Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Gale Force Backpack

Gale Force packs are designed to handle the worst weather, a dunk in the river, or a trip overboard. Unique polyurethane-coated nylon fabric is heat/RF welded and combined with water-resistant, noncorrosive YKK zippers to produce the Gale Force line of packs and bags. All bags are highly weather resistant and very durable, ideal for use where exposure to water is inevitable—such as every time you go fishing. Fish the backcountry rain or shine with the Gale Force® fishing backpack. Contoured, padded shoulder straps adjust for perfect fit and an adjustable sternum strap for secure fit. Two compartments with interior pockets for ample storage and organization of your gear. Thick foam-padded back panel with built-in channels for air ventilation. Buckle attachments for chest-pack compatibility—attach a chest pack to the front shoulder strap for use while fishing or haul it on back panel. Compatible with Gale Force Chest Pack (4H1L), Safe Passage® Micro Chest Pack (3H6X), Safe Passage Vertical Chest Pack (3H6Y), and Safe Passage Large Capacity Chest Pack (3H60). Carry handle with comfortable rubber grip. Fishing backpack in gray. 19½"H x 11"W x 9"D; 1,930 cu. in. Weighs 1.9 pounds. Imported. (NOTE: The Gale Force Backpack is designed to protect against any normal water event, but is not airtight and not intended for prolonged submersion.)
Average Customer Rating:
4.79 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (38 reviews)
5 stars
31
4 stars
6
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
37 of 38(97%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Gale Force Backpack
Review 1 for Gale Force Backpack
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Perfect weatherproof pack,
September 17, 2014
By: OceanReef
from Miami, FL, USA
"Great size and holds 2 rod tubes! Amazing bag that more than handled tough, wet conditions in Alaska. I would highly recommend it."
Review 2 for Gale Force Backpack
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Orvis Gale Force Backpack gives me peace of mind,
September 11, 2014
By: Jiffoner
from Miami, FL
"The Gale Force backpack is by fat the best present I have gotten myself in a long time. Normally I'll be free diving, it starts to rain, and I just start thinking about how wet my underwear will be when I put them on on the end of the day.
No Longer! I can now hunt fish with peace of mind, no matter what the weather is. I can be assured that my clothes, especially my drawers will be dry and toasty! This gives me extreme pleasure. This pleasure is all because I bought myself the Orvis Gale Force backpack! Simple as that.
Not to mention all the extra straps that are great for holding my long fins and gear.
Thank you Orvis for keeping me dry and toasty!
"
Review 3 for Gale Force Backpack
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Your search is over!,
September 7, 2014
By: bobgtightlinestoyou
"Just bought the Gale Force Backpack in August and tested it fishing in Alaska. Days of heavy rain and sitting in a wet boat. This pack is absolutely dry, tough, very light, and the perfect size for fly fishing. The zippers are excellent and easy to use. It is true quality, well made, and I expect it to last for a long time."
Review 4 for Gale Force Backpack
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent product! Very durable!,
August 7, 2014
By: tbdtexas
from South Padre Island, Texas
"Bought this back pack for a once in a lifetime fly fishing trip to Alaska. We did lots of hiking on bear trails over tundra and down the banks of rivers. The Gale Force Back Pack was perfect for all of that as well as being an excellent boat bag when we were floating. In addition, it also worked well as my carry on luggage. Very well constructed product."
Review 5 for Gale Force Backpack
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
What a bag!,
May 17, 2014
By: RainAngler
from Vancouver, BC
"Purchased this bag October 2013 at Orvis Seattle. Excellent. Steeheading in snow and rain, this bag protected my gear. Spacious and compatible with new Gale Force Chest Pack. Only downside, the shoulder and chest straps are long and not shaped to fit a woman's torso. A common complaint often made by women fly fishers!"
Review 6 for Gale Force Backpack
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Travel Bag,
February 10, 2014
By: Yellowdog515
from Lessburg, Virginia
"Purchased to take fishing but last week used as my carry on bag for a trip to California. These days airlines make you pack like a survivalist if you are going to try to make it in and out of an airport easily. Put my computer, all my reading material and a few snacks in this bag and easily stowed it under the seat in front of me."
Review 7 for Gale Force Backpack
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Strong,
February 7, 2014
By: JChicago
from Chicago, IL
"I needed a durable multi recreational use backpack, this definitely fit what I needed. You can see the craftsmanship blended well with the technology used to manufacture it. Finally, its very light which was another important consideration."
Review 8 for Gale Force Backpack
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Awesome piece of kit,
January 17, 2014
By: Charlie1965
from Oxford, Pa
"Used this on a flats trip to the Yucatan. Was large enough for what I wanted as carry on lugagge with room to spare and then performed flawlessly on the boat carrying everything I needed for a day on the water. Contents stayed bone dry despite a couple of very wet days and an accidental dunking!
I would highly recommend this backpack to anyone even if not a fisherman.
"
Review 9 for Gale Force Backpack
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Boat Bag,
December 28, 2013
By: RACnROLL
"This is a great combo travel pack / boat bag. Protect lunch, gadgets, extra gloves, rain jacket, etc. from the spray."
Review 10 for Gale Force Backpack
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Gale Force Backpack,
December 16, 2013
By: Bestfishingwife
"This is the second back pack that I have purchased for my husband who is a very serious fisherman. The first backpack lasted three years--rain, winds, international travel, snow, ice etc. It finally wore out after consistent use and kept all of his fishing "stuff" dry no matter what the elements. He fishes approximately 70% of the days each year so this back pack was put to the test. The mere fact that he asked for a replacement tells me this is THE back pack for a rough, tough, no bar elements kind of fishing man."
Review 11 for Gale Force Backpack
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Good Product,
October 10, 2013
By: PARob
from Pennsylvania
"Just got this pack and used it once. I was able to wade without worrying about my belongings getting wet. Fit well, looks nice, and had ample room for fly boxes, snacks, a water bottle, and a jacket."
Review 12 for Gale Force Backpack
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
does the job,
October 3, 2013
By: nevek
from Gloucester, MA
"I use the gale force backpack when I have a trip on a boat. It keeps everryhting dry and fits everything i need. the outside pocket is great for phone camara or other items i want quick access to."
Review 13 for Gale Force Backpack
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fine pack,
September 9, 2013
By: Gentleman
from Lower Gwynedd, PA
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"Earlier in the year I got the sling version of this pack and that is fine for most outings. With Fall approaching I decided to get this pack and found that it is entirely adequate to carry waders, boots, lunch and more. The video sold me on this Gale Force fabric and I can say, from two trips to the rainy Ausable river that the pack is bomb proof...and black fly resistant."
Review 14 for Gale Force Backpack
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great waterproof backpack,
August 15, 2013
By: Countrylife
"I love the amount of space inside the Gale Force backpack. The small outside pocket is great to keep flies that are easy to get to with out having to dig."
Review 15 for Gale Force Backpack
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Finally dry,
August 10, 2013
By: Maxime
from Quebec, Canada
"I finally find the gear I was looking for since I fish and hunt. I will never come back at home or camp with my backpack and all my gears soggy."
Review 16 for Gale Force Backpack
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Keep your gear dry,
July 9, 2013
By: Mikey2
from The Woodlands, TX, USA
"Have used this backpack in Argentina, Alaska and the Bahamas in driving force rain and my gear stayed dry. You can carry two rod tubes or water in the side. The smaller outside pouch is much larger than it looks and also completely waterproof.
I have started to use it as my carry on when flying and find it very comfortable to wear because of the padded back and shoulders. One word of caution, if you completely fill up both the main compartment and the smaller pouch you might have some problems putting it into the overheads on some plains."
Review 17 for Gale Force Backpack
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Zip placement,
April 17, 2013
By: WelcomeFlyfisher
"What I would love to see would be this pack with the main compartment zip going from the bottom corner all the way around to the other bottom corner, so that one could open the whole thing without having to pull everything out of the top of the pack first in order to get to the stuff at the bottom!"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Gale Force Backpack
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great All Weather Pack!,
February 11, 2013
By: FlybumMedia
from Cleveland, OH
"I have had this pack since it came out. I can say with confidence that this backpack is a perfect fit for those who plan on fishing whenever they want regardless of weather. Rain, snow, sleet...you name it, this pack will handle it. With a TON of room in the main compartment and a zipper that allows great access to the whole thing, it will carry as much gear as a pack mule! The little added features such as pull tabs, sternum strap, waist belt and much more are well thought through. This is a well rounded pack that will get it done in the good or bad side of weather!"
Review 19 for Gale Force Backpack
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Backpack,
February 5, 2013
By: BillFromMichigan
from Michigan
"This bag is very simple with very few pockets but it is very easy to access. It has a big zipper that really opens up. To me this is the best feature of the bag. It doesn't have many internal pockets but that is ok.
I used to use a northface full frame backpack and it was just too much bag and it opened from the top making it difficult move things in and out."
Review 20 for Gale Force Backpack
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Good Backpack,
January 25, 2013
By: NNCC
from San Jose, CA
"I swapped my gale force sling for this backpack for a little more cargo room for winter steelhead trips. The front pocket is very spacious and the main compartment will hold pretty much anything you want to bring with you on the water. There is also a zipper pocket and mesh pocket inside the main compartment to keep valuables and various other things. It has also gone for a couple of swims and everything has stayed dry. My only complaint: the shoulder straps dig into the inside of my arms, which hurts a little. It also makes casting my switch rods a little more difficult because it restricts my arms' range of motion. Just tweak the shoulder straps to be a bit more ergonomic and this is definitely a 5-star bag."