingers. It made it obvious how much better formulated the Orvis Brand is.
Good work Orvis.
"
Review 13 for Heavy Metal Extra Sink Putty
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Product,
August 26, 2013
By: ChasVT
from Winooski, VT
"Reusable and malleable. Great product to have in your fly fishing vest; much better than a rattling container filled with split-shot."
Review 14 for Heavy Metal Extra Sink Putty
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Not as good as previous,
August 3, 2013
By: HDS1
from PA
"I was an avid user of the previous dark gray putty. It was tacky and worked well in colder weather. This newer version is OK, but not very tacky and is difficult to mold and stay on the leader. Putting it on 6X tippet in small quantities is pretty difficult. Wish Orivis would go back to the previous formula that was very tacky. Spoke to Orvis about the problem last year but not changes have been made so far. Wish the old stuff would be available as an additional item."
Response from Orvis:By Orvis Customer ServiceAugust 5, 2013
Thank you for your feedback regarding this product. To see the best results when using our Heavy Metal Extra Sink Putty, there are several things to keep in mind. First, snap off a small piece of putty from the larger block. Using both hands, repeatedly stretch the putty until it reaches the consistency of chewing gum. The stretching raises the temperature of the putty, making it easier to mold and much more adhesive. As it cools in the water, the putty re-hardens and remains in place on the leader. The second, and perhaps most important, thing to note when adding the putty is to apply it in an elongated, oval shape, rather than a round shape that resembles split shot. This provides the putty with more surface area on which to stick. Again, we thank you for your feedback about the putty and hope you find this information helpful. As always, we offer a 100% satisfaction guarantee on all of our products.
Review 15 for Heavy Metal Extra Sink Putty
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Works Great,
October 11, 2012
By: Castaway
from North Ga
"You don't need that much- just a pinch. It helps keeping it warm so keep close to your heart. Hard to use when it gets cold."
Review 16 for Heavy Metal Extra Sink Putty
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Good Stuff,
October 6, 2012
By: Soldat15
from Denver, CO
"I haven't used this on nymphs, but I have used it with streamers in heavy current. It can take a bit to mold it in the cold, but I haven't had any other issues with it. I love the fact that it's reusable."
Review 17 for Heavy Metal Extra Sink Putty
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Stuff,
September 30, 2012
By: JPort
from Maine
"I recently bought this sink putty and used it nymph-fishing my favorite river. Even in cool September weather, it was pliable and went on the leader nicely. Rub it up and down the leader in the area you are going to put it to create a little more grit to keep it in place."
Review 18 for Heavy Metal Extra Sink Putty
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Not sure yet,
September 25, 2012
By: CohoSammi
from Mont Vernon, NH
"I have been looking for an alternative to sinking line and slit shot for a longtime. Am willing to give this a shot on the Salmon River this week. I will write a more detailed review then."
Review 19 for Heavy Metal Extra Sink Putty
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Easy to use,
July 19, 2012
By: flyfisher66
from Old Bridge, N.J.
"Very useful when nymphing and you need to adjust your weight."
Review 20 for Heavy Metal Extra Sink Putty
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Okay, but needs work,
June 12, 2012
By: SaveLaurelHillCreek
from Pittsburgh, PA
"Like the weight and the ability to sink quickly. But it needs to be a bit tackier to hold the line more consistently through multiple casts, particularly in colder waters. This is a step up from the previous brown putty, which was as hard as a rock. However, the dark gray version before that was much stickier and better, in my view. I still use the tiny bit I have left in my vest when the weather and water turns cold. Orvis, if you reformulate, give this Heavy Metal version more stick and it will be perfect."