Orvis Ratings and Reviews

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Orvis.

Dakota Waxed-Cotton A-2 Flight Jacket

Shut out wet, windy weather in a classic A-2 flight jacket tailored from traditional wet-waxed pure cotton. Plus, we've added a warm lining to give this flight jacket excellent winter functionality. Two flap-closed, pleated front pockets with side-entry hand warmers. Rugged wind-flap-equipped metal-zip front closure. Rib-knit cuffs and hem. The soft, Sherpa-fleece-lined collar features a button-secured throat latch. Two interior pockets keep your belongings secure and organized. Waxed cotton flight jacket in brown. Waxed pure cotton body. Damp sponge. Imported.Sizes: XL(46-48).
Average Customer Rating:
3.867 out of 5
3.9
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (15 reviews)
5 stars
5
4 stars
6
3 stars
2
2 stars
1
1 star
1
13 of 15(87%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Dakota Waxed-Cotton A-2 Flight Jacket
Review 1 for Dakota Waxed-Cotton A-2 Flight Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Perfect late fall early winter jacket,
November 19, 2012
By: FarmingtonRiverTrails
from Farmington, CT
"This jacket is very comfortable to wear around and in the car. Light but remarkably warm and water resistant. The fit is perfect for a size large, i also bought a medium for my son but the sleeves were too short, but he is 6'1". I have several Orvis coats and jackets, and all are very comfortable and provide a good value with respect to the overall quality."
Review 2 for Dakota Waxed-Cotton A-2 Flight Jacket
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
waxed,
November 18, 2012
By: IWINGA
from Georgia
"Liked the jacket on first sight and upon its arrival; however,the smell of the waxing procedure is intense.I am keeping the jacket as i am sure the smell will lessen with wear"
Review 3 for Dakota Waxed-Cotton A-2 Flight Jacket
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Really good jacket,
November 14, 2012
By: dbcliff
from Dickson,Tn
"I really like the Dakota A-2 jacket. It is light weight for a winter type jacket. Can be worn from fall to spring without being to heavy. I originally ordered a L in size, it was very big, returned for a M. It fit perfect. Would recommend this to anyone"
Review 4 for Dakota Waxed-Cotton A-2 Flight Jacket
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
two sizes on same garment,
November 14, 2012
By: nananne
from Michigan
"This is a good looking jacket, and my husband loves it, but I had trouble with the sizes. An XXL tag was sewn into the jacket, and an XL tag attached to the XXL tag. I had to pay for a 2nd jacket and return the original one to get the XL I originally ordered. This wasn't a big deal, but thought I should have gotten the discount that had been taken on the jacket in the time between when I got my mislabeled one and when I had to send it back for exchange, at least as a courtesy for my inconvenience,.
I agree with the other reviewer about the matted collar and it not looking waxed, but it wasn't bad enough to not buy it. We'll see how it holds up to the rain and weather!"
Review 5 for Dakota Waxed-Cotton A-2 Flight Jacket
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Okay for very casual non date errands,
November 12, 2012
By: GreggM
from Birmingham, AL
"Not really much like a flight jacket or waxed outdoorsey coat. Okay for running to the store or wandering the yard or neighborhood. Not bad looking, just a step below a dressier coat you would wear on a casual outing. Large fits well on a 46 jacket person"
Review 6 for Dakota Waxed-Cotton A-2 Flight Jacket
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Good jacket,
November 12, 2012
By: 54Bravo
from Pittsburgh, PA
"But not a great jacket. Would have been disappointed had I paid the $198 original price, but happy that I got if for the $80 tent sale price. Warm and not bulky, love the deep inside pockets, and the jacket looks great. So yeah, for the money I paid it was worth it."
Review 7 for Dakota Waxed-Cotton A-2 Flight Jacket
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Poor fit.,
November 11, 2012
By: Duncy
from Jasper, GA
"This could have been a nice jacket, but the fit was terrible. It was a keeper when I first saw it. It fit well everywhere except the waist. I could have pushed a football under the waste. A shame the way it was cut."
Review 8 for Dakota Waxed-Cotton A-2 Flight Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Impressive Jacket,
November 10, 2012
By: WMacK
from High Rock Lake, NC
"Searched weeks for a Fall / Winter jacket with weatherproof exterior, functional exterior and interior pockets, and rugged enough for a variety of uses. This is it! True to size, good looking and reasonably priced."
Review 9 for Dakota Waxed-Cotton A-2 Flight Jacket
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
good product,
August 16, 2012
By: altoze
from Sterling Heights, mi
"Jacket was nice and well made. You could almost wear this jacket through three seasons in Michigan."
Review 10 for Dakota Waxed-Cotton A-2 Flight Jacket
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Unique and practical,
June 12, 2012
By: ecurieecosse
from Washington DC
"Very good jacket, snug and warm, good looking. unusual style in waxed cotton, tho the 'waxed' part is not obvious, like in some barbour jackets. Quite brown, not olive at all, tho i thought the pic had a bit o'green in it. Like this jacket a lot. fit is right on."
Review 11 for Dakota Waxed-Cotton A-2 Flight Jacket
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Flight Jacket Didn't Take Off,
March 6, 2012
By: captjac
"Was not quite what I was expecting so I have returned this to Orvis. Fit was excellent but collar was matted and waxed cotton didn't seem to have much wax. Overall look was good. Would recommend to others."
Review 12 for Dakota Waxed-Cotton A-2 Flight Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
December 30, 2011
By: cooper52
from Tennessee
"Great color, well designed and made, perfect weight. Another winner from Orvis and exactly as described in the catalog."
Review 13 for Dakota Waxed-Cotton A-2 Flight Jacket
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
unhappy,
November 14, 2011
By: jerryw
from Breezy Point, Mn.
"99% happy with Orvis relationship but this jacket was disappointing in quality & appearance. I think my problem was mostly that it looked very little like the catalog picture. To me it`s a $40.00 coat."
Review 14 for Dakota Waxed-Cotton A-2 Flight Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fantastic Jacket,
November 6, 2011
By: goose42
from Calgary, Alberta
"I've worn this jacket daily since I received it a month ago. Perfect for the fall so far and, with a sweater underneath, was good for a -10 C night. I'll be wearing it all through winter.
I've had positive comments regarding its looks. The fit is perfect for me even though my chest size is a little above the limits for the M size I purchased. I bought a medium because I'm short; the sleeve and torso length are excellent.
"
Ratings-Only Reviews for Dakota Waxed-Cotton A-2 Flight Jacket
Based on 1 ratings-only review
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Would recommend? Yes 1 out of 1