Orvis Ratings and Reviews

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Orvis.

Acid-Washed Pure Cotton Sweater

A chunky rib knit of pure cotton makes our men's sweater warm and breathable; our special acid-washing process adds a rich vintage look that's perfect with your favorite pair of jeans. Rib-knit cuffs, collar, and hem. Pure cotton. Washable. Imported.Sizes: L(42-44), XXL(50-52).
Average Customer Rating:
3.059 out of 5
3.1
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (17 reviews)
5 stars
4
4 stars
5
3 stars
0
2 stars
4
1 star
4
9 of 17(53%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Acid-Washed Pure Cotton Sweater
Review 1 for Acid-Washed Pure Cotton Sweater
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
color is off,
May 17, 2013
By: thebear815
"a little too tight, like your wearing your little brother's shirt.... it's fine if you're built, but if you got man-boobs and a spare tire... walk away from this or get one 2 sizes larger. Also the color seems off, not what the website shows."
Review 2 for Acid-Washed Pure Cotton Sweater
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
cotton cable knit sweater,
May 8, 2013
By: ruru
from chicago, il
"came in two sizes too small
had to give an xl sweater to a man who normally takes a "m"
love the color and love the texture
"
Review 3 for Acid-Washed Pure Cotton Sweater
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent layer,
January 21, 2013
By: seacliffer
from Long Island NY
"This sweater matches really well with many of my shirts and provides a warmth that heavier fabrics provide. Of course without the weight"
Review 4 for Acid-Washed Pure Cotton Sweater
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Sizing way off,
January 15, 2013
By: Gipper64
"The sweater looks okay but I wear a medium and it was marked as medium but it was more like a women's extra small and I sent it back costing me the shipping fee in both directions. I've never had this problem with Orvis products before. In the past they have always been true to size."
Review 5 for Acid-Washed Pure Cotton Sweater
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
sizing was way off,
January 10, 2013
By: Divo
from Atlanta, GA
"Nice sweater, good color and fabric. Definitely should have included that it was ultra form fitting! Ordered two for my husband who is of very average build and usually wears a Large. This was sized more like a small. Had to return both."
Review 6 for Acid-Washed Pure Cotton Sweater
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Acid-Washed Pure Cotton Sweater,
January 9, 2013
By: lie67671
from Laguna Nigel, CA
"Got this one on sale if it still available get it! I love cotton not much on wool against my body. This looks and feels great."
Review 7 for Acid-Washed Pure Cotton Sweater
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Acid washed sweater,
December 29, 2012
By: SELL
from North Carolina
"This sweater looks nice, however it has a very strange fit. It was a gift to my brother and it will have to be returned/exchanged. Our family loves Orvis, so this was a surprise."
Review 8 for Acid-Washed Pure Cotton Sweater
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
December 28, 2012
By: TriciaM
"Poor quality. Always satisfied with Orvis purchase. This was not a good purchase. Sizing was off. XL fit like a medium."
Review 9 for Acid-Washed Pure Cotton Sweater
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Super warm but lightweight,
December 28, 2012
By: SrFrog
from Seattle, WA
"The brick color is subtle but deep, and pairs with quite a range of fabric and colors that I have with jeans, cords and slacks. Light in weight but very, very warm, It's quite flattering."
Review 10 for Acid-Washed Pure Cotton Sweater
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Who came up with the sizes for this?,
December 14, 2012
By: tlb27
"I wash shocked when I opened this sweater that I bought for my husband. I bought a large, and it was TINY. There's no way he will be able to wear it. Disappointed."
Review 11 for Acid-Washed Pure Cotton Sweater
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Unfortunately the worst purchase,
December 12, 2012
By: Kallietoo
"Poorly constructed and runs approximately 2 sizes smaller
In all the years I've shopped at Orvis this is my first experience that I would report as the "worst purchase" not something I've come to expect from Orvis however the return was hassle free"
Review 12 for Acid-Washed Pure Cotton Sweater
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
versatile & light-weight for casual wear,
June 2, 2012
By: CHiller
from Philadelphia
"fits well & looks good. however, actual appearance didn't quite match photo ~ expected a "chunkier" and slightly heavier sweater, similar to a wool cable-knit. Good for layering on cool days and with a sport jacket. also for travel."
Review 13 for Acid-Washed Pure Cotton Sweater
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
February 7, 2012
By: markincalifornia
"This sweater is sized much smaller than other sweaters I have purchased. One needs to be aware for catalog purchases that it is at least one size smaller than usual."
Review 14 for Acid-Washed Pure Cotton Sweater
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Very nice sweater,
February 1, 2012
By: SteveTampa
from Tampa, FL
"This is a really nice garment. I'm happy wearing it. Note that it runs a little small. If you order your usual size, it may cling to your torso and the sleeves may be a bit short. I may have been happier going one size up (but since I haven't tried the larger one on, I don't know that for sure)."
Ratings-Only Reviews for Acid-Washed Pure Cotton Sweater
Based on the average of (3) ratings-only reviews
Overall Rating: 
4.3 / 5
4.3 / 5
Would recommend? Yes 3 out of 3