Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Basketweave Water Trapper® Mat

Our legendary mud, water, and sand-tested Water Trapper floor mats are now available in a woven-lattice basketweave design. These tough Water Trapper floor mats are suitable for indoor or outdoor use, and will not fade, rot, mold, or mildew. Anti-slip backing for secure grip. Polypropylene. Hose off, air dry. Made in USA.
Average Customer Rating:
4.626 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (190 reviews)
5 stars
151
4 stars
26
3 stars
1
2 stars
5
1 star
7
177 of 190(93%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Basketweave Water Trapper® Mat
Review 1 for Basketweave Water Trapper® Mat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Second one!,
December 16, 2014
By: Captjenp
from Columbus, OH
"I first purchased a water trapper mat several years ago for under my two labs dog bowls. I loved the quality of the mat, but did think it was a little expensive. In the years between I bought several knock off water trapper mats and they all weren't durable at all. So as with most things you get what you pay for. These mats may be a little pricey but they are well worth the money!"
Review 2 for Basketweave Water Trapper® Mat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent Solutiion,
December 13, 2014
By: vivishop
from CT
"It's saving the wood floor at the kitchen sink. It's absorbent, comfortable to stand on, and stays in place. Seems absolutely skid-proof. Why didn't I do this a long time ago!"
Review 3 for Basketweave Water Trapper® Mat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Entry Floor mat,
November 21, 2014
By: Rickv
from CA
"Big enough to span the whole doorway without being too large and low enough pile to fit under the door when opened. It traps all the little stuff that gets by the outside mat. It looks a little "industrial" but I liked it. It's very non-slip and heavy enough to keep from getting sucked up by the vacuum. Great product but again somewhat pricey. YGWYPF."
Review 4 for Basketweave Water Trapper® Mat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
water trapper,
November 19, 2014
By: walk07
"very good at stopping snow and dirt from coming in the house. Easy to clean and vacum"
Review 5 for Basketweave Water Trapper® Mat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Big Dog Sturdy,
November 10, 2014
By: ValnRain
from Mechanicsburg, PA
"This rug is great for bringing wet dogs, and their people, inside! The rubber backing prevents it from sliding on our tile entry floor. This rug is very functional and attractive."
Review 6 for Basketweave Water Trapper® Mat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Rug!,
October 7, 2014
By: ChickieD
from SF Bay Area
"We've had this rug by our backdoor for three years to protect the hardwood floors from the wet paws of our three dogs. It has worked fantastically.
When looking for a large rug for our front entryway, there was only one choice - the same rug.
We've cleaned the older rug several times and left it in the sun to dry. There is no fading, it's in great shape, and I think anyone would have a hard time telling the new one from the old one.
Definitely recommended."
Review 7 for Basketweave Water Trapper® Mat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Wonderful !!,
October 2, 2014
By: Stonum
from Missouri
"We have two of these rugs... They are wonderful. One in front of the door and one under all the kennels and food bowls ... Easy to clean and traps dirt. Saves my floors from the messy dogs :)"
Review 8 for Basketweave Water Trapper® Mat
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
September 25, 2014
By: Anvil01
from Knauers, PA
"I have 5 large dogs & live on a farm. Mud and leaves are constantly tracked into the house through their dog door. By placing a rug outside on the porch leading to the door and a second inside leading away from the door, it has been much easier to contain the flow of dirt,mud and leaves drug in to the house."
Review 9 for Basketweave Water Trapper® Mat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
So happy with this water trapper!,
September 18, 2014
By: CockerSpanielMom
from Alpharetta, GA
"For years we've been putting a normal cotton mat under our dog bowls. But NO more...as this basket weave water trapper is ideal for our house of four cockers and some fosters from time to time. Thanks Orvis for offering such great products!"
Review 10 for Basketweave Water Trapper® Mat
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
great product,
September 18, 2014
By: Nay1618
from Denver, CO
"The water trapper mat has greatly reduced the amount of mud and dirt our dog brings in the house. Great for keeping the house a little cleaner"
Review 11 for Basketweave Water Trapper® Mat
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Great mat,
September 10, 2014
By: Pipsmydog
from Boston area MA
"Was just what I was looking for ... put it right by the door in the pantry so when those wet and/or muddy paws come in from the mud room after a romp outside, most of the dampness is soaked up immediately. Attractive and fits under the door when opened. My Border Collie and I both like this water trapper mat very much!"
Review 12 for Basketweave Water Trapper® Mat
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Water Trapper Mat for Dog,
August 29, 2014
By: Kariann
"I first ordered the light green mat, but when I received it the green seemed a little darker than I expected. I returned it, no hassle, and ordered the brown mat. It is perfect. The brown mat was a nice blend of some other specs of color and it didn't look as "outdoors" as the green one. Very happy with my purchase!"
Review 13 for Basketweave Water Trapper® Mat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Paw prints are now limited,
August 27, 2014
By: Bankofdad
from Kentucky
"We purchased the smallest mat and wish we had ordered a larger one...because it appears to work better than any other mat when it comes to gathering in the water and dirt from our two dogs paws. The problem with this mat is that the larger dog only manages to put two paws on it when entering the house...so we have limited the paw prints but not eliminated them. We will be ordering the larger size."
Review 14 for Basketweave Water Trapper® Mat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Awesome!,
August 21, 2014
By: rncmom
"We have tried several other mats that were supposed to trap dirt & water. None of them worked. This Water Trapper mat is WONDERFUL!!! I'm cleaning up a lot fewer messes! I highly recommend it!!! Perfect!"
Review 15 for Basketweave Water Trapper® Mat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Perfect addition to our back porch,
August 21, 2014
By: Labloveratthebeach
from Wilmington, NC
"Looks nice and blends in with our stamped concrete on our back porch and works great. We have a lab and a German shepherd and it does a great job getting dirt and any water (especially with us having a pool) they or our kids would track in otherwise."
Review 16 for Basketweave Water Trapper® Mat
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Catches All,
August 13, 2014
By: KatyMac71
from Fort Washington, PA
"This door mat is great. I love the half circle. I do wish it was a bit larger, though. I have large dogs and they seem to step off the mat when they come in. I will be ordering a larger, rectangular mat to replace this one, but I like the half-circle idea."
Review 17 for Basketweave Water Trapper® Mat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Really works,
August 12, 2014
By: SnickerSnack
"This is the best product ever. My dogs love it so much."
Review 18 for Basketweave Water Trapper® Mat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Phenomenal!,
August 12, 2014
By: BJPace
from Spokane, WA
"My wife and I purchased this mat to go in front of where are dogs' food and water bowls are. We have hard wood floors that got somewhat ruined from our last Great Dane and this mat is absorbing the water/drool from our new Great Dane. It is everything my wife and I wanted! Our floors now have the protection they need!"
Review 19 for Basketweave Water Trapper® Mat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great,
August 6, 2014
By: Nick29
"Great mat. We purchased this in light brown first, but returned because it was very light and got dark instead. Great for us with a puppy. Keeps most of the grass and mess from outside on the mat. Hope to get another one soon."
Review 20 for Basketweave Water Trapper® Mat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great product,
August 5, 2014
By: CGHTX
from Texas
"I love this mat. The rubber backing means it actually sticks to the floor. Easy to clean. I was worried it would look like a commercial mat but ia actually quite neutral and blends in well with our furniture. Works great when coming in from the pool."