Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Hook Tower

A low-profile hook organizer that accepts our new magnetic hook pallets. Pallets slide easily into the slots and keep hooks organized. Fly tying hook organizer comes assorted with 6 pallets; 2 each of 6-, 12-, and 18-compartment pallets. (specify number of compartments when ordering individual pallets). Pallets measure 7⅜"L x 3⅞"W x ½"D. Made in China.
Average Customer Rating:
4.375 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (24 reviews)
5 stars
15
4 stars
6
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 star
1
22 of 24(92%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Hook Tower
Review 1 for Hook Tower
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent addition to tying desk,
August 26, 2014
By: ironwoodcountybooks
from Midwest
"The tower itself is well constructed and the magnetic containers work with a variety of hook sizes and beads. It's a great way to organize my desk more effectively."
Review 2 for Hook Tower
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Love these!,
July 17, 2014
By: BigCTexas
from Texas
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"Just ordered another, this is my 3rd for my fly tying area. My hook selection is labeled and easily accessible. Wish that I could buy just the tower without the boxes since I have several without a storage place."
Review 3 for Hook Tower
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Simply Great,
July 15, 2014
By: EdBor
from Williamsburg, VA
"Excellent for keeping tying bench neat and organized."
Review 4 for Hook Tower
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
organizational gift,
January 15, 2014
By: Tracer1
from GA
"Bought for hubby to organize his hooks and whatnots, loved the idea of magnetic inside cases. So did he since he decided to keep it. The wood made it look not as expensive as it actually was. But overall a good gift."
Review 5 for Hook Tower
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
September 13, 2013
By: puddles10
from Shelby Twp., MI
"I liked my purchase alot. It was everything I thought it should be. Nice looking too!"
Review 6 for Hook Tower
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Hook Pallets,
August 17, 2013
By: JHTroutCO
from Castle Rock, CO
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"A must have for fly tying, I was looking for a way to organize the massive amount of hooks that I have accumulated and after looking at many different options this was by far the best. For hooks size 6 - 26 it works great and holds a good number of hooks in the compartments. I also use one of the 18 compartment Pallets for beads."
Review 7 for Hook Tower
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Organization for the disorganized fly tyer,
March 7, 2013
By: bamboo
from Virginia
"If you tie flies with any kind of frequency, you will eventually end up with a dizzying assortment of hooks with an equally dizzying assortment of different types of packaging. The end result is you can never be sure what hooks you have or how many you have left. Until I bought this I frequently stumbled upon a misplaced blister pack, snap pack, zip baggie, or other container of hooks. Quite often I even ordered more of a particular hook I needed simply because I thought I had run out, only to discover the missing package of hooks later. This keeps them organized, in one place, easy to see and read what you have, the oak case looks good on any desk and best of all you can easily slip the slim cases into a traveling tying kit for the road. When you have reached the point in fly tying that you need to get organized, this product should be near the top of your list. I wish I bought this years ago!
I would have given this 5 stars had the fit and finish of the oak case been a little better. I took some wood glue and clamped it myself for an easy fix, but someone in QA isn't looking these over as closely as most Orvis merchandise. Still highly recommended!"
Review 8 for Hook Tower
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Save time and frustration,
February 26, 2013
By: GoCubs
from Mountain View, WY
"Organize your hooks from #30 midge hooks to #2 stingers. Hint: get some small stickers and write hook brand, model and size on them. Put sticker on top cover over compartment. Easy way to identify the hook you need and also know when to order more. Maybe Orvis should pack stickers with this hook tower?"
Review 9 for Hook Tower
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Indispensable,
February 24, 2013
By: Redbarn
from Hollis, ME
"For quite a while I kept my hooks in various plastic "small parts" boxes. That was ok but the recesses were often too deep & I was tempted to leave the hooks in their bags so I could grab them easily; but then I had to grab the tweezers and wrestle with the bags when I needed some hooks.
Since I saw this product at Orvis I have never looked back. In my opinion these are the PERFECT SOLUTION at the tying bench. Dump your hooks in the magnitzed compartment, label the outside of the pallet, done. Easy, outstanding, indispensable."
Review 10 for Hook Tower
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Exceptional Hook Organizer,
February 17, 2013
By: ColemanSpecial
from Minneapolis, MN
"No more random bags of hooks or boxes spread about. It's highly organized and has plenty of room. I absolutely love this hook organizer. It's magnetic, so the hooks stay in place. Also, when I tie flies at my friend's house, I can bring one of the hook holders instead of the whole set when I know what flies I'll be tying. It had enough space for my enormous hook supply and still had left over space. Absolutely worth the money if you're looking for a way to organize your hooks. I used a permanent black marker to make notes on the outside of which hooks were which to keep track of it. Alternatively, you could put tape over the areas and label them that way too."
Review 11 for Hook Tower
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Just what I had in Mind,
February 12, 2013
By: LandDG
from Kansas City
"I have spent the last year or so setting up my fly tying desk area. I was looking for a way organize my hooks. This hook tower did the trick. The smallest size cases are pretty small. Good for 20s, 22s. The other two sizes keep all the other hook sizes. I used one of the two small cases to keep my tungsten beads."
Review 12 for Hook Tower
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Magnetic hook pallets,
February 3, 2013
By: pitsfordman
from Northampton
"Having recently purchased the Safe Passage Travellers bag for my fly tying kit I needed 4 of these very slim hook boxes. The box itself is similar in size to the slim fly boxes that I already use. They take up little storage space and the magnetic compartments hold the hooks securely enough to prevent cross contamination. The corners are rounded and I made up laminated cards to sit inside the box to tell me what hooks each compartment contained. They look good and are a sensible price."
Review 13 for Hook Tower
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
wonderful organizer,
January 17, 2013
By: unclepete
"if you've had hooks in multiple containers throw all over your tying desk this caddy will neatly organize a ton of different hooks- no more buying what you already have hidden somewhere-you'll love it!"
Review 14 for Hook Tower
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great item,
December 29, 2012
By: cbullar
from Fort Smith, AR
"I purchased several of the magnetic divided pallets for my tying bench. When closed - These pallets keep beads and hooks separated even upside down and shaken. Perfect for traveling and for those occasions when your tying bench is cluttered and you knock it off on the floor.
I plan to purchase a few more to use for fly boxes in my vest because they are very light weight and very thin.
"
Review 15 for Hook Tower
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Very user friendly!,
November 21, 2012
By: JvWK
from the Netherlands
"very nice way to store my hooks.
it looks good on the bench, and the magnetic hookboxes are very userfriendly! The hooks stay were they are, even when tipped over.
for storing larger quantities of hooks, the 18 compartment boxes can be on the small side. The 12 and 6 are perfect.
"
Review 16 for Hook Tower
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
A bit of disappointment,
September 14, 2012
By: youtellme
from Northern Ireland
"The Tower is well designed and the Pallets easy to use.This looked the ideal solution for keeping all my hooks organised. For small hooks its fine for for larger hooks its useless. The Pallets are supposed to be 1/2" deep but Esmund Drury size 6 trebles are less than that but will not fit. Its a struggle to get 10 size 7 Partridge Salar hooks into a compartment - not the full solution I expected it to be!"
Review 17 for Hook Tower
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
brilliant buy,
July 30, 2012
By: regt
from paisley
"i was so pleased about hook tower
i had read previous commments dut decided to buy i was not dissapointed"
Review 18 for Hook Tower
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Tray Size,
July 25, 2012
By: Mousam
from Kennebunk, Maine
"Hook Tower is very useful, be careful when selecting hook tray's small size will not hold many hooks."
Review 19 for Hook Tower
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Hook Tower,
July 19, 2012
By: Queryc
from Blairsville, GA
"I liked the design of the tower and the way the hook boxes fit inside of the tower. I have already used the tower to hold my hooks. I especially like the boxes that come with the tower. The magnetic stripping on the back of the boxes is great. I have not lost a hook after putting them in the boxes."
Review 20 for Hook Tower
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Good Purchase,
June 3, 2012
By: Chris195
from Kent, United Kingdom
"If you tie flies these are a must have product, I would recommend these to anyone"