Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Basketweave Water Trapper® Mat

Our legendary mud, water, and sand-tested Water Trapper floor mats are now available in a woven-lattice basketweave design. These tough Water Trapper floor mats are suitable for indoor or outdoor use, and will not fade, rot, mold, or mildew. Anti-slip backing for secure grip. Polypropylene. Hose off, air dry. Made in USA.
Average Customer Rating:
4.61 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (182 reviews)
5 stars
143
4 stars
26
3 stars
1
2 stars
5
1 star
7
169 of 182(93%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Basketweave Water Trapper® Mat
Review 1 for Basketweave Water Trapper® Mat
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
September 25, 2014
By: Anvil01
from Knauers, PA
"I have 5 large dogs & live on a farm. Mud and leaves are constantly tracked into the house through their dog door. By placing a rug outside on the porch leading to the door and a second inside leading away from the door, it has been much easier to contain the flow of dirt,mud and leaves drug in to the house."
Review 2 for Basketweave Water Trapper® Mat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
So happy with this water trapper!,
September 18, 2014
By: CockerSpanielMom
from Alpharetta, GA
"For years we've been putting a normal cotton mat under our dog bowls. But NO more...as this basket weave water trapper is ideal for our house of four cockers and some fosters from time to time. Thanks Orvis for offering such great products!"
Review 3 for Basketweave Water Trapper® Mat
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
great product,
September 18, 2014
By: Nay1618
from Denver, CO
"The water trapper mat has greatly reduced the amount of mud and dirt our dog brings in the house. Great for keeping the house a little cleaner"
Review 4 for Basketweave Water Trapper® Mat
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Great mat,
September 10, 2014
By: Pipsmydog
from Boston area MA
"Was just what I was looking for ... put it right by the door in the pantry so when those wet and/or muddy paws come in from the mud room after a romp outside, most of the dampness is soaked up immediately. Attractive and fits under the door when opened. My Border Collie and I both like this water trapper mat very much!"
Review 5 for Basketweave Water Trapper® Mat
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Water Trapper Mat for Dog,
August 29, 2014
By: Kariann
"I first ordered the light green mat, but when I received it the green seemed a little darker than I expected. I returned it, no hassle, and ordered the brown mat. It is perfect. The brown mat was a nice blend of some other specs of color and it didn't look as "outdoors" as the green one. Very happy with my purchase!"
Review 6 for Basketweave Water Trapper® Mat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Paw prints are now limited,
August 27, 2014
By: Bankofdad
from Kentucky
"We purchased the smallest mat and wish we had ordered a larger one...because it appears to work better than any other mat when it comes to gathering in the water and dirt from our two dogs paws. The problem with this mat is that the larger dog only manages to put two paws on it when entering the house...so we have limited the paw prints but not eliminated them. We will be ordering the larger size."
Review 7 for Basketweave Water Trapper® Mat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Awesome!,
August 21, 2014
By: rncmom
"We have tried several other mats that were supposed to trap dirt & water. None of them worked. This Water Trapper mat is WONDERFUL!!! I'm cleaning up a lot fewer messes! I highly recommend it!!! Perfect!"
Review 8 for Basketweave Water Trapper® Mat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Perfect addition to our back porch,
August 21, 2014
By: Labloveratthebeach
from Wilmington, NC
"Looks nice and blends in with our stamped concrete on our back porch and works great. We have a lab and a German shepherd and it does a great job getting dirt and any water (especially with us having a pool) they or our kids would track in otherwise."
Review 9 for Basketweave Water Trapper® Mat
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Catches All,
August 13, 2014
By: KatyMac71
from Fort Washington, PA
"This door mat is great. I love the half circle. I do wish it was a bit larger, though. I have large dogs and they seem to step off the mat when they come in. I will be ordering a larger, rectangular mat to replace this one, but I like the half-circle idea."
Review 10 for Basketweave Water Trapper® Mat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Really works,
August 12, 2014
By: SnickerSnack
"This is the best product ever. My dogs love it so much."
Review 11 for Basketweave Water Trapper® Mat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Phenomenal!,
August 12, 2014
By: BJPace
from Spokane, WA
"My wife and I purchased this mat to go in front of where are dogs' food and water bowls are. We have hard wood floors that got somewhat ruined from our last Great Dane and this mat is absorbing the water/drool from our new Great Dane. It is everything my wife and I wanted! Our floors now have the protection they need!"
Review 12 for Basketweave Water Trapper® Mat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great,
August 6, 2014
By: Nick29
"Great mat. We purchased this in light brown first, but returned because it was very light and got dark instead. Great for us with a puppy. Keeps most of the grass and mess from outside on the mat. Hope to get another one soon."
Review 13 for Basketweave Water Trapper® Mat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great product,
August 5, 2014
By: CGHTX
from Texas
"I love this mat. The rubber backing means it actually sticks to the floor. Easy to clean. I was worried it would look like a commercial mat but ia actually quite neutral and blends in well with our furniture. Works great when coming in from the pool."
Review 14 for Basketweave Water Trapper® Mat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Just perfect,
July 31, 2014
By: spanprof
"This rug does what I want it to do, and what it advertises. This is the second one we've bought, since it worked so well we're using one in another spot in the house. Looks good and works hard."
Review 15 for Basketweave Water Trapper® Mat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Orvis quality,
July 28, 2014
By: Cooke
from Naples, Florida
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"I received the basket weave rug and it is perfect. My yellow lab Barley loves the pool so the mat is a great way to dry his feet off a bit before he comes in the house. The hat as well will be worn with pride as he is my best friend, a true buddy. Many thanks from a satisfied customer."
Review 16 for Basketweave Water Trapper® Mat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Love them!,
July 25, 2014
By: 4MKS
from Ohio
"This was the 5th Water Trapper Mat I have purchased, but the first one with the basket weave design. I like the design, but mostly I love the way these mats stay in place and protect our hardwood flooring at doors, sink & dog feeding station. Dust & small particles vacuum easily."
Review 17 for Basketweave Water Trapper® Mat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent product,
July 22, 2014
By: Bluska
"Works extremely well. Stands up to my young labs daily abuse."
Review 18 for Basketweave Water Trapper® Mat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Well worth the money!,
July 17, 2014
By: AC1968
"Not only is this rug functional but so pretty - love the basket weave design!! Our labs can no longer bring the outside inside!"
Review 19 for Basketweave Water Trapper® Mat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Mat,
July 17, 2014
By: vidol
from Tyler, TX
"After a long swim the mat I bought is big enough for the dogs and I to wipe our feet on and not get any water on the hardwood floor.
Thanks Orvis! Great product and I love the color choices.
"
Review 20 for Basketweave Water Trapper® Mat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
What a find!,
July 16, 2014
By: SouthernDoglover
from New Orleans, LA
"I purchased this mat to pick up dirt tracked in by my dogs and placed it just outside my back door on our covered porch. Within 2 days, after a heavy rain and our dogs' first trip outside afterward, this mat considerably reduced the amount of mud they typically would track back inside. I'm about to purchase another to place inside the door to finish the job!"