Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Waxed Cotton Anorak

The anorak was originally designed by the Inuit to protect them from the harshest elements. In the '50s the military took the design and applied it for their use and this dry-waxed cotton version is inspired by that design. Fully lined with our signature Orvis plaid lining. Pullover style with six-button neck closure. Hood with drawstring cinch. Traditional front pouch with button flap closure. Bottom cinch cord to keep out the elements. Two-button adjustable cuff. Pure cotton. Cold sponge, no soap. Imported.Sizes M(38-40), XL(46-48), XXL(50-52); about 31½" long in size large.
Average Customer Rating:
4.421 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (38 reviews)
5 stars
23
4 stars
9
3 stars
5
2 stars
1
1 star
0
35 of 38(92%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Stories:
Customer Reviews for Waxed Cotton Anorak
Review 1 for Waxed Cotton Anorak
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I don't get it,
January 16, 2014
By: Futureboy
from Portland, Maine
"Given all of these great reviews, why does Orvis not continue to sell the coat? I finally got the one I ordered in Nov., a few days ago. It is a beautiful garment and appears to be a lot warmer than I had pictured. It's too big for my son (who wears large in most everything else). Coat now out of stock with none on order. Can anyone who has one of these tell me the maker/vendor? Orvis refused to do so."
Review 2 for Waxed Cotton Anorak
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Awesome Jacket,
December 1, 2013
By: Duluth
from Duluth,Mn
"This anorak is great, its warm and also has plenty of room to move around in. The jacket repels water great and keeps you dry in snow or rain. A great buy."
Review 3 for Waxed Cotton Anorak
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Careful- It's heavy,
November 19, 2013
By: jakescase
from Birmingham,AL
"Very well made as are all Orvis products. Returned as it was too heavy."
Review 4 for Waxed Cotton Anorak
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Can't wait!,
November 1, 2013
By: Hoffabrew
"Had to send this back for an exchange becuase it runs big, but I can tell just by getting my hands on it that the quality is top notch. This is goin to be my new go to jacket. Can't wait!"
Review 5 for Waxed Cotton Anorak
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Amazing ... I should have bought this years ago,
August 26, 2013
By: spacecowboy
from New Jersey - The Garden State
"I'm a fan of Anoraks. By design, they are simple, comfortable and functional . I've owned a couple over the years but this one beats them all. Yes, it is simple and comfortable. But the functional design is head and shoulders above all the others I’ve owned. This one now hangs in its rightful spot at the front of my closet."
Review 6 for Waxed Cotton Anorak
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
well made,
July 28, 2013
By: waveydavey
"going into 2nd fall/winter season w/jacket. First of all saw many questions about washing this jacket. Last winter during a snow storm i was moving snow on my tractor at 5am my PTO shorted out so with out heisitation i got under the tractor and fixed the problem. when i got inside at 8am i was shocked to see grease up and down my left shelve and right shelve .I had no choose but to throw it in the wash. Yes there is a faint stain from the grease but orvall the jacket remains fine with good water and wind restace maintained.2, I use this jacket primarialy as a shell when temps reach 20 degrees and lower if the right under garments are used this jacket will keep u warm and dry for 3 hrs plus in worst weather Northern Michigan can dish out.3, I made a personal change to the jacket which might prove helpful to company or people who bought this coat. I found that the draw strings in my opintion were for the lack of a better words (cheap cord) and to short in some cases (hood) so i replaced cords with leather shoe strings, and added extra length to the hood draw cords all of which for me improved the perforce of this coat ease of use vastily."
Review 7 for Waxed Cotton Anorak
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
At long last,
July 25, 2013
By: Lindsay1up
from Stonehaven, aberdeenshire
"I've been looking for one of these for a long time. I'm 5'10 and 12st and went for the large, I tried it on with bulkiest double layered hooded jumper and its going to be ideal for cold wet weather. There's room to move but clearly it'll be functional, and I love the look"
Review 8 for Waxed Cotton Anorak
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
A High Quality Product,
June 17, 2013
By: ajtraveler
from Quebec, Canada
"This product met and surpassed my expectations. This will absolutely be a staple as a rugged and dependable outdoor garment. I'm very tired of the cold weather and am very glad that Summer is finally here, but I'm almost looking forward to Fall and Winter just so I can put this anorak through its paces. I have absolutely no doubt that it will hold up, and I'm already anticipating all the questions I'll be getting from envious friends."
Review 9 for Waxed Cotton Anorak
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Waxed Cotton Anorak,
May 18, 2013
By: MG2013
from Northern Jersey
"I liked the easy with which I could put the jacket on over my head however, it was a little heavier than I anticipated. I ordered the XL as I normally would any jacket and found the shoulders to be a little too snug for my liking."
Review 10 for Waxed Cotton Anorak
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Bet you can't order just one!,
April 22, 2013
By: Taisetsuto
from Kingston, PA.
"Well Orvis, you've done it again. This khaki Anorak is the perfect combination of weather resistance and chill fighting technology. The lining is warm and it's nice to be all wrapped up in great outdoor style with awesome construction. I especially like the divided front pocket with the interior drawstring for keeping out the damp breezes. How much do I like this Anorak? I just ordered another one in green!! I've been looking for something this well made for years and now I'm going to have two! All of my fishing buddies drool with envy."
Review 11 for Waxed Cotton Anorak
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Fall/Winter Piece,
March 14, 2013
By: LINSANITY
from Washington, DC
"It looks darker in person, but the anorak is nice and warm, especially with the flannel lining. I bought it thinking it'd be good for warm spring weather, but this definitely won't do. Honestly though, it's great for fall and winter, which March is still acting to be, so it's a great purchase. Definitely going to be wearing it next winter season."
Review 12 for Waxed Cotton Anorak
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
canvas anorak,
March 4, 2013
By: alannguyen
from boston , MA
"it's a good anorak overall , it would make it perfect if the hood a little bigger"
Review 13 for Waxed Cotton Anorak
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Waxed Cotton Anorak,
February 6, 2013
By: CapnHaddock
from Bristol UK
"Anorak arrived today.
I bought this to be an "acceptable" alternative to a Barbour Longshoreman..
Jacket is well made and the cloth is soft to the feel.
The shape on the other hand is unusual, very wide on the shoulder and with fairly long sleeves.
The jacket has a "waist" cord that is not mentioned in the description which is set very high in fact inline with the buttons on the pockets.
Additionally for a wet weather jacket there is not a locker loop meaning that the jacket has to be hung up either on a hanger or use the hood.
This jacket has been given the opportunity to be a "great" jacket but has failed due to lack of attention to detail maybe that is why it is reduced!"
Review 14 for Waxed Cotton Anorak
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Great product, horrible service,
February 4, 2013
By: Fishguy86
"This is an amazing piece of gear. Warm, not to snug (for layering), and seems fairly tough. My beef is with orvis. I had to fight them tooth and nail for two weeks just to get my order after I paid priority shipping. That is not acceptable. But, if you want to deal with orvis, you won't regret this purchase."
Review 15 for Waxed Cotton Anorak
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
disappointment,
January 23, 2013
By: artsylady
"This item does run large in size as do most of Orvis' products. Had to order a second jacket to get the fit right. My biggest complaint is that in the catalog it states that it is washable and the care tag says: DO NOT WASH. Sponging off spots might work sometimes, but what about washing the lining?"
Review 16 for Waxed Cotton Anorak
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
WAXED ANORAK,
January 21, 2013
By: BLUEFIRE
from CALGARY, ALBERTA, CANADA
"I ordered this Anorak a size larger to fit over and provide a shell for my North Face Nuptse jacket. Absolutely perfect for my needs. The quality is superior and the design functional and free of gimmicks. I like the rope draw strings for their simplicity and functionality. The jacket is lined and provides warmth and wind resistance for the most severe climate. Buy this one, you can`t go wrong."
Review 17 for Waxed Cotton Anorak
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Good retro jacket,
January 17, 2013
By: keeprighton2
"Very stylish, very roomy (Can fit a thick jumper underneath). Nice old fashioned looking jacket."
Review 18 for Waxed Cotton Anorak
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
More than expected.,
January 16, 2013
By: Frederick48
"Outstanding bad weather garment.
Even given Orvis quality, it is more than I expected. Fits perfectly and repels wind/rain as advertised. Very comfortable with plenty of freedom to move about. This is a homerun, my new Alaska foul weather fishing jacket. Bring on the cold, sideways rain!
"
Review 19 for Waxed Cotton Anorak
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
too big,
January 16, 2013
By: jerrynico
from nj
"excellent jacket but the sizes run too big. i'm usually between a small and medium but even the small was too big. shame because i really liked the jacket but had to return it."
Review 20 for Waxed Cotton Anorak
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Just what I wanted,
January 12, 2013
By: WSteve
"Fits great and i s exactly what I wanted for fishing"