Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Foul-Weather Cardigan Sweater

Shooting season and good weather rarely go hand in hand. Get outdoors in chilly, wet weather in a windproof pure wool sweater that repels water so you stay comfortable. You'll appreciate the extra warmth provided by the body lining and fleece-lined collar. Natural wool offers excellent insulation and durability in challenging conditions; cotton twill shooting patches protect wear-prone areas. Windproof, microfleece-lined, side-seam pockets. Rib-knit cuffs and hem shut out cold breezes. 100% wool body. 100% polyester lining. Washable. Imported.Sizes: S(34-36), M(38-40), L(42-44), XL(46-48), XXL(50-52).
Average Customer Rating:
4.651 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (272 reviews)
5 stars
203
4 stars
49
3 stars
16
2 stars
2
1 star
2
258 of 272(95%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Stories:
Customer Reviews for Foul-Weather Cardigan Sweater
Review 1 for Foul-Weather Cardigan Sweater
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Sweater,
April 1, 2014
By: Jack123
from Kearny, NJ
"The best warm sweater I have ever owned, Classy but yet very warm and functional. Jack"
Review 2 for Foul-Weather Cardigan Sweater
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
GO TO SWEATER,
March 12, 2014
By: WIducksandpartridge
from Green Bay, WI
"Purchased for milder winter days. Worked well with the brutal North Eastern Wisconsin winter. Wore it at minus 23 degrees and felt warm and comfortable. REALLY wind proof. The collar seals the deal. Like having a built in scarf. Wool retains warmth even when wet. Bought one for my Father for his birthday. Has worn it every day for two weeks."
Review 3 for Foul-Weather Cardigan Sweater
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Sporty look,
March 8, 2014
By: milesmaster
"Great look, cut a bit bulky in the mid area for my build"
Review 4 for Foul-Weather Cardigan Sweater
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Monster Sized,
March 7, 2014
By: AlisonJones
"I ordered this sweater for my husband as a gift for Valentine's Day. He wears a size large in everything from Marmot to Lacoste but the large in this sweater is massive. It literally swallowed him so it had to be returned. Such a shame because it does look like a nice sweater."
Review 5 for Foul-Weather Cardigan Sweater
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Poor zipper & pockets.,
March 6, 2014
By: Boreal
from London Ontario
"This sweater looks great out of the box but has a couple of drawbacks that forced me to return it.
First of all and most importantly the zipper is small in size and very difficult to get started. The pockets are another story. They are poorly placed way back on each side and the plush fleece lining, while soft and warm, tend to "puff out" giving the sweater a disagreeable profile. If you already have a bit of a paunch, this style and pocket placement will not enhance your look at all.
Too bad because the material is nice and the black one I chose looked very nice.
"
Review 6 for Foul-Weather Cardigan Sweater
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Quality!!!,
March 3, 2014
By: CooperClan
from Portland, Oregon
"Very well made and works well with a tie when you don't feel like wearing a sport coat!!
Nice and warm too!!"
Review 7 for Foul-Weather Cardigan Sweater
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Windproof,
March 3, 2014
By: Eddie99
from Wyoming
"The wind proof stuff is real nice!
Beware no matter what anyone says. You can sweat faster than this stuff can breath. Not for heavy climbing.
"
Review 8 for Foul-Weather Cardigan Sweater
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
My excitement was only exceeded by my dissmay.,
March 3, 2014
By: techtlcb
from Ozark Mountains
"My new purchase looked perfect when I took it out of the box. Unfortunately the sweater did not fit and Orvis was out of smalls. Too bad this is a great looking sweater."
Review 9 for Foul-Weather Cardigan Sweater
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Show & Go" !,
March 2, 2014
By: kandkfox
from New Mexico
"Very good looking, fits like it should and meets the requirements for a comfortable, easy to move in shooting sweater."
Review 10 for Foul-Weather Cardigan Sweater
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
great sweater,
February 28, 2014
By: carlos2344
from Notasulga, AL
"I really enjoy this sweater. wearing it as I draft this review. it is warm when outside and not too hot when inside. Looks great and wears well. definitely a keeper."
Review 11 for Foul-Weather Cardigan Sweater
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Foul Weather Cardigan Sweater,
February 28, 2014
By: GeneOgolf48
from NC
"Better than I expected. Excellent quality and great value."
Review 12 for Foul-Weather Cardigan Sweater
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Happy shooter,
February 27, 2014
By: aspie
from Reedsburg, WI
"Looks good feels good and keeps its shape. And according to the tag I can Launder it on gentle"
Review 13 for Foul-Weather Cardigan Sweater
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Sweater,
February 27, 2014
By: Fred1960
from Raleigh, NC
"This sweater is almost as good as fleece but looks much more appealing. Great Quality, and Price!!"
Review 14 for Foul-Weather Cardigan Sweater
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Warm and comfy,
February 26, 2014
By: jake20
from East Texas
"Great sweater, Perfect for wearing underneath an outer shell for all type outdoor activities. Fit is true to size."
Review 15 for Foul-Weather Cardigan Sweater
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Wonderfully Flexible,
February 26, 2014
By: MaGooch
from Roanoke, Virginia
"Warm enough for outdoors, and since it has a full length zipper, cool enough for inside. The Merino wool has a wonderful, soft hand as does the windproof lining and the collar trim. I own three of them and want one in every color."
Review 16 for Foul-Weather Cardigan Sweater
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Well Made, Pocket Design Lacking,
February 17, 2014
By: MikePreuitt
from Hartselle, AL
"I love this sweater jacket, very warm and I enjoy putting in on every time. It is a high quality and well made. The pockets are nicely fleece lined which feels great. The waistband and pocket alignment cause a spare tire look at the waist. I wear unzipped most of the time in North Alabama. The waistband could be removed to resolve the issue. It is still a favorite."
Review 17 for Foul-Weather Cardigan Sweater
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Good value with a smart look,
February 17, 2014
By: Bing63
from Rochester
"Purchased on sale. Pleased with product quality and styling."
Review 18 for Foul-Weather Cardigan Sweater
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Perfect,
February 15, 2014
By: Eric10
"Warm, comfortable and sharp looking. I love this sweater. I wear it all the time."
Review 19 for Foul-Weather Cardigan Sweater
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Good Well-Made Sweater,
February 14, 2014
By: Stan813
from Chicago
"We have had such a hard winter here in Chicago. I bought this to wear as a layer under a new coat, which is not warm enough for this unusual winter. It fits well and works great for that purpose. Sometimes I leave the sweater on after I take off the coat and wear it in the office. It is a great looking sweater. When the sweater first arrived I didn't think I would like the poly lining but I actually like it now because it helps the sweater slide on and off ofer clothing. I'm very happy with this garment, and if Spring ever comes, I will wear the sweater without the coat!"
Review 20 for Foul-Weather Cardigan Sweater
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Purchase,
February 13, 2014
By: Steve51
from Fort Worth, TX
"I first saw this as a hunting jacket, but when I received it, I realized it to be more than that. It is a little dressy when you need that (I got the black) but its really great feature is its warmth versus weight due to the lining. I bought two others as gifts"