Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Basketweave Water Trapper® Mat

Our legendary mud, water, and sand-tested Water Trapper floor mats are now available in a woven-lattice basketweave design. These tough Water Trapper floor mats are suitable for indoor or outdoor use, and will not fade, rot, mold, or mildew. Anti-slip backing for secure grip. Polypropylene. Hose off, air dry. Made in USA.
Average Customer Rating:
4.649 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (211 reviews)
5 stars
169
4 stars
29
3 stars
1
2 stars
5
1 star
7
198 of 211(94%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Basketweave Water Trapper® Mat
Review 1 for Basketweave Water Trapper® Mat
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Just what I was looking for.,
February 27, 2015
By: LaurenC
from Norwalk, CT
"I was looking for something nice, but functional. This rug is not only great quality, it has really helped with snow, sand, mud with heavy dog-foot traffic during this harsh winter. It was pretty expensive, but probably worth the price."
Review 2 for Basketweave Water Trapper® Mat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Water Trapper,
February 26, 2015
By: geoglo
from Ann Arbor, MI
"This rug does exactly what I hoped it would do. It looks great and absorbs the moisture from our boots and shoes."
Review 3 for Basketweave Water Trapper® Mat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Finally Mud & Water Free!,
February 18, 2015
By: BladesMom
from Mechanicsville, VA
"I have been considering getting a mat like this, but never got around to it. I'm so sorry I waited! Not only does it work great at removing water, dirt and mud, it also looks attractive and stays put on the floor of the screened porch when the dogs come dashing to the door. I plan to get another one for the rec room."
Review 4 for Basketweave Water Trapper® Mat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Love it!,
February 16, 2015
By: Tracyface
from Geneseo Il
"The water trapper mat is great. It protects my wood floors from the constant in and out of my dogs, and is easy to vacuum clean!"
Review 5 for Basketweave Water Trapper® Mat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fantastic Floor Mat,
February 2, 2015
By: KathieR68
from West Chester, Ohio
"With 2 dogs and an indoor outdoor cat, my entry area can become quite messy, especially in the winter. The water trapper mat is wonderful! No more mess. I would highly recommend this product."
Review 6 for Basketweave Water Trapper® Mat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Wonderful purchase,
January 30, 2015
By: Barbcunningham
from Missouri
"We just put down new hard wood floors. I needed a rug that wouldn't slide, and would protect the floors. This rug did both. Beautiful!"
Review 7 for Basketweave Water Trapper® Mat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Dirt catcher,
January 28, 2015
By: cowgirl10
from rural NC
"This rug catches a lot of dirt before it gets on the floor. Only wish I had matched it better to the dirt outside so I wouldn't have to clean it so much."
Review 8 for Basketweave Water Trapper® Mat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Exactly what we needed...,
January 28, 2015
By: AWA22
from Atlanta, GA
"Two kids and a dog bring in a lot of dirt from the backyard. We needed something that would handle the traffic yet look like it belongs in our house. This rug clearly did the trick."
Review 9 for Basketweave Water Trapper® Mat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Mat!,
January 26, 2015
By: MomOf3Boyz
"I have three boys and a Lab, and the water trapper mat traps more than just water off their feet. It's a great weight for your entry door, and does not slip at all. I am very please with this purchase. The great thing about it is that if it gets dirty, you can hose it off outside, and it still looks great. Great product and worth the money."
Review 10 for Basketweave Water Trapper® Mat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
great rug for by the front door,
January 26, 2015
By: AndrewD
from wilmington, de
"We dont have a mud room, and we dont have a porch to clean boots and shoes before coming in the house. This rug is perfect for right inside the door when we walk inside with dirt shoes and a wet dog. It has saved our wood floors a lot this winter."
Review 11 for Basketweave Water Trapper® Mat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Water Trapper floor mats,
January 15, 2015
By: SoPhee
from Missouri
"Purchased 2 for Christmas presents for my husband and! They are wonderful we are using them inside our house, I was worried about smell because they are so heavy duty, but no smell they are just awesome at dirt prevention! Loved them so much just order 2 more. Also talked to rep on chat and she was awesome and went out of her way to help me! Thank you Orvis!"
Review 12 for Basketweave Water Trapper® Mat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Water Trapper mat,
January 14, 2015
By: lotsofdogs
from colorado
"This is the second mat I have bought and they are amazing. It has with-stand 3 dogs and people going in and out all year round. It has seen mud, water and debris. It collects everything and helps keep my floors looking clean. It vacuum's easily and it always looks new. Its well worth the money."
Review 13 for Basketweave Water Trapper® Mat
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Clean, nice entryway look,
January 5, 2015
By: HoundWoman
from Northern California
"So far so good! Does the job and most importantly - (don't want to jinx!) - stays pretty much in place.
Good quality. And tremendous customer support!"
Review 14 for Basketweave Water Trapper® Mat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Saves the kitchen floor,
January 1, 2015
By: JoeyB2
from Pennsylvania
"Not only does it save the kitchen floor from dog tracks but it looks good and wears well. Great product--we have one in most every room."
Review 15 for Basketweave Water Trapper® Mat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great rug,
December 29, 2014
By: Budsmom123
"We are using this rug for a heavy traffic area during the wet/snowy winter months. So far so good!"
Review 16 for Basketweave Water Trapper® Mat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
door mat,
December 28, 2014
By: 1pwrst
"Excellent quality. Made in USA . This is going to save our hardwood floors."
Review 17 for Basketweave Water Trapper® Mat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Mud Magnet!,
December 26, 2014
By: MagnificentMe
from Mountain View, CA
"Fabulous rug and exactly what I needed by my back door! This is the perfect mud magnet for Dogs, mice(yes, unfortunately I've got one in the house right now! He snuck in the back door!)and people tracks. Absolutely love this rug and wish I had purchased it a long time ago!"
Review 18 for Basketweave Water Trapper® Mat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Orvis Quality Speaks for Itself,
December 25, 2014
By: Patton8889
from Cincinnati, OH
"The day it arrived, I unfurled the Water Trapper rug and walked on it with my bare feet. My feet were cleaned as I walked across the rug. My Siberian Husky came over and immediately went face down / bottoms up on the rug and pushed his face from end to end of the rug repeatedly, wagging his tail with solid approval. The rug stayed in place effortlessly. The rug has collected dirt, mud and water from both of our Siberians, as well as all three of the humans who track mud through the door. Great product. Great quality."
Review 19 for Basketweave Water Trapper® Mat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Got Dogs??,
December 24, 2014
By: Pointerpackgirl
from Millbury, MA
"We have two big, outdoors-loving dogs who bring in all kinds of wetness! The Water Trapper mats handily protect our wood floors. They are easy to keep clean by a simple vacuuming. We LOVE these mats - have two large ones by each door!"
Review 20 for Basketweave Water Trapper® Mat
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
doesn't vacuum the floor,
December 19, 2014
By: mkg1
from Venice, FL
"however does cut down on a lot of the sand from the beach and every little bit helps!"