Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Orvis Heritage Field Coat

Its forebears hang in a thousand closets and have seen lifetimes in the field. We've brought this classic field coat back with subtle updates to become the favorite of yet another generation. Our dry-waxed cotton canvas turns away briars and repels rain. Traditional red brushed-twill lining. Lower bellows pockets with snap-closure pocket flaps. Two upper slash handwarmer pockets. Gusseted underarm panels with grommets for ventilation. Shooting patches on both shoulders and reinforced elbow patches. Adjustable button cuffs with corduroy trim. Corduroy collar. Rear-entry waterproof game bag with two side zips and interior lining. Bi-swing back for comfort. Full zip front with button-closed wind flap. Two interior pockets. Pure cotton. Damp sponge. Imported.Sizes: M(38-40), L(42-44), XL(46-48), XXL(50-52). About 32½" long in size large.
Average Customer Rating:
4.575 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (565 reviews)
5 stars
415
4 stars
93
3 stars
32
2 stars
17
1 star
8
522 of 565(92%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Orvis Heritage Field Coat
Review 1 for Orvis Heritage Field Coat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
perfect for So. Calif. winter,
December 18, 2014
By: Debra1414
from San Diego, CA
"The coat looks wonderful on, is well made and should last a lifetime. When my husband put it on he looked very modern, fashionable and yet sporty. I think any man would enjoy wearing it."
Review 2 for Orvis Heritage Field Coat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Well-made, rugged coat,
December 17, 2014
By: outside155
"I bought this just in time for the cold weather and recently wore it on a hike in the woods on a cold, windy day. The coat is everything it is advertised to be: Resistant to cold and wind, repels briars, branches and twigs and is quite comfortable. I am five feet ten and about 165 pounds and the medium fits well, with room enough inside to wear a layer or sweater underneath. This is a good buy!"
Review 3 for Orvis Heritage Field Coat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
The Perfect Gift,
December 16, 2014
By: Melbelle
from Northwest Arkansas
"I bought this coat for my husband for Christmas this year, and I gave it to him early because i was so excited for him to see it! He is a man of many hobbies, including shooting, so the shooting patches and game bag are just an added bonus. The wax cloth on the outside of the jacket is such great quality - he immediately walked outside into a thunderstorm to test it out. He loves the fleece-lined hand warmer pockets as well as the bigger pockets to hold his phone, wallet, etc. And they don't make the jacket look bulky. He is about 5'11" and 160lbs, which worried me that this coat would look baggy on him, but it really fits well, and has room to layer under. He's been wearing it in our current 30-40 degree weather without any extra layers and has loved it. Both of us have worked in outdoor retail stores before and have purchased many great name-brand jackets, but this one takes it to the next level in quality and price value. I know this coat will last for many years to come. Also, the customer service rep i chatted with on the website was very helpful in helping me choose this coat specifically. Christmas gift success!"
Review 4 for Orvis Heritage Field Coat
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
not quite what I hoped for,
December 16, 2014
By: buddhe
"An average product because of the extreme boxy nature of the coat and, especially, a very flimsy collar that almost appears as an afterthought. Do love the game pouch in the rear of the jacket but not enough to save the entire effort. On to the Explorer Field Coat next..."
Review 5 for Orvis Heritage Field Coat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Perfect coat for husband!,
December 16, 2014
By: Marsbarmom
from Chicago, IL
"My husband is always outdoors and thus coat is perfect! Keeps him warm but is not too heavy!"
Review 6 for Orvis Heritage Field Coat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Son loves the Field Coat,
December 15, 2014
By: DavisFamily
"Bought this for my 17 year old son in the dark green. He is 6'2" about 160/165 tall and lean. Color is dark but he loves it. Length fit perfectly but it is very roomy but I think that's by design. Sleeves were just a bit long, he rolls them up to show the contrasting corduroy cuffs and it looks really nice. He can wear it both for casual or a more dressed up look, Great coat and very well made. He is very happy with it."
Review 7 for Orvis Heritage Field Coat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Rugged, well-fitting outerwear,
December 15, 2014
By: rmarkusmc
from Twentynine Palms, CA
"My Heritage Field Coat arrived yesterday and it is as excellent as advertised. The fit is as according to the sizing chart. The construction is robust. The weather here is in the low forties and windy with rain - nonetheless, wearing my new coat, I was extremely comfortable and warm. Overall, a great purchase."
Review 8 for Orvis Heritage Field Coat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
perfect jacket,
December 15, 2014
By: btra
"Really pleased with this jacket for both outdoor and business use. Runs a little large (I typically wear L but for this jacket a M fits really well). Great weight, strong quality. Wore it a full week straight for business casual meetings in and out of the rain and it was awesome.
Would definitely recommend."
Review 9 for Orvis Heritage Field Coat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
great coat,
December 14, 2014
By: gonefishingorgolfing
from annapolis, md.
"just the coat I have been looking for . I am 5'9" and 190lbs and the large fit comfortable with or without layering. in the woods or walking through town. in fact I bought both the tan and olive. the olive leans more on the brown side. you can't go wrong....."
Review 10 for Orvis Heritage Field Coat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fantastic Value,
December 14, 2014
By: Dean46
from NC
"I bought this coat for my son for Christmas and tried it on for size. It fits perfectly and is extremely well made. Since then I have hinted to my wife that I would like one myself.
I have always thought I would like a Barbour field coat but I am not fond of the smell of the wax waterproof finish on the Barbour coats. The Orvis coat does not have the same smell. I tested the water resistance by holding a sleeve under the faucet and it sheds the water totally. Purists I am sure will scoff at my criticism of the smell of the Barbour, but why live with something you don't like when you don't have to. As other reviewers have pointed out, the sizing of the Barbour coats can also be a big problem.
The Orvis field coat is a fantastic value; price, quality, fit and smell are all just right."
Review 11 for Orvis Heritage Field Coat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Coat,
December 13, 2014
By: Kody
from Colton NY
"This is one great buy. I'm 62 and this coat will probably last longer than I will! I bought the dark and probably will get the tan as well. Very happy!"
Review 12 for Orvis Heritage Field Coat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Outdoor Classy !!,
December 12, 2014
By: Bonefish52
from Washington DC
"I felt like the outdoor sportsman person I've become, when I sported my Heritage Field coat to meet colleagues for drinks and dinner last week. The Heritage Coat was perfect, and very comfortable with my turtle neck sweater underneath. I bought 3 coats actually, 2 for Christmas gifts!
Thanks Orvis"
Review 13 for Orvis Heritage Field Coat
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
I like the coat, but...,
December 10, 2014
By: hatter5301
from Raleigh, NC
"I like the coat's look and feel. I'll like it even more as it breaks in. It performed well during the recent rains I encountered visiting family in Hartford, Ct. However, the buttons are poorly attached and one cuff button has come off already after minimal wear. I will have to have a tailor remove all buttons and reattach in a fashion better suited to "field" use."
Review 14 for Orvis Heritage Field Coat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Jealous!,
December 9, 2014
By: CaribouKid
from Colorado
"My wife and I bought two of the Heritage Field Coats for our sons and I knew immediately upon opening the shipping carton that I had made a huge mistake...by not ordering a third coat for myself! The 'curb appeal' of this coat - they really are striking. I hope my kids like these because I'll be hovering over them, ready to keep them for myself. Great products, as one would expect from Orvis."
Review 15 for Orvis Heritage Field Coat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Coat,
December 8, 2014
By: Vabankee
from Central Virginia
"Coat fits well, comfortable, warm and good looking."
Review 16 for Orvis Heritage Field Coat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
A welcomed addition,
December 8, 2014
By: agileone
from new york
"The fit and finish make this field coat one that may be worn as a true hunting jacket or as a casual around town item.
The zipper in addition to the front buttons go a long way to retain body heat
The detail is far superior to others I have owned and would certainly recommend it to a friend.
"
Review 17 for Orvis Heritage Field Coat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
great coat,
December 8, 2014
By: cchbama
from Birmingham, Alabama
"Got this coat as a gift for my boyfriend. It looks great and fits him perfect. it gives him enough room to move around in with out being bulky. Love all the details too like the courdorary collar and the pockets. Fits true to size with enough room for extra layers."
Review 18 for Orvis Heritage Field Coat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
A great coat,
December 8, 2014
By: ChuckinTheATL
"I have one; I gave one last year to my college nephew (who does not take it off); gave one this year. This is a great coat and I highly recommend it. We use it in the field and as well, as a casual coat just for knocking around. The fit under the arms is perfect for swinging on a bird, there is a lining for mist and rain and for layering up in winter. I have a Barbour which I never wear as it has become a bit cliche, this coat is so much better."
Review 19 for Orvis Heritage Field Coat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great choice,
December 7, 2014
By: ABN101
from Illinois
"After searching and reviewing several similar jackets of various brands, I settled on the Heritage Field Coat. Although not the least expensive, I would say it was the right choice for me. Size and fit was right on...I'm 6'0'' & 180 lbs...the large regular is perfect. Has enough room to have a sweater underneath if temps dip down a bit. Good to around 35-40 without one. I'm pleased"
Review 20 for Orvis Heritage Field Coat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Another great field jacket.,
December 6, 2014
By: RJfly
from Texas
"Great coat that will keep me warm and dry on my out sings. Plenty of well located pockets. It fits just like a field jacket should."