Orvis Ratings and Reviews

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Orvis.

Rough-Out Jeans Belt

Rugged and substantial from tip to buckle, this jeans belt's rough-side-out leather ensures years' worth of use. Vegetable-tanned-leather backing. Antiqued-nickel buckle. Leather jeans belt in brown. Genuine cowhide leather. Made in USA.Even waist sizes 40. 1⅝" wide.Order one size larger than pants size.
Average Customer Rating:
3.688 out of 5
3.7
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (16 reviews)
5 stars
6
4 stars
5
3 stars
1
2 stars
2
1 star
2
12 of 16(75%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Rough-Out Jeans Belt
Review 1 for Rough-Out Jeans Belt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Belt - sizing is off,
January 25, 2013
By: DalesPaleAleFan
from arlington, va
"Pretty much the ultimate jeans belt. It's kind of hard to see from the picture, but this belt is very wide and the buckle is large and sturdy. The leather has a rough finish to it, which adds to the ruggedness.
I will say, the sizing is off. I wear size 34 pants, and I originally ordered a size 34 without reading the note to order a larger size. It turns out I require a size 38 for this belt. Customer service was great helping me out though."
Review 2 for Rough-Out Jeans Belt
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Wrong Color,
January 23, 2013
By: Chaparral
from Tucson, AZ
"Good heavy leather belt but the color is a light tan not brown."
Review 3 for Rough-Out Jeans Belt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Jeans Belt,
January 21, 2013
By: MooresvilleMel
from Mooresville, NC
"Exactly as expected. Great quality and sale price. Will be wearing this for a long time."
Review 4 for Rough-Out Jeans Belt
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Good but expensive,
January 16, 2013
By: MatthewArnold
from NYC
"Very solid belt that grows on you. The color seems a bit pale for a pair of jeans, but it is large and tough."
Review 5 for Rough-Out Jeans Belt
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Does what it is supposed to do,
January 16, 2013
By: ctdr
from GA
"I wear 36 pants. A size 38 belt fits. Not very thick, but does the job. No complaints. Good price."
Review 6 for Rough-Out Jeans Belt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
A belt that works !,
January 11, 2013
By: countryboy
from NE Pennsylvania
"I seem to have difficulty finding a belt that fits right... no problem here.. They always indicate order size up and then my belts always seem to big. I ordered this in my waist size, 38, and glad I did .... a 40 would posed the same problem I always seem to have. This fits right and it looks great !"
Review 7 for Rough-Out Jeans Belt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Rough-Out Jeans Belt,
January 9, 2013
By: lie67671
from Laguna Nigel, CA
"Again I get the chance to review Orvis products and again I love the rough finish on the outside of the belt. It is real sporty and runs true to size - if you not sure order one or two sizes larger."
Review 8 for Rough-Out Jeans Belt
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
sturdy, beware width!,
December 30, 2012
By: greengma
from Ohio
"The belt was nice, sturdy, definitely "rough-out" leather, just as described but note the width as many slacks or even jeans may not accept this wide a belt."
Review 9 for Rough-Out Jeans Belt
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Lighter shade,
December 28, 2012
By: UGADawg
"Looks many shades lighter in person than online. Thick leather and sturdy."
Review 10 for Rough-Out Jeans Belt
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Not what I expected.,
December 25, 2012
By: epapete
from Washington DC
"The belt is big and good looking when worn with jeans. It has two drawbacks, though. The surface is marked immediately when the buckle is closed, so that wear marks are immediately apparent. It is also made of very stiff leater, so it is not flexible when worn, or when trying to fold the pants."
Review 11 for Rough-Out Jeans Belt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great belt, watch the color,
December 15, 2012
By: Labs4ever
"High quality materials. One of the best buckles I have come across. Love the roughout leather. Belt is quite wide so check your loops before you buy. The color is considerably lighter than shown."
Review 12 for Rough-Out Jeans Belt
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
December 15, 2012
By: Sharkstooth
"Belt is large and thick - very heavy duty with a large buckle. I'm concerned that the rough finish will stain as time goes on. After this purchase I will return to purchasing 1 1/2 inch belts with a finished surface."
Review 13 for Rough-Out Jeans Belt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Love the Width,
November 9, 2012
By: Alphorn
from Calgary, Alberta, Canada
"A fine quality belt, as you would expect from Orvis. The best thing about this belt is the width - at 1 5/8" it avoids the dreaded waist band roll. The color is a bit lighter than I expected from the webpage photo, but it is a good color."
Review 14 for Rough-Out Jeans Belt
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Worst Orvis Purchase,
August 19, 2011
By: diodgyknees
"A solid wide leather belt; but very overpriced. In addition sizing instructions, which I followed, were hopeless. Even on the last hole this belt will not hold up my jeans. Of course, it has taken two or three outings to establish this fact, and so returning the belt is now an unlikely option."
Review 15 for Rough-Out Jeans Belt
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
August 16, 2011
By: DTDSnake
"Good belt. Useful with jeans and casual work pants.
Sizing was not optimal. A size 36 was 4 inches shorter than a size 38 in a different style. Size 38 fits well, but was still shorter that the size 38 of the other recently purchased belt."
Review 16 for Rough-Out Jeans Belt
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Very Disappointing,
June 22, 2011
By: gnix
"Belt came with a defective buckle. Can not believe a belt that costs this much would come with a defective buckle. I expect zero defects from a company like Orvis."
Response from Orvis:By Orvis Customer Service TeamDecember 20, 2011
We have contacted our customer to offer thanks for this review. We respect and welcome our customers’ comments, and we continually strive to improve the quality of everything we sell.

This issue has been reviewed by our Quality Assurance Department, and we have confirmed the problem; Orvis has taken action to correct the issue and make sure this item is absolutely right. You can shop with confidence at Orvis—we will happily refund or exchange any purchase that isn’t 100% satisfactory.