Orvis Ratings and Reviews

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Orvis.

Waxed Cotton Fatigue Jacket

The M-series military fatigue jackets have gone through a number of updates over the decades, but the basic design is unchanged. This version is made from our dry-waxed cloth and detailed with modern design features. The waxed outer repels wind and rain while the hung wool liner shuts out the cold. The typical four large exterior bellows pockets combined with our signature interior pocketing system (four additional interior pockets and two interior pen slots) give you plenty of carrying capacity. Unique grosgrain button attachments. Sturdy metal zipper combined with a button-closure storm flap and throat latch. Shoulder epaulets, interior drawcord at the waist, and self-fabric elbow patches. Adjustable cuff with wind gusset and button closure. Heavily washed to be broken in before you even put it on. In dark khaki. Pure cotton. Cold sponge. No soap. Imported.Sizes: M(38-40); about 30" long in size large.
Average Customer Rating:
3.294 out of 5
3.3
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (17 reviews)
5 stars
4
4 stars
5
3 stars
4
2 stars
0
1 star
4
8 of 17(47%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Waxed Cotton Fatigue Jacket
Review 1 for Waxed Cotton Fatigue Jacket
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Jacket review,
January 30, 2013
By: Stephen41
from DuPont WA.
"I read previous reviews before purchasing and noted that they mentioned the jacket ran small but thought, because of my height at 5'7" I could still get a medium. No dice. I needed a large but none available. I returned the med and will purchase a large when available. The jacket itself seemed well made and love the design."
Review 2 for Waxed Cotton Fatigue Jacket
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
A little to be desired,
December 8, 2012
By: HuntingMuse
from Longmeadow, Massachusetts
"This is a great idea for a jacket but sadly Orvis have not quite got it right. It's just a little short, the workmanship is a little subpar and overall it feels as though it was rushed. It's certainly not worth $375.
All that said I am going to keep the jacket. It's imperfect but it works for me as an outdoors writer needing something beyond North Face on various assignments."
Review 3 for Waxed Cotton Fatigue Jacket
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Close, but no cigar...for me,
December 3, 2012
By: OldOrvisFan
from Los Angeles, CA
"I really wanted to love this jacket, but I returned it. Even after reading the other reviews, I went ahead and ordered it. It is a beautiful jacket, but runs short in the body. I didn't realize the shoulders would be so deeply vented in back. I was hoping for something simpler. There are no handwarmer poskets. And yes, the grosgrain buttons look like they're on little ribbons. It made me feel like I was trying too hard. But it sure was nice !"
Review 4 for Waxed Cotton Fatigue Jacket
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
So nearly my favorite coat,
November 16, 2012
By: Gledders
from Kent
"This was so nearly a cracking purchase: I really liked the style, carrying capacity and material; it was warm and serviceable - except for the buttons, which were on loops. I was unsure how durable this system was when I unpacked the coat - sure enough, within 2 days one of the buttons had fallen off and about a week later a second was hanging loose - I thought Herself could stitch it back but a loose thread completely unraveled the loop. I liked the jacket so much I was seriously tempted to unpick all the loops and stitch the buttons direct onto the material but this should not happen to a new coat. So back to my old Barbour jacket - time to pull your socks up, Mr Orvis!"
Review 5 for Waxed Cotton Fatigue Jacket
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
A terrible jacket,
November 9, 2012
By: jackmac
from NYC
"Sorry to say this, but this is a terrible jacket. It has the worst buttons and button holes I have ever seen. The buttons are attached by little ribbons! How crazy is that? It is bulky and hard to get into - I got an XXL hoping to wear it over a sport kacket. Forget about it! Cheaply made jacket, I am returning it. Orvis is going down the tubes with this stuff - i've returned 3 jackets now in a row."
Review 6 for Waxed Cotton Fatigue Jacket
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Disappointed with fit,
November 6, 2012
By: Whisperer
from Essex
"THe Fatigue Jacket arrived promptly and well wrapped as usual.
I loved the look and feel, typically Orvis value.
My disappointment set in when i tried it on. It was a good fit all over apart from being too tight across the shoulders. I have never experienced this with any other garment.
I returned for a refund.
"
Review 7 for Waxed Cotton Fatigue Jacket
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Good idea but too short,
October 31, 2012
By: GetOutDoors
"While I like the jacket, very waterproof and rugged construction, it ineeds to be 1-11/2in longer. Just glad I got it in the sale otherwise I would have sent it back.
I'm 6'2" and I purchased the XL.
"
Review 8 for Waxed Cotton Fatigue Jacket
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Nice jacket but short,
October 26, 2012
By: HSFing
"I have the cotton version of the jacket
but with the lining this makes the jacket a bit short.
"
Review 9 for Waxed Cotton Fatigue Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Functional,
October 26, 2012
By: Koba
from Faversham
"Well made, good wind resistance, fastenings a bit fussy"
Review 10 for Waxed Cotton Fatigue Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
The Ubiquitous Jacket,
October 20, 2012
By: Feste
from Bolton, UK & abroad
"I had been looking for an all round jacket for travel & touring, one that had ample pocket space but wasn't bulky; one that was casual yet smart enough to be seen around town and robust enough to put up with most of what the elements and the demands of travel had to throw at it. I am absolutely delighted with the jacket; it meets all my demands and the quality - and service, having returned and replaced a wrongly sized order, were superb. The staff at Orvis were helpful & polite. I have every faith in the Orvis brand. I will be a repeat customer."
Review 11 for Waxed Cotton Fatigue Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
New light-weight treated cotton jacket.,
October 16, 2012
By: modrego
from Los Padres National forest in CA
"This jacket is just the correct weight for seasonal changes and well onto the Fall. At first, I thought it would be too heavy, but it got a test of rain and snow the second time I put it on. It is warm for its light weight and repels precip very well."
Review 12 for Waxed Cotton Fatigue Jacket
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Waxed Cotton Fatigue Jacket,
September 12, 2012
By: Loveorvis52115
"Wonderful construction and feel. I would, however, like a few inches more length."
Review 13 for Waxed Cotton Fatigue Jacket
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Two Inches Short of Five Stars...,
February 23, 2012
By: PatsRaw275
from Virginia Beach, VA
"The quality of this jacket is outstanding. The stitching is flawless and the jacket is aesthetically pleasing. The only reason this jacket doesn't get 5 stars is it just seems symmetrically 2 inches too short. I'm 6'0 and ordered an XXL, there's plenty of room for freedom of movement. The bottom falls about an inch below my waist, putting the drawcord about 4 inches above the navel. The quality of craftsmanship was the deciding factor in me deciding to keep the jacket in spite of its length. Overall a nice jacket..."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Waxed Cotton Fatigue Jacket
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
too bad about length,
January 31, 2012
By: orvisfacts
from San Diego Ca
"way to short high quality but not designed in length for men. A real disappointment. Nice product but does not fit."
Review 15 for Waxed Cotton Fatigue Jacket
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Waste of money.Very disapointed.,
January 31, 2012
By: Yakboy
from Phoenix AZ
"I've been very happy with every Orvis purchase except this one.
The jacket's color is not true to the one pictured. Shorter than the real thing and not a good fit.
"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Waxed Cotton Fatigue Jacket
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Nice jacket,
December 29, 2011
By: ProfessorK
from Iowa
"Really liked this jacket. Have two of the previous ranger jackets which I love (5 star rating). Although this doesn't fit quite the same (needed an xl instead of a l) and I would prefer it be longer; like the ranger jackets' it is extremely well made and warm. I wear these jackets all the time and get many compliments on them."
Review 17 for Waxed Cotton Fatigue Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
A Great Jacket!!,
October 7, 2011
By: ATPDC9
from Greensboro, NC
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
"This Waxed Cotton Fatigue Jacket is SUPERB!!! I ordered a medium because I'm 5' 9" tall, slender build, weigh 150 and this jacket fits perfectly!! The attention to detail, the fabric and the weight of this jacket are absolutely great!! I ordered this jacket because it is waterproof, slightly heavier for winter and has the wool interior that, by the way, still allows plenty of room for a shirt and sweater. The interior has two pockets and a third smaller pocket for two pens along with two waists drawstrings.
I must admit that I ALSO own the lighter weight version of this jacket known as the Bush Poplin Fatigue Jacket. BOTH of these jackets are impeccable if you like that slightly military look as I do!! You can't go wrong with either jacket, BUT for winter I'd get the heavier version, the Waxed Cotton Fatigue Jacket. This jacket is not that heavy, but it should still do the trick even in winter!!
If any of you have and like the Bush Poplin Fatigue Jacket then you will ALSO love this jacket very much.
I've never ordered a jacket from ORVIS that I didn't like!!"