Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Orvis Heritage Field Coat

Its forebears hang in a thousand closets and have seen lifetimes in the field. We've brought this classic field coat back with subtle updates to become the favorite of yet another generation. Our dry-waxed cotton canvas turns away briars and repels rain. Traditional red brushed-twill lining. Lower bellows pockets with snap-closure pocket flaps. Two upper slash handwarmer pockets. Gusseted underarm panels with grommets for ventilation. Shooting patches on both shoulders and reinforced elbow patches. Adjustable button cuffs with corduroy trim. Corduroy collar. Rear-entry waterproof game bag with two side zips and interior lining. Bi-swing back for comfort. Full zip front with button-closed wind flap. Two interior pockets. Pure cotton. Damp sponge. Imported.Sizes: M(38-40), L(42-44), XL(46-48), XXL(50-52). About 32½" long in size large.
Average Customer Rating:
4.589 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (611 reviews)
5 stars
452
4 stars
100
3 stars
34
2 stars
17
1 star
8
567 of 611(93%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Orvis Heritage Field Coat
Review 1 for Orvis Heritage Field Coat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Orvis thinks it through,
January 27, 2015
By: MrMRF
from West (by God) Virginia
"This coat represents the quality I've learned to expect from Orvis thru the 40 years of being a customer."
Review 2 for Orvis Heritage Field Coat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Coat,
January 27, 2015
By: Th20s
"This is a great coat. I was on the fence with purchasing until I just decided and I'm glad I did. Received several compliments with this coat and it was due to the quality and character, this coat just isn't seen in your typical mall store."
Review 3 for Orvis Heritage Field Coat
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Stylish coat,
January 26, 2015
By: Mrkrehbrew
from Ohio
"Great looking jacket. Hangs slightly longer than your everyday jacket. Cuts wind well, but I wouldn't wear it under 25 degrees."
Review 4 for Orvis Heritage Field Coat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Terrific Garment,
January 26, 2015
By: Rocky5
from Centre County, Pa.
"The Heritage Field Coat is a rugged, yet classy, well made, comfortable garment that will see more use off the field ,from me, because it looks so good. That said, I am sure it would hold up after many upland excursions. I would recommend this product. A side note: ORVIS customer service is second to none."
Review 5 for Orvis Heritage Field Coat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent Quality,
January 26, 2015
By: Cvilleshopper
from Charlottesville, VA
"As with all Orvis clothing, this jacket is top quality. Additional detail, great weight and nice fabric."
Review 6 for Orvis Heritage Field Coat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Jacket!,
January 22, 2015
By: Lnelson2011
from Houston, TX
"I bought this jacket for my husband and he absolutely loves it! It's well made, quality materials and the design is super "hunter-friendly".
Orvis quality just cannot be beat. We have enjoyed every Orvis product we have ever purchased.
Their customer service is outstanding as well."
Review 7 for Orvis Heritage Field Coat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great coat,
January 22, 2015
By: Connor1
from Charlottesville, VA
"Terrific purchase. Runs a bit long but fits great around the shoulders and the sleeves are the perfect length. This coat is more than adequate for mild Virginia winters. Only drawback is that the buttons are poorly sewn, I've lost 3 on the front and one on the cuff already..."
Review 8 for Orvis Heritage Field Coat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
The Coat He Was Hoping For!,
January 20, 2015
By: emvirginia
from Waynesboro VA
"My husband has had an Orvis coat for about 12 years, wearing it everywhere. It was perfect, with all the various pockets and the comfort and the style. When that coat finally reached its end, we hoped to find one similar, and we did! The coat I bought for him from Orvis not only has the comfort and pockets but has an even better style! He looks so handsome in it and is able to carry everything he needs and stay warm, too! This is the coat he was hoping for!"
Review 9 for Orvis Heritage Field Coat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent style with functionality,
January 19, 2015
By: CanadianCustomer1
from British Columbia, Canada
"Timeless design is mixed with high-quality construction and materials."
Review 10 for Orvis Heritage Field Coat
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Comfortable & Stylish,
January 18, 2015
By: BigRed11
from Bay Area, CA
"This is a very nice jacket. It is exceptionally comfortable. I especially like the courderoy cuffs and collar, nice accents. The pockets are great as well. My only complaint and it is significant, is that the coat is NOT very warm. Oddly enough, it feels substantial, it is just not very warm, not even for moderate California winters."
Review 11 for Orvis Heritage Field Coat
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Solid field coat,
January 14, 2015
By: RWar
from St Louis, MO
"Nice weight and well constructed
Blocks wind very well
"
Review 12 for Orvis Heritage Field Coat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best Jacket,
January 14, 2015
By: GavJ
"Searched Internet for a suitable jacket before deciding on this one and not disappointed.Fully waterproof and with numerous practical features this jacket can not be faulted. The contrasting coloured liner finishes off a quality item. The dry wax finish Of the outside is superior to the wet look of that other well known jacket maker and in my opinion the jacket is of better quality all round. The fit is true to size as stated on the Web site. The jacket is comfortable straight away and does not need 'breaking in' the look and fit will improve with use. A 5 star item."
Review 13 for Orvis Heritage Field Coat
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Love the coat,
January 9, 2015
By: Bareft
"Love the coat but wish it had a zip out liner.I do recommend the coat."
Review 14 for Orvis Heritage Field Coat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Coat,
January 9, 2015
By: james12
"The material this coat is made of is second to none. Very warm but not so warm you can't wear it year round. I highly recommend this coat."
Review 15 for Orvis Heritage Field Coat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
January 7, 2015
By: davidjon
from West Lafayette, IN
"I have wanted this field coat ever since Orvis introduced it into their line. Like others who have written reviews about this coat, I have worn a number of waxed jackets, including Barbour's, for many years. This is a very nice coat that compares very favorably with Barbour's, although it's a different animal. Perhaps a bit boxier. Certainly heavier. It does fit large. I am 5'9" and 160 lbs, and went with the large for I like to layer and the roomier fit. I turn the sleeves up which is a nice look. I agree with one reviewer who commented the jacket doesn't look as pictured. The jacket is more finished than shown....almost too nice for a field coat, if that's possible. However, I like it very much and look forward to many years of wear. Orvis customer service on this purchase from the Carmel, IN store was absolutely first rate. You will not be disappointed in this coat."
Review 16 for Orvis Heritage Field Coat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Second jacket,
January 6, 2015
By: Tortolabob
from Virginia Eastern Shore
"I liked my first coat so much I bought a second. Improvements such as hanging loop, one snap pocket each side and lined hand warmer pockets make this a great coat for shooting sporting clays here in Virginia. Did note however , that the new version runs smaller than my original so I had to return the large and order an xl in this version. Otherwise a great jacket."
Review 17 for Orvis Heritage Field Coat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Very Good Purchase,
January 6, 2015
By: Tomhenry
from South Carolina
"This coat looks like the picture , fits well and is very well made. I received the coat in less than a week after ordering. I am very Happy with the purchase and have gotten several favorable comments from folks about the style of the coat."
Review 18 for Orvis Heritage Field Coat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
old style,
January 6, 2015
By: rudedogyates
from decherd, tn
"i have looked for this coat everywhere, it is the old style with the red fennel lining, i am not a fat man,but i have long arms. it is a great fit."
Review 19 for Orvis Heritage Field Coat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Wonderful Jacket,
January 6, 2015
By: GreatJacket
"This jacket is the perfect weight for winter wear."
Review 20 for Orvis Heritage Field Coat
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Handsome Looking Coat,
January 5, 2015
By: GTNix
from Charlotte, NC
"I purchased this coat in tan for my college age son. He loves it and it looks great on. Runs a little large so I had to exchange the large I bought for a medium. It's warm but I do wish it had a zipper inside to add a quilted vest for added warmth. Without an added inside layer it's still perfect for mild North Carolina winters. Overall it has been a great purchase."