Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product
This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Orvis.

Mechanic's Sweatshirt

Warm and easy fitting, this pure-cotton sweatshirt for men is modeled on our best-selling Mechanic's Sweater. The pure cotton jersey knit is brushed on the inside for a soft, fleecy feel that adds warmth, too; the stand collar features a faux-suede throat latch that you'll appreciate in brisk weather. Faux-suede front placket lining and elbow patches. Rib-knit collar, cuffs, and hem. Men's pure-cotton sweatshirt in navy, olive. Pure cotton. Washable. Imported.Sizes: S(34-36), M(38-40), L(42-44), XL(46-48), XXL(50-52).
Average Customer Rating:
4.05 out of 5
4.1
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (20 reviews)
5 stars
10
4 stars
5
3 stars
2
2 stars
2
1 star
1
17 of 20(85%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Mechanic's Sweatshirt
Review 1 for Mechanic's Sweatshirt
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Quality sweatSHIRT,
July 22, 2013
By: CountryGent
from Chicago
"It clearly indicates this is a sweatshirt but for some reason I was expecting closer to a sweater. I guess it's the price. It is of high quality and very soft. I would have given it higher stars if the price was more in line with a casual sweatshirt even on sale. Great dark blue color and the contrasting tan elbow patch is a nice touch. The collar is an interesting touch."
Review 2 for Mechanic's Sweatshirt
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
comfortable jumper,
May 7, 2013
By: anglerdave
from neohio
"i like it!!! one complaint - the collar is a bit too flimsy... sometimes i like to stand the collar up to protect my neck. i do like the style!!!"
Review 3 for Mechanic's Sweatshirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
New comfortable old sweatshirt,
February 7, 2013
By: leguerre
from NJ
"Actually I'm wearing this, and it is comfortable and soft and keeping me warm. One of the most important things that I look for in on-line shopping for clothing, is that the description of the clothing is accurate, and is as described. It is and I like it."
Review 4 for Mechanic's Sweatshirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
nice sweatshirt but large,
February 7, 2013
By: Torrox
"Great sweet short. Received many compliments. It is very roomy and I would consider a size smaller but going to wash this first to see if it shrinks."
Review 5 for Mechanic's Sweatshirt
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Bad Sizing and Value,
January 12, 2013
By: Sandro
"I liked the look of this sweatshirt, but the Large was not long enough in the back and the XL was just too big and bulky. Like the Barbour coats both items were sized oddly. Also, the fabric was very light for the price. After receiving the XL, I looked at it and thought with shipping/taxes, I had paid $150 for what is essentially a lightweight SWEATSHIRT! For that price it should have been a thick fabric and it should have fit."
Review 6 for Mechanic's Sweatshirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Amazingly soft and warm,
January 1, 2013
By: 11314
from Columbia, SC
"I received the Mechanic's sweatshirt for Christmas and a day before a Disney World vacation. This sweatshirt was awesome looking but most of all warm and soft. For the outdoorsman, this shirt right out of the bag feels like that one shirt you reach for when you are ready to enjoy some "Me" time."
Review 7 for Mechanic's Sweatshirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great sweatshirt,
April 2, 2012
By: Matt123
from Anaheim, CA
"Bought this sweatshirt for my husband's birthday because he saw it in the catalog. Sizing was perfect, the collar is great because you can button it or leave it with the flap showing. Nice weight for spring weather."
Review 8 for Mechanic's Sweatshirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality! Quality!,
March 7, 2012
By: trapi1
from Birch Bay, WA
"I purchased this for my boyfriend's birthday (he wears Orvis exclusively) . Olive was the Color I chose. The fabric is so smooth and overall incredible quality. He's wore it three times so far and has been able to dress it up and down. Thank you Orvis for helping me make his birthday perfect and making him look so handsome!"
Review 9 for Mechanic's Sweatshirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Brilliant,
February 24, 2012
By: Imberino
from Chippenham
"Quality product with distinctive looks. Extremely comfortable and warm."
Review 10 for Mechanic's Sweatshirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Very Nice, Very Stylish,
February 1, 2012
By: Wyvernoodle
"Soft and comfortable, I really like the look - almost cavalry! Good fit - not too loose or tight. Would love to see in additional colors - a lighter blue, black, tan/brown."
Review 11 for Mechanic's Sweatshirt
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Doesn't look as good as the photo,
February 1, 2012
By: hnm1
from Atlanta, GA
"I understood from the product description that the material would be sweatshirt cloth rather than a more substantial sweater weave; but the fit was extremely loose and baggy; and, more importantly, the faux leather multi-button front placket just did not look as cool on as it did in the photo."
Review 12 for Mechanic's Sweatshirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Nice change for a sweatshirt,
January 23, 2012
By: Coach1
"This is a great stylish sweatshirt. It even has decent length for not being designated as a tall item. Still I wish Orvis would offer more tall sizes for their men's clothing line. I think you guys are missing out on this particular market share. This shirt is nice, but I do wish it had more length to it."
Review 13 for Mechanic's Sweatshirt
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Inadequate Product,
January 18, 2012
By: Mosbey
"I purchased the sweater for its unique design. The problem is the incongruity between the design and the sweat shirt material. At minimum the sweater should be a wool blend so that the fabric would compliment the unique design aspects. This is one item I should have returned upon receipt. It is not up to Orvis standards and definitely not worth the price."
Review 14 for Mechanic's Sweatshirt
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Comfort and Style,
January 17, 2012
By: swede2100
from Red Bank NJ
"Easy to look at, easy to wear. Nice neck line, comfortable cotton and very fashionable. Nice compliments from the ladies...."
Review 15 for Mechanic's Sweatshirt
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
A tad thin,
January 17, 2012
By: coolea
from Roanoke, Va.
"Well designed, but I found the fabric a tad thin. For this reason it tends to wrinkle some.
Size in XL was a bit loose, and I prefer this."
Ratings-Only Reviews for Mechanic's Sweatshirt
Based on the average of (5) ratings-only reviews
Overall Rating: 
4.2 / 5
4.2 / 5
Would recommend? Yes 5 out of 5