Orvis Ratings and Reviews

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Orvis.

Embroidered Cotton Voile Skirt

Richly embroidered with tonal thread around the bottom, this graceful, long skirt is very comfortable to wear, thanks to the lightweight cotton voile fabric and the nonbinding 1½"-wide smocked stretch waistband. Paneled construction for a graceful sweep. Fully lined in cotton voile. Long embroidered skirt in cornflower. Pure cotton. Washable. Imported.Sizes: S(6-8), M(10-12), L(14-16), XL(18-20); about 29½" long.
Average Customer Rating:
3.194 out of 5
3.2
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (36 reviews)
5 stars
11
4 stars
5
3 stars
6
2 stars
8
1 star
6
18 of 36(50%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Embroidered Cotton Voile Skirt
Review 1 for Embroidered Cotton Voile Skirt
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
voile skirt,
March 12, 2013
By: antiques
from huntington, ny
"I liked it -- didn't love it. --just okay. however, the elastic waist was not a great feature-- it was too loose and had very little stretch. Not fond of elastic waists in general.
I wasn't willing to add it too my wardrobe unless I really liked it.
I didn't like it well enough to try a smaller size.
The fabric was nice, however and I did like it being lined.
"
Review 2 for Embroidered Cotton Voile Skirt
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Disappointed,
March 11, 2013
By: Booelia
"Poor quality,waistband appeared already stretched out. Hem uneven.
Returned the skirt.
"
Review 3 for Embroidered Cotton Voile Skirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
beautiful skirt!,
March 11, 2013
By: TryingToRelaxInVA
from Charlottesville, VA
"To the people that say the skirt is too wrinkly after washing and drying, I suggest shaking the skirt our and hanging it up to dry after washing. My skirt wasn't at all wrinkly and I didn't iron it - I got compliments on it and it fits very nicely. I highly recommend this skirt on its comfort and attractiveness."
Review 4 for Embroidered Cotton Voile Skirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
nice choice,
March 6, 2013
By: artsty
"I bought to wear to a wedding in August. The material is very fine to the feel, but the blue was hard to match for a top. I bought a white top and it looks fine. I'm looking forward to wearing for more than the wedding."
Review 5 for Embroidered Cotton Voile Skirt
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
skirt,
January 30, 2013
By: banana6
"I was dissapointed with this product as it was creased even before I took out of the bag. Lovely colour and
embroidery. don't want to have to iron it every time I wear it.
"
Review 6 for Embroidered Cotton Voile Skirt
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Disappointing,
September 17, 2012
By: Anonymous
from Detroit MI
"The skirt is beautiful, the problem is the material. I will never buy cotton voile again. It wrinkles quickly and looks unkept. By the time I arrived at my function, I needed to iron my skirt again. I was really embarressed"
Review 7 for Embroidered Cotton Voile Skirt
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
not quite right,
August 29, 2012
By: jems
from Bishop, CA
"Beautiful design. However, the fabric was a little too light-weight and the length was a little too short for me."
Review 8 for Embroidered Cotton Voile Skirt
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Embroidered voile skirt disappointing,
August 17, 2012
By: Hamann
from Midlands, UK
"Creases very easily and is too short.
Although the length is given in the description the proportions look very different on the photo, and I'm only 5 ft 4 ins. Comfortable to wear.
"
Review 9 for Embroidered Cotton Voile Skirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
exactly what I expected,
August 7, 2012
By: bookperson
from Alabama
"Looked at this for a long time. Glad I finally decided to buy it. Perfect for our warm climate."
Review 10 for Embroidered Cotton Voile Skirt
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Very Poor Quality,
August 6, 2012
By: HouseholdCat
from West Virginia
"This is the poorest quality item I have ever ordered from a catalog. The elastic that was supposed to be in the waist was non-existent. I should have sent it back, but I needed a skirt for an art opening that weekend. I wish I had sent it back because it almost fell off of me several times ... I was so embarrassed to be wearing such a poorly made garment. I expected more from Orvis, won't be ordering clothes from them again."
Review 11 for Embroidered Cotton Voile Skirt
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Embroidered Cotton Voile Skirt,
August 1, 2012
By: Shyness
from Berkshire
"I do have two comments to make.
1. It was not packed well enough as t
he skirt arrived very creased and so until it is ironed it is difficult to say what I really think.
2. I am not very happy about the elastic around the waist. Not sure how long it will last!!"
Review 12 for Embroidered Cotton Voile Skirt
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
WELL....,
July 28, 2012
By: Bookwerme
from Tennessee
"I have read all the reviews and now that I have worn my skirt, I understand them.
This is a lightweight skirt. The elastic in the waist is that thin thread type..and I worry that it won't last long. I sew, so I can deal with that. It could require ironing if you are picky about that. I just let the creases fall out with hanging up. I love the skirt otherwise. I wore it to dance in...it is comfortable and fun. Perhaps not the usual Orvis product, but perfect for my needs."
Review 13 for Embroidered Cotton Voile Skirt
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
July 13, 2012
By: nanack
"This skirt is not one of your better ones, but it serves a purpose for me so I am keeping it. It is not very well made. I also has no pockets. The waist is good for me, but I can imagine it is not good for some. It is a forgiving one due to the fact the stitching is not good. It is a very easy elastic"
Review 14 for Embroidered Cotton Voile Skirt
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Big disappointment,
July 11, 2012
By: NFHH
from Rochester, NY
"My closet is half full of Orvis clothing and I have always enjoyed the quality of your merchandise. But this skirt simply does not meet your usual standards, either in size or quality. The skirt is poorly made and certainly not worth the price. It also does not fit at all--it says small but is much too wide and much too long. A big disappointment because it looked so pretty."
Review 15 for Embroidered Cotton Voile Skirt
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
I was so disappointed,
July 6, 2012
By: Singbird
from Anchorage, AK
"I had been watching this item and when it came on sale I jumped at it. I should have heeded the other reviews. The skirt was very wrinkled when it arrived so I spent a lot of time ironing. However it wrinkled again very easily. Also the elastic waist was so flimsy and loose that the skirt drooped and if I had kept it I would have had to do some sewing to make it wearable. It was returned, and I was so disappointed in the quality and workmanship."
Review 16 for Embroidered Cotton Voile Skirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
July 1, 2012
By: KPHiker
"I bought this skirt on a whim, but I absolutely love it! The whispery material, the delicate lining, the unusual but completely comfortable waistband, and the decorative stitching combine to create an elegant skirt. I love the way it drapes and moves when I walk. There's a sensual feel to the fabric that you don't find these days. It's lovely!"
Review 17 for Embroidered Cotton Voile Skirt
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
skirt was too short,
June 26, 2012
By: tempo
from New Mexico
"I returned this skirt because it was not as long as i wanted, but the workmanship over all was not the quality of other skirts I have ordered from Orvis. I was disappointed."
Review 18 for Embroidered Cotton Voile Skirt
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
another good purchase,
June 15, 2012
By: jenjen60
from Vale of Glamorgan
"This skirt is comfortable to wear, goes with numerous tops and can be dressed up or down. Washes well too."
Review 19 for Embroidered Cotton Voile Skirt
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Beautiful except.....,
June 5, 2012
By: craggdavis
from Alexandria, VA
"This is a beautiful skirt. The fine cotton is light and cool, and the embroidery is exquisite. The gores, or godets give a very full skirt at the bottom, but with minimum fabric at the waist.but the waist is done with shirred elastic. I suspect that this will soon stretch, but it should not be too difficult to sew a hem and thread elastic through it. I actually found the waist rather tight, and returned it for the next larger size."
Review 20 for Embroidered Cotton Voile Skirt
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Beautiful color,
May 23, 2012
By: pollywogg
"Very pretty blue, just as appears online. I'm 5'7" and wear XL, and the XL fit well, but was too short for me. As mentioned in other reviews, the fabric is very, very thin. Not necessarily a bad thing, but didn't work for me."