Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Nantucket Reds™ Shorts

Direct from Murray's Toggery—a Nantucket fixture for more than a half century—these pure cotton shorts for men are standard-issue summer wear. Breathable, long-wearing pure cotton canvas offers remarkable comfort in warm weather. Traditional fit with a zip fly; quarter-top pockets and welted rear pockets (left with button-through closure). Men's summer shorts are made of pure cotton. Washable. Imported.Even waist sizes: 32-44. Inseam 9½".
Average Customer Rating:
4.425 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (47 reviews)
5 stars
31
4 stars
9
3 stars
4
2 stars
2
1 star
1
42 of 47(89%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Nantucket Reds™ Shorts
Review 1 for Nantucket Reds™ Shorts
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Shorts that go anywhere!,
April 21, 2014
By: Wattiedodds
"Perfect shorts for trout fishing in North Norfolk one day to sitting on the grass watching local cricket in Barbados the next!"
Review 2 for Nantucket Reds™ Shorts
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best shorts,
January 21, 2014
By: DoctaFax
from Peabody, MA
"Nantucket reds are great shorts
The fit is perfect and the color gets better with fading
"
Review 3 for Nantucket Reds™ Shorts
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent,
September 24, 2013
By: WhiteyMac
from Woburn,MA
"Great comfort; stylish summer color goes with anything."
Review 4 for Nantucket Reds™ Shorts
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
exactly as ordered,
August 1, 2013
By: islanddweller
"I have resisted ordering online after many bad experiences with other companies. I prefer to buy in store. My Nantucket Reds fit perfectly and were received on time. Orvis is a five star organization."
Review 5 for Nantucket Reds™ Shorts
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Nice Short,
July 9, 2013
By: biggz
from Richmond VA
"Great expected orvis quality, these run a bit on the slim side, so i would order one size larger than normal."
Review 6 for Nantucket Reds™ Shorts
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best Deal,
July 5, 2013
By: RSMac
from Winston-Salem, NC
"Wonderful product, quality & fabric well worth the price, also bought long pants."
Review 7 for Nantucket Reds™ Shorts
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Great but size issues,
June 29, 2013
By: GBIV
"I read prior reviews about this product stating that the waist was small for the size indicated. I have a 33 waist and the size 34 was good. The only reason I did not give this product five stars was that the shorts were too generously wide at the bottom and too long - they would be better if they were shorter and more of a straight leg fit. So I decided to return them."
Review 8 for Nantucket Reds™ Shorts
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
great quality and color,
June 28, 2013
By: MikeCMN
"I had been eyeing the Nantucket Reds for awhile and happy I finally purchased a pair! These are classic shorts in a very cool tone of red. Great with a polo and deck shoes for summer boating. They have washed out nicely so far and I have hung them to dry per the instructions and just touch them up in the dryer for a few minutes. They come out looking real nice These are quality and certainly will get better with age."
Review 9 for Nantucket Reds™ Shorts
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Shorts,
June 24, 2013
By: Mark1029
from Overland Park KS
"Love these shorts, great quality and size is true to fit?"
Review 10 for Nantucket Reds™ Shorts
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent purchase,
June 6, 2013
By: dezertratz
from Arizona
"High quality and stylish. If you wear shorts these are a most for your wardrobe even if you live in the desert."
Review 11 for Nantucket Reds™ Shorts
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Fit and Color,
April 22, 2013
By: Tmars
"You can't always depend on sizes these days, but the fir was just right. Love the color. Waiting for warmer weather so I can actually wear them!"
Review 12 for Nantucket Reds™ Shorts
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Spirited Shorts,
April 4, 2013
By: WoodwardBound
from Pennsylvania / Maine
"Not only are these shorts incredibly handsome, but they are comfortable and well made. The material is substantial and over time has begun showing the fading that make these shorts famous for their authenticity. A very great pair of shorts to invest in."
Review 13 for Nantucket Reds™ Shorts
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Just what I wanted,
March 29, 2013
By: TheVeal
from Baltimore,MD
"I've wanted Nantucket red's for years and now I have the perfect pair for the beach of a round of golf, Thanks"
Review 14 for Nantucket Reds™ Shorts
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Perfect shabby chic,
August 17, 2012
By: Bumby
from Pennington,NJ
"Loved the feel and comfort of these shorts! Great fit and outstanding color! suits my "shabby chic" beachy lifestyle for every occasion except Black Tie!"
Review 15 for Nantucket Reds™ Shorts
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Nantucket Reds,
August 15, 2012
By: Dirtworm
from Great Falls, CA
"Classic style in a color that's a fashion icon. Even real men can wear this shade of red."
Review 16 for Nantucket Reds™ Shorts
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
waist too small,
July 31, 2012
By: lvar
from Marin CA
"I gave these shorts to my son and he loves them and they look great, BUT, the waist is a bit too small. It is the usual size he takes and he fits in all the other clothes this size. I phoned customer service and they said they would stretch an inch in the waist...I hope so!"
Review 17 for Nantucket Reds™ Shorts
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
A very well made product.,
July 31, 2012
By: SpudLaRue
from Skagit Valley, WA
"These shorts are unique, well made, and good looking. My only concern is that they run a little small compared to my other shorts of the same size. Consider ordering a size bigger than usual."
Review 18 for Nantucket Reds™ Shorts
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Now summer has arrived,
July 25, 2012
By: Billy2names
from Thames Valley
"I have fallen in love with these shorts. Amazingly cool when it's hot ; roomy without being baggy and stylish without being formal - all you could want from a pair of shorts that can be worn on the golf course the beach or in the High Street."
Review 19 for Nantucket Reds™ Shorts
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Smart Shorts,
July 3, 2012
By: WildieBeest
from Putney, UK
"Great fit for the taller wearer. Feel very tough and should last well. Need at least two washes on own to avoid damaging other items."
Review 20 for Nantucket Reds™ Shorts
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Better options,
June 26, 2012
By: Anonymous
from Lyndell, PA
"I needed Bretton red shorts and was told these were the best. Good old fashioned quality, which I like. But the fabric is too course. Better option is the Surfwashed shorts in Vineyard Red - softer, comfortable fabric with same color."