Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Gale Force Waist Pack

Gale Force packs are designed to handle the worst weather, a dunk in the river, or a trip overboard. Unique polyurethane-coated nylon fabric is heat/RF welded and combined with water-resistant, noncorrosive YKK zippers to produce the Gale Force line of packs and bags. All bags are highly weather resistant and very durable, ideal for use where exposure to water is inevitable—such as every time you go fishing. Free yourself from the weight on your shoulders and put it on your hips. The new Gale Force fly fishing Waist Pack features an adjustable waist belt with load-lifting suspension system. A perforated foam and ergonomically shaped neck pad ensures comfort and breathability for wearing as a chest pack, but detaches for easy removal. Durable zinger attachment with magnets underneath to catch tools. Fly-fishing waist pack features one large compartment with interior organization for ample storage. Front weather-resistant zip pocket. Carry handle with comfortable rubber grip. 11"H x 7"L x 5"D; 385 cu. in. Weighs 14.5 ounces. Imported.
Average Customer Rating:
4.357 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (14 reviews)
5 stars
6
4 stars
7
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
14 of 14(100%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Gale Force Waist Pack
Review 1 for Gale Force Waist Pack
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Gale Force Waist Pack,
November 27, 2014
By: HookedOnOrvis
from Ottawa, Canada
"Just received waist pack this week and immediately headed to the Salmon River in Pulaski to catch the end of Steelhead. Water was high and fast and of course these were great conditions to test the Gale Force. After about an hour came the "slip". Saved the rod, no damage to self, but I ended up in water to past my butt. Gale Force did what I bought it for...kept everything dry. Perfect. It is smaller than other packs, but I don't want that much weight on my hips and I only have a few precious items to keep dry anyway. Invest in some Orvis convertible waders and there's another great waterproof pouch in the waders. Good spots for accessories...biners for wading staff, fly patch, zingers, etc. This pack is a great and reliable fishing partner."
Review 2 for Gale Force Waist Pack
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best Waste Pack for your $$$,
November 26, 2014
By: Sieg
from Clearlake, CA
"I found after much research that the GF Pack and the GF Waist Pack were the most versatile combination on the market, the price was very cost effective, also. I am happy with both."
Review 3 for Gale Force Waist Pack
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Buy it!,
March 24, 2014
By: OntarioFlyOutfitters
from Rochester, NY
"A great waist pack for every type of angler. I love the fact that it's water resistant. This pack will stay dry when wading in high water situations and heavy rains. I have owned them all and this pack is the best. Inside construction could be better by way of more pockets and dividers. Buy it!"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Gale Force Waist Pack
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Nice little pack,
January 20, 2014
By: Andrssonevn
from Baltimore, MD
"This is a great little pack for spending a few hours on the river. Holds all the essentials plus has room for a sandwich and small bottled drink. I've had it for nearly two years with no problems. It doubles as a chest pack or waist pack."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Gale Force Waist Pack
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
verify size,
January 10, 2014
By: tallpedro
"this bag is listed 385 cu in
the similar simms bag for same price is listed af 384 cu in. is approx. 1.5 times the capacity
"
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Gale Force Waist Pack
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Gale Force,
May 28, 2013
By: Leita
from Raleigh, NC
"I own the backpack and chest pack. They are great for a full day on the water when the weather can change in an instant. I pack my rain gear and extra tackle in the pack, and the tackle I am using in the chest pack. It is a great system!"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Gale Force Waist Pack
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Another great product.,
November 30, 2012
By: TLSchiavone
from Phoenix, AZ
"My new ORVIS GALE FORCE WAIST PACK is perfect for my day trips on the water. It's the right size for bring what I need while fishing away from the rest of flyfishing gear in my truck. Everything is kept dry and I can find things with ease with the inter net pockets."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Gale Force Waist Pack
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Works Well,
August 31, 2012
By: Castaway
from North Ga
"There is nothing wrong with this pack....it does what it says- "stay dry". The only issue I have is that it could be a lot bigger. You can only fit a few small fly boxes or a couple medium size ones in it and then there is not much room left over. Orvis needs to make a larger size and keep this one around for people who want a small hip pack."
Review 9 for Gale Force Waist Pack
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Almost right,
August 1, 2012
By: Streamline
from UK - not the Yukon!
"Just back from a trip to the Hat and McCloud rivers where I used this for the first time. On the plus side it has a good amount of space without being too bulky. It held all my bits and pieces including 2 medium sized fly boxes without trouble.
On all occasions, except when I stepped in a big hole and completely submerged it, it did seem to keep everything dry. (I also found you can wear it like a sling pack when the water is really deep)
On the negative side I think it could have been thought out a bit better. On the stream I was twisting it around so it was in front of me for fly changes etc. The Velcro fly keeper patch on top is too small, not "fluffy" enough and is close to your body - it should be on outside edge or on the side in my view, so I lost a lot of flies before I worked out what was happening. I think inside there needs to be more pockets. The one large mesh pocket and 2 smaller ones are just about enough to keep tippet, forceps etc. but then there's no place for leaders, floatant, Top float etc. and I ended up with a lot of things all mixed up under my fly boxes.
I don't like the strap/belt clip, it just about works but one time the strap ran completely through the clip when I was adjusting it and the bag dropped off. I will modify mine to stop this happening again.
Overall it is a useful bit of kit and I will be using it instead of a vest in most situations in the future. I will however be adding a new fly patch and some internal modifications to better organize my stuff inside it."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Gale Force Waist Pack
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
My bag of choice!,
January 3, 2012
By: TheDudeMan
from Asheville, NC
"I purchased this bag because I needed a bag that would be water resistant. After unwrapping the bag I immediately noticed that it was a lot lighter and had more room than I expected. The first guide trip that I took with this bag I was sold! It rained on us all day. At the end of the day all of my tools and fly boxes were bone dry! I could not be more happier with this product and will be purchasing the Gale Force backpack to compliment the waist pack. Great Job Orvis!
As a side note, I would not submerge this bag as there is a small opening at the edge of the zippers that will allow water to enter."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Gale Force Waist Pack
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
A Solid Bag!,
June 29, 2011
By: FlybumMedia
from Cleveland, OH
"I actually helped field test this bag and can say that it takes a beating! It may be small, but holds a ton of fly boxes. I personally guide out of this pack with the backpack as a supplemental piece. The waste pack holds 3 large C&F Design fly boxes and one small one. I also put leaders, tippet spools & split shot dispenser inside, so for a small pack, it holds a ton of flies! The boys at Orvis took a lot of our feedback on added features such as the fly patch and these things really add to the overall function of the pack. Definitely a solid bag!"
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Gale Force Waist Pack
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Waterproof Waist Pack,
June 27, 2011
By: PaintCreekGuy
from Birmingham, MI
"I recently purchased this pack and have been out a few times with it. A few things, first, it is definitely waterproof. The stream I fish has some shallow areas, and when I fish them I will kneel in the stream to lower my profile. I wear this as a waistpack but move it behind my back - in the small of my back when I fish, so it is immersed in the water most of the time. Everything inside stays dry. However, you must make sure the zippers are zippered shut. I would like to see another compartment inside the pack. There is essentially one large compartment. Another small compartment would be nice. Also, the zippers require some effort to close. However, this is because of the watertight seal on the zipper. Also, the waistband part of the pack is not waterproof, and will remain damp for a day afterword. It would be nice if this part of the pack were waterproof as well. Overall a good waterproof waistpack for the price."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Gale Force Waist Pack
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
great bag but,
June 16, 2011
By: GregA
from Edwards, Colorado
"I am now using the bag and am very happy with it. This is the perfect bag to use when you don't need much equipment. I have used it when I am planning to fish for a short period and when I have been with a guide. This bag is smaller than the competition sells. So if a small bag is need - this is great."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Ratings-Only Reviews for Gale Force Waist Pack
Based on 1 ratings-only review
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Would recommend? Yes 1 out of 1