Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Orvis Heritage Field Coat

Its forebears hang in a thousand closets and have seen lifetimes in the field. We've brought this classic field coat back with subtle updates to become the favorite of yet another generation. Our dry-waxed cotton canvas turns away briars and repels rain. Traditional red brushed-twill lining. Lower bellows pockets with snap-closure pocket flaps. Two upper slash handwarmer pockets. Gusseted underarm panels with grommets for ventilation. Shooting patches on both shoulders and reinforced elbow patches. Adjustable button cuffs with corduroy trim. Corduroy collar. Rear-entry waterproof game bag with two side zips and interior lining. Bi-swing back for comfort. Full zip front with button-closed wind flap. Two interior pockets. Pure cotton. Damp sponge. Imported.Sizes: M(38-40), L(42-44), XL(46-48), XXL(50-52). About 32½" long in size large.
Average Customer Rating:
4.567 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (526 reviews)
5 stars
384
4 stars
88
3 stars
30
2 stars
16
1 star
8
484 of 526(92%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Orvis Heritage Field Coat
Review 1 for Orvis Heritage Field Coat
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Average quality,
November 26, 2014
By: Victorcool
from Munich, Germany
"Average quality material. Old fashioned cut and style, very different from pictured jacket on the web-site."
Review 2 for Orvis Heritage Field Coat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Superb garment,
November 24, 2014
By: Gamecocks
from South Carolina
"This jacket is made to last. Sized properly, made of high grade material and constructed beautifully this jacket will become a regular in my rotation and I have many, many jackets. Buy one. You'll be glad you did."
Review 3 for Orvis Heritage Field Coat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Warm, well made, attractive,
November 24, 2014
By: crockett1974
from Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada
"I've had this coat a week now, so I can't comment on durability, but it appears to be very well made, no flaws, fit is perfect (stocky 5'10" 210lbs in a Large). Nice warm fleece lining on handwarmer slash pockets. Snap pockets are easy to open/close and roomy if needed, but sit nice and flat if not filled. Game bag is handy for my purposes (dog walking/training - a few small bumpers, a longline, a spare whistle, a p00p-bag, a bag of training treats or whatever). I won't be using this for hunting, but it seems like it would be a bit snug for a pair of pheasants in there. I have had numerous compliments on it as a regular fall coat for our windy, rainy fall weather in Nova Scotia. The dry waxed cotton has been effective at repelling rainshowers, but without a hood I would not be looking to wear this in torrential rain for any amount of time. The corduroy collar and cotton lining would likely get soaked. Arm length is excellent (I have quite long arms, so this is sometimes a problem). It's quite long, so the only tiny complaint that I have is that getting the very heavy-duty two-direction zipper started requires that I sort of "lean back" to pull the coat tighter. But that same length is very nice when the wind is swirling around."
Review 4 for Orvis Heritage Field Coat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Coat!,
November 24, 2014
By: SCEDC
from Upstate, SC
"I'm in SC where the winters are fairly mild. This is a great coat...very well made, substantial material, nice details and buttons...should keep me warm the majority of winter. I can add a layer underneath for those uncommon bitterly cold days here. I ordered the olive color and it's very dark...almost a brown/green...I like it. I'm average build...5'11" and 175 lbs, and a size M is just right for me."
Review 5 for Orvis Heritage Field Coat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Heritage Field Coat,
November 22, 2014
By: flowman88
from Harrow
"really well made jacket, warm enough without being bulky, ordered a large size online but was too big so went to Regent St store for exchange to medium, the lady in the store was really helpful.Very pleased with this coat and very pleased with the service both online and in store."
Review 6 for Orvis Heritage Field Coat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
satisfied customer,
November 21, 2014
By: gtcharlie
from Tennessee
"Would recommend coat to all that are considering it.Quality construction and a roomy fit,! but not too bulky. This jacket is very warm, can be worn almost anywhere and feels as though it will be around for a long time."
Review 7 for Orvis Heritage Field Coat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Love it so much I bought it twice!,
November 21, 2014
By: jwesmc
"This is my second field coat. The first one did not wear out, I have recently lost a lot of weight and it simply didn't fit anymore. But, I loved the coat so much that I had to have one that fit!"
Review 8 for Orvis Heritage Field Coat
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Excellent Purchase,
November 20, 2014
By: CarlosG
"Can't beat the great quality for the price. Extraordinary purchase..."
Review 9 for Orvis Heritage Field Coat
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
good but boxy,
November 19, 2014
By: EricaG
"Bought this for my tall but thin son. He tells me it is good but boxy. Perhaps it is designed for older men."
Review 10 for Orvis Heritage Field Coat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Could not be more satisfied,
November 19, 2014
By: Colety
from Arlington, VT
"This field jacket is world class and compares well to items costing hundreds of dollars more. I could not be more satisfied with this purchase!"
Review 11 for Orvis Heritage Field Coat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Coat,
November 19, 2014
By: Sprint91
"This is a really nice coat and is excactly what I expected. Perfect between coat for cold days. Nice quality as you would expect from Orvis and sized correctly. Would definetely recommend"
Review 12 for Orvis Heritage Field Coat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Exceeded My Expectaions,
November 19, 2014
By: RichardWA
from Appleton, Wisconsin
"One of those products that you just knew was going to be good the moment you opened the package. Great look and fit and loaded with cool features. My wife said it best... this is a lifetime coat !"
Review 13 for Orvis Heritage Field Coat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
A more affordable winter jacket,
November 18, 2014
By: Matthew919
from Raleigh, NC
"I highly recommend this jacket. Its a more affordable Barbour jacket and exactly what I was looking for. Recently purchased in store and I'm completely comfortable in the 20-40 degree mornings here in the south. Very wind resistant. I was curious how the jacket would be in person so I went into the store rather than buying it online. Buy online with confidence because this jacket is warm, comfortable, and great quality."
Review 14 for Orvis Heritage Field Coat
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Excellent coat,
November 18, 2014
By: DJRidders
from Rutland
"First purchase went astray during delivery, immediately sent out replacement. Jacket excellent, so was service. First coat turned up 1 month later, which was returned.
Jacket has a number of useful pockets and appears well made. Will eventually use for shooting, when the shine wears off!
Thanks Orvis
"
Review 15 for Orvis Heritage Field Coat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Coat!,
November 18, 2014
By: Vabankee
from Central Virginia
"Love this coat! Good looking and well made. 21 year old son wants one too!"
Review 16 for Orvis Heritage Field Coat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
A plus!,
November 18, 2014
By: smartmom
from Princeton Junction. NJ
"This jacket has a great fit. It is attractive, warm and blocks the wind, plus repels rain. Hence,it fights the elements, to keep you comfortable and happy! NJ is a good test, currently, with low temperatures, dampness and rain.. Much of he rest of the USA, is too. Dark Kakhi color conceals dog hair with ease! We have 2 fur-baby, shedding spaniels!"
Review 17 for Orvis Heritage Field Coat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best Coat I Have Owned,
November 18, 2014
By: MattSouthard1
from Hutto, TX
"The Heritage Field Coat fits great and that says a lot as I am 6 foot 4 inches tall and weigh 235 pounds. I bought the xxl and can still wear a hoodie underneath. The hand warmer pockets are perfectly placed and the coat is very well made. We have had unusually cold weather this year, but the coat has kept me plenty warm."
Review 18 for Orvis Heritage Field Coat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Wonderful and practical jacket,
November 18, 2014
By: Bogaugon
"I live in Patagonia Argentina, and this jacket for our windy climate is a great outerwear. It is very comfortable and the amount and size of pockets is perfect for travelling. I found the zippered and covered back pocket to keep things protected from rain. At first I wasn't convinced with the red fabric of the inside. but the jacket is so good I do not care anymore."
Review 19 for Orvis Heritage Field Coat
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Heritage Field Coat,
November 18, 2014
By: rupert88
from Texas
"Heavy canvas like material (but softer) that should be able to hold up for years. The coat has some insulation but it would be better if it had a removable fleece liner or something. I really like the coat but it is a bit drafty around the sholders that a liner could fix. To work around this in colder weather I just put on a light fleece pullover then put the coat on."
Review 20 for Orvis Heritage Field Coat
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Button Nightmare on Great Jacket,
November 18, 2014
By: geoffdhar
from Devon, UK
"A Great Jacket, however sadly let down by two buttons that fell of within the first six hours of wear. one lost altogether so I now have no spare. I would not recommend this jacket to anyone who cannot sew. Just as well I can. Not likely to buy another."