Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Foul-Weather Cardigan Sweater

Shooting season and good weather rarely go hand in hand. Get outdoors in chilly, wet weather in a windproof pure wool sweater that repels water so you stay comfortable. You'll appreciate the extra warmth provided by the body lining and fleece-lined collar. Natural wool offers excellent insulation and durability in challenging conditions; cotton twill shooting patches protect wear-prone areas. Windproof, microfleece-lined, side-seam pockets. Rib-knit cuffs and hem shut out cold breezes. 100% wool body. 100% polyester lining. Washable. Imported.Sizes: S(34-36), M(38-40), L(42-44), XL(46-48), XXL(50-52).
Average Customer Rating:
4.607 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (28 reviews)
5 stars
21
4 stars
5
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
1
27 of 28(96%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Foul-Weather Cardigan Sweater
Review 1 for Foul-Weather Cardigan Sweater
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Foul-Weather Cardigan Sweater,
March 24, 2014
By: Yusuf
from Bellevue, WA
"Very classy and warm sweater. It has what looks like shooting patches on both shoulders, so could be worn for skeet, pheasant or waterfowl...assuming you're into hunting or sport shooting. Since the shoulder material is different than the wool bodice, it should hold up very well for recoil. The color is heathered, which adds visual interest to the sweater. Instead of being all the same color, there is some variety in the yarns. Proves to be one of my new favorites."
Review 2 for Foul-Weather Cardigan Sweater
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
These are great.,
March 24, 2014
By: NorthoftheBorder
from Vancouver Island
"I now have two of these excellent garments, in different colors.
Each one is versatile, warm, windproof, comfortable and good looking. It works as a standalone jacket in cool weather or a very adjustable layer under a cold weather coat.
The two pockets are deep enough and comfortable as stroller pockets. I don't want a zipper on stroller pockets but others might.
No inside pockets, which means the sweater drapes well but you'll have to find another place for your iPhone."
Review 3 for Foul-Weather Cardigan Sweater
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Sweater,
March 12, 2014
By: GDAGordon
from NY
"I was very impressed with the quality of this sweater, great fit and worth the price,"
Review 4 for Foul-Weather Cardigan Sweater
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Surprisingly great sweater,
February 25, 2014
By: OleBlue1969
from Jackson, MS
"Never wore sweaters, but received this as a Christmas present and have been delighted with it. So much so, that we ordered another for me and one for our adult son. Wears comfortably, warm without being too bulky and receives compliments when I'm out and about."
Review 5 for Foul-Weather Cardigan Sweater
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent,
February 8, 2014
By: hoosierboy
from Indiana
"I like this sweater so much that although I've got it in the rust color,it only made sense to get one in black too. I've worn this to shoot and found it roomy and comfortable in very cool weather. The fit is true and the style is just right for me."
Review 6 for Foul-Weather Cardigan Sweater
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
great purchase,
January 28, 2014
By: semfi
from rhode island
"perfect purchase for this winter weather in the northeast.Great to wear on the cold mornings for my am walks"
Review 7 for Foul-Weather Cardigan Sweater
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Gift for picky son,
December 29, 2013
By: Klem
"This was a desperation gift on my part but a real winner at Christmas. He loved it - wore it immediately - great looking jacket.
Thanks to the rep on the phone who answered my questions about it.
"
Review 8 for Foul-Weather Cardigan Sweater
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Great sweater,
December 27, 2013
By: Howd
from Easton, MD
"Always love my Orvis products, and the recently purchased sweater is no exception. Its quality is high, its comfort is terrific and its style is just as I thought it would be, based on selecting it from the catalogue and seeing it at the store in Manhattan. I am uniformly pleased with my frequent Orvis purchases."
Review 9 for Foul-Weather Cardigan Sweater
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
one warm sweater,
December 23, 2013
By: ohiosportsman
from ohio
"I like this sweater so much I now have two of them. Warm with just a shirt down into the 50's. This sweater also does a good job stopping the wind."
Review 10 for Foul-Weather Cardigan Sweater
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Surprise gift,
November 7, 2013
By: teehappy
from MI
"First of all this was a wonderful surprise. I am looking forward to wearing the jacket during those cold days outside. It fits perfectly, very comfortable and plenty of room if I need another sweater on. Well made and looks it will last for years."
Review 11 for Foul-Weather Cardigan Sweater
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
That Large is quite Large,
October 22, 2013
By: DCIBulldog
from Framingham, MA
"This size Large was quite Large and I had to exchange for a size medium. That being said, everything else about the sweater was as advertised and it will make an excellent layering piece as well as being able to be worn by itself in more temparate weather. Nicely made and excellent for New England weather."
Review 12 for Foul-Weather Cardigan Sweater
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
excellent buy,
October 19, 2013
By: DLew
from northern wisconsin
"nice warm sweater. lining makes on and off a breeze...and blocks the breeze too. Still it does breathe and was plenty warm in temps down to 40. Great sale price too"
Review 13 for Foul-Weather Cardigan Sweater
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Zip up Sweater,
October 17, 2013
By: Kransk
from Minneapolis MN
"Very comfortable - am pleased with the excellent material and workmanship. I didn't know it was lined. This is a really well made sweater that will be prized for years!"
Review 14 for Foul-Weather Cardigan Sweater
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Only all around cool weather sweater I wear.,
October 14, 2013
By: LBDJ
from Port Townsend, WA
"I wear it so much I'm afraid to wash it for fear it will never be the same.
Have had this one since they were first advertized. Great pockets for warming hands or carrying shotgun shells.
"
Review 15 for Foul-Weather Cardigan Sweater
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Previous review Edit for some foul weather,
October 13, 2013
By: JohnCanuck
from Canada
"I had previously posted a review of this sweater that was largely about its workmanship and fit and that it seemed to work quite well on misty days. I had only gotten to wear it a few times, as it was still quite warm outside.
Last Wednesday, I forgot my (Orvis, packable felt) hat on my commute in. I walk about four miles each way. This was the day someone decided to throw the autumn switch and I walked home in 30mph winds and sleet mixed with wet snow. Now, the sweater is not waterproof and never claimed to be. I was damp but not soaked and I was warm. If I had remembered my hat, it would not even have been unpleasant. Fits well, slides on and off easily, looks nice --even on my fat frame-- and works considerably better than advertised."
Review 16 for Foul-Weather Cardigan Sweater
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Nice fit,
October 8, 2013
By: ArtF
from Newport, RI
"I'm 5'9" and 170 pounds and the medium I purchased fits very nicely. Haven't worn the sweater in any foul weather yet, but it's a very nice looking sweater and quite comfortable. I do think the zipper could have been of higher quality but overall, it's a definite 4 of 5 stars."
Review 17 for Foul-Weather Cardigan Sweater
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Love this sweater,
September 27, 2013
By: b4j6
from Maine
"This is a great sweater. I had to send the first one back because of a yarn-pull on one sleeve. Orvis made it easy and sent a replacement right away. The replacement was perfect. It's warm, comfortable, and attractive. I'll be wearing it a lot."
Review 18 for Foul-Weather Cardigan Sweater
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
First-rate midweight sweater,
September 24, 2013
By: noshortzipperflies
from Chicago, IL
"I was pleasantly surprised on receiving this item, by the full satin-like lining which makes layering (say over a long-sleeve merino turtleneck) ridiculously easy and the reinforcement patches on both shoulders. Not as heavy as a ski sweater but nice and warm for its weight."
Review 19 for Foul-Weather Cardigan Sweater
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Foul Weather Cardigan Sweater,
September 23, 2013
By: zhuzhu
from Michigan
"Sweater fits well, well made, quite warm.......only complaint is that the zipper should be larger."
Review 20 for Foul-Weather Cardigan Sweater
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
A solid fall sweater,
September 17, 2013
By: Anonymous
from Cambridge, MA
"I followed sizing recommendations per the chart, and I find the fit pleasantly snug. It allows fluid movement due to the smooth lining. It's a wonderful layer beneath a light, water-repellent shell.
The pockets seem a bit shallow, such that keys or a wallet might fall out during active movement, but function just fine as hand-warmers.
I'm overall very pleased with the sweater."