Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Lambswool Mechanic's Sweater

The mechanic's sweater profile is a customer favorite and one of the best-selling wool sweaters for men we've ever offered. This new version is made of pure lambswool for a softer and warmer sweater. With a definitely distinctive profile, this pullover sweater has three burnt-horn buttons, a shawl-style collar, and is fully fashioned with rib trim at the hem and cuff. Washable. Imported.Sizes: XL(46-48), XXL(50-52).
Average Customer Rating:
4.933 out of 5
4.9
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (15 reviews)
5 stars
14
4 stars
1
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
15 of 15(100%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Lambswool Mechanic's Sweater
Review 1 for Lambswool Mechanic's Sweater
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality Sweater,
January 20, 2014
By: mgray
"The purchase was easy with Orvis. Shipment arrived on time. Quality sweater, exactly what I was expecting. Very pleased.."
Review 2 for Lambswool Mechanic's Sweater
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
GREAT SWEATER,
January 16, 2014
By: TBONEJTOWN
from JAMESTOWN, NY
"I AM VERY IMPRESSED WITH THE
STYLE, WARMTH, AND QUALITY
CONSTRUCTION OF THIS SWEATER. I RECEIVE A LOT OF
COMPLIMENTS WHENEVER I WEAR THIS. ANOTHER GREAT
PRODUCT THAT WILL STAND THE TEST OF TIME.
"
Review 3 for Lambswool Mechanic's Sweater
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great sweater,
December 17, 2013
By: Orso
from Concord, OH
"I had similar sweater many years ago and was glad to see Orvis had them in their store. This sweater is everything I wanted, fit, quality and looks. I am sure I will enjoy it's warmth for many years to come."
Review 4 for Lambswool Mechanic's Sweater
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Looks great,
December 14, 2013
By: PugsRthugs
from chattanooga, tn
"I bought this as a present and neither of us was disappointed! It looks great in the box and even better once he put it on. Warm and soft - not scratchy and uncomfortable like other wollen sweaters."
Review 5 for Lambswool Mechanic's Sweater
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
EXCELLENT,
December 13, 2013
By: TBONEJTOWN
from JAMESTOWN, NY
"EVERY SWEATER I HAVE PURCHASED FROM ORVIS IS TOP
QUALITY- THIS IS NO EXCEPTION.
STYLISH, WARM- CRAFTED TO ENDURE. IT IS A PLEASURE TO
CONTINUE TO RECEIVE TOP NOTCH GARMENTS FROM A GREAT RETAILER.
"
Review 6 for Lambswool Mechanic's Sweater
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
High Quality Sweater,
December 9, 2013
By: Erin77
from Marietta, GA
"I have purchased this sweater as a Christmas gift for my husband. At this point, I don't know if it will fit but the quality is excellent. The wool is extremely soft and the overall look of the sweater is very sharp. I am certain he will love it."
Review 7 for Lambswool Mechanic's Sweater
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Perfect,
March 3, 2013
By: SeanD
from columbus, oh
"Bought the green on sale and its the perfect weight, price and look. The collar is not too big or goofy. Will be good on the "tweenier" days when I don't want to wear a jacket. Have received numerous compliments."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Lambswool Mechanic's Sweater
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
elegant and admired,
December 30, 2011
By: alxw
from San Jose ca
"Every where I wear this i get compliments. Warm comfortable and upscale. I'll get another."
Review 9 for Lambswool Mechanic's Sweater
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
very solid,
December 30, 2011
By: acurama
from Brooklyn, NY
"This sweater has a slimmer cut than other Orvis sweaters. The cut and shawl collar are trendy without making me feel/look like a hipster.
The lambswool is thick and durable. While it is not cashmere, it is not itchy on the cuffs or neck if I wear it over a t-shirt."
Review 10 for Lambswool Mechanic's Sweater
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Nice fit,
December 29, 2011
By: Brouigu1
from Boulder, CO
"Super soft and the fit was spot on. I have had many compliments on this sweater."
Review 11 for Lambswool Mechanic's Sweater
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
excellent bargain,
December 20, 2011
By: HoustonSam
from Houston, TX
"The lambswool mechanic's sweater is a substantial, good looking garment I've quickly come to rely on for protection from wind and cold. It's comfortable and fits well, and has gotten positive comments every time I've worn it. At this price it's an excellent bargain. If I lived in a colder climate I'd collect all three colors."
Review 12 for Lambswool Mechanic's Sweater
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
good product,
December 16, 2011
By: gogglespaesano
"good quality, the size runs a little on the bigger size. I normally wear a medium, but the shoulder are a little large on the med., but overall nice product."
Review 13 for Lambswool Mechanic's Sweater
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Another exellent product from Orvis,
November 25, 2011
By: Mesa
from Miami, FL
"This classic Black-Lambswool Mechanic's sweater is just perfect: Not too thick, soft, Medium size is a perfect fit (for a 5'10" 175 Lb frame).
Can't wait for the next promotiion to buy the brown..!
"
Review 14 for Lambswool Mechanic's Sweater
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Feels, fits and looks great,
November 8, 2011
By: wlemley
"I receive many compliments when I wear this. Feels better than most wools."
Review 15 for Lambswool Mechanic's Sweater
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Mid-Weight Wool Sweater,
October 29, 2011
By: wodmitch
from Beautiful Northern California
"Very comfortable wool version of a classic. The size large fit is excellent on my 6 foot, 185 pound frame. Sleeves are long enough and body fits nicely.
The material is soft wool and the button neck snugs up nicely against a chill.
Nice appearance suitable for almost any casual occasion. Pairs nicely with jeans, chinos or wool slacks.
"