Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Orvis Heritage Field Coat

Its forebears hang in a thousand closets and have seen lifetimes in the field. We've brought this classic field coat back with subtle updates to become the favorite of yet another generation. Our dry-waxed cotton canvas turns away briars and repels rain. Traditional red brushed-twill lining. Lower bellows pockets with snap-closure pocket flaps. Two upper slash handwarmer pockets. Gusseted underarm panels with grommets for ventilation. Shooting patches on both shoulders and reinforced elbow patches. Adjustable button cuffs with corduroy trim. Corduroy collar. Rear-entry waterproof game bag with two side zips and interior lining. Bi-swing back for comfort. Full zip front with button-closed wind flap. Two interior pockets. Pure cotton. Damp sponge. Imported.Sizes: M(38-40), L(42-44), XL(46-48), XXL(50-52). About 31" long in size large.
Average Customer Rating:
4.54 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (387 reviews)
5 stars
277
4 stars
65
3 stars
28
2 stars
11
1 star
6
355 of 387(92%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Orvis Heritage Field Coat
Review 1 for Orvis Heritage Field Coat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Beyond most coats,
July 15, 2014
By: CTYankee53
from Southwestern CT.
"I've owned a number of barn coats, which this reminds me of, and this is the best all around coat I've worn. The water repellent shell puts it on my short list of best every day I have. Even nicer than my 2 Filsons because of the lighter weight and ease of motion.
I've actually thought of buying a second one and putting it away for future use when my first wears out.
"
Review 2 for Orvis Heritage Field Coat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Jacket,
May 2, 2014
By: Lencok
from Dallas, TX
"The new jacket is everything I expected it to be, and, as always, the service from Orvis was great. Have never been disappointed."
Review 3 for Orvis Heritage Field Coat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
All around fantastic,
May 1, 2014
By: ThatCDNGuy
from Champaign, IL
"Had this coat for a little over a week - I love it. Looks good, fits well (roomy, but that's how it's supposed to fit), repels water, blocks wind, more pockets than I know what to do with! I would highly recommend this coat to anyone - urban or rural - who wants a perfect mix of functionality and aesthetics."
Review 4 for Orvis Heritage Field Coat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
my new favorite jacket,
April 29, 2014
By: Artie
from Boston, Ma
"great pockets and very comfortable with a heavy sweater, it's waterproof and looks good. glad I bought it."
Review 5 for Orvis Heritage Field Coat
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Fits like a glove,
April 23, 2014
By: Laurent
from Quebec, Canada
"First time trial of an Orvis product. Fits like a glove. Very confortable. I am impressed."
Review 6 for Orvis Heritage Field Coat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best Coat in my Closet,
April 4, 2014
By: Flyfishmatt
from New Hampshire
"Bought this coat and it has become my favorite. I have two Barbor coats but this is my hands down favorite. If it was a hair longer I would wear it over a sport coat. The weight is great and the quality is very good. I will likely wear it until it is thread born and my wife won't be seen with me. Good in town ,in the field or just a long walk. Much better than any other barn/field coat I have tried (bought)!"
Review 7 for Orvis Heritage Field Coat
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Great coat, with one reservation,
March 23, 2014
By: Dwplain
from Edinburgh
"This is a great casual coat, with excellent protection from the elements. Very comfortable cut and well made. One slight issue I have had is after only 3 months I have lost one cuff button, with another one working loose and have lost the large spare button from inside. Coat is worn every day, but really just light use - dog walking. This is not in keeping with the general high quality of the coat."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Orvis Heritage Field Coat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent purchase,
March 21, 2014
By: cfmccurdy
"I love this jacket. It's good for a day hunting in the field or nice enough to wear for a night out on the town."
Review 9 for Orvis Heritage Field Coat
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Heritage Field Coat,
March 12, 2014
By: sawrights
from Chicago
"Well made heavy duty coat that should last a long time. I've only had for a month so I don't know how it performs when wet. Sturdy hardware, stitching, and warm enough for most all weather. I plan on buying another when (if) this one wears out."
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Orvis Heritage Field Coat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent snow & rain coat,
March 7, 2014
By: gene35
from Evergreen, CO
"Use the coat walking my huskies in snow and rain three to four times a day. Very flexible and effective in light to severe weather."
Review 11 for Orvis Heritage Field Coat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Choice,
March 6, 2014
By: TexasPanh
from Amarillo, Tx
"Just received the coat. 2XL fit me perfect as I am 52R. Blocks the wind and looks great. Perfect for 10 degrees to 40 degrees."
Review 12 for Orvis Heritage Field Coat
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Field Coat Failure,
March 5, 2014
By: Diver51
from Chicago, IL
"I was very pleased with the ordering and delivery of my jacket. On opening the box I noticed a few threads were pulled on the left shoulder but I wasn't to put off but after several uses the zipper was very hard to zip up. The last straw was discovering the liner was ripped where the sleeve and the body meet. At this price point and from a company such as Orvis this is not acceptable."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Orvis Heritage Field Coat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great coat,
March 4, 2014
By: JoeC123
from Michigan
"I love this coat. I use it everyday as long as the temperature is above 20 or if I have on a sweater. Its impervious to weather and there are lots of pockets. The "game" bag is great for other electronics as well."
Review 14 for Orvis Heritage Field Coat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Wow,
March 4, 2014
By: Steve8it
"The Orvis Heritage Field Coat is the best fitting, most versatile and most worn coat in my closet. It is my "go to" coat for most occasions. Plus it reminds me of the old days when I went hunting."
Review 15 for Orvis Heritage Field Coat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best coat I've ever had,
March 3, 2014
By: Arge
from St Paul, MN
"I've had this coat for several months and I have never received so many compliments for a piece of clothing in my life.
I am also very pleased with how well this coat fits. I am a "big guy" (6'4" 265lbs), and without a tall version I was worried that the sleeves would be too short. That is not the case, this coat fits me perfectly (I bought the XXL version).
I would recommend this coat to anyone"
Review 16 for Orvis Heritage Field Coat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
What a coat,
March 1, 2014
By: LPeeples
"Fantastic coat. Fits to size. Durable and looks great. Highly recommend."
Review 17 for Orvis Heritage Field Coat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aweome Coat,
February 28, 2014
By: Lovethiscoat
"This is an awesome coat. The quality is above average, it's a substantial coat that wears well and looks terrific. It's a quality coat."
Review 18 for Orvis Heritage Field Coat
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Good with one issue.,
February 27, 2014
By: legaceez
from RI
"The jacket for the most part meets or exceeds my expectations. Fits loose but not too baggy. Perfect for layering a think sweater underneath if needed. Materials and stitching are good for the most part. One complaint though. One of my buttons have already fallen off in 3 months of use and another one is on it's way. They might need to improve the stitching there."
Review 19 for Orvis Heritage Field Coat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
very impressed with the quality,
February 21, 2014
By: Zathura
from Vancouver Island B.C.
"My first purchase of a Orvis product was a pleasant surprise. The field coat fit perfectly. Lots of pockets to hold my shells ,gloves and other accessories. Very impressed with the stiching and detail of the coat. Kept warm and dry on first day of shooting sporting clays."
Review 20 for Orvis Heritage Field Coat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
great coat,
February 19, 2014
By: john1278
"i really enjoy this coat. It was soft and comfortable from day one. I hunt fish and farm and I demand toughness and comfort."