Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Orvis Heritage Field Coat

Its forebears hang in a thousand closets and have seen lifetimes in the field. We've brought this classic field coat back with subtle updates to become the favorite of yet another generation. Our dry-waxed cotton canvas turns away briars and repels rain. Traditional red brushed-twill lining. Lower bellows pockets with snap-closure pocket flaps. Two upper slash handwarmer pockets. Gusseted underarm panels with grommets for ventilation. Shooting patches on both shoulders and reinforced elbow patches. Adjustable button cuffs with corduroy trim. Corduroy collar. Rear-entry waterproof game bag with two side zips and interior lining. Bi-swing back for comfort. Full zip front with button-closed wind flap. Two interior pockets. Pure cotton. Damp sponge. Imported.Sizes: M(38-40), L(42-44), XL(46-48), XXL(50-52). About 31" long in size large.
Average Customer Rating:
4.556 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (464 reviews)
5 stars
336
4 stars
78
3 stars
29
2 stars
14
1 star
7
426 of 464(92%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Orvis Heritage Field Coat
Review 1 for Orvis Heritage Field Coat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Orvis Heritage Field Coat,
October 16, 2014
By: fishandhuntken
from Virginia
"Great quality which will hold up for years to come."
Review 2 for Orvis Heritage Field Coat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent Quality,
October 16, 2014
By: RBC4
from Binghamton, NY
"Everything about the Orvis Field Coat is well done. The construction and materials used look and feel great. The coat is heavier than I expected so it should be good throughout the northeast winters with a couple layers. I opted for the olive color which is a nice dark olive and the red liner adds a nice touch. I would definitely buy this product again."
Review 3 for Orvis Heritage Field Coat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great coat,
October 15, 2014
By: Moochdog
from Illinois
"I love this field coat. It replaces another brand that was pretty frustrating in its details. I have examined this top to bottom and love the finish and details. Can hardly wait for cooler weather to take it in the field."
Review 4 for Orvis Heritage Field Coat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Outstanding Field Coat,
October 15, 2014
By: DBall
from Bennington, VT
"The quality of the jacket is excellent and I was glad I reveiwed the sizing chart before I made the purchase. I have had several other field coats over the years from other makers and I ordered a size smaller than I normally wear. Great fit!"
Review 5 for Orvis Heritage Field Coat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Nice Coat,
October 14, 2014
By: Wayne777
from Green Bay, WI
"Quality materials with substantial weight to handle any cold climates."
Review 6 for Orvis Heritage Field Coat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Coat,
October 14, 2014
By: TechUser
"This is an outstanding coat. It has style and comfort for the fall and winter weather. I think the way the pockets are organized make it an exceptional functional fit. The back pocket is perfect for storing small game birds."
Review 7 for Orvis Heritage Field Coat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Warm and Substantial,
October 14, 2014
By: d2ray
from Portland, OR
"The Field Coat was a surprise in terms of its weight and heft. It has a substantial feel and is quite warm while at the same time having a nice shape with numerous careful details.
The biggest surprise is the color which is olive, and was expected, but this is a deeper and more sophisticated shade--charcoal infusion perhaps.
"
Review 8 for Orvis Heritage Field Coat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent Choice,
October 14, 2014
By: BRDUSA
from Madison, WI
"Purchased field coat on sale. Fit is consistent with online sizing - great style, excellent construction and great coat for fall. This is the second coat I have purchased from Orvis with great success."
Review 9 for Orvis Heritage Field Coat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Really nice coat,
October 14, 2014
By: jf425
from MN
"This coat fits perfectly! Very comfortable, easy to use."
Review 10 for Orvis Heritage Field Coat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
great purchase,
October 14, 2014
By: hal86
from new york, NY
"terrific fit, terrific value and looks. who needs barbour"
Review 11 for Orvis Heritage Field Coat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality Purchase,
October 13, 2014
By: Peter2
from Houston, Tx
"I've went through a few ranch coats.
car hard, Duluth. My new Orvis is the best. I like it very much. As soon as it cools off a bit more, I'll put it to good use.
"
Review 12 for Orvis Heritage Field Coat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Functional and good looking,
October 12, 2014
By: almaxx
from New Brunswick, Canada
"Looked at other field coats, but settled on this one because of numerous reviews that were satisfied customers. Best decision! Love the fir, the look, the quality and the feel of this coat."
Review 13 for Orvis Heritage Field Coat
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Well made field coat,
October 10, 2014
By: Bob13
from Bergen County, NJ
"Just got this field coat and I do like it. I wish I got it in olive, because I seem to have a couple of garments in a similar color (Khaki pants, shirts, etc.).
The fit is a bit on the larger end of the spectrum in my opinion, which is OK since it will fit a layer underneath easy enough.
For me, having a few quality pieces of clothing that last for years, is preferable to a closet full of stuff I wear every once in awhile."
Review 14 for Orvis Heritage Field Coat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Overall experience !,
October 9, 2014
By: DWB33
from Omaha, NE
"First of all the quality or service with Orivs is second to none. Here is why:
The ability to search and find what you are looking for on the website is state of the art; The order process and confirmation is expedient; the delivery was expeditious and the package first rate. They even have pre paid return labels included.
Everyone does that you say - well the product was exact to the description and color - not rue of others.
Even if all of that was not great i would still love the product - it juste make the experience that much better.
"
Review 15 for Orvis Heritage Field Coat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Rugged utility jacket,
October 9, 2014
By: bamford
from New York, NY
"The Heritage Field Coat is great for rainy days and walking the dogs out in the field.
I love the big durable pocket to store my gear, even small binoculars!"
Review 16 for Orvis Heritage Field Coat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Jacket, Large,
October 8, 2014
By: MichelleKI
from Chicago, IL
"I bought this jacket for my boyfriend for a nice fall jacket. He LOVED it. It looks amazing, great field jacket look and fabric. It's going to be perfectly warm for those chilly fall nights. He's 6'1" and 190 lbs and i got him the MEDIUM. It's larger than most mediums but that's because they are supposed to fit that way. I wish I could buy one for my brother but wouldn't want them to match. The olive is a very dark green but it looks great with the corduroy collar."
Review 17 for Orvis Heritage Field Coat
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Warning: Insane Sizing Variation.,
October 8, 2014
By: DrEamonnONeill
from Scotland.
"I already owned two of these coats. One purchased years ago from the Orvis HQ store in Manchester Vt. The second one I bought at an Orvis outlet in Essex Jctn Vt last Christmas. The former was sand coloured and the latter a smart blue colour. I wanted to buy the dark green olive colour so I ordered online and took delivery a few weeks ago. The minute I put it on I noticed a huge sizing variation from the first two. I am a very solidly built, 195lbs daily-exerciser man of 5ft 6 inches. I needed a Large to fit my 44 chest and to be wearable over a suit. I live in Scotland where the weather is comparable to NE USA. I know my way around Orvis and adore their products. But when I got my measuring tape out I was stunned: The first coat I bought was 29-30 inches in length neck to edge of skirt; The second coat was 31 1/2 inches. So far so good. The final purchase was a whopping 34+ inches. This means they have added a drop of 4+ inches in so many years. I am drowned in it. Why are they adding length... even across a single calendar year? I am scratching my head about returning it... because I am not sure a Medium will fit my chest etc... but am really disappointed at this significant sizing difference between what is advertised as the 'same' product. I feel really, really let down by a company I respect, invest heavily in with purchases and constantly recommend whilst travelling internationally."
Review 18 for Orvis Heritage Field Coat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent coat,
October 8, 2014
By: dlau
"Coat is very well constructed and fits very well. I really like the look. Olive color was a bit darker than I expected, but that's no problem."
Review 19 for Orvis Heritage Field Coat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality Coat,
October 8, 2014
By: kennyg
from Princess Anne, MD
"I purchased the dark green coat and the color appeared exactly as displayed in the picture. The coat is quite comfortable and true to fit size. The quality of the stitching and buttons was very nice. Well done Orvis."
Review 20 for Orvis Heritage Field Coat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Beautifully Designed, Top Quality,
October 6, 2014
By: Willy1716
from Virginia Beach
"I love this coat. The outer shell, the liner, the stitching, the overall cut and the wonderful appointments.
It did run a little larger than what I am used to so I returned my XL for a large that fits great.
You won't be disappointed in this coat, especially for the price."