Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Basketweave Water Trapper® Mat

Our legendary mud, water, and sand-tested Water Trapper floor mats are now available in a woven-lattice basketweave design. These tough Water Trapper floor mats are suitable for indoor or outdoor use, and will not fade, rot, mold, or mildew. Anti-slip backing for secure grip. Polypropylene. Hose off, air dry. Made in USA.
Average Customer Rating:
4.637 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (201 reviews)
5 stars
160
4 stars
28
3 stars
1
2 stars
5
1 star
7
188 of 201(94%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Basketweave Water Trapper® Mat
Review 1 for Basketweave Water Trapper® Mat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Water Trapper floor mats,
January 15, 2015
By: SoPhee
from Missouri
"Purchased 2 for Christmas presents for my husband and! They are wonderful we are using them inside our house, I was worried about smell because they are so heavy duty, but no smell they are just awesome at dirt prevention! Loved them so much just order 2 more. Also talked to rep on chat and she was awesome and went out of her way to help me! Thank you Orvis!"
Review 2 for Basketweave Water Trapper® Mat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Water Trapper mat,
January 14, 2015
By: lotsofdogs
from colorado
"This is the second mat I have bought and they are amazing. It has with-stand 3 dogs and people going in and out all year round. It has seen mud, water and debris. It collects everything and helps keep my floors looking clean. It vacuum's easily and it always looks new. Its well worth the money."
Review 3 for Basketweave Water Trapper® Mat
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Clean, nice entryway look,
January 5, 2015
By: HoundWoman
from Northern California
"So far so good! Does the job and most importantly - (don't want to jinx!) - stays pretty much in place.
Good quality. And tremendous customer support!"
Review 4 for Basketweave Water Trapper® Mat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Saves the kitchen floor,
January 1, 2015
By: JoeyB2
from Pennsylvania
"Not only does it save the kitchen floor from dog tracks but it looks good and wears well. Great product--we have one in most every room."
Review 5 for Basketweave Water Trapper® Mat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great rug,
December 29, 2014
By: Budsmom123
"We are using this rug for a heavy traffic area during the wet/snowy winter months. So far so good!"
Review 6 for Basketweave Water Trapper® Mat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
door mat,
December 28, 2014
By: 1pwrst
"Excellent quality. Made in USA . This is going to save our hardwood floors."
Review 7 for Basketweave Water Trapper® Mat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Mud Magnet!,
December 26, 2014
By: MagnificentMe
from Mountain View, CA
"Fabulous rug and exactly what I needed by my back door! This is the perfect mud magnet for Dogs, mice(yes, unfortunately I've got one in the house right now! He snuck in the back door!)and people tracks. Absolutely love this rug and wish I had purchased it a long time ago!"
Review 8 for Basketweave Water Trapper® Mat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Orvis Quality Speaks for Itself,
December 25, 2014
By: Patton8889
from Cincinnati, OH
"The day it arrived, I unfurled the Water Trapper rug and walked on it with my bare feet. My feet were cleaned as I walked across the rug. My Siberian Husky came over and immediately went face down / bottoms up on the rug and pushed his face from end to end of the rug repeatedly, wagging his tail with solid approval. The rug stayed in place effortlessly. The rug has collected dirt, mud and water from both of our Siberians, as well as all three of the humans who track mud through the door. Great product. Great quality."
Review 9 for Basketweave Water Trapper® Mat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Got Dogs??,
December 24, 2014
By: Pointerpackgirl
from Millbury, MA
"We have two big, outdoors-loving dogs who bring in all kinds of wetness! The Water Trapper mats handily protect our wood floors. They are easy to keep clean by a simple vacuuming. We LOVE these mats - have two large ones by each door!"
Review 10 for Basketweave Water Trapper® Mat
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
doesn't vacuum the floor,
December 19, 2014
By: mkg1
from Venice, FL
"however does cut down on a lot of the sand from the beach and every little bit helps!"
Review 11 for Basketweave Water Trapper® Mat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Love this mat,
December 17, 2014
By: DV21
from Avon, CO
"We love this mat. It absorbs well and keeps the dirt from traveling farther into the house."
Review 12 for Basketweave Water Trapper® Mat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Second one!,
December 16, 2014
By: Captjenp
from Columbus, OH
"I first purchased a water trapper mat several years ago for under my two labs dog bowls. I loved the quality of the mat, but did think it was a little expensive. In the years between I bought several knock off water trapper mats and they all weren't durable at all. So as with most things you get what you pay for. These mats may be a little pricey but they are well worth the money!"
Review 13 for Basketweave Water Trapper® Mat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent Solutiion,
December 13, 2014
By: vivishop
from CT
"It's saving the wood floor at the kitchen sink. It's absorbent, comfortable to stand on, and stays in place. Seems absolutely skid-proof. Why didn't I do this a long time ago!"
Review 14 for Basketweave Water Trapper® Mat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Entry Floor mat,
November 21, 2014
By: Rickv
from CA
"Big enough to span the whole doorway without being too large and low enough pile to fit under the door when opened. It traps all the little stuff that gets by the outside mat. It looks a little "industrial" but I liked it. It's very non-slip and heavy enough to keep from getting sucked up by the vacuum. Great product but again somewhat pricey. YGWYPF."
Review 15 for Basketweave Water Trapper® Mat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
water trapper,
November 19, 2014
By: walk07
"very good at stopping snow and dirt from coming in the house. Easy to clean and vacum"
Review 16 for Basketweave Water Trapper® Mat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Big Dog Sturdy,
November 10, 2014
By: ValnRain
from Mechanicsburg, PA
"This rug is great for bringing wet dogs, and their people, inside! The rubber backing prevents it from sliding on our tile entry floor. This rug is very functional and attractive."
Review 17 for Basketweave Water Trapper® Mat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Rug!,
October 7, 2014
By: ChickieD
from SF Bay Area
"We've had this rug by our backdoor for three years to protect the hardwood floors from the wet paws of our three dogs. It has worked fantastically.
When looking for a large rug for our front entryway, there was only one choice - the same rug.
We've cleaned the older rug several times and left it in the sun to dry. There is no fading, it's in great shape, and I think anyone would have a hard time telling the new one from the old one.
Definitely recommended."
Review 18 for Basketweave Water Trapper® Mat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Wonderful !!,
October 2, 2014
By: Stonum
from Missouri
"We have two of these rugs... They are wonderful. One in front of the door and one under all the kennels and food bowls ... Easy to clean and traps dirt. Saves my floors from the messy dogs :)"
Review 19 for Basketweave Water Trapper® Mat
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
September 25, 2014
By: Anvil01
from Knauers, PA
"I have 5 large dogs & live on a farm. Mud and leaves are constantly tracked into the house through their dog door. By placing a rug outside on the porch leading to the door and a second inside leading away from the door, it has been much easier to contain the flow of dirt,mud and leaves drug in to the house."
Review 20 for Basketweave Water Trapper® Mat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
So happy with this water trapper!,
September 18, 2014
By: CockerSpanielMom
from Alpharetta, GA
"For years we've been putting a normal cotton mat under our dog bowls. But NO more...as this basket weave water trapper is ideal for our house of four cockers and some fosters from time to time. Thanks Orvis for offering such great products!"