Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Basketweave Water Trapper® Mat

Our legendary mud, water, and sand-tested Water Trapper floor mats are now available in a woven-lattice basketweave design. These tough Water Trapper floor mats are suitable for indoor or outdoor use, and will not fade, rot, mold, or mildew. Anti-slip backing for secure grip. Polypropylene. Hose off, air dry. Made in USA.
Average Customer Rating:
4.615 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (174 reviews)
5 stars
139
4 stars
22
3 stars
1
2 stars
5
1 star
7
161 of 174(93%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Basketweave Water Trapper® Mat
Review 1 for Basketweave Water Trapper® Mat
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Catches All,
August 13, 2014
By: KatyMac71
from Fort Washington, PA
"This door mat is great. I love the half circle. I do wish it was a bit larger, though. I have large dogs and they seem to step off the mat when they come in. I will be ordering a larger, rectangular mat to replace this one, but I like the half-circle idea."
Review 2 for Basketweave Water Trapper® Mat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Really works,
August 12, 2014
By: SnickerSnack
"This is the best product ever. My dogs love it so much."
Review 3 for Basketweave Water Trapper® Mat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Phenomenal!,
August 12, 2014
By: BJPace
from Spokane, WA
"My wife and I purchased this mat to go in front of where are dogs' food and water bowls are. We have hard wood floors that got somewhat ruined from our last Great Dane and this mat is absorbing the water/drool from our new Great Dane. It is everything my wife and I wanted! Our floors now have the protection they need!"
Review 4 for Basketweave Water Trapper® Mat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great,
August 6, 2014
By: Nick29
"Great mat. We purchased this in light brown first, but returned because it was very light and got dark instead. Great for us with a puppy. Keeps most of the grass and mess from outside on the mat. Hope to get another one soon."
Review 5 for Basketweave Water Trapper® Mat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great product,
August 5, 2014
By: CGHTX
from Texas
"I love this mat. The rubber backing means it actually sticks to the floor. Easy to clean. I was worried it would look like a commercial mat but ia actually quite neutral and blends in well with our furniture. Works great when coming in from the pool."
Review 6 for Basketweave Water Trapper® Mat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Just perfect,
July 31, 2014
By: spanprof
"This rug does what I want it to do, and what it advertises. This is the second one we've bought, since it worked so well we're using one in another spot in the house. Looks good and works hard."
Review 7 for Basketweave Water Trapper® Mat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Orvis quality,
July 28, 2014
By: Cooke
from Naples, Florida
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"I received the basket weave rug and it is perfect. My yellow lab Barley loves the pool so the mat is a great way to dry his feet off a bit before he comes in the house. The hat as well will be worn with pride as he is my best friend, a true buddy. Many thanks from a satisfied customer."
Review 8 for Basketweave Water Trapper® Mat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Love them!,
July 25, 2014
By: 4MKS
from Ohio
"This was the 5th Water Trapper Mat I have purchased, but the first one with the basket weave design. I like the design, but mostly I love the way these mats stay in place and protect our hardwood flooring at doors, sink & dog feeding station. Dust & small particles vacuum easily."
Review 9 for Basketweave Water Trapper® Mat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent product,
July 22, 2014
By: Bluska
"Works extremely well. Stands up to my young labs daily abuse."
Review 10 for Basketweave Water Trapper® Mat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Well worth the money!,
July 17, 2014
By: AC1968
"Not only is this rug functional but so pretty - love the basket weave design!! Our labs can no longer bring the outside inside!"
Review 11 for Basketweave Water Trapper® Mat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Mat,
July 17, 2014
By: vidol
from Tyler, TX
"After a long swim the mat I bought is big enough for the dogs and I to wipe our feet on and not get any water on the hardwood floor.
Thanks Orvis! Great product and I love the color choices.
"
Review 12 for Basketweave Water Trapper® Mat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
What a find!,
July 16, 2014
By: SouthernDoglover
from New Orleans, LA
"I purchased this mat to pick up dirt tracked in by my dogs and placed it just outside my back door on our covered porch. Within 2 days, after a heavy rain and our dogs' first trip outside afterward, this mat considerably reduced the amount of mud they typically would track back inside. I'm about to purchase another to place inside the door to finish the job!"
Review 13 for Basketweave Water Trapper® Mat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Love this mat!,
July 15, 2014
By: sharonbiswell
"Looks nice, does seem to attract the dirt/water and keep out of the house."
Review 14 for Basketweave Water Trapper® Mat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
All Weather Rug,
July 1, 2014
By: ToniMary
from Evansville,IN
"There were many sizes to chose, and the color matched perfectly with the hardwood our floor. I love the pattern because it catches the dirt, moisture, and the leaves and anything else the dog brings in to us."
Review 15 for Basketweave Water Trapper® Mat
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Not for Puppies,
June 20, 2014
By: aztrailblazer
from Cottonwood, AZ
"Puppies digging and chewing fur off mat. Had to remove and not happy with it/"
Response from Orvis:By MarissaVOC June 24, 2014
We’re sorry to hear that your puppies chewed your Water Trapper® Mat. Water Trappers are great for heavy-traffic areas in the home and can stand up to all the dirt, mud, sand, snow, and slush that you and your puppies can track indoors. However, they are not chew-proof. Many of our customers with adult dogs love our Water Trapper Mats for the way they help keep the house clean. You may want to reconsider having any rugs in areas that your puppies can access until they are older. Thank you for sharing your feedback with us.

Review 16 for Basketweave Water Trapper® Mat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Perfect fit!,
June 6, 2014
By: Papadean
from Palos Heights IL
"The new water-trapper mat works as it is advertised!
The best thing is that it does not slide when laid over a tile floor!
A quality product by Orvis!
"
Review 17 for Basketweave Water Trapper® Mat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great product,
May 29, 2014
By: 7slvfishfly
from Houston, TX
"I bought three of these Water Trapper mats, and they are great. They keep dirt, mud, and water from getting in the house. They appear to be well-made, and I have already had to hose off one. Easy to clean."
Review 18 for Basketweave Water Trapper® Mat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
worth the investment,
May 28, 2014
By: Lynn9
"Stop thinking about purchasing the product and just order it! Wish I did months ago. You will not be disappointed. I purchased 3 basketweaves and 1 larger grid mat and love them! Worth the money and quality. It has deeper grooves than commercial mats and they stay put! It has been two weeks and not a single adjustment! Great for our doggie door too!"
Review 19 for Basketweave Water Trapper® Mat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best rug in town,
May 27, 2014
By: Bcarstens
"I have three big dogs so when it is muddy outside it is muddy inside....Well...not anymore. This mat is a life and carpet savor. It stays in place and is a magnet to dust, dirt, and water. No one with animals or kids should have a doorway without one. We now have three!!!"
Review 20 for Basketweave Water Trapper® Mat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Just What I Needed,
May 19, 2014
By: Peepaw
from Birmingham, AL
"Have had several different kinds of doormats and was not pleased with any of them. Ordered this one and it was justed what I wanted. Liked it so well, I ordered a second one for the lake house. It traps dirt, sand, and water and is easy to keep clean. It is light enough to pick up and shake out or to hose off. I recommend it."