Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Boiled-Wool Snap-Front Pullover

Layer up for warmth. This substantial boiled-wool pullover sweater is capable of pulling double duty, serving as a toasty midlayer, or as a light outer layer on cool days when an insulated jacket is too much. Solid-brass snaps. Soft cowbelly-leather trim at placket and elbow patches. Rib-knit hem and cuffs. Pure wool. Dry clean. Imported.Sizes: M(38-40), L(42-44), XL(46-48), XXL(50-52).
Average Customer Rating:
4.589 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (95 reviews)
5 stars
74
4 stars
10
3 stars
6
2 stars
3
1 star
2
88 of 95(93%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Boiled-Wool Snap-Front Pullover
Review 1 for Boiled-Wool Snap-Front Pullover
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
beautiful sweater and a good fit,
February 27, 2015
By: JRB3
from Cleveland OH
"I have gotten compliments on this sweater already - I have the green, and the color is exactly as displayed. I usually take a large tall, but the large fits just fine. The sweater is light, warm and comfortable."
Review 2 for Boiled-Wool Snap-Front Pullover
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Soft, mid-weight, good looking,
February 26, 2015
By: DefenseTraveller
from Viginia Beach, VA
"The sweater is lighter than I expected, more mid- weight with little bulk. Super soft & not at all scratchy. Color is a deep, but not quite Navy blue. The sizing was spot on. I may buy more & try some other colors."
Review 3 for Boiled-Wool Snap-Front Pullover
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Thank You!,
February 10, 2015
By: Starlee
from Florida
"A beautiful sweater. The quality shows. Very fast shipping!q"
Review 4 for Boiled-Wool Snap-Front Pullover
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Fine product,
February 9, 2015
By: Twh413
from Brick,NJ
"This is a warm,good looking pull over sweater,not bulky.If I have one complaint it is that it did not come in size small,I am 5'8", 150 lbs. and the Med.is a little big on me."
Review 5 for Boiled-Wool Snap-Front Pullover
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Boiled Wool Pullover,
February 9, 2015
By: JulesCT
from Connecticut
"A wonderful sweater - warming, buttery soft boiled wool, with great leather trim. A great winter layer under my coat and a very casual sweater for use at work. A winter essential"
Review 6 for Boiled-Wool Snap-Front Pullover
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
My favorite sweater,
February 5, 2015
By: JDOK
from Oklahoma
"My favorite sweater except maybe for the blue one. Liked it so well I bought them both. 5'8" 160 and the medium fits perfectly. Both fit exactly the same (a real bonus the way a lot of clothes are made these days). These are warm and not at all scratchy. Go great with jeans or casual office. I have to force myself not to wear one every day."
Review 7 for Boiled-Wool Snap-Front Pullover
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Color off not as it appears,
February 4, 2015
By: Silverfoxrocks
from Lincoln City, Or.
"Love the look but the color was not what is shown on line or in the catalog. Ran very large in size .
Returned it to the store .
"
Review 8 for Boiled-Wool Snap-Front Pullover
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Poor,
February 2, 2015
By: Alien
"Garment colour is much lighter than pictured. The boiled wool has dyed unevenly on the front, leaving two lighter spots. I also have the grey version of this product which is far superior."
Review 9 for Boiled-Wool Snap-Front Pullover
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
very comfortable and warm,
January 30, 2015
By: EddyEars
from Charlotte, NC
"I always have been a fan of boiled wool, since my days of growing up in Ohio. This sweater is both very comfortable (where did they put the itch?) and very warm. The leather detailing is lush, and the color is deep and rich. This will be a classic staple in my winter wardrobe."
Review 10 for Boiled-Wool Snap-Front Pullover
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Stylish Cool As The Late McQueen,
January 29, 2015
By: Frank101
from Chicago, Illinois
"Winter is here, so for me, my taste in clothing remain the same in quality, comfort, fit; with the looks uncommon as most, that is marketed for mass sales. I will search far and wide, until I come across, what I think, as having that special touch of appeal; as a few others, being likewise; cause these clothing to quickly sell out. As McQueen, thumbs up !!!"
Review 11 for Boiled-Wool Snap-Front Pullover
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Pullover,
January 28, 2015
By: Yurko
from New York, N.Y.
"Great pullover ... great feel to the wool fabric, great stylish, soft leather trim, all aspects of this garment are high quality and high design."
Review 12 for Boiled-Wool Snap-Front Pullover
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
January 26, 2015
By: Grainharvesterbdc1
from Wiltshire, UK
"I was looking for an itch free woollen jumper and I found it.
Smart, warm and good looking, and the wife can get close without itching....
"
Review 13 for Boiled-Wool Snap-Front Pullover
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
On the money,
January 15, 2015
By: Stinger3
"5 stars is rare for my evaluation because it would imply perfection. Yet, this garment will not abide a four. Quality leather, great dyes and superb wool makes this accurate fit a five or nothing.
Bravo!
"
Review 14 for Boiled-Wool Snap-Front Pullover
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great sweater!,
January 6, 2015
By: Ronna
from SC
"Classic and handsome! My son was thrilled with this sweater."
Review 15 for Boiled-Wool Snap-Front Pullover
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
A really cosy sweater,
January 3, 2015
By: Woodstock12
"Well made, really cosy sweatwr
Easy to wear , combining style with comfort. Would highly recommend it.
"
Review 16 for Boiled-Wool Snap-Front Pullover
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Not Too Shabby,
December 30, 2014
By: ProfessorFlyFish
from Kentucky
"Overall, I really like this comfy, medium weight sweater. It is warm and very soft (not scratchy at all), and the size Medium is a roomy enough fit for me in the shoulders and arms (5'10", 170 lbs, 33" waist, 34" sleeve). The green color truly is a creamy pea green, quite a bit lighter than the web site photo. The material looks and feels like a very soft felted wool. It does pill a bit, even with light wear, but not too badly. And I would not wash this garment at home. It appears to be dry clean only. Finally, I did discover two stitching flaws within the first 2 weeks of ownership, both about 1 inch long. One was on an elbow patch, and the other in the armpit area. Both were due to poor quality control by whoever assembled the item. I repaired both myself, but am rather disappointed to encounter such issues with a rather expensive Orvis item."
Review 17 for Boiled-Wool Snap-Front Pullover
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great sweater,
December 29, 2014
By: Scoutdad51
from Wyoming
"The color and quality are very nice AND it is very warm without being bulky."
Review 18 for Boiled-Wool Snap-Front Pullover
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
quality material,
December 28, 2014
By: ntjmom
"My son was very pleased with the wool sweater I purchased from orvis. It is a high quality item, very warm and perfect for everyday wear here in NY where temperature can sink into the teens throughout the winter."
Review 19 for Boiled-Wool Snap-Front Pullover
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Wind Resistant and Comfortable,
December 27, 2014
By: chilt
from NE PA
"A flannel shirt,this sweater and a vest were warm enough for an early morning dog walk in 30 degrees with a 10-15 mph wind. The color leans toward a yellow green. Fit is Orvis typical .in that a medium may be another companies large. Sleeves are not longer in proportion be advised
Reviewer comments about thinness indicate a lack of familiarity with boiled wool which by nature is thin due to the process which tightens the weave and reduces the bulk. The very properties which contribute to water and wind resistance. Many older ski sweaters were boiled wool and worn as an outer layer alone frequently.
To the comment it looks too much like fleece, well maybe a high end fleece but after years of wearing fleece for cold weather sports and activity, I switched back to wool. Jus an FYI."
Review 20 for Boiled-Wool Snap-Front Pullover
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Lovely sweater,
December 25, 2014
By: Vallgrl2
from Nebraska
"Bought this in a navy in an XL for my husband for his recent birthday. He likes the button style of this sweater and how it looks over his checked shirts. High quality of wool that will keep him warm through frigid winters."