Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Gale Force Sling Pack

A weather- and water-resistant version of our best-selling Safe Passage® Sling Pack, everyone's favorite fly fishing pack. Padded and adjustable strap can be adjusted for either right- or left-shoulder carry. Thick foam-padded back panel with built in channels for air ventilation. One large main compartment with interior pockets for ample storage organization of your gear. Front weather-resistant pocket. Convenient gear loops. Carry handle with comfortable rubber grip. Fly fishing pack in gray. 16"H x 10½" W x 6"D; 1,008 cu. in. Weighs 1.1 lbs.
Average Customer Rating:
4.538 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (26 reviews)
5 stars
18
4 stars
4
3 stars
4
2 stars
0
1 star
0
24 of 26(92%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Stories:
Customer Reviews for Gale Force Sling Pack
Review 1 for Gale Force Sling Pack
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Typical Orvis Exceptional,
March 14, 2014
By: Idonothaveanickname
from Bow, NH
"I have many Orvis products, 4 fly rods, 4 fly reels, traveling rolling duffel, etc., and have come to believe that whatever I buy with the Orvis name on it is going to be superior quality and designed for me to use.
I have purchased this small pack to carry my gear to and from the boat. It is just right. I never know when it will get wet, but that won't matter.
Thanks again for a good product.
"
Review 2 for Gale Force Sling Pack
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Out of the way gear hauler,
February 10, 2014
By: cadisaction
from Northern California
"The sling pack is just what I was looking for, not as restrictive as a backpack but still enough room for a day on the river. It would have received a 5 star if the strap was curved.(it rides against my neck) Other than that it's great!"
Review 3 for Gale Force Sling Pack
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Great Day Pack,
February 7, 2014
By: chrisgriffin71
from Newport, RI
"This is a well made pack that has just enough room for a warming layer, rain jacket, snacks and a camera. The pack rides well and is comfortable. I have had on the water three times. My only negative comment on the pack is that it is not well suited for frequent access. I've used other packs that you can simply slide around for frequent and rapid access when you are changing flies, etc. this pack is a bit more cumbersome for that due to its vertical vice horizontal long axis. Perfect for the aforementioned tasks though - I've just been keeping my fly box in my wader pouch while searching for the right pattern. It's also pretty water tight. Last trip I fully submerged it to test it. Only a few drops in at the top of the outer pouch zippers."
Review 4 for Gale Force Sling Pack
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
eh!,
February 4, 2014
By: Jim537
from Leominster, MA
"Came right away. There was a strap with buckles that I could not find a use for. Fits o.k."
Review 5 for Gale Force Sling Pack
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Gale Sling,
January 31, 2014
By: mmadsen
from Oregon
"Only used it a few times. It's been great. It's large enough for about anything you'd want. My kit usually consists of snacks, rain jacket, couple fly boxes, tippet, pretty much anything you'd want/need. I like that the material is stout, it allows the sling to sit on my back about the same whether it's stuffed full or nearly empty. It has not been exposed to long durations on heavy rain (yet), but I haven't had any issue thus far with things getting wet and haven't hesitated to put anything in there. It's a good little pack for someone who is on the move who is going to be away from the car for long periods at a time."
Review 6 for Gale Force Sling Pack
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Gale force sling pack,
January 29, 2014
By: Hcrews
"This pack is fantastic, especially because it is waterproof. It is small enough to be carried anywhere but big enough to hold all the necessary supplies. It could use some pockets or something to organize fly boxes."
Review 7 for Gale Force Sling Pack
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Solid, Useful Piece,
January 28, 2014
By: JohnnyPack
from Chicago
"This is a really useful pack--the fact that it's waterproof sets it apart from most others. The switchable strap (for switching which shoulder you wear it over) is a great feature. The padded back and interior pockets are also smart features. I like it already."
Review 8 for Gale Force Sling Pack
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great quality, nice features,
January 16, 2014
By: BCMO
"Haven't had it out in the rain yet, so I can quite review it's most important feature. But, just from the looks of things, this is going to be a great pack. I plan to use it to haul camera gear with me while fishing, using the outer pocket for slim fly boxes, and the large main pocket for camera gear and a streamer box or two."
Review 9 for Gale Force Sling Pack
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent travel bag.,
January 16, 2014
By: Mobileone
"Great bag at a great price. I use this bag as my under seat airline travel bag and as a boat bag when I am fishing in Mexico and Belize. Perfect size and easy to carry."
Review 10 for Gale Force Sling Pack
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
good, but not without flaws,
December 12, 2013
By: bigfoot
from Norway
"Having used a photo-centric (Lowepro) sling-pack for years, I always wanted something 100% waterproof, so I just got the Orvis sling-pack and spent 2 weeks in the tropics bonefishing with it. Mixed feelings about it.
It’s reasonably water proof, but not 100%, as I suspect the main zipper is the weak point, surprised it does not have an additional Velcro based cover or something. Got a minimal amount of moisture in the main compartment in sustained heavy rain, but the outside pocket is quite well protected. Overall this is acceptable, but not exactly a confidence booster either, when considering a scenario where the pack falls off a kayak or something and gets thoroughly dunked.
However, the main issue is that it is not a sling-pack by nature and design, but rather like a backpack with a strap removed. This is easy to tell after using it, the zippers are not well aligned with hands position when the back is slid forward for access. A true sling-pack will open from the side, like a suitcase, not the top as is the case for backpacks. A side opening has many benefits, including better access to all parts of the pack (not just have you put on top, which tends to end up with Last-In-First-Out) and not least easier one-handed access/operation. A few straps/mounting points for clippers would also be good additions to the next iteration of this bag.
I personally feel this pack is a little on the small side. It also lacks straps for carrying a second rod.
I will continue to use my Lowepro Slingshot for good weather days, and use the Orvis only for rainy days and outings in boat/kayaks. Overall, it does the job, but needs to be better if competing as a top product."
Review 11 for Gale Force Sling Pack
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
perfect for all weather fishing,
December 9, 2013
By: pernodchaser
from jersey uk
"Great buy. Nice sized main compartment. . With small pockets added inside. Can't wait to get out there and use it"
Review 12 for Gale Force Sling Pack
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
As advertised,
December 7, 2013
By: 30West
from Concord, NH
"Received item ahead of expectations. Top quality, as expected from Orvis. Perfect size for all day on the water."
Review 13 for Gale Force Sling Pack
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
WAS a sweet pack,
August 8, 2013
By: ISHI
from Berkley, Mi
"I have had this pack for a while, really liked it & used it a lot - right up until my lab decided to see if I had left any snacks in the outer pocket. Now it is not even windproof, let alone waterproof - guess I'll be buyin a replacement. Man's best friend eh!!"
Review 14 for Gale Force Sling Pack
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Functional,
August 4, 2013
By: Gentleman
from Lower Gwynedd, PA
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"I chose the sling over the backpack based on the advice of the guys at the PM, PA store. Next day on a rainy morning I tested out the pack. Works well and is fully waterproof. Caution and design flaw is that the slip in pouch for hemostats is the wrong size. My vest has been replaced."
Review 15 for Gale Force Sling Pack
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
sling pack but wish it could be backpack,
January 19, 2013
By: Fishinphysician
from Northern California
"Good size for day fishing to carry lunch,rain jacket and extra fly boxes, camera,small binoculars, first aid kit. A bit heavy or bulky when loaded for sling pack so I wish Orvis would add a couple buckles and extra strap to be able to convert to a small day pack which this would be a perfect size. The Gale force pack I have is a little large sometimes to carry in for just a short day trip."
Review 16 for Gale Force Sling Pack
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Field tested,
December 26, 2012
By: Ridley260
from Alexandria, Va
"Just returned from two days fishing trout in rural Virginia in the heavy snow and sleet. This bag held a camera, keys, wallet, fishing license, etc. bone dry interior. My only complaint is that I couldn't climb into it while I ate lunch."
Review 17 for Gale Force Sling Pack
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Solid Bag,
December 15, 2012
By: uknowmejt123
from Vermont, Cape and Islands
"I have owned this backpack for a year and use it every day. The bag is still in tact and no seams have split, nor has anything come appart. I waded across the flats a few times in about 4 ft of water with the bag on my back this summer. I did notice that a little bit of water got in when the bottom of the bag was submerged. Coulda been the zipper position. I'm gonna try leaving the zippers in the upward position next time. It would be awesome if this bag was completely waterproof and if it was offered in a few colors. Very lightweight and comfortable. Good design."
Review 18 for Gale Force Sling Pack
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
New Manufacturer,
October 10, 2012
By: RMW11
from Chicago, IL
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"I received this bag really fast when ordering. Unfortunately, the bag came with a marking on it and I returned it for a new one. I have learned that the new manufacturer for this bag uses an adhesive that makes dark brown areas around the zippers (apparently heat welded) and really changes the aesthetic of the bag. It's no longer as sleek and professional looking. Not sure if I will get this bag again, which is a shame, since I love the clean lines, seamless look and waterproof construction! The new look just is not the same. Bring back the original bag!"
Review 19 for Gale Force Sling Pack
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Pack,
October 3, 2012
By: Streamline
from England
"I own the Gale Force Waist pack and I thought the design of that was not as good as it could have been. With this pack I think Orvis have got it spot on.
I think the size is perfect, as other say you can carry the essentials, jacket for showery days, lunch plus fly gear with no problem; all without being too bulky. The strap is comfortable and I like the double zip outer. Only minor improvement would be an internal clip to hold your car keys.
The waterproof design is good as are all the Gale force products and it is something I will be using for a long time to come."
Review 20 for Gale Force Sling Pack
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
A Product of high quality. A little small,
May 21, 2012
By: p14g19g23
from Campinas-Sao Paulo, BRAZIL
"It should be a little bigger, But it is of high quality.
Everything made that ORVIS sell is of high quality.
I never send back any products that I bought.
"