Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Basketweave Water Trapper® Mat

Our legendary mud, water, and sand-tested Water Trapper floor mats are now available in a woven-lattice basketweave design. These tough Water Trapper floor mats are suitable for indoor or outdoor use, and will not fade, rot, mold, or mildew. Anti-slip backing for secure grip. Polypropylene. Hose off, air dry. Made in USA.
Average Customer Rating:
4.598 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (164 reviews)
5 stars
130
4 stars
21
3 stars
1
2 stars
5
1 star
7
151 of 164(92%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Basketweave Water Trapper® Mat
Review 1 for Basketweave Water Trapper® Mat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Well worth the money!,
July 17, 2014
By: AC1968
"Not only is this rug functional but so pretty - love the basket weave design!! Our labs can no longer bring the outside inside!"
Review 2 for Basketweave Water Trapper® Mat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Mat,
July 17, 2014
By: vidol
from Tyler, TX
"After a long swim the mat I bought is big enough for the dogs and I to wipe our feet on and not get any water on the hardwood floor.
Thanks Orvis! Great product and I love the color choices.
"
Review 3 for Basketweave Water Trapper® Mat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
What a find!,
July 16, 2014
By: SouthernDoglover
from New Orleans, LA
"I purchased this mat to pick up dirt tracked in by my dogs and placed it just outside my back door on our covered porch. Within 2 days, after a heavy rain and our dogs' first trip outside afterward, this mat considerably reduced the amount of mud they typically would track back inside. I'm about to purchase another to place inside the door to finish the job!"
Review 4 for Basketweave Water Trapper® Mat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Love this mat!,
July 15, 2014
By: sharonbiswell
"Looks nice, does seem to attract the dirt/water and keep out of the house."
Review 5 for Basketweave Water Trapper® Mat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
All Weather Rug,
July 1, 2014
By: ToniMary
from Evansville,IN
"There were many sizes to chose, and the color matched perfectly with the hardwood our floor. I love the pattern because it catches the dirt, moisture, and the leaves and anything else the dog brings in to us."
Review 6 for Basketweave Water Trapper® Mat
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Not for Puppies,
June 20, 2014
By: aztrailblazer
from Cottonwood, AZ
"Puppies digging and chewing fur off mat. Had to remove and not happy with it/"
Response from Orvis:By MarissaVOC June 24, 2014
We’re sorry to hear that your puppies chewed your Water Trapper® Mat. Water Trappers are great for heavy-traffic areas in the home and can stand up to all the dirt, mud, sand, snow, and slush that you and your puppies can track indoors. However, they are not chew-proof. Many of our customers with adult dogs love our Water Trapper Mats for the way they help keep the house clean. You may want to reconsider having any rugs in areas that your puppies can access until they are older. Thank you for sharing your feedback with us.

Review 7 for Basketweave Water Trapper® Mat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Perfect fit!,
June 6, 2014
By: Papadean
from Palos Heights IL
"The new water-trapper mat works as it is advertised!
The best thing is that it does not slide when laid over a tile floor!
A quality product by Orvis!
"
Review 8 for Basketweave Water Trapper® Mat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great product,
May 29, 2014
By: 7slvfishfly
from Houston, TX
"I bought three of these Water Trapper mats, and they are great. They keep dirt, mud, and water from getting in the house. They appear to be well-made, and I have already had to hose off one. Easy to clean."
Review 9 for Basketweave Water Trapper® Mat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
worth the investment,
May 28, 2014
By: Lynn9
"Stop thinking about purchasing the product and just order it! Wish I did months ago. You will not be disappointed. I purchased 3 basketweaves and 1 larger grid mat and love them! Worth the money and quality. It has deeper grooves than commercial mats and they stay put! It has been two weeks and not a single adjustment! Great for our doggie door too!"
Review 10 for Basketweave Water Trapper® Mat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best rug in town,
May 27, 2014
By: Bcarstens
"I have three big dogs so when it is muddy outside it is muddy inside....Well...not anymore. This mat is a life and carpet savor. It stays in place and is a magnet to dust, dirt, and water. No one with animals or kids should have a doorway without one. We now have three!!!"
Review 11 for Basketweave Water Trapper® Mat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Just What I Needed,
May 19, 2014
By: Peepaw
from Birmingham, AL
"Have had several different kinds of doormats and was not pleased with any of them. Ordered this one and it was justed what I wanted. Liked it so well, I ordered a second one for the lake house. It traps dirt, sand, and water and is easy to keep clean. It is light enough to pick up and shake out or to hose off. I recommend it."
Review 12 for Basketweave Water Trapper® Mat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great all purpose mat,
May 14, 2014
By: monkaul
"This is a great mat---use for wet muddy dog and also for traffic into the house from outdoor pool--helps to avoid major wet spots on the tile floor as slipping hazzard."
Review 13 for Basketweave Water Trapper® Mat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Good Timing,
May 12, 2014
By: ColoradoMountainGuy
from Woodland Park, Colorado
"Talk about good timing - 6" of snow on the ground and a chocolate labrador romping in the white stuff! Time to come in and wipe off those paws and coat on the Basketweave Water "Snow" Trapper Mat - It works! Keeping the rest of the tile floor clean and dry! And easy on Buster's feet! Thanks, Orvis!"
Review 14 for Basketweave Water Trapper® Mat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Exactly What I Was Hoping For,
April 7, 2014
By: Goldens4U
from Idaho
"We have a home of lovely Golden Retrievers that can't stay out of the water and mud making it an absolute necessity to have the perfect rug to manage the dirtiest feet ever seen! Our new Basketweave Water Trapper Mat can handle everything our dogs and humans can dish out!"
Review 15 for Basketweave Water Trapper® Mat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Love the rug!,
April 1, 2014
By: SLavelle
"This fits perfect and looks so polished especially for being so durable, etc."
Review 16 for Basketweave Water Trapper® Mat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great product,
March 26, 2014
By: jnovak1024
"I would highly recommend these rugs to anyone. this is our second one we purchased and we love them. Work great for catching all the dirt!!"
Review 17 for Basketweave Water Trapper® Mat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Practical and Attractive Mat,
March 24, 2014
By: susanandpb
from Brooklyn, NY
"I'm very happy with this mat. It gets a lot of hard use at the inside entry door to our apartment, yet looks untouched. Plus it's very attractive in an understated way for such a practical mat."
Review 18 for Basketweave Water Trapper® Mat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great sturdy product,
March 24, 2014
By: DaniFarmer
from Northern MN
"Wonderful purchase. Very satisfied with quality. Doesn't catch on door and Dog (Vizsla) doesn't move it when playing. Color is great and pattern isn't so institutional. Cozy look while still being very functional. Bring on the spring time slop!"
Review 19 for Basketweave Water Trapper® Mat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great for Mud Room,
March 13, 2014
By: aztrailblazer
from Cottonwood, AZ
"Use it where puppies come into house. Works great."
Review 20 for Basketweave Water Trapper® Mat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Basket weave trapper mat,
March 11, 2014
By: Spidey
from Plainfield, Illinois
"The only complaint I have is I didn't get a bigger one!!! Works great during the snowy weather here and cleans great also."