Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Orvis Heritage Field Coat

Its forebears hang in a thousand closets and have seen lifetimes in the field. We've brought this classic field coat back with subtle updates to become the favorite of yet another generation. Our dry-waxed cotton canvas turns away briars and repels rain. Traditional red brushed-twill lining. Lower bellows pockets with snap-closure pocket flaps. Two upper slash handwarmer pockets. Gusseted underarm panels with grommets for ventilation. Shooting patches on both shoulders and reinforced elbow patches. Adjustable button cuffs with corduroy trim. Corduroy collar. Rear-entry waterproof game bag with two side zips and interior lining. Bi-swing back for comfort. Full zip front with button-closed wind flap. Two interior pockets. Pure cotton. Damp sponge. Imported.Sizes: M(38-40), L(42-44), XL(46-48), XXL(50-52). About 31" long in size large.
Average Customer Rating:
4.552 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (475 reviews)
5 stars
344
4 stars
79
3 stars
29
2 stars
16
1 star
7
435 of 475(92%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Orvis Heritage Field Coat
Review 1 for Orvis Heritage Field Coat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great coat,
October 22, 2014
By: Bigglesbc
from British Columbia, Canada
"My Heritage Field coat arrived recently and it's everything I wanted and expected. The material, color, warmth and style are all good. I'm 6'2", 185lbs with an athletic build, and the large fits well in the shoulders and arm length. The waist area is a little loose for me but I'm used to that in most jackets - it's not a deal breaker with a fleece on under the jacket.
I think this will be a great go to jacket for most autumn, winter, and spring conditions
"
Review 2 for Orvis Heritage Field Coat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Better than I expected,
October 22, 2014
By: BFouss
from Newtown, PA
"I bought this coat for pheasant hunting season. I have two other hunting/shooting coats, but wanted something mid-weight that I could use for both hunting and shooting. This coat is perfect. I has already become my go to coat for weekend sporting games with the kids."
Review 3 for Orvis Heritage Field Coat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Worth every penny,
October 22, 2014
By: FlyfishingSFSC
from Valentine, NE
"I was looking for new fall lightweight jacket I could wear casually, but also to the duck blind and doing barn chores.
This coat is perfect. I looked at others but eh Orvis Heritage Field Coat fit perfectly- both size and my needs. The styling makes it a jacket you can wear to football game or running errands. Nicely styled with corduroy collars and cuffs. Pockets are great size. Look says outdoor enthusiast.
"
Review 4 for Orvis Heritage Field Coat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best Field Jacket I've Ever Owned,
October 21, 2014
By: PghJohn
from Pittsburgh, PA
"When it comes to field jackets, I have always been a Woolrich man -- until now. The Orvis Heritage Field Coat beats all my former field jackets, hands down. In terms of construction and attention to details, the Heritage Field Coat is at least the equal of those that have gone before,however, it is lighter and warmer than any of them! Just last night I wore it to the nose-bleed section of Heinz Field to witness the Pittsburgh Steelers' amazing comeback against the Houstan Texans. Anyone who has ever sat in that football stadium will attest to the intense chill of the winds regularly blowing up from the headwaters of the Ohio River. And the higher one's seats in those stands, the chillier are those gusts! Well, in the third quarter, the wind whipped up, as usual, and drove some rain our way. In spite of that squall, I remained toasty and warm -- and in good spirits, as I watched the hometown team take the night. I really can't say enough good about the Orvis Heritage Field Coat. I would heartily recommend it to anyone shopping for a field jacket-- and I would certainly purchase it again."
Review 5 for Orvis Heritage Field Coat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
One of my top purchases over the years,
October 21, 2014
By: RICEMAN4L
from Houston, TX
"Product is great. Will keep me warm and dry in the cold weather. Great pockets. Pockets to keep your hands warm and pockets to put things in. Inside pockets. Truly love this coat"
Review 6 for Orvis Heritage Field Coat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Nice Quality, Nice Fit,
October 21, 2014
By: MDLMichigan
from Michigan
"I originally ordered this in a medium and found it a little small in the chest so I returned it (I'm 5'10" 205 lbs and work-out). The return procedure was easy and my new coat is comfortable, looks good and appears to be of very good quality. My primary use will be upland hunting and field trialing bird dogs under rough conditions and I believe this coat will be more than adequate for those tasks."
Review 7 for Orvis Heritage Field Coat
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Poor fit,
October 21, 2014
By: Sam777
from Westchester, New York
"I am sorry to say that this coat did not fit well. I had trouble fitting my arm in one of the sleeves. I returned the coat and was given a prompt refund by Orvis."
Review 8 for Orvis Heritage Field Coat
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Nice Alternative to Barbour,
October 20, 2014
By: ChadB
from Grand Rapids, MI
"I liked the Barbour field coats but didn't want to pay the big bucks. This Orvis "private label" coat is a less expensive alternative and still has nice features and workmanship. It provides enough insulation for chilly temps but is not for Michigan winters unless you layer it. The fit for me is fine, not too bulky."
Review 9 for Orvis Heritage Field Coat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best Field Coat,
October 17, 2014
By: RhodyJR
from Rhode Island
"Great product - comfortable, durable and looks great!"
Review 10 for Orvis Heritage Field Coat
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Dissapointed with construction,
October 16, 2014
By: KusDesilva
from Ithaca, NY
"I'm a big fan of Orvis. This jacket is stylish and the materials are great. However, it has started to fall apart on me. The inner lining has started to come apart within the first few months of light usage and today when I was putting the jacket on I noticed that the whole sleeve and it's stitching has come apart and there is a giant hole in it. So though I love the design and the way it looks (get a lot of compliments) I feel really let down by the way the jacket has been constructed. Which is NOT what I expect from orvis."
Review 11 for Orvis Heritage Field Coat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Orvis Heritage Field Coat,
October 16, 2014
By: fishandhuntken
from Virginia
"Great quality which will hold up for years to come."
Review 12 for Orvis Heritage Field Coat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent Quality,
October 16, 2014
By: RBC4
from Binghamton, NY
"Everything about the Orvis Field Coat is well done. The construction and materials used look and feel great. The coat is heavier than I expected so it should be good throughout the northeast winters with a couple layers. I opted for the olive color which is a nice dark olive and the red liner adds a nice touch. I would definitely buy this product again."
Review 13 for Orvis Heritage Field Coat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great coat,
October 15, 2014
By: Moochdog
from Illinois
"I love this field coat. It replaces another brand that was pretty frustrating in its details. I have examined this top to bottom and love the finish and details. Can hardly wait for cooler weather to take it in the field."
Review 14 for Orvis Heritage Field Coat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Outstanding Field Coat,
October 15, 2014
By: DBall
from Bennington, VT
"The quality of the jacket is excellent and I was glad I reveiwed the sizing chart before I made the purchase. I have had several other field coats over the years from other makers and I ordered a size smaller than I normally wear. Great fit!"
Review 15 for Orvis Heritage Field Coat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Nice Coat,
October 14, 2014
By: Wayne777
from Green Bay, WI
"Quality materials with substantial weight to handle any cold climates."
Review 16 for Orvis Heritage Field Coat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Coat,
October 14, 2014
By: TechUser
"This is an outstanding coat. It has style and comfort for the fall and winter weather. I think the way the pockets are organized make it an exceptional functional fit. The back pocket is perfect for storing small game birds."
Review 17 for Orvis Heritage Field Coat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Warm and Substantial,
October 14, 2014
By: d2ray
from Portland, OR
"The Field Coat was a surprise in terms of its weight and heft. It has a substantial feel and is quite warm while at the same time having a nice shape with numerous careful details.
The biggest surprise is the color which is olive, and was expected, but this is a deeper and more sophisticated shade--charcoal infusion perhaps.
"
Review 18 for Orvis Heritage Field Coat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent Choice,
October 14, 2014
By: BRDUSA
from Madison, WI
"Purchased field coat on sale. Fit is consistent with online sizing - great style, excellent construction and great coat for fall. This is the second coat I have purchased from Orvis with great success."
Review 19 for Orvis Heritage Field Coat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Really nice coat,
October 14, 2014
By: jf425
from MN
"This coat fits perfectly! Very comfortable, easy to use."
Review 20 for Orvis Heritage Field Coat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
great purchase,
October 14, 2014
By: hal86
from new york, NY
"terrific fit, terrific value and looks. who needs barbour"