Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product
This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Orvis.

Adjustable Tension Bobbin

Eliminate loose thread or broken thread with this unique fly tying bobbin with a drag system that allows adjustment to just the right tension. Hardened stainless steel polished to perfection in the thread tube to prevent thread from fraying. Nicely weighted. Made in Italy.
Average Customer Rating:
4.381 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (21 reviews)
5 stars
12
4 stars
6
3 stars
2
2 stars
1
1 star
0
19 of 21(90%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Adjustable Tension Bobbin
Review 1 for Adjustable Tension Bobbin
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Bobbin,
March 14, 2014
By: Chino4545
from Fayetteville, AR
"This bobbin is great. I don't break my thread nearly as often. There are numbers on the disc drag to help you dial in the tension when you put on a new spool. Feels great in your hand. Very smooth operation compared to the two pronged bobbins."
Review 2 for Adjustable Tension Bobbin
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Super,
February 28, 2014
By: Montflyfisher
from Western Montana
"I love the way I can control the thread with these. Don't know how I got by with out them before. I have my most used thread on them. I bought 2 and just ordered 2 more. Great product."
Review 3 for Adjustable Tension Bobbin
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best Buy for Fly Tying,
January 23, 2014
By: Minidriver
from Wheaton, IL
"I have been looking at these for a while. I finally broke down and bought two and now wonder why I didn't do it sooner. These are easy to handle, fit well in my hands and make tying smoother because you can adjust the tension of the bobbin. Now I never have to pull hard to get thread and accidentally pull the hook in my vise. I bought two, I will probably get two more so I have 4 colors ready to go at anytime."
Review 4 for Adjustable Tension Bobbin
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Bobbin Along,
November 18, 2013
By: Tylertoo
from Sheboygan,WI
"I have just started to tie again after many years. Got my first tying materials with the standard bobbin but found I couldn't control it very well. Got The adjustable tension bobbin and love it. Glad I got two!"
Review 5 for Adjustable Tension Bobbin
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Excellent for fine threads,
June 27, 2013
By: Bishthefish1
from North Yorkshire
"I use this with spider web for tying off the hackles on parachute flies (paraduns, klinkhammers, etc.....). I can set the tension just right so as not to snap the thread. It is a nice size and weight and makes tying parachute hackles simple."
Review 6 for Adjustable Tension Bobbin
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
FLY BOBIN,
June 17, 2013
By: anguelbg
from Farmington hills MI
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"great bobbin,Italian design and German engineering !!!! so easy to work for the following reasons-solid and balanced construction!!! the best part the drag system."
Review 7 for Adjustable Tension Bobbin
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I like it,
June 6, 2013
By: Anonymous
"I am a new fly tyer so take this with a grain of salt. I gave this product four stars simply because I have not used too many different spools so I dont have much to compare to. I think this spool is very comfortable in the hand and the build quality seems very high. I bought it for the adjustable tension and it works quite well. It is great to be able to set the tension lower for lighter thread as I tie smaller flys. I would recommend this product."
Review 8 for Adjustable Tension Bobbin
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
March 21, 2013
By: karlm
from Deerfield, MA
"Not as easy to work with as I expected Had trouble with thread breaking all the tine"
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Adjustable Tension Bobbin
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Cool design concept but ...,
February 19, 2013
By: JD2013
"I loved the design concept of this bobbin unfortunately I could not get used to its holding it in my hand. I tried it over a few days but unfortunately it wasn't for me as I could not hold it with much of a comfort level during that time. On a positive note, the bobbin had a nice solid feel to it and adjusting thread tension was a snap though swapping out thread takes slightly longer than a conventional type bobbin."
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Adjustable Tension Bobbin
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
No Instructions Included,
January 12, 2013
By: Lakefisher46
from California
"Well made product from Italy but arrived without any instructions. Not wanting to break this fragile tool I had to look up instructions on the web. This is a reoccurring problem with Orvis products. The last time I had this problem I took the product to an Orvis store and nobody had any idea how to use it. ORVIS -Try printing instructions for your tools."
0 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Adjustable Tension Bobbin
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best Bobbin,
June 18, 2012
By: AceCurry
from Charleston, West Virginia
"Love the fact I can easily adjust the tension. No more broken thread."
Review 12 for Adjustable Tension Bobbin
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
My First,
April 12, 2012
By: BassLass
from Toms River, NJ
"Being new to tying, all I can say is that I loved the tension adjustment and it works very smoothly."
Review 13 for Adjustable Tension Bobbin
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Precision tension,
March 19, 2012
By: MontanaJim
from Helena, MT
"Nice tool that provides consistent tension to the bobbin for tying. Easy to swap spools of thread.
Has a slight tendancy to frey the thread from time to time, regardless of tension on the bobbin.
"
Review 14 for Adjustable Tension Bobbin
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Better Bobbin,
January 4, 2012
By: OldColonel
from Maryland
"You won't drop your bobbin with this one. The captive design allows you to attach the spool so it can not fall off by accident.
Adjustable tension prevents birds nests from occuring and improves control as you wrap the flie.
Superior design and exceptional quality. Only way to make this better would be to replace the plastic parts with brass components - but then the price would be too high.
Toss out the old bobbin for this one!"
Review 15 for Adjustable Tension Bobbin
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Cool tool!,
December 20, 2011
By: Rege
"This is a really cool little tool! Was able to easily dial in the tension - it just works. Cut down the time to tie salmon flies and will give it a try on smaller trout flies after the holidays My first order got 'lost' by UPS and Orvis quickly sent a second that arrived promptly. After only a few flies, I need two of these on the bench - the lost one that just arrive won't be gong back."
Review 16 for Adjustable Tension Bobbin
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Versatile Bobbin,
October 31, 2011
By: JHGuster
from Lancaster, PA
"I've been very happy with my purchase. This bobbin is very smooth and the spool tension easily adjusts to handle threads from the 8/0 stuff I use to tie tricos and midges to the gel spun thread I use for spinning deer hair. I would recommend this bobbin to anyone."
Review 17 for Adjustable Tension Bobbin
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Good Deal,
July 9, 2011
By: puddledipper
"I find this product works best on large flies when I am tying with heavier thread. I sometimes have a hard time setting the tension on light weight threads. It does work good with 6/0 and heavier threads."
Ratings-Only Reviews for Adjustable Tension Bobbin
Based on the average of (4) ratings-only reviews
Overall Rating: 
4.5 / 5
4.5 / 5
Would recommend? Yes 4 out of 4