Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product
This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Orvis.

Vertical Stripe Sweater

Adding a sophisticated note to lunch on the terrace or dinner and a movie, our casual short-sleeved sweater is highlighted by rich, creamy stripes. Lush Egyptian cotton blend in a textural Shaker-stitch knit. Foldover collar and oversized button at the V-neckline. Cotton/acrylic. Hand wash. Canada.Sizes: M(10-12); about 24" long.
Average Customer Rating:
4.06 out of 5
4.1
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (50 reviews)
5 stars
26
4 stars
11
3 stars
6
2 stars
4
1 star
3
40 of 50(80%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Vertical Stripe Sweater
Review 1 for Vertical Stripe Sweater
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Love this Sweater,
October 7, 2012
By: Oysterpearl
from Philadelphia, PA
"This sweater is very attractive and every time I wear it I get many compliments. It's nice cotton weave is perfect for the transitional season between summer and fall. I pair it with an off white or tan shell. it is true to size and fits nicely. The stripes down the side are slimming. Would definitely recommend."
Review 2 for Vertical Stripe Sweater
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
September 9, 2013
By: Miryam
from New York City
"This is a nice sweater, but overpriced, even at the sale price. Fabric a little rough, and would have liked it better if the stripes continued down the back of the sweater instead of only on the front.."
Review 3 for Vertical Stripe Sweater
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I love it!!!,
August 7, 2013
By: GrandmaPat
from Centerville, OH
"This sweater has everything you would ever want in a sweater. The yarn in luscious and soft which makes for a very comfy feel. The design is simple and elegant but you can wear it with jeans or for dressing up. You can wear it alone and subdued or jazz it up with bright accessories. The style is very flattering. It will probably become a favorite."
Review 4 for Vertical Stripe Sweater
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
New top,
August 1, 2013
By: Dolittle
from Monroe N.C.
"Fits well, feels great on. I will enjoy this for a long time."
Review 5 for Vertical Stripe Sweater
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Looking Sweater,
July 24, 2013
By: Suann
from Vermilion, OH
"This sweater is very attractive. It's roomy which is the way I like sweaters. Great for cooler Summer days which is common in my area. Looks nice with white cotton pants or jeans. Can be layered."
Review 6 for Vertical Stripe Sweater
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Coral Top,
June 29, 2013
By: LizzieC
from St Andrews Scotland
"This jumper is absolutely stunning - looks classy and the colour is wonderful. I already have the beige one and everyone says how nice it is - it washes very well too"
Review 7 for Vertical Stripe Sweater
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
super sweater,
May 7, 2013
By: bizzybea
from Regent's Park, London,
"Love this top, good fit and super colour that goes Easy to wear, looks good out for lunch with friends or more casual occasions. Very happy with this purchase"
Review 8 for Vertical Stripe Sweater
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Beautiful Sweater,
September 1, 2012
By: Silly2Pup
from Kentucky
"Although the button made me think the sweater was cardigan style, not pull-over, it is a beautiful sweater. The texture, etc. is perfect for early fall and most all our winter season."
Review 9 for Vertical Stripe Sweater
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Favorite sweater,
August 31, 2012
By: Intoeasy
"I love this sweater. Classic style.
I own 3 ... Different colors/length.
I get many compliments from male /female strangers. Very comfortable fit !
"
Review 10 for Vertical Stripe Sweater
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Disappointing,
August 19, 2012
By: bearette
"I thought this would be nice and slimming with the vertical stripes, but it was shapeless and the sleeves were too wide and floppy. The material was scratchy, and it is cut too low to wear without a camisole under it. I returned it."
Review 11 for Vertical Stripe Sweater
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
So many compliments,
July 31, 2012
By: Katbug
from Calgary, AB, Canada
"When my coworkers saw my new pullover, they went on and on about how much they liked it, where did I get it (I told them!), how gorgeous it was, how nice I looked in it, etc.
The garment is soft, and cool because of the breatheable fibres in it. It was an investment that I will never regret.
"
Review 12 for Vertical Stripe Sweater
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Really confortable,
July 12, 2012
By: AlexB
from Madrid, Spain
"It is really confortable, and looks nice, you can wear it to work and to go on an informal outfit, it depends on what you wear it with, preatty usefull."
Review 13 for Vertical Stripe Sweater
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Great if you are slender,
June 7, 2012
By: Bonner
from Rhode Island
"This is a lovely and well-made garment. In the catalog picture it looks longer than it the way it actually fit on me (5'10"), and also leaner. As a tall and also big-boned frame, I found that it looked boxy on me, not at all like the catalog photo. too bad! I wanted so much for it to work that it took me a couple of weeks to realize that I really had to send it back. On the right frame, I'm sure it will be a knockout!"
Review 14 for Vertical Stripe Sweater
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Slimming and cool,
June 5, 2012
By: ASLLA
from Los Angeles
"The vertical stripes are very slimming. My daughter was with me when I tried it on and she immediately ordered one for herself - and ordered the coral color for me - so now I have two."
Review 15 for Vertical Stripe Sweater
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Disappointed,
May 31, 2012
By: Spankie
from NW Corner CT
"I should have paid stricter attention to some of the other reviews. This sweater is, indeed, scratchy. And it just looks cheap. I sent it back. It's not worthy of Orvis."
Review 16 for Vertical Stripe Sweater
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Maybe for a very thin person,
May 16, 2012
By: Gretel
from New York City suburb
"The fabric was a bit stiff and the sleeves stuck out . They weren't quite as "fluid" as they appear in the picture. The look was not flattering on me. I am 5'6 and chubby."
Review 17 for Vertical Stripe Sweater
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Casual, relaxed,
May 7, 2012
By: bouvgal
"Comfy and provides a feminine layer. Looks nice even with a long sleeve shirt underneath. I am 5'4" and 135 lbs. and I ordered a Medium. It fits fine, other than the length. I am short-waisted, and this sweater barely reaches the top of my hips, unlike the tunic length on the model in the photo. Perhaps a larger size would be longer, but then the width would be very baggy."
Review 18 for Vertical Stripe Sweater
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
The sweater,
May 5, 2012
By: parkave
from Texas
"It was not exactly as appeared in picture, but I like it. I am looking forward to wearing it on my upcoming trip to the beach."
Review 19 for Vertical Stripe Sweater
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Thought it was a cardigan,
May 3, 2012
By: MemaSD
"I thought this sweater was a cardigan but it isn't, so I returned it."
Review 20 for Vertical Stripe Sweater
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Service,
May 3, 2012
By: Anonymous
from Ontario, Canada
"The service was great. I was thrilled by how quickly my exchange sweater arrived.
The telephone operators were very helpful.
Thanks"