Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Linen Check Pants Set

This checked linen jacket and cropped pants set goes from the market to lunch to the museum with aplomb. The boxy jacket has a point collar, button front, straight hem with 2½" side vents, and three-quarter-length sleeves; about 22" long. The matching pull-on cropped pants have a stretch waist and on-seam pockets; 24" inseam. Jacket and cropped pants set in black/white. Pure linen. Washable. Imported.Sizes: S(6-8), M(10-12), L(14-16), XL(18-20).
Average Customer Rating:
4.154 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (13 reviews)
5 stars
6
4 stars
4
3 stars
2
2 stars
1
1 star
0
10 of 13(77%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Linen Check Pants Set
Review 1 for Linen Check Pants Set
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Attractive and Comfortable,
October 1, 2013
By: JerseyGirl99
from Marin County CA
"This is a casual outfit that can be dressed up or down. It will be great for long plane trips because the pants are cut loose and the fabric won't wrinkle or soil easily. The jacket is a bit boxy (alas, no pockets) and the sleeves are a bit loose but the outfit still works. I usually wear petite pants but am happy with the length of these pants."
Review 2 for Linen Check Pants Set
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
boxy scratchy,
April 17, 2013
By: momofjosh1
"much boxier jacket than shown in the catalogue photo"
Review 3 for Linen Check Pants Set
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
OK ish!!,
August 24, 2012
By: shirtlover
from Hampshire UK
"The concept of this outfit I really liked and saw all the advantages. When it was reduced I grabbed the chance to get it, though was somewhat put off by having to buy both top and bottom in the same size!! Arrived very promptly and staff helpful. The trousers are rather large as I'm smaller on the bottom, so I've had to wear them high to loose the excess material. Not overly impressed with the quality. Love the buttons but find the hems skimped and poor, no weight there and the jacket would have been better on a yoke. If I'd paid the full price I'd have returned it. Trousers look like two legs stiched together on an elastic waist, no detail."
Review 4 for Linen Check Pants Set
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Nice suit,
May 27, 2012
By: Lawmom
"Suit is a nice texture but I have yet to wear. Looks classy but pants a little bulky. If you are short (5'4"), the pants don't look like capris as they do on the model."
Review 5 for Linen Check Pants Set
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
good mix and match set,
November 28, 2011
By: subterra
"I bought this to travel with so the top could double as a jacket and pants the same with other items. Heavier linen weave is attractive, but a bit scratchy against the skin. Maybe it will soften up as it is washed? I love the top as a jacket but the pants are a bit bulky."
Review 6 for Linen Check Pants Set
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
A Serviceable Set,
September 9, 2011
By: Prisca
from Vancouver, BC, Canada
"Heavier linen is cute, can be worn with black, white or strong colours, weight is just right for warmer Fall days."
Review 7 for Linen Check Pants Set
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Goes Anywhere,
August 16, 2011
By: Prettywoman
"I love the suit. The material is great and the fit is perfect. It is easy to wear and goes everywhere. I have received many compliments."
Review 8 for Linen Check Pants Set
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
A superb all occasion outfit,
August 15, 2011
By: Camel
"This model must at least be 6' tall - put the same outfit on 5'5" and the pants are ankle length and sleeves come to the wrist. Will the day ever come when models are chosen closer to average, everyday women ?"
Review 9 for Linen Check Pants Set
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Practical and good looking,
August 2, 2011
By: DocentJane
"I really like the outfit and would have given it 5 stars except the material seems a little rough, even for linen. I worried about the fit since I wear a smaller size for my top - but it worked great."
Review 10 for Linen Check Pants Set
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Buy,
August 2, 2011
By: Sumpthing
"This well made set is extremely comfortable...it can easily transition from casual day wear to an evening out....it's a quality linen that should wear well for a long time.
The jacket is a bit boxy but it's totally workable....wear it buttoned to keep it closer to you or wear a camisole and let it drape as you move...it looks fine both ways.
The pants are generously cut. Go ahead....get it....you'll enjoy it!
"
Review 11 for Linen Check Pants Set
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Versatile outfit works as separates,
June 22, 2011
By: qwertycom
from Brooklyn NY
"The jacket buttons over tanks or works as an open jacket over sleeveless T. The pants make it an outfit or go on their own with black shirt as jacket.... Great. I wear so often I bought another. City or suburban look. Thrilled. Loose fit means it's comfortable to wear but not sloppy."
Review 12 for Linen Check Pants Set
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Love the look,
May 27, 2011
By: sffernish
"This is just the kind of dressy-casual outfit that can go so many places. Too bad it's not sold as separates, because I needed different sizes for the jacket and pants. Had to return it."
Review 13 for Linen Check Pants Set
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Beautiful outfit,
April 16, 2011
By: hannahsmeme
from Maryland
Good Value: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"This is my first Orvis purchase and I am thrilled with the quality of the materials as well as the fit on this set. I was also very impressed with the phone assistance I received when trying to determine a size. The CS rep was able to provide the expanded waist and hip measurements that assured the item would fit (it is perfect). The linen quality is really superb. This set is a little pricey, but you do get what you pay for. My only real complaint is the shipping charges...they are outrageous! That said, if this is an example of the quality I can expect, I will shop here again...probably today!"