Orvis Ratings and Reviews

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Orvis.

Operation Overlord Vintage Military Watch

Named for the military operation that marked the beginning of the Allied invasion of German-occupied western Europe. Vintage military-style stainless steel case encloses a dial clearly marked with 24-hour numerals. Rugged, ribbed watchband with double keepers. Oversized crown. In navy, olive. Case diameter 44mm. Imported.
Average Customer Rating:
2.941 out of 5
2.9
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (17 reviews)
5 stars
2
4 stars
5
3 stars
4
2 stars
2
1 star
4
9 of 17(53%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Operation Overlord Vintage Military Watch
Review 1 for Operation Overlord Vintage Military Watch
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Nice Watch!,
August 5, 2013
By: jrider
from Campbell, CA
"I love this watch! Especially the large face with reflective hands. I had it monogramed. It took a little longer to receive, but they did a nice job. Funny thing is - someone along the line installed the watch band in reverse, but it was easy to fix."
Review 2 for Operation Overlord Vintage Military Watch
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
GREAT BUY....,
August 5, 2013
By: spiff1
"On sale but I have been looking at this watch for sometime....perfect for my fly fishing in Colorado....Jack.."
Review 3 for Operation Overlord Vintage Military Watch
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Great Watch / Flimsy Band,
July 30, 2013
By: Denzie
from Berkeley, CA
"I love this watch but the band is fragile and entirely too long. I had to trim it to wear it, and the band is already showing signs of wear around the adjustment eyes (or whatever they are called).."
Review 4 for Operation Overlord Vintage Military Watch
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Disappointed,
July 24, 2013
By: Aron
from Michigan
"Was very surprised by the quality of the watch specifically the quality of the band. Not the usual Orvis quality you would expect even at the discount price. Will be returning. Orvis should not sell these."
Review 5 for Operation Overlord Vintage Military Watch
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
I am old-fashioned,
July 17, 2013
By: LordKeegan
from Wisconsin
"This watch is of the new style....VERY LARGE. I am old fashioned and like a watch that will actually fit underneath the cuff of a long sleeve shirt."
Review 6 for Operation Overlord Vintage Military Watch
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Cool watch,
August 14, 2012
By: Jeff340
from Norwood, MA
"Great watch, and distinctive and comfortable band. The only reason I didn't give a 5-star rating is that the end of the band is starting to fray a tiny amount.
Yes, the watch face is large, but I like that. Looks good, easy to read. The distressed metal framing it is a stylish touch."
Review 7 for Operation Overlord Vintage Military Watch
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Disappointing Craftsmanship,
January 1, 2012
By: Tweeter
from Philadelphia, PA
"The first watch failed to keep time properly (excessively slow). The replacement keeps time; however, one of the pins keeps popping out resulting in the watch coming loose from the band. Overall, this has been a disappointing product, unlike most of what I've purchased from Orvis."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Operation Overlord Vintage Military Watch
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Good watch,
December 31, 2011
By: Wgriley
"I really like the watch. But the spring that holds the watch to the band is very cheap. Already had a problem and had to have one replaced. A bigger gauge spring would make the watch way better.."
Review 9 for Operation Overlord Vintage Military Watch
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Met expectations,
October 25, 2011
By: JPSut
from Y-S, OH
"The watch was what I expected, but on reflection is a tad large at 44mm. Given a clean sheet of paper, I'd design a better band. But considering what I use it for, the timepiece is more than adequate. "Would I recommend it to a friend?" It depends on what they were looking for."
Review 10 for Operation Overlord Vintage Military Watch
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
too big,
September 27, 2011
By: krol
from Fairfax, VA
"i ordered this watch because i have had a military style field watch for almost 40 years and needed a replacement. unfortunately, its 44 mm diameter is just too large for my wrist. at 5 foot ten and 175, something like 30-35 mm would fit my wrist much better. anyway, i returned it to orvis and received a refund with no problem."
Review 11 for Operation Overlord Vintage Military Watch
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
August 1, 2011
By: JPW13
"This is a nice field watch option. It's a little expesnive in relation to other field watches, but these details and make are nice enough to warrant spending a little more. The red second hand is a nice detail that most field watches forget and the darker case is an interesting wrinkle. The watch functions as well as a quartz watch should. The instructions claim it's water-resistant to 50 meters, but I would not recommend testing that.
The NATO strap is decent, with actual stitching instead of pressed seals, so they should hold up and will save you from losing the watch if one of the pins breaks or falls out. I would argue that for the price, you shouldn't have to pick a color, but that all three bands should be included...or Orvis should make them available for purchase. A dark navy blue or black NATO strap would be a good option."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Operation Overlord Vintage Military Watch
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Poor Quality, Poor Service,
July 25, 2011
By: MidwestGuest
"This watch catches your eye. I like the design, however in my case the band/pins broke after a few hours, and trying to get a replacement was frustrating to say the least. Repeated calls to customer service proved fruitless. Their last email finally required me to send it in for their watch service. (?) For a pin, No thanks, at this point I've had the watch for one month and worn it for a whooping total of three hours. It's going back to the store. If I were you, I'd pursue other options."
Response from Orvis:By Orvis Customer Service TeamJuly 29, 2011
Orvis Customer Service contacted this customer and apologized that the Operation Overlord Vintage Military Watch failed to perform as expected. We contacted our customer and rectified this situation to his satisfaction. Our 100% Satisfaction Guarantee is the strongest in the business.
Review 13 for Operation Overlord Vintage Military Watch
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Commerative,
June 6, 2011
By: Hobbit
from Fairfield County, Connecticut
"Happened to buy this watch on June 6th ((Operation) Overlord Vintage). Big face. Easy to read. Band is a little large, but is very comfortable. No problems so far. Hoping it will be a terrific knock-about watch."
Review 14 for Operation Overlord Vintage Military Watch
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Crown Not Attached,
June 3, 2011
By: Marty1
"I returned it twice. On both watches, the crown won't attach to the stem. They sent a refund, but I really wanted one that works, as I like the product design."
Response from Orvis:By Orvis Customer Service TeamJune 27, 2011
Orvis Customer Service contacted this customer, we inspected another watch and was able to fulfill his order. Our goal is to make sure everything you buy from us is absolutely right. You can always shop with confidence at Orvis—everything we sell is backed by our unconditional 100% satisfaction guarantee.

Review 15 for Operation Overlord Vintage Military Watch
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Gawky,
April 21, 2011
By: ErlIsmynickname
"Very large face. Strap buckle sits in a weird place on the wrist. Returned the watch."
Response from Orvis:By Orvis Customer Service TeamMay 11, 2011
Orvis contacted this customer and let him know we were sorry to hear he wasn't happy with his purchase. We thanked him for his honest feedback. We are always striving to improve the products we offer and learn a great deal from our customers. . You can always shop with confidence at Orvis—everything we sell is backed by our unconditional 100% satisfaction guarantee.

Ratings-Only Reviews for Operation Overlord Vintage Military Watch
Based on the average of (2) ratings-only reviews
Overall Rating: 
3.5 / 5
3.5 / 5
Would recommend? Yes 2 out of 2