Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product
This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Orvis.

Orvis Heritage Field Coat

Its forebears hang in a thousand closets and have seen lifetimes in the field. We've brought this classic field coat back with subtle updates to become the favorite of yet another generation. Our dry-waxed cotton canvas turns away briars and repels rain. Traditional red brushed-twill lining. Lower bellows pockets with snap-closure pocket flaps. Two upper slash handwarmer pockets. Gusseted underarm panels with grommets for ventilation. Shooting patches on both shoulders and reinforced elbow patches. Adjustable button cuffs with corduroy trim. Corduroy collar. Rear-entry waterproof game bag with two side zips and interior lining. Bi-swing back for comfort. Full zip front with button-closed wind flap. Two interior pockets. In dark khaki. Pure cotton. Damp sponge. Imported.Sizes: M(38-40). About 31" long in size large.
Average Customer Rating:
4.316 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (19 reviews)
5 stars
12
4 stars
3
3 stars
2
2 stars
2
1 star
0
15 of 19(79%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Orvis Heritage Field Coat
Review 1 for Orvis Heritage Field Coat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Terrific Field Coat,
May 28, 2013
By: Golfleo
from Montreal, Canada
"Very pleased with my recent purchase, well made, excellent quality. By far the best field coat compared to the other makes.
Stiching, lining, zipper,material and buttons all well stiched, very sturdy.
Highly highly recommend.
Thank you Orvis !!
P.S. Also great customer service !
"
Review 2 for Orvis Heritage Field Coat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality Jacket,
May 23, 2013
By: rhv1
from Mid-Atlantic
"Outstanding in value and quality! As other indicate a full cut, however that makes this jacket a three season wear - good for layering. Well done Orvis!"
Review 3 for Orvis Heritage Field Coat
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Just Received,
May 23, 2013
By: polarbear82
from Madison, SD
"Quality and Fit of the coat is excellent. Looking forward to pheasant season to try it out."
Review 4 for Orvis Heritage Field Coat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
great value,great features,
May 23, 2013
By: mikejt
from augusta,ga
"suitable for any activity when cool weather strikes. features for hunting, but good looking in town. great quality from Orvis"
Review 5 for Orvis Heritage Field Coat
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Great Coat,
May 21, 2013
By: TexasGreg
from Ft. Worth Texas
"Excellent Quality and just the right weight. Lining was beautifully done and colors were just as depicted on line. Fit was very full but good for layering. Would reccommend."
Review 6 for Orvis Heritage Field Coat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Not What Was Imagined,
May 21, 2013
By: HorizonScanner
from Pittsburgh
"Not the kind of coat I thought it would be in fit, fabric and quality. Tagged to be XL, it was a medium."
Review 7 for Orvis Heritage Field Coat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Field Jacket,
May 14, 2013
By: namenickat111
from Orvis Online
"A very excellent field jacket sure to last a lifetime. Plenty of pockets, inside and out. I like a lot of pockets, and this one delivers in aces. Access to a rear game pocket on both sides. Flared back contributes to freedom of movement necessary in a field garment. Two way heavy duty brass zipper, not likely to damaged or ever need to be replaced. Quality material and workmanship in a well thought out garment. Thank you for this one Orvis.........."
Review 8 for Orvis Heritage Field Coat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
typical ovis outerwear,
May 14, 2013
By: jim1048
from chapel Hill NC
"typical in Orvis' case does not mean average. I love outerwear so much(sports coats, sweaters, vests, jackets) so much that my wife has had to clear out part of her closet to make room for me. i have several go to jackets, sweaters and coats from Orvis with one being 20 years old. My navy field coat is a great addition my collection"
Review 9 for Orvis Heritage Field Coat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Orvis Excellence,
May 14, 2013
By: wilsonja01
from New York, NY
"I consider Orvis to be one of those rare companies that produces quality products at reasonable prices. My purchase of the Heritage Field Coat is no exception to that rule. The fit and quality more than meets my expectations and I fully expect to get many years of wear."
Review 10 for Orvis Heritage Field Coat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Heritage Field Coat,
May 9, 2013
By: Zock
from Johnston, Iowa
"The coat fits true to size and is a great field coat. You can wear this coat as a casual coat or for hunting."
Review 11 for Orvis Heritage Field Coat
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
May 9, 2013
By: CurtisM
"High quality, well designed, but not right for taller individuals. I am 6' 3" and the jacket wasn't long enough. I wish Orvis would have more tall sized items."
Review 12 for Orvis Heritage Field Coat
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Great Coat,
May 9, 2013
By: TheGoalie
from Charleston, WV
"I also have the black watch version of this particular coat and I am a big fan of both of them. Love the weight and the cut. If I had one complaint, the hand warmer pockets are not in a spot that suits someone of my height or wingspan. If I use them, I look like a TRex. But certainly not a deal breaker. Wonderful coat otherwise."
Review 13 for Orvis Heritage Field Coat
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Bad Fit,
May 7, 2013
By: Ramos
from San Francisco, CA
"The quality of the product - I mean, the fabric, the finishings - is very good, your normal Orvis quality. But the modeling was awful: it didn't fit well. I returned it."
Review 14 for Orvis Heritage Field Coat
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Irritating issue,
August 6, 2012
By: NB3960
"Good coat but the zip is the wrong way round for menswear. It should go right into left but this is more a women's design going left into right despite the coat being advertised in the men's section."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Orvis Heritage Field Coat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Simply the best,
August 1, 2012
By: Bristle
from Bristol UK
"Glorious material, excellent design. Well provided with pockets - what more could you ask for? If you haven't got one, you're missing out!"
Review 16 for Orvis Heritage Field Coat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Outstanding,
July 3, 2012
By: Leighlad
from Staffordshire,
"I recently bought the Blackwatch field coat and i have to say it is the best coat i have ever owned, it is made with such care and attention to detail, there is not one thing wrong i can say about it, from now on Orvis will be where i purchase all my gear from, if anyone is looking for a good, hardwearing, weather resistant coat then buy this one, you will not regret it."
Review 17 for Orvis Heritage Field Coat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Product,
May 26, 2012
By: Dragoon
from London
"I have had several field jackets or barn coats over the years. This jacket is the best by a country mile. The pockets are in the right places and have ample capacity for those other essentials when outside. It feels great and looks great too.
My only criticism would be that cleaning it may be an issue as it cannot be washed or dry cleaned. Other than that another top rate product from the Orvis stable.
"
Ratings-Only Reviews for Orvis Heritage Field Coat
Based on the average of (2) ratings-only reviews
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Would recommend? Yes 1 out of 2