Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Nantucket Reds™ Shorts

Direct from Murray's Toggery—a Nantucket fixture for more than a half century—these pure cotton shorts for men are standard-issue summer wear. Breathable, long-wearing pure cotton canvas offers remarkable comfort in warm weather. Traditional fit with a zip fly; quarter-top pockets and besom rear pockets (left with button-through closure). Men's summer shorts are made of pure cotton. Washable. Imported.Even waist sizes: 32-44. Inseam 9½".
Average Customer Rating:
4.48 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (75 reviews)
5 stars
53
4 stars
12
3 stars
5
2 stars
3
1 star
2
67 of 75(89%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Nantucket Reds™ Shorts
Review 1 for Nantucket Reds™ Shorts
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
My husband loves this lover,
November 24, 2014
By: shane2007
from southern California
"this really isn't red it is more of a burn orange that is why he loves it."
Review 2 for Nantucket Reds™ Shorts
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
November 22, 2014
By: Philpen
"These are cool looking pants. And they fit great. I thought at 59 years old they might not suit me - they do! Well done, Orvis!"
Review 3 for Nantucket Reds™ Shorts
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Shorts,
August 22, 2014
By: specelec
from Annapolis, MD
"One of the most comfortable pair of shorts that I have bought in a long while. Tough enough for everyday use around the house and nice enough to go out in the evening and enjoy crabs at a local place on the Bay..."
Review 4 for Nantucket Reds™ Shorts
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
More tapered,
August 19, 2014
By: Teddy6
from Jackson Hole
"This was a replacement for same shorts purchased in Nantucket 15+ years ago which were cut much more trim than this recent purchase. Too baggy."
Review 5 for Nantucket Reds™ Shorts
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Nantucket Reds,
August 10, 2014
By: Zanthoula
from Scotand and Turkey
"Both shorts and trousers are well-tailored and strongly made. Nantucket Red is a perfect red, a soft cornelian, the colour of old tiles in the south of France. The current (August) issue of Tatller magazine gives this colour as de rigeur dress code for the New York Yacht Club and the Royal Yacht Squadron. Congratulations Orvis!"
Review 6 for Nantucket Reds™ Shorts
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
waist too small,
August 8, 2014
By: Jobber
from Kansas
"The shorts were excellent, just the waist was not quite true to size, I wear a 33 and it was very tight, need to order a size larger than usual."
Review 7 for Nantucket Reds™ Shorts
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Outstanding Quality,
August 7, 2014
By: JayJ
from La Crosse, WI
"Exceptional quality in a pair of summer shorts. A testament to the skill and craftsmanship of it's makers."
Review 8 for Nantucket Reds™ Shorts
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Beware,
July 28, 2014
By: Bareman
from Virginia
"Quality of the material is good and color is what I expected, the cut of the leg openings is much too large."
Review 9 for Nantucket Reds™ Shorts
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Perfect color,
July 23, 2014
By: Dondog
from Nashville, TN
"Really like the faded red. Have a pair from another company that said faded red but really looks pink!"
Review 10 for Nantucket Reds™ Shorts
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Comfortable,
July 22, 2014
By: JWalt
"This is a great short, comfortable and well made. I thought it would be a little looser fit, but it is almost taylored to my size."
Review 11 for Nantucket Reds™ Shorts
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
great shorts,
July 21, 2014
By: duckhead
from evand, ga
"My wife wanted these for me. She had great taste. Shorts are true to size and wear great."
Review 12 for Nantucket Reds™ Shorts
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Summer Necessity,
July 15, 2014
By: JockScott3
from Flourtown, PA
"An old favorite from a fine purveyor that now sells through my favorite retailer, Orvis which makes it easy to order. Both the Original Nantucket Reds shorts and trousers are the real deal and the only ones that I will wear. They are well made and are the correct color and fade properly. A great companion to a blue navy blazer and a pair of sockless white bucks."
Review 13 for Nantucket Reds™ Shorts
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Nan's Reds,
July 15, 2014
By: BabaORiley
from Jefferson City, MO
"I read the reviews and ordered a 36 when I normally wear a 35 and these fantastic shorts are already a favorite. They washed nicely (I dried them on low heat) and could not fit better. The weight is substantial but not cumbersome and will be great for the autumn too with a long sleeved button down. Go ahead and spend the few extra $'s for a classic, timeless style and enjoy!"
Review 14 for Nantucket Reds™ Shorts
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Shorts,
July 14, 2014
By: Fishhook812
from Hinsdale Il.
"Great shorts,good material,comfortable and they have the wife's seal of approval!"
Review 15 for Nantucket Reds™ Shorts
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Spot On, Orvis!,
July 12, 2014
By: InRedsWeTrust
from Plymouth, MA
"There are so many "fake reds" out there, supplies by manufacturers who ought to know better, so Orvis appears to have him just gone to the originals.
I've had Murray's Toggery reds for years - in trousers and shorts - and these ever-fading red canvas pants are THE summer staple for church, parties, yachting, or just knocking around. They wear really well, and improve with age!"
Review 16 for Nantucket Reds™ Shorts
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Nantucket Reds Shorts,
July 10, 2014
By: ZOOM1986
from Birmingham,AL.
"These shorts are not red. They are much more in the orange family which is what I wanted so that is great. I was told to order a size down from my normal size and that should fit just right.....wrong!!! You need to order your normal waist size for them to fit. I had to return mine and I can't wait to receive the right ones!"
Review 17 for Nantucket Reds™ Shorts
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality Still Exists,
June 17, 2014
By: JohnnyFive
from Birmingham, AL
"These shorts last. I have a hard time saying that about anything anymore. Make the purchase, pay for quality. One caveat....order big. I wear a 38 carhartt or american eagle, that translates to a 42 nantucket red."
Review 18 for Nantucket Reds™ Shorts
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
poor quality seam stiching,
June 15, 2014
By: mikeherts
from UK - Hertfordshire
"Like the shorts but not the quality - I purchased two pairs of nantucket shorts and both pairs have developed stitching failures on the outer seams which is most annoying considering the price and claims - these shorts are just 12 months since purchased - my advice would be to consider purchasing Orvis own brand"
Review 19 for Nantucket Reds™ Shorts
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Good Looking,
June 13, 2014
By: Winterwind
from TX
"They are classic. For me, the fit ran on the small side and I had to return my regular size for a size larger. I had also ordered the cargo shorts at the same time and they fit with my regular size. But you can also smell the salt of Nantucket wearing them. I also ordered the pants."
Review 20 for Nantucket Reds™ Shorts
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
East Coast Style/West Coast Hip!,
May 21, 2014
By: 42NCOKI
from Los Angeles, CA
"Bought these for my husband who went to school in MA. He thinks of them as traditional, but our daughter and her boyfriend thinks he has just stepped out of his khaki box and stepped up his wardrobe. Two thumbs up!"