Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product
This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Orvis.

Vintage Twill Shirt

We take lightly brushed pure cotton twill shirt and give it a heavy garment wash to create a fabric with the look and unmistakable feel of a longtime favorite. With a relaxed look straight out of the dryer, this shirt has a pair of button-flap pockets and a casual spread collar. Adjustable cuffs. Pleated shoulder yoke with locker loop. Washable. Imported.Sizes: L(42-44).
Average Customer Rating:
4.2 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (20 reviews)
5 stars
10
4 stars
7
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 star
1
17 of 20(85%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Vintage Twill Shirt
Review 1 for Vintage Twill Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Nicer than I thought,
December 17, 2013
By: Jayck
from Montclair, nj
"I bought this shirt figuring it would be a Fall weekend yard work shirt. While the twill fabric is tough enough to be a "yard-work" item, the shirt was surprisingly handsome, and has drawn admiring comments when I've worn it out with a blazer and jeans. Typical peerless orvis quality, as well."
Review 2 for Vintage Twill Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Fall Shirt,
September 3, 2013
By: JSinWA
from WA
"Soft, substantial, flannel-like brushed twill in a great-looking plaid will definitely make this shirt a favorite for Fall and Winter."
Review 3 for Vintage Twill Shirt
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Nice Quality,
August 5, 2013
By: iowalee
from Iowa
"Nice quality, the color was true to the picture and the shirt fits well."
Review 4 for Vintage Twill Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Good fall shirt,
March 31, 2013
By: spartacus72
from Richmond, VA
"The heavier than normal material is reminiscent of a flannel shirt, but a bit more comfortable. Probably more of a chilly weather shirt to be worn under something heavier like a jacket or a sweater. Classic Orvis fit, not too narrow or too big in the middle."
Review 5 for Vintage Twill Shirt
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
A Shirt to Work,
March 27, 2013
By: Turbo1
"Just the shirt I needed to drive 18
wheelers. You are the only one that
prives roomy shirts.
Thanks
"
Review 6 for Vintage Twill Shirt
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
quality twill,
January 21, 2013
By: highmileage
"The only reason i've given 4 not 5 stars is that the full price seems very high for these shirts. However I bought them in the sale and couldn't be happier. Great fit and wash brilliantly. The cotton twill seems very hard wearing and feels comfortable to wear."
Review 7 for Vintage Twill Shirt
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
It's a keeper!,
January 1, 2013
By: Saba2
"Brilliant colors, superb fabric. A little larger than expected but wouldn't want it skimpy - really well made shirt!"
Review 8 for Vintage Twill Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
In a word - excellent !!,
December 22, 2012
By: jjscotman
from Edinburgh, Scotland, UK
"I now have so many Orvis shirts and I've been pleased with all of them. I've run out of complimentary terms about their colours, material and construction.
So in one word I find them to be "excellent" and I recommend them to potential purchasers.
"
Review 9 for Vintage Twill Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
My favorite casual shirt,
November 28, 2012
By: MunsterLover
from Central New York
"I live in Central New York close to Lake Ontario. We get lots of snow and have very cool/cold fall and spring, so I wear this shirt 7 or 8 months a year.
The weight of this shirt is by far my favorite I have every worn in a casual shirt. It is as warm as my flannel shirts, but has a better look and drapes better.
I wear these shirts out for errands or casual evenings, working out in the workshop or yard, when it is cold. Everything practically.
I will keep buying some every so often so I have one for at least the next 20 years, but I have seen no real wear and tear yet. I hope Orvis doesn't discontinue this shirt."
Review 10 for Vintage Twill Shirt
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Heavy weight fabric,
October 26, 2012
By: drchip0
"A good looking shirt but surprisingly heavy fabric."
Review 11 for Vintage Twill Shirt
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Trick-of-the-Eye,
June 5, 2012
By: DecentDrew1
from St. Paul, Minnesota
"photos on-line and in the magazine of this shirt in "black plaid" show a very different looking article than what arrived. Top-quality set aside, the plaid pattern proved quite different than what Orvis shows.
Beware, unless you're not as "plaid critical" as I. . . ."
Review 12 for Vintage Twill Shirt
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Old McDonald's Farm,
March 26, 2012
By: cityfolk
from West Hartford,CT
"There was nothing wrong with the construction of this shirt. But from the image online, it appeared to be a sophisticated, unbusy design (Dark and light bleus). When I actually got a chance to look at the item in vivo, it appeared very busy (intense yellows and blues clashing) and was nothing I would ever wear. I'm not a farmer. You may need to look at the quality of the pictures (esp. the colors in your online catalog.)"
Review 13 for Vintage Twill Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality Expected - and Delivered!,
March 23, 2012
By: domer71
from Aurora, CO
"I expected high quality from Orvis and they did not disappoint. This is a great shirt - great fit and feel, and workmanship appears to be top-notch."
Review 14 for Vintage Twill Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality flannel shirt,
March 20, 2012
By: Loves2Walk
from Chatsworth, California
"A lovely flannel shirt made of fine twill fabric with well wrought details. It came out of the wash with very few wrinkles, better than my other cotton flannel shirts. Please note that in the catalog this shirt looked like black or grey plad, online the bright blue stood out. The real shirt has some if both colors."
Review 15 for Vintage Twill Shirt
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Great Weekend Shirt,
January 9, 2012
By: CottonConvert
from San Francisco, CA
"Solid construction with unexpected details. Left chest pocket has a pen compartment with an opening in the flap for the pen to poke through at top. Wish the shirt isn't as long as it is - little longer than I'm used to for wearing untucked. Great buy overall."
Review 16 for Vintage Twill Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Totally Excellent Shirt,
December 22, 2011
By: Riki1
from Port Angeles, WA
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"This shirt is just great...great fit-not too low hanging, so can be worn outside your jeans (which is how I wear it) with a color coordinated t-shirt. Just kind of the perfect casual but also classy look.
Don't work in the fields with it-it's too nice.
Color is nice as well-muted but a very attractive blue. In fact, I wore it to pose with my wife and our three Terriers for our 2011 Christmas photo.
"
Review 17 for Vintage Twill Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
My new fishing shirt,
December 13, 2011
By: Dolie
"This product fits my life style and will endure my many fly fishing excursions. It is comfortable."
Review 18 for Vintage Twill Shirt
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Bad Fit,
November 4, 2011
By: Roald
from Alaska
"Orvis shirts size L always fit me perfectly, but this one fit more like an M, I couldn't button it. Highly disappointed."
Review 19 for Vintage Twill Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great shirt,
October 18, 2011
By: Shades
"Comfortable, comes out of the dryer looking like it's been ironed. Great double flap pockets. Wish it was available in a larger selection of colors. Definitely my "go to" shirt on cool Saturdays."
Review 20 for Vintage Twill Shirt
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Great shirt!,
September 26, 2011
By: Xenu
from Boulder, CO
"Great shirt! Too bad it's offered in such a limited variety of colors/plaids."