Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product
This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Orvis.

Vintage Denim™ Prairie Skirt

One of our customers' all-time favourite styles, with a slimming front yoke panel. Set-in waistband with elasticated inserts at the sides, back zip, on-seam pockets, and belt loops. Made of Orvis Vintage Denim, pre-washed for softness. Prairie Skirt in chambray, dark indigo. 100% cotton. Washable.US regular sizes: 6-20; about 34" long.
Average Customer Rating:
4.266 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (64 reviews)
5 stars
40
4 stars
12
3 stars
4
2 stars
5
1 star
3
53 of 64(83%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Vintage Denim™ Prairie Skirt
Review 1 for Vintage Denim™ Prairie Skirt
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
July 11, 2013
By: donotwishtohaveone
"Returned via Collect + to Orvis Outlet in Norwich on 4th July, 2013"
Review 2 for Vintage Denim™ Prairie Skirt
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Modest Skirt!,
July 9, 2013
By: FitCris
from Warrenton, VA
"I couldn't believe it when I found the skirts listed on this website. It's the first time I've even heard of Orvis, and when I saw the skirt I immediately bought one even though it was a little pricey. The material is very high quality and made to withstand the elements and hard wear, and is the perfect length and size for me (I'm a 4P!). Thank you so much for having modest clothing!"
Review 3 for Vintage Denim™ Prairie Skirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Favorite denim skirt,
July 8, 2013
By: Judde
from MT
"This is my favorite skirt. Since it is an A-line skirt, your waist can be much smaller than your hips, and it still looks slimming. I have it in both the light and dark denim. The weight is just right - not too heavy or too light."
Review 4 for Vintage Denim™ Prairie Skirt
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Comfy Classic,
July 7, 2013
By: Dorisday
from Norwich UK
"Having already had two of these lovely skirts in the past they have washed and worn so well. I was a little bit disappointed as this time the fabric is a lighter weight denim and the central v panel is shallow, apart from that the style is great and fits well. Have had lots of compliments. I would recommend."
Review 5 for Vintage Denim™ Prairie Skirt
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Seams,
June 30, 2013
By: prunes
from Cambridge
"The finish on the seams is not good. It is unessesary to turn the fabric over as it has already been finished by overlocking; by doing this makes them bulky.and the skirt sticks out and the seams do not lie flat."
Review 6 for Vintage Denim™ Prairie Skirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I'll be wearing it all Summer,
June 19, 2013
By: BarnesPark
from London
"I've already got this skirt in Denim. Now I've got the cream one. I love it. It's ideal for all occasions."
Review 7 for Vintage Denim™ Prairie Skirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Good all purpose skirt.,
June 17, 2013
By: Else
from Coastal Mississippi
"This is a great all round skirt. It looks good for the office as well as casual wear. I have not washed it yet, but I expect it to do well. I am a short, older woman - and it is flattering."
Review 8 for Vintage Denim™ Prairie Skirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
great quality skirt,
June 17, 2013
By: conservativechic
"I appreciate Orvis buyers selecting skirts with a flat front and an A-line drape. It is a flattering fit for anyone. The material washes well and is of great quality. I do hope Orvis will continue carrying this type of skirt."
Review 9 for Vintage Denim™ Prairie Skirt
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Petite Version Too Small in Waist,
June 17, 2013
By: Granny6
from NC
"The skirt was very nice, but the waistband was a couple of inches too short. I have several Orvis skirts in size regular 16 that fit just fine, but I ordered this one in petite 16. The clerk told me that the petite versions typically run smaller. I tried to reorder in a size 18 regular, but that was not available. I will re-order when this skirt becomes available in my size."
Review 10 for Vintage Denim™ Prairie Skirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great skirt,
June 10, 2013
By: vintagegirl
from Ohio
"This skirt is wonderful. Dressy looking for denim and very comfortable. I had ordered another because I liked the one I had so much. I wear it often all year round, with sandals in the summer and tights in the winter"
Review 11 for Vintage Denim™ Prairie Skirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Skirt!!,
June 4, 2013
By: stanley1
from Jefferson, TX
"The fit is flattering, can be dressed up or down. Quality material and chambray color very nice."
Review 12 for Vintage Denim™ Prairie Skirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
A wonderful all around skirt,
June 3, 2013
By: yourgardeningfriend
from Waterbury, CT.
"I absolutely love this skirt! The style and fabric are top of the line. I am a normal size 14, but find I need to re-order a size 12, but otherwise it should be a perfect fit."
Review 13 for Vintage Denim™ Prairie Skirt
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
May 17, 2013
By: faliron
from Maryland
"I am looking for a denim skirt or rather was looking. After trying five different styles I am giving up.All are looking great in the catalog or online.However ,although they are very well made and fabric quality is great ,are very bulky ,very wide and very unflattering for my average figure( 5' 7" size 12)So no denim for me as ,while you have the best styles they need to be trimmed widthwhile."
Review 14 for Vintage Denim™ Prairie Skirt
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Soft and Feminine,
May 9, 2013
By: Lovemywardrobe
from Verona, NJ
"Had to send first one back as elastic was shot in the waist. If you buy this skirt, note that the zipper and tab button belong in the back of the skirt not the front which is a bit unusual since tab buttons are usually in the front. I thought there was something wrong with the pockets because I had the skirt on backwards! Otherwise nice skirt"
Review 15 for Vintage Denim™ Prairie Skirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best Denim Skirt,
May 8, 2013
By: Nanat
"This is the second Vintage Denim Prairie Skirt that I have purchased. The first skirt was damaged from coals popping out of a campfire. The quality of the skirt is excellent, it fit my small frame beautifully, and the more I was washed it the more I liked it. This comfortable good looking skirt became my favorite "pair" of jeans and I wore it all the time. I'm very happy that I could buy another. Hope that you continue to keep this as a staple of your women's clothing line."
Review 16 for Vintage Denim™ Prairie Skirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Very flattering skirt,
May 3, 2013
By: NaniJ
from Angwin, CA
"This is a very flattering skirt. It is slimming and hangs very well. I will be ordering another color."
Review 17 for Vintage Denim™ Prairie Skirt
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
not what i expected,
April 27, 2013
By: Abla
from Texas
"i owned an orvis vintage denim prairie skirt some years ago and wore it out. last month i ordered this one and it's Quite Unlike the one I had before. It's narrower at the hem and thus less comfortable. The pockets are tiny, and the hem finish is quite awkward - turned under and sewn, although the fabric is too heavy for such a seam finish. It's a useable skirt but the construction shortcuts make it less than a star player."
Review 18 for Vintage Denim™ Prairie Skirt
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Versatile,
April 20, 2013
By: Adrie
from Austin
"I've been hunting for an A-line denim skirt and this one drapes nicely and the waistline is accurately sized. And it has pockets!"
Review 19 for Vintage Denim™ Prairie Skirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
My first Orvis skirt,
April 8, 2013
By: MsNorcal
"...and I like it. Nice fabric, good fit, true to size. I spent a lot of time looking for an A-line trouser type skirt and am glad I found this one."
Review 20 for Vintage Denim™ Prairie Skirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great skirt,
March 15, 2013
By: Rjler
"I bought this skirt 4 years ago and have worn it at least twice a week every week since. It's rather worn out now! Comfortable and pretty and durable. Trying to save money, I purchased a similar one from another vendor and it does not measure up. Quality, weight of fabric and workmanship were lacking. So I went back to Orvis and am glad to find the Skirt still here and still quality. The pockets seems to have shrunk, though. But perhaps they were thought too deep before (by others). I will buy another in future."