Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product
This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Orvis.

Foul-Weather Cardigan Sweater

Shooting season and good weather rarely go hand in hand. Get outdoors in chilly, wet weather in a windproof pure wool sweater that repels water so you stay comfortable. You'll appreciate the extra warmth provided by the body lining and fleece-lined collar. Natural wool offers excellent insulation and durability in challenging conditions; cotton twill shooting patches protect wear-prone areas. Windproof, microfleece-lined, side-seam pockets. In chocolate. Rib-knit cuffs and hem shut out cold breezes. 100% wool body. 100% polyester lining. Washable. Imported.Sizes: XXL(50-52).
Average Customer Rating:
4.663 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (291 reviews)
5 stars
220
4 stars
50
3 stars
17
2 stars
2
1 star
2
276 of 291(95%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Foul-Weather Cardigan Sweater
Review 1 for Foul-Weather Cardigan Sweater
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Outstanding!!!,
November 24, 2014
By: JamaicaJake
from Umbagog NH
"I've been looking for a wool cardigan sweater that was lined so I could slip over fleece or wool shirts and this fits the bill. It is warm, fits great and looks even better. I cannot recommend a better sweater."
Review 2 for Foul-Weather Cardigan Sweater
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
An excellent 2nd Layer Full Zip,
November 22, 2014
By: SevenHillsRM
from Cincinnati, Ohio
"I have been assembling all wool cloths for this winter. I needed a 2nd layer wool sweater with full zipper to wear over my base and under my outer wool layers. I wanted a full zipper to help regulate my temperature in conjunction with my outer layer. But I also wanted the sweater lined to make it easier to put on and off. This sweater gets the job DONE! Well built, great craftsmanship, good fit and feel, good zipper and pockets too! This is a good one and I am getting ready to purchase a second one. Highly recommend."
Review 3 for Foul-Weather Cardigan Sweater
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Completely satisfying,
November 17, 2014
By: Deep9
from Boulder, CO
"This sweater is exactly what I was hoping for. It's warm, weather proof, really crisp and attractive, and comfortable (not to mention comforting) to wear. Since it arrived, I have found myself reaching for it almost every time I go out into our frigid weather and the snow that has accompanied it. Good price too!"
Review 4 for Foul-Weather Cardigan Sweater
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent Sweater,
November 14, 2014
By: paroba66
from Dallas, TX
"Fits great and looks good. I have used it by itself in cool weather and layered under a heavy coat when the temp really drops. I usually wear an XL but after reading reviews about the sweater running a little big I went with an L and it is a perfect fit. (6'2"/210lb). I like the soft collar and lining, helps stay warm on windy days."
Review 5 for Foul-Weather Cardigan Sweater
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Perfect for Cooler Weather,
November 6, 2014
By: mizanah
from Trinidad, CA
"I purchased this sweater for my husband. He has worn it every day since he received it.The fit is perfect
and the quality is excellent. It is warm without being being bulky and the fleece lining on the collar is an especially nice touch, no chaffing on his neck when fully zipped up.He loves the sweater.
Another great purchase from Orvis.
"
Review 6 for Foul-Weather Cardigan Sweater
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent Quality,
November 5, 2014
By: feilongshi
from Federal Way, WA
"I really like the quality of this sweater and it looks good on me, or so my wife says. I like to wear it as a "dress up" outer garment over a dress-shirt. I'm impressed with the stitching and the fit. I would recommend this sweater to family and friends."
Review 7 for Foul-Weather Cardigan Sweater
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Perfect for cold weather,
October 28, 2014
By: JohnMcD
"Comfortable and warm. Great for layering under a parka/shell."
Review 8 for Foul-Weather Cardigan Sweater
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Looks good, but...,
October 6, 2014
By: MyGuy
from PA
"This sweater was great looking out of the package, well made, nice style and color. However, the placement of the pockets made the middle puff out and make my husband look too paunchie. It ran a little large and those two factors together we're very unflattering. In addition the zipper was not easy to work. We're were very sorry to have to return what could have been a beautiful addition to the wardrobe."
Review 9 for Foul-Weather Cardigan Sweater
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
What a sweater,
September 17, 2014
By: Markymark2014
"I am so pleased with this purchase.
This sweater is handsome, warm and I'm so pleased I made this selection. I recommend this items with 5 stars.
"
Review 10 for Foul-Weather Cardigan Sweater
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Alaskan33,
September 17, 2014
By: Alaskan33
"It's early Fall here in AK and that means cooler weather. I am at the beach and wearing my cardigan as I write this. I'd recommend it to anyone!"
Review 11 for Foul-Weather Cardigan Sweater
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Very warm and comfortable. Perfect style,
September 16, 2014
By: Dailmicado
"I put this on as soon as I wake in the morning for warmth and comfort stylish fit one of my favorites for sunup to sundown."
Review 12 for Foul-Weather Cardigan Sweater
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Product,
September 12, 2014
By: JohnP63
from Chicago
"Used this at a Yacht Club dinner being held on the beach. Many other people were cold, but I didn't feel a single chill. The lining really cuts the wind.
Fit is good.
Overall, another great Orvis product.
"
Review 13 for Foul-Weather Cardigan Sweater
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Sweater,
September 9, 2014
By: MMW123
"Warm, stylish sweater. Great general outdoor wear - hikes, canoeing and camp fires. Lining provides great wind proofing. Sometimes looks a little bunch around the waste."
Review 14 for Foul-Weather Cardigan Sweater
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent,
September 9, 2014
By: ChristopherC
from Ohio
"I now have this sweater in two colors. That is a pretty good recommendation in itself."
Review 15 for Foul-Weather Cardigan Sweater
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Cardi,
July 1, 2014
By: Picklesd
"Very good quality and fits well for someone with a slim XL body! I nowneed some cooler weather."
Review 16 for Foul-Weather Cardigan Sweater
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Sweater,
April 1, 2014
By: Jack123
from Kearny, NJ
"The best warm sweater I have ever owned, Classy but yet very warm and functional. Jack"
Review 17 for Foul-Weather Cardigan Sweater
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
GO TO SWEATER,
March 12, 2014
By: WIducksandpartridge
from Green Bay, WI
"Purchased for milder winter days. Worked well with the brutal North Eastern Wisconsin winter. Wore it at minus 23 degrees and felt warm and comfortable. REALLY wind proof. The collar seals the deal. Like having a built in scarf. Wool retains warmth even when wet. Bought one for my Father for his birthday. Has worn it every day for two weeks."
Review 18 for Foul-Weather Cardigan Sweater
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Sporty look,
March 8, 2014
By: milesmaster
"Great look, cut a bit bulky in the mid area for my build"
Review 19 for Foul-Weather Cardigan Sweater
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Monster Sized,
March 7, 2014
By: AlisonJones
"I ordered this sweater for my husband as a gift for Valentine's Day. He wears a size large in everything from Marmot to Lacoste but the large in this sweater is massive. It literally swallowed him so it had to be returned. Such a shame because it does look like a nice sweater."
Review 20 for Foul-Weather Cardigan Sweater
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Poor zipper & pockets.,
March 6, 2014
By: Boreal
from London Ontario
"This sweater looks great out of the box but has a couple of drawbacks that forced me to return it.
First of all and most importantly the zipper is small in size and very difficult to get started. The pockets are another story. They are poorly placed way back on each side and the plush fleece lining, while soft and warm, tend to "puff out" giving the sweater a disagreeable profile. If you already have a bit of a paunch, this style and pocket placement will not enhance your look at all.
Too bad because the material is nice and the black one I chose looked very nice.
"