Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Orvis Heritage Field Coat

Its forebears hang in a thousand closets and have seen lifetimes in the field. We've brought this classic field coat back with subtle updates to become the favorite of yet another generation. Our dry-waxed cotton canvas turns away briars and repels rain. Traditional red brushed-twill lining. Lower bellows pockets with snap-closure pocket flaps. Two upper slash handwarmer pockets. Gusseted underarm panels with grommets for ventilation. Shooting patches on both shoulders and reinforced elbow patches. Adjustable button cuffs with corduroy trim. Corduroy collar. Rear-entry waterproof game bag with two side zips and interior lining. Bi-swing back for comfort. Full zip front with button-closed wind flap. Two interior pockets. Pure cotton. Damp sponge. Imported.Sizes: M(38-40), L(42-44), XL(46-48), XXL(50-52). About 31" long in size large.
Average Customer Rating:
4.552 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (406 reviews)
5 stars
294
4 stars
66
3 stars
28
2 stars
12
1 star
6
373 of 406(92%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Orvis Heritage Field Coat
Review 1 for Orvis Heritage Field Coat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Jacket,
August 30, 2014
By: chucklennon
from Laguna Beach, CA
"Perfect weight and style in this nearly all-year-round jacket. Looks great on and the fit is very true to size."
Review 2 for Orvis Heritage Field Coat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Heritage Field Coat,
August 27, 2014
By: Eru1
from South Carolina
"This multipocketed barn/field coat is excellent for cool/cold weather but not freezing cold. It is not a parka but a stylish coat made for the Fall season in the north and Winters in the southeast. Quality is excellent.Coat has many pockets supposedly for hunting but they come in handy especially if you are biking."
Review 3 for Orvis Heritage Field Coat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Wanted One for a Longtime,
August 26, 2014
By: tazmansd
from South Dakota
"I jumped when I saw the Heritage Field Coat went on sale. The coat is very well made, but... an XL fits more like a Large. It does not have the generous cut of most of Orvis's products. I've reordereda XXL to see if that fits better. I hope so, since I really like how this coat looks."
Review 4 for Orvis Heritage Field Coat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Coat.....Great Price!,
August 25, 2014
By: ChingChing
from Myrtle Beach SC
"ORVIS HERITAGE FIELD COAT!....for the money you can't beat this one......sized large......full of pockets...durable ...no shrink washing....non wrinkle material ......field tan exterior....classic red lining......quintessential birding equipment.....love it!"
Review 5 for Orvis Heritage Field Coat
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Slim Guys Watch Out,
August 21, 2014
By: AMG1016
from Boston, MA
"My review is focused primarily on fit. I am 5'9", 180 lbs, 32 inch waist, athletic build. I went into an Orvis store to try on the field jacket after researching online. Unfortunately there were none in the store (weird, given this is a flagship product). The store associate used a Barbour to size me and said a medium would be great. I order online and the medium was enormous. The shoulders fit but everything else was huge. I don't think I could size down to a small given the shoulders. My dad has some more "girth" than I do so I gave it to him but for anyone who is in good shape, you are going to have a tough time with this jacket. It's way too generously cut."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Orvis Heritage Field Coat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
New Favorite Coat,
August 20, 2014
By: cking52
from Missouri Ozarks
"Just received my new field coat and I love it. Fits well, good construction and Orvis quality. Same quality that I have been used to from Orvis. Gave my 20 year old Orvis "old field coat" to my brother since it still has many good years left in it."
Review 7 for Orvis Heritage Field Coat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Huntin' season 'round the corner !,
August 19, 2014
By: gwev
from West Tennessee
"I purchased this jacket anticipating foul weather during fowl season! It appears to be exactly what I'll need..hope I fill it full of fowl and not foul out ! ...Let you know after season."
Review 8 for Orvis Heritage Field Coat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
great value, great quality,
August 18, 2014
By: nickname123
from North Carolina
"Can't wait for cold weather to get here. Good solid quality as one would expect from Orvis."
Review 9 for Orvis Heritage Field Coat
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Like it out of the box,
August 13, 2014
By: Bart625
from Cincinnati Ohio
"Although I won't use the game pouch in back, I think it is a weight that will be right for two seasons. I like the look and feel of the jacket. Should shed rain well."
Review 10 for Orvis Heritage Field Coat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
August 13, 2014
By: EricVA
from Virginia
"Exceptional quality, speedy shipping, fair sale price - Great coat! Not sure why the color is called "olive" though, as it appears to be more of a dark brown color rather than green in color."
Review 11 for Orvis Heritage Field Coat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Jacket,
August 12, 2014
By: tallgirltoo
from Milwaukee, WI
"This jacket is awesome! I ordered it for my husband and it fit perfectly! Great quality too. He loves to see Orvis bags at the door. He knows it's for him!"
Review 12 for Orvis Heritage Field Coat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Outstanding Product!,
August 12, 2014
By: Mint427
from Seattle, WA
"I have searched for the "perfect" coat for Northwest and discovered this gem offered by Orvis. The jacket has plenty of pockets, solid zippers and is lined for warmth. I have used it outside during rainy weather around Seattle and stayed dry & warm. It comes a bit large - I usually wear XL and it was a perfect fit. This is an outstanding company with solid products."
Review 13 for Orvis Heritage Field Coat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliable Durable,
August 11, 2014
By: Viggy
from East Side of Detroit
"The way to describe the Heritage Field coat...reliable, durable, classic. This jacket will hold up, and look good for years!"
Review 14 for Orvis Heritage Field Coat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great quality..,
August 11, 2014
By: mick52
from Alberta , Canada
"Near perfect fit, very well made, pockets for everything, comfortable to wear , allows great shoulder movement, warm and cozy.... I will value this coat for a long time.."
Review 15 for Orvis Heritage Field Coat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Very High Quality,
August 6, 2014
By: sneaksquatch
"Although slightly longer than expected, extremely high quality and durable. If you're looking for something to last a couple lifetimes out in the field, look no further."
Review 16 for Orvis Heritage Field Coat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Nice Coats,
August 5, 2014
By: TCColumbus
from Columbus, NJ
"I liked the coat so much that I purchased both colors. Great fit. Nicely tailored. Material is substantial but not bulky. Overall, much nicer than a similar competitor's coat, but also more money. Definitely worth the extra cash. Coat has looks, quality, and utility, a great combination."
Review 17 for Orvis Heritage Field Coat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Top notch,
August 5, 2014
By: JWrubell
from Toronto, ON
"It's a great coat, well made. There's no funny business with this coat, just well thought out design and useful features. The front pockets are very spacious, and the hand warmer pockets above are really soft and handy. Even though I don't hunt I can see the built in game pouch being very useful as I bike around town running errands. The stitching is solid and the build is sturdy without being rough and uncomfortable. The cut is a little roomy so I'm glad I selected a Medium rather than a Large. I'm 6'1", 190 lbs and the fit of the medium is perfect. I can already tell that this coat is going get a lot of use and can be dressed up or down to handle a wide range of weather and temperature. I'm looking forward putting this coat through it's paces for a long time to come."
Review 18 for Orvis Heritage Field Coat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Beyond most coats,
July 15, 2014
By: CTYankee53
from Southwestern CT.
"I've owned a number of barn coats, which this reminds me of, and this is the best all around coat I've worn. The water repellent shell puts it on my short list of best every day I have. Even nicer than my 2 Filsons because of the lighter weight and ease of motion.
I've actually thought of buying a second one and putting it away for future use when my first wears out.
"
Review 19 for Orvis Heritage Field Coat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Jacket,
May 2, 2014
By: Lencok
from Dallas, TX
"The new jacket is everything I expected it to be, and, as always, the service from Orvis was great. Have never been disappointed."
Review 20 for Orvis Heritage Field Coat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
All around fantastic,
May 1, 2014
By: ThatCDNGuy
from Champaign, IL
"Had this coat for a little over a week - I love it. Looks good, fits well (roomy, but that's how it's supposed to fit), repels water, blocks wind, more pockets than I know what to do with! I would highly recommend this coat to anyone - urban or rural - who wants a perfect mix of functionality and aesthetics."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.