Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Washed-Tweed Dress Vest

Scottish tweed stands alone as the finest tweed fabric in the world. This particular tweed has been washed down multiple times to make it softer, richer and more comfortable as a close-fitting dress vest. There is a cashmere-like quality to the feel of the fabric. The vest is fully lined with four front pockets and an adjustable back strap. Five-button front. Tweed front and back. Tweed dress vest in brown mix. Wool. Dry clean. Made in USA.Sizes: S(34-36), M(38-40), L(42-44), XL(46-48), XXL(50-52). 24" long in size large.
Average Customer Rating:
4.824 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (17 reviews)
5 stars
15
4 stars
1
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
17 of 17(100%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Washed-Tweed Dress Vest
Review 1 for Washed-Tweed Dress Vest
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
High Quality and Warm,
February 12, 2014
By: HankofRI
from Providence RI
"This is very high quality vest with 4 pockets. It is warm, very classy, is a harmonious combination of brown and black herringbone wool, and it is solid wool even across the back, something quite rare. Also rare is that it is made in the USA. One of Orvis' best quality items, though a bit pricey unless it's on sale. The only slight negative is that the pockets are a bit shallow."
Review 2 for Washed-Tweed Dress Vest
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Maverick Merchandise,
December 11, 2013
By: Maximum
"You need this vest in your collection.
It's a classic and wears well. With jeans or dressed up a bit, this piece will present a look other guys wish they had. The little lady will be glad you are hers. The cost is high, but the juice is worth the squeeze. Buy it, you'll be glad you did!
"
Review 3 for Washed-Tweed Dress Vest
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
great Tweed Vest,
December 9, 2013
By: lafferstein
from Phoenix, AZ
"bought this vest for my executive director and i was so impressed that i will be ordering one for myself. great quality, tweed material and i love the vest and plan to add to my Orvis vest collection."
Review 4 for Washed-Tweed Dress Vest
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Good vest,
October 29, 2013
By: HBAJ3
from Nashville, TN
"I have had the opportunity to wear this vest a couple of times now, and I have received many compliments. The fabric is a medium weight and has a nice feel and weave. The vest is well made and with the adjustable strap in the back, it fits very nicely. It is versatile as it goes well with a sport coat or just worn by itself. Perhaps most importantly, it adds just the right amount of warmth without being restrictive like a sweater."
Review 5 for Washed-Tweed Dress Vest
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Classy and sharp,
October 11, 2013
By: pilgrim
from Colorado Rocky Mountain streams
"I have four Orvis vests. I love them all. This one fits nicely and looks sharp. I always order Large size. The XL Would be too big. I am 6"1' and 220 lbs. and have a fairly large chest.I wear a 38-40 pant. According to the sizing chart I should order XL, but the Large always fit perfectly. Hope this helps those shopping to figure out their size."
Review 6 for Washed-Tweed Dress Vest
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Beautiful Vest,
October 10, 2013
By: vegalittlewonder
from San Diego, CA
"Rich looking, beautiful vest. Much nicer than it looks online. Is a little bluer than photographed. Looks especially good with jeans. Good fit for me."
Review 7 for Washed-Tweed Dress Vest
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Your grandpa's clothes...in a good way,
April 10, 2013
By: Anonymous
from SF, California
"Hey Orvis web-site folks, take and post another picture of this. The vest on the web-site looks decidedly grey and even in pattern (pattern-less). The vest shipped to me is a brown-and-black herringbone pattern. That said, I'm keeping it. The dark brown is actually quite versatile, while the lining, the finish and the whole notion of a tailored wool vest just scream "your grandpa's clothes." Which, I'm told, look incredible."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Washed-Tweed Dress Vest
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
The very best,
March 25, 2013
By: Anonymous
from Vienna, VA
"I bought this vest for my husband.
It is true to the discription and looks amazing. The quality is surperb and it fit him loke a glove.
"
Review 9 for Washed-Tweed Dress Vest
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
It made me look good.,
February 7, 2013
By: RidesWithChuck
from Chicago , Illinois
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"I was looking for something stylish to wear for an important dinner. I succeeded."
Review 10 for Washed-Tweed Dress Vest
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Comfortable and classic.,
February 4, 2013
By: PublisherOnHudson
from New York City
"I'm wearing this vest right now and it feels great: comfortable, warm (in a chilly office), and classic. The vest is well made as if from a previous generation, a time when quality in clothing always came first. While it's a bit pricey, the vest matches with it's high value. I might have been a bit more generous with providing more spare buttons with the product, but the Orvis customer service remedied that situation both quickly and happily. All is well with the world, and I shall return."
Review 11 for Washed-Tweed Dress Vest
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Great waistcoat, poor fit,
January 29, 2013
By: Barnsbury
from Plymouth, UK
"Waistcoat is really good, well made, great fabric. Unfortunately for me it did not fit. I'm a 40" chest, 32" waist.
medium fitted the chest but was just really big around the waist. I could use the strap at the back, but it had to be pulled in too much. Small was just too tight.
"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Washed-Tweed Dress Vest
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Brilliant purchase,
January 29, 2013
By: carahill229
from Bishop Auckland, County Durham
"Well made, full tweed back and front. Looks great and can be mixed and matched with other clothing to give a superb country style look.
Quality of waistcoat is fabulous, very stylish, adjustable straps at the back give a fitted look. The offer price on this item was too good to be true. A real bargain. Very highly recommended.
"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Washed-Tweed Dress Vest
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
A splendid waistcoat,
January 6, 2013
By: One2one
from Somerset UK
"I am very pleased with this waistcoat,quality of tweed is excellent,tailoring is to a very high standard.the fit is very good, sizes are spot on.delivered perfectly on time.orvis have been a pleasure to deal with."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Washed-Tweed Dress Vest
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Better than the photo,
November 29, 2012
By: slider11
from Northwest
"I have a difficult time getting an Orvis vest to fit - usually too small in the chest and too big in the waist. This medium was tight on a 44 chest was tight, but its so beautiful I will just sit up straighter when wearing it :) The large would have been too big in the waist. Fabric and construction outstanding. Very versatile as the colors will go with anything, from a gray suit to a pair of jeans and a sport coat. Very rich looking."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Washed-Tweed Dress Vest
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I wear vests to work from Oct.- May,
November 21, 2012
By: Rromf
from Media PA
"I get compliments every time I wear it. Its comfortable."
Review 16 for Washed-Tweed Dress Vest
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great vest!,
May 7, 2012
By: Eastcoast
"This vest is beautiful. It's a great mix of browns and a super tweed. It's very well made and looks exactly like the photo, which is always nice. No surprises with this product. My son will be very handsome in it."
Review 17 for Washed-Tweed Dress Vest
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Very Handsome!,
April 12, 2012
By: Weeder
from Maine
"Fabulous material, as you would expect. Unfortunately, didn't fit me, I'm rather slim. Oh how I wish it had!"