Orvis Ratings and Reviews

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Orvis.

Hemp/Cotton Twill Waistcoat

Subjected to a special stone-washing process, our rugged hemp/cotton-twill waistcoat has a soft, broken-in look and feel that's a perfect complement to jeans. Two front pockets. Matching hemp/cotton back with adjustable belt. Fully lined. Twill dress waistcoat for men in khaki. 55% hemp/45% cotton body; 55% hemp/45% lyocell lining. Washable.Sizes: S(34-36).
Average Customer Rating:
4 out of 5
4
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (35 reviews)
5 stars
17
4 stars
9
3 stars
3
2 stars
4
1 star
2
27 of 35(77%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Hemp/Cotton Twill Waistcoat
Review 1 for Hemp/Cotton Twill Waistcoat
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
size problem,
October 8, 2013
By: hgeebgee
from Western NY state
"I bought a small; its fit was too tight to button it; returned for credit, still in process. Also bought a "sherpa fleece vest" in small and it fit perfectly, so I believe the twill vest was probably mis-labled.. cost me about $7 to return it.
HNB
"
Review 2 for Hemp/Cotton Twill Waistcoat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Vest,
October 3, 2013
By: oldiowaguy
"This vest is excellent quality. I am completely satisfied with it. I ordered the small size and the size runs accurately."
Review 3 for Hemp/Cotton Twill Waistcoat
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
September 28, 2013
By: ozmada
"Item is nicely styled and comfortable material. It runs small"
Review 4 for Hemp/Cotton Twill Waistcoat
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Not the greatest,
September 6, 2013
By: slank
"I am very disappointed in this vest, it is a large fit and extremely casual. I have tried to shrink it a little by washing in warm and drying but no luck."
Review 5 for Hemp/Cotton Twill Waistcoat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent Product,
July 23, 2013
By: Hemmingway
"I was very pleased with the quality of the product and the fit."
Review 6 for Hemp/Cotton Twill Waistcoat
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Read the reviews before purchasing,
July 14, 2013
By: FVPelican
from Atlantic Highlands, NJ
"I like these vests, but be careful.
Size - I usually wear a large in Orvis vests and extra large in other brands. I had to return the large size for extra large.
Color - It ain't charcoal and it ain't khaki. I would call it grey/blue and olive.
Buttons - I'm replacing them. These vests are nice enought to wear with a sportscoat, but not with "ORVIS" on the buttons."
Review 7 for Hemp/Cotton Twill Waistcoat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
great vest,
July 14, 2013
By: Kotter
"It's part hemp exterior and poly interior goes unnoticed (I was used to cotton or silk orvis vests). great for casual with jeans and I will also use it for dress in the future."
Review 8 for Hemp/Cotton Twill Waistcoat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
A fine quality product.,
June 29, 2013
By: Nellos
"I had previously purchased the Khaki version of this waistcoat and was so impressed that I could not resist the charcoal version."
Review 9 for Hemp/Cotton Twill Waistcoat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Even better than I expected.,
June 22, 2013
By: Nellos
"I had been looking for a waistcoat for some time and I am delighted to have chosen this product. The quality is outstanding and it is one of the most comfortable garments I own."
Review 10 for Hemp/Cotton Twill Waistcoat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Hemp/Cotton Twill Vest,
June 4, 2013
By: Anonymous
"The look, fit, color are all superior. What an outstanding product!"
Review 11 for Hemp/Cotton Twill Waistcoat
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Okay but not great,
June 4, 2013
By: RBine
from Northants, UK
"The long delivery time always spoils immediate enjoyment, by the time I received my order the seasons had changed and the waist coat is now awaiting cooler weather. The colour was supposed to be charcoal grey but is more of an airforce blue. Overall I am disappointed but the quality and fit are good."
Review 12 for Hemp/Cotton Twill Waistcoat
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Vest doesn't fit as I need a tall size.,
June 4, 2013
By: doxie3
from United States
"I first purchased a size large . I normally am a size large tall. It was to short and about 1" to tight. I returned and ordered an extra large. It is about 2-3" to large around and could be slightly longer. I am shipping it back today. Orvis really needs to offer a few vests in tall size. I am pretty sure a large tall would have fit.
I rated it a 4 star as the vest is pretty nice just doesn't fit my body."
Review 13 for Hemp/Cotton Twill Waistcoat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Lovely Vest,
June 3, 2013
By: Tathanka
from Bloomington, IN
"This is simply the best vest I have ever worn. Fits me snuggly, with none of the awkward shifts in folds I've encountered in other vests. Highlights the Orvis shirts I purchased with understated elegance. Flatters my fit and trim physique. Just right!"
Review 14 for Hemp/Cotton Twill Waistcoat
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Satisfied,
June 1, 2013
By: Kamra
from Hampshire, UK
"This item was back ordered when I ordered it, and then further delayed, so I had to wait a few weeks to receive it. But that didn't bother me. However the new stock that came in was slightly different from the way it had appeared in the catalog and on the website: the lining is now the same colour as the exterior, instead of off-white.
What I like:
The fit, the cut, the overall look, the inner pocket, the feel of the material.
What I don't like:
- The buttons, which say 'Orvis Since 1856' on them. a) They're tacky and b) I don't like being a walking advertisement for clothing companies. With five of these buttons I feel like a flashing neon sign. I'm going to replace them with plain ones.
- The colour is described as 'charcoal' which I think of as a deep grey, almost black. I would say it's more of a blue/black. Perhaps it's a slight difference in the dye of this stock run. I'm disappointed about this because I wanted a true charcoal colour - it affects what shirts I can wear the waistcoat with.
- The buckle on the rear strap is big and heavy as well as cheap and, again, tacky looking. I may remove the strap if it can be done neatly. I don't think it's a necessary feature.
- The weave of the material has a diagonal line pattern, something which is impossible to see in the catalog picture and difficult to see on the website, even in the enlarged version of the picture. I would have preferred a flat weave though it isn't the end of the world. As stated above I am, overall, happy with this waistcoat.
"
Review 15 for Hemp/Cotton Twill Waistcoat
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Good Product,
April 4, 2013
By: GMCA
from Pleasanton, Ca.
"Very nice vest. Wears well and the inside pocket was a welcome surprise. It holds my I phone comfortably. Size is true. I have purchased other vests from Orvis and all are XL. Charcoal is not really the color. It is more blue than gray. Looks good with jeans. If you are looking for something gray this will not work."
Review 16 for Hemp/Cotton Twill Waistcoat
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality - at a price,
April 4, 2013
By: Cantona
from London, UK
"I'd been looking for a piece like this for years, and never found what I was really looking for until now. So, matched with a crisp white shirt, newsboy cap and worn, black cotton trousers I now have my early 20th century Michael Corleone, Sicilian peasant look. Received in excellent condition as expected. Both quality and finish of garment are superbd. I have only given this a four star rating and this entirely down to cost. Had it been priced £20 less it would have received five stars plus, without a shadow of a doubt. So, to summarise; an exceptional addition to my wardrobe, but - ouch - it was pricey."
Review 17 for Hemp/Cotton Twill Waistcoat
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
When is charcoal navy blue,
March 28, 2013
By: Dunny1
from Windsor Berkshire UK
"Orvis rarely get it wrong albeit did not publish my last comment. The charcoal waistcoat is not as it says it is, more navy blue. Superb product and well made i have 14 Orvis waistcoats but in particular wanted a charcoal one. It has not been available for over a year. Waited all this time you can imagine how really disappointed I am. Have kept it because it does work for me but it aint charcoal. Bit like opening a tin of soup and finding it is spaghetti. Still love Orvis product all the same"
Review 18 for Hemp/Cotton Twill Waistcoat
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Not What the Picture Shows,
March 22, 2013
By: WineMaker
from Fort Wayne, IN
"The picture of this vest is not what arrived in the mail. There is no cream or white colored lining of any sort. It is not charcoal in color -- rather it is a blah green. I am sending it back. I would not recommend this item to anyone."
Review 19 for Hemp/Cotton Twill Waistcoat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent product,
October 2, 2012
By: LawmanSD
from South Dakota
"Excellent quality, as expected from Orvis. The sizing is true, color is accurate as depicted, and the garmet build quality means this will last for years."
Review 20 for Hemp/Cotton Twill Waistcoat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Vest,
October 1, 2012
By: digs
"Just what I have been wanting.
Very comfortable.
Perfect fit over a dress shirt or T shirt.
Great casual/dress look.
"