Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Double Face Plaids

Double face comes from the process of taking two layers and weaving them together with different patterns on each side of the finished plaid shirt. These are woven with true indigo yarn so they eventually “bleed” and fade like a favorite pair of jeans—plus, this fabric is lightly sanded for a vintage look. Simple design with spread collar with one patch pocket. Perhaps not a better complement to jeans anywhere. Plaid shirt for men in red, indigo. Pure cotton. Washable. Imported.Sizes: S(34-36), M(38-40), L(42-44), XL(46-48), XXL(50-52).
Average Customer Rating:
2.778 out of 5
2.8
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (18 reviews)
5 stars
3
4 stars
5
3 stars
1
2 stars
3
1 star
6
9 of 18(50%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Double Face Plaids
Review 1 for Double Face Plaids
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Funny thing about Orvis,
December 5, 2013
By: Adden
"I've purchased a lot of clothes from Orvis over the years and have realized when it comes to shirt sizes, you never really know what you'll receive. I normally wear a large but sometime a large is huge on me sometimes it's just right, it seems to vary garment to garment with Orvis. Knowing this, I rolled the dice and got the only size available in the sales tent, a large. I purchased two of the same shirts in different colors, both size large, amazingly one is significantly larger than the other. I'm not sure if it was a mislabeled XL, or what happened but it is disappointing. In addition to the size issue the material has a different feel on each shirt. I do like the smaller red plaid shirt though and as many reviewers stated, it's a light weight shirt, not very warm, but looks good."
Review 2 for Double Face Plaids
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Did not measure-up to expectations,
November 27, 2013
By: golfdude
"The shirt was light weight and probably better suited for a warmer climate. It seemed flimsy ... unlikely to be durable."
Review 3 for Double Face Plaids
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Good shirt, good serivce,
June 29, 2013
By: Samc05
from Syracuse NY
"A pleasure all the way from quality, price (it was on the tent sale), service. An all around pleasure."
Review 4 for Double Face Plaids
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Disappointed,
January 11, 2013
By: UTShopper
"The fabric was limp and badly faded on the back of the shirt. I am returning it. The plaid did not match along the placket in the front and the stitching holding the pocket did not follow the edge of the fabric so it looked strange andt floppy. Not up to Orvis quality"
Review 5 for Double Face Plaids
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Handsome Rugged Shirt,
January 10, 2013
By: mdtaxvictim
from South Cackalaka
"Shirt is sweet looking, nice effect with the double faced which is really two thin layers sandwiched together. It looks great and is not unduly heavy or bulky. Excellent color. The size ran large around the girth for me."
Review 6 for Double Face Plaids
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
To thin and sized to large for a woman.,
January 9, 2013
By: Flannel2000
"I purchased this item for my wife. She has worn a small or medium since we were married 42 years ago. The sizing for a woman was to large and the material too thin to be of any good in the chill. Also, can't womens apperal be made in the US? Why purchase this cheap looking and feeling material. My advice is buy American, period."
Review 7 for Double Face Plaids
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Nice Shirt,
December 29, 2012
By: macupnorth
"Great shirt, why can't you guys get stuff made in the U.S.A.?????"
Review 8 for Double Face Plaids
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Unusual fit,
December 28, 2012
By: MidwestRoger
"I like the description of the product and bought it for variety. The fit of the shirt was not consistent with other Orvis products. I did return the shirt. As always, I did receive fantastic service from Orvis."
Review 9 for Double Face Plaids
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Beautiful Shirt,
May 21, 2012
By: Manwhomadetheman
from Fort Wayne, IN
"I wasn't aware of what a "double face" was and I find it to be both strange and likeable. Definitely a good-looking shirt, very lightweight and will go great with jeans. I wear an XL and its snugness (not severe) is the only reason I didn't go 5 stars."
Review 10 for Double Face Plaids
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
December 29, 2011
By: Katrin
"This particular shirt was very well made, and it fit perfectly.
It needs little ironing, and should wear very well.
"
Review 11 for Double Face Plaids
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
nothing special,
December 13, 2011
By: chukarjohn
from reno,nv
"my review is that when i tried to order another shirt quickly and return this one per your speedy process I never received the 2nd shirt and there was no record of my order for a twill of the same price. now its too late for christmas shipping.,you let me down big time Orvis??????"
Review 12 for Double Face Plaids
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Nice shirt,
December 7, 2011
By: RBaker
from Texas
"The shirt is light weight and comfortable. Not ideal for colder climates or rugged work use. Just fine for this city slicker in Texas."
Review 13 for Double Face Plaids
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Way too big,
November 12, 2011
By: ShortGuy
"I wear stuff in men's small, so I was happy that Orvis started stocking more stuff in small. Unfortunately, this shirt in small is still far too big for me. It is bigger than any other size small shirt that I've tried on from any other brand. I returned the shirt."
Review 14 for Double Face Plaids
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
so happy I found this company,
November 2, 2011
By: iambill
from Campbell River B.C. Canada
"As my first purchace with Orvis, I chose the double faced plaid shirt.
I was very anxious to get my package, and was very happy to see it in the mail 1 week later ( shipped to Canada).
However when I opened the package I was sad to see that it is really a summer shirt. A very nice summer shirt, but I thought I was getting a thicker shirt for our Canadian winters.
I went to the web site and read a review that said it was a lighter shirt ( should have gone there first).
Oh well, I just ordered another, thicker plaid and they are sending me a UPS code to return the first shirt.
Can't wait to get my newer thicker shirt. And I will probably end up buying the double face in the spring
"
Ratings-Only Reviews for Double Face Plaids
Based on the average of (4) ratings-only reviews
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Would recommend? Yes 2 out of 4