Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Foul-Weather Cardigan Sweater

Shooting season and good weather rarely go hand in hand. Get outdoors in chilly, wet weather in a windproof pure wool sweater that repels water so you stay comfortable. You'll appreciate the extra warmth provided by the body lining and fleece-lined collar. Natural wool offers excellent insulation and durability in challenging conditions; cotton twill shooting patches protect wear-prone areas. Windproof, microfleece-lined, side-seam pockets. Rib-knit cuffs and hem shut out cold breezes. 100% wool body. 100% polyester lining. Washable. Imported.Sizes: S(34-36), M(38-40), L(42-44), XL(46-48), XXL(50-52).
Average Customer Rating:
4.654 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (283 reviews)
5 stars
212
4 stars
50
3 stars
17
2 stars
2
1 star
2
268 of 283(95%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Stories:
Customer Reviews for Foul-Weather Cardigan Sweater
Review 1 for Foul-Weather Cardigan Sweater
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Looks good, but...,
October 6, 2014
By: MyGuy
from PA
"This sweater was great looking out of the package, well made, nice style and color. However, the placement of the pockets made the middle puff out and make my husband look too paunchie. It ran a little large and those two factors together we're very unflattering. In addition the zipper was not easy to work. We're were very sorry to have to return what could have been a beautiful addition to the wardrobe."
Review 2 for Foul-Weather Cardigan Sweater
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
What a sweater,
September 17, 2014
By: Markymark2014
"I am so pleased with this purchase.
This sweater is handsome, warm and I'm so pleased I made this selection. I recommend this items with 5 stars.
"
Review 3 for Foul-Weather Cardigan Sweater
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Alaskan33,
September 17, 2014
By: Alaskan33
"It's early Fall here in AK and that means cooler weather. I am at the beach and wearing my cardigan as I write this. I'd recommend it to anyone!"
Review 4 for Foul-Weather Cardigan Sweater
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Very warm and comfortable. Perfect style,
September 16, 2014
By: Dailmicado
"I put this on as soon as I wake in the morning for warmth and comfort stylish fit one of my favorites for sunup to sundown."
Review 5 for Foul-Weather Cardigan Sweater
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Product,
September 12, 2014
By: JohnP63
from Chicago
"Used this at a Yacht Club dinner being held on the beach. Many other people were cold, but I didn't feel a single chill. The lining really cuts the wind.
Fit is good.
Overall, another great Orvis product.
"
Review 6 for Foul-Weather Cardigan Sweater
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Sweater,
September 9, 2014
By: MMW123
"Warm, stylish sweater. Great general outdoor wear - hikes, canoeing and camp fires. Lining provides great wind proofing. Sometimes looks a little bunch around the waste."
Review 7 for Foul-Weather Cardigan Sweater
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent,
September 9, 2014
By: ChristopherC
from Ohio
"I now have this sweater in two colors. That is a pretty good recommendation in itself."
Review 8 for Foul-Weather Cardigan Sweater
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Cardi,
July 1, 2014
By: Picklesd
"Very good quality and fits well for someone with a slim XL body! I nowneed some cooler weather."
Review 9 for Foul-Weather Cardigan Sweater
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Sweater,
April 1, 2014
By: Jack123
from Kearny, NJ
"The best warm sweater I have ever owned, Classy but yet very warm and functional. Jack"
Review 10 for Foul-Weather Cardigan Sweater
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
GO TO SWEATER,
March 12, 2014
By: WIducksandpartridge
from Green Bay, WI
"Purchased for milder winter days. Worked well with the brutal North Eastern Wisconsin winter. Wore it at minus 23 degrees and felt warm and comfortable. REALLY wind proof. The collar seals the deal. Like having a built in scarf. Wool retains warmth even when wet. Bought one for my Father for his birthday. Has worn it every day for two weeks."
Review 11 for Foul-Weather Cardigan Sweater
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Sporty look,
March 8, 2014
By: milesmaster
"Great look, cut a bit bulky in the mid area for my build"
Review 12 for Foul-Weather Cardigan Sweater
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Monster Sized,
March 7, 2014
By: AlisonJones
"I ordered this sweater for my husband as a gift for Valentine's Day. He wears a size large in everything from Marmot to Lacoste but the large in this sweater is massive. It literally swallowed him so it had to be returned. Such a shame because it does look like a nice sweater."
Review 13 for Foul-Weather Cardigan Sweater
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Poor zipper & pockets.,
March 6, 2014
By: Boreal
from London Ontario
"This sweater looks great out of the box but has a couple of drawbacks that forced me to return it.
First of all and most importantly the zipper is small in size and very difficult to get started. The pockets are another story. They are poorly placed way back on each side and the plush fleece lining, while soft and warm, tend to "puff out" giving the sweater a disagreeable profile. If you already have a bit of a paunch, this style and pocket placement will not enhance your look at all.
Too bad because the material is nice and the black one I chose looked very nice.
"
Review 14 for Foul-Weather Cardigan Sweater
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Quality!!!,
March 3, 2014
By: CooperClan
from Portland, Oregon
"Very well made and works well with a tie when you don't feel like wearing a sport coat!!
Nice and warm too!!"
Review 15 for Foul-Weather Cardigan Sweater
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Windproof,
March 3, 2014
By: Eddie99
from Wyoming
"The wind proof stuff is real nice!
Beware no matter what anyone says. You can sweat faster than this stuff can breath. Not for heavy climbing.
"
Review 16 for Foul-Weather Cardigan Sweater
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
My excitement was only exceeded by my dissmay.,
March 3, 2014
By: techtlcb
from Ozark Mountains
"My new purchase looked perfect when I took it out of the box. Unfortunately the sweater did not fit and Orvis was out of smalls. Too bad this is a great looking sweater."
Review 17 for Foul-Weather Cardigan Sweater
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Show & Go" !,
March 2, 2014
By: kandkfox
from New Mexico
"Very good looking, fits like it should and meets the requirements for a comfortable, easy to move in shooting sweater."
Review 18 for Foul-Weather Cardigan Sweater
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
great sweater,
February 28, 2014
By: carlos2344
from Notasulga, AL
"I really enjoy this sweater. wearing it as I draft this review. it is warm when outside and not too hot when inside. Looks great and wears well. definitely a keeper."
Review 19 for Foul-Weather Cardigan Sweater
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Foul Weather Cardigan Sweater,
February 28, 2014
By: GeneOgolf48
from NC
"Better than I expected. Excellent quality and great value."
Review 20 for Foul-Weather Cardigan Sweater
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Happy shooter,
February 27, 2014
By: aspie
from Reedsburg, WI
"Looks good feels good and keeps its shape. And according to the tag I can Launder it on gentle"