Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Orvis Heritage Field Coat

Its forebears hang in a thousand closets and have seen lifetimes in the field. We've brought this classic field coat back with subtle updates to become the favorite of yet another generation. Our dry-waxed cotton canvas turns away briars and repels rain. Traditional red brushed-twill lining. Lower bellows pockets with snap-closure pocket flaps. Two upper slash handwarmer pockets. Gusseted underarm panels with grommets for ventilation. Shooting patches on both shoulders and reinforced elbow patches. Adjustable button cuffs with corduroy trim. Corduroy collar. Rear-entry waterproof game bag with two side zips and interior lining. Bi-swing back for comfort. Full zip front with button-closed wind flap. Two interior pockets. Pure cotton. Damp sponge. Imported.Sizes: M(38-40), L(42-44), XL(46-48), XXL(50-52). About 31" long in size large.
Average Customer Rating:
4.545 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (440 reviews)
5 stars
316
4 stars
75
3 stars
29
2 stars
13
1 star
7
403 of 440(92%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Orvis Heritage Field Coat
Review 1 for Orvis Heritage Field Coat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
great field coat,
September 29, 2014
By: PDIKen
from Noblesville IN
"It took only a few days to receive this coat. The field coat is the perfect weight for fall and spring. It will also be great in winter with a sweater under it. Tons of pockets and very nice looking."
Review 2 for Orvis Heritage Field Coat
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Nice Coat,
September 29, 2014
By: DrKen
from michigan
"Quite a nice coat. Just a bit on the heavy side but that is to be expected."
Review 3 for Orvis Heritage Field Coat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
wonderful Birthday Gift,
September 26, 2014
By: Beckyflyfishermom
from Maryville, TN
"The Heritage Field Coat was purchased for our son for his birthday gift. we could not have been happier with the purchase.. great quality - great look! Thanks Orvis! you are always dependable."
Review 4 for Orvis Heritage Field Coat
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Worth The Wait,
September 26, 2014
By: GrouseyPete
from DuBois, PA
"I've been looking at this field coat for two or three years and finally pulled the trigger in time for the grouse season in PA. I was worried about sizing (6'1" 175lb.) and went with a medium. It fits well with some room to move around. My only complaint would be the length, as I would have liked it to be a little shorter. Can't wait to wear it around the woods and by the campfire."
Review 5 for Orvis Heritage Field Coat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
very nice coat,
September 25, 2014
By: Ted77
from Pawtucket RI
"Very nice coat. True to size as I am 6' 2" and weigh 220.
XL fit great
Thanks Orvis
"
Review 6 for Orvis Heritage Field Coat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Seems like a good choice,
September 25, 2014
By: Samphire
from Long Island NY
"It seems as if the Orvis web site has lots of variations on the field jacket/barn coat, and there's no good way to tell them apart. This one does seem like a good choice -- not the least expensive, but a good value. The fit and finish are impeccable, and the reinforcements, like the elbow patches, seem appropriate for people wearing this coat for heavy work (I wear mine for outdoor activities like dog walking and waiting for the commuter train. ) The poacher's pocket doesn't have any obvious uses, but I can imagine using it on change of season days when you need a sweater in the morning, but it gets warmer as the day wears on. It should also keep magazines and newspapers dry. The two inside pockets seem deep enough for even the most recent cell phones, and they have zippers for a bit of extra security.
This is not a light weight jacket -- and you'll probably want something a lot lighter for early autumn (subject to polar vortex). On the other hand, I can imagine that with a nice bulky sweater there are a lot of areas where this is all anybody would need for the entire winter."
Review 7 for Orvis Heritage Field Coat
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ruggedly, Goodlooking.,
September 25, 2014
By: JohnnyCaddis
from Northern Minnesota
"Great looking coat, with great features and a heft that belies years of wear. This is one that just gets better with wear until you realize it's your go-to coat for almost any outdoor task."
Review 8 for Orvis Heritage Field Coat
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Satisfied with purchase,
September 24, 2014
By: bearcatdaap71
from chicago illinois
"Purchased for walks around our neighborhood in Chicago this fall.
Great coat for stuffing with items purchased. No need to carry a bag.
My wife stuffs the game pocket in the back. Acts like a back pack.
Going to Ireland I plan on bringing this coat.
"
Review 9 for Orvis Heritage Field Coat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great value,
September 24, 2014
By: FROOSTER
from Jersey Shore
"Great looking jacket with very rugged construction and the weight seems to be a true three season. It's roomy because of the way it's cut, yet I found it true to size and the red lining looks sharp. The dry waxed cloth does not give me the feeling that it's going to rub off on things I brush up against, unlike other waxed jackets I've owned. It's as good as it looks!!!"
Review 10 for Orvis Heritage Field Coat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
A tremendous value,
September 24, 2014
By: LWD2
from Flower Mound, TX
"The weight of this coat is perfect for all but the coldest days in the south, and for much of the season in the north. Waxed cotton is a great way to go, and if you've never owned a jacket made of this material, you're really missing out!"
Review 11 for Orvis Heritage Field Coat
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Heavy Stuff,
September 24, 2014
By: BenBob
from Covington, La
"Ordered in XL & XXL. This coat/jacket is much too heavy for my body build as well as S/E Louisiana weather"
Review 12 for Orvis Heritage Field Coat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent product,
September 24, 2014
By: Terryvt
"This jacket is very high quality. Sizing is accurate. Excellent value for price. Delivered before expected. Would highly recommend."
Review 13 for Orvis Heritage Field Coat
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
great fall coat,
September 23, 2014
By: casualgrousehntr
from Northwoods, MN
"a little roomy for a size large, but it will allow an extra layer when the temps dip this fall. I can already tell this coat will last many years"
Review 14 for Orvis Heritage Field Coat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Amazing coat,
September 23, 2014
By: montanarancher
from Great Falls, MT
"The fit and construction of the coat is outstanding. I will be using it for bird hunting when it gets colder and can tell it will hold up."
Review 15 for Orvis Heritage Field Coat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
it has ORVIS endorsment excelent,
September 22, 2014
By: chinocas131
"I love it, is perfect for my needs, is so well constructed light enough and rugged"
Review 16 for Orvis Heritage Field Coat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Comfort and well designed,
September 22, 2014
By: Speyburn
from Pennsylvania
"This jacket is a pleasure to wear. Well designed and looks great! A great jacket for running the dog or relaxing outside with a single malt and a cigar. I am 6' 1" and 225 lbs. with a 50" chest. Coat has plenty of room, arm length great. Plan on wearing this coat for many years."
Review 17 for Orvis Heritage Field Coat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Classic Quality,
September 22, 2014
By: Rustydog3
from Saginaw Bay Michigan
"Wanted something for Michigan fall and winter wear. Sizing was right on. Quality throughout the jacket. Should hold up for years and it never goes out of style."
Review 18 for Orvis Heritage Field Coat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Already my all-time preferred Fall jacket,
September 19, 2014
By: fdboucher
from Quebec, QC
"Just great!
Amazing quality, ruggedness, and style. The fit is perfect for me, and it has pockets in all the right places. It is warm and very comfortable for our cool Fall evenings here in Quebec. A real pleasure to wear.
Now, I have to refrain myself from buying this coat a second time, in the other color offered… My wife would think I'm crazy.
I just love it!"
Review 19 for Orvis Heritage Field Coat
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Nice Coat,
September 18, 2014
By: DrKen
"I am 5 10 and 185. This coat in medium has enough room for a t-shirt and a second shirt on top, but not more than that. Looks like a good coat down to the mid 30's as long as there is no wind.
Ken"
Review 20 for Orvis Heritage Field Coat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Very Nice,
September 18, 2014
By: RogerC
from Rochester, NY
"Very well constructed - soft but rugged. Has way more pockets than other field coats."