Orvis Ratings and Reviews

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Orvis.

Trailhead Shorts

Thanks to rugged, pure cotton canvas, these men's shorts offer breathable comfort and long wear, even in challenging environments. Reinforced seat and interior. J-shaped front pockets; large rear pockets have hook-and-loop closure to secure contents. Cross-stitched belt loops. A slightly slimmer fit, tailored for your active lifestyle. Belt not included. Men's cotton canvas shorts in dark khaki. Pure cotton. Washable. Imported.Even waist sizes: 32-44. Shorts inseam 7".
Average Customer Rating:
3.818 out of 5
3.8
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (33 reviews)
5 stars
13
4 stars
9
3 stars
6
2 stars
2
1 star
3
26 of 33(79%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Trailhead Shorts
Review 1 for Trailhead Shorts
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Great Shorts and Very Durable,
May 6, 2015
By: CharlieMakita
from Raleigh, NC
"These are great shorts and are very durable. My only gripe is the belt loops do not allow for a 1.5" belt, too tight.
The pockets are ample and well placed. The next design should have the phone pocket mounted on the side of the leg!
I've had my first pair for well over two years now and just bought two more pair.
They are very comfortable in the fact that they do not ride down around your knee and inhibit movement or rub the back of your leg.
Great shorts!
"
Review 2 for Trailhead Shorts
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Trailhead Shorts,
March 30, 2015
By: Ashby
from Bedford, Va
"Very nice look, fit and functionality. the material is high quality with very nice texture. 34" waist was true to size with enough room for minor shrinkage in washing."
Review 3 for Trailhead Shorts
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
sturdy pant,
March 21, 2015
By: RoyWightbois
from Palmdale CA
"rugged, strong, love the drying loops for hanging, good cut and inseam length. thanks orvis!"
Review 4 for Trailhead Shorts
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Future favorite,
January 10, 2015
By: Pierreange
from Maple Valley, WA
"Extremely well made, fits perfectly and destined to be one of my favorites."
Review 5 for Trailhead Shorts
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
solid,
December 16, 2014
By: WNYdeerhunter
from Western NY
"these shorts are hefty, yet flexible. They are easy to wear and provide some ventilation."
Review 6 for Trailhead Shorts
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
dissapointed,
September 29, 2014
By: Tommy14
"I liked the fit, the style, and what I thought would be durability. Unfortunately, I sent back the first pair the very day I purchased the shorts due to a tear at the crotch seem. I ordered a replacement, and that too had the same issue and I ended up returning the second pair."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Trailhead Shorts
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Shorts,
August 27, 2014
By: Duckeroo
"Great pair of shorts. Cloth is very durable.Only negative is tags in waist band scratch and need to be removed."
Review 8 for Trailhead Shorts
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent shorts,
August 12, 2014
By: DrGus
from Rhode Island
"Very comfortable - well sized - well made hiking type shorts - great for summer walks - perfect length for short guys like me [5'8"]"
Review 9 for Trailhead Shorts
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Good quality.,
June 27, 2014
By: gandydancer
from Newark, Delaware
"I have three pairs of Trailhead Shorts. Wear well and look good. Only one suggestion, make the belt loops a bit larger. Can't use a wide belt with this item."
Review 10 for Trailhead Shorts
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
needs reinforced stitching,
June 21, 2014
By: BrokenClays
from Birmingham, AL
"Bought a pair, wore them for a day of clay shooting. After washing, noticed the stitching below the fly was pulling apart. I really like everything about these shorts except the lack of reinforcement in the key stress areas. I'm having a seamstress add some stitching and possibly a rivet to the 2nd pair. Orvis replaced the 1st pair, no questions."
Review 11 for Trailhead Shorts
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
June 17, 2014
By: okee
from carmel,in
"Like the shorts, wish they came in various colors."
Review 12 for Trailhead Shorts
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Good Work Shorts,
May 7, 2014
By: MrOrvisian
from Hollywood Hills, California
"I just received these, tried them on, and they fit perfectly. Nothing grabbing, so that's a good sign! The fabric has a slight grainy texture which gives them a very sturdy appearance. The metal grommet type button snaps shut for a solid enclosure. The belt loops are indeed a bit narrow so you'll need a belt no wider than 1 1/4"... preferably 1" from my measurements. They fit above the knee - a classic style - so be sure to leave your boom box & skateboard at home :-)"
Review 13 for Trailhead Shorts
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great buy,
April 16, 2014
By: Headstrong
"Great buy, rugged wearing shorts that fall just above the knee. Perfect in warm weather on the trails.
Thanks again..
"
Review 14 for Trailhead Shorts
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Trailhead Shorts,
March 27, 2014
By: BabaORiley
from Jefferson City, MO
"I am an avid fan of Orvis and have more cold weather gear than summer gear so I ordered the Trailhead shorts because I loved the look of them with the contrasting stitching and the pocket shape. When they arrived they fit perfectly but the belt loops were too narrow to fit my belts. Unfortunately I had to return them because of this. Other than the small belt loops, great looking and fitting product."
Review 15 for Trailhead Shorts
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Just what I wanted!,
February 10, 2014
By: stirling56
from Hartford City, IN
"A few years back, I bought a pair of shorts from Orvis very similar to these. Favorites-My wife finally made me throw them away they were so worn. These are very similar in material and design-others were brown. Anticipate wearing these for a long time! Reviews were helpful and correct I ordered next size up and they fit just right!"
Review 16 for Trailhead Shorts
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Tight Fit,
July 21, 2013
By: Over40
from Fishkill, NY
"I really like the material used to make these shorts. However, they have a snug fit and the seam in the crotch below the zipper is starting to separate. I have only had the shorts 2 months."
Review 17 for Trailhead Shorts
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Not for me but.....,
May 1, 2013
By: paintcan
from NC
"...these shorts are cut very very snug in the waist. Could not button 38 or the 40. Opted not to exchange as it appeared they were not designed for me. BTW - I wear 38 trousers & other shorts always.
Probably be great if you they fit you.
"
Review 18 for Trailhead Shorts
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Crotch seams poorly stitched,
April 22, 2013
By: Samuelamr
from Nashville, TN
"The seam of my shorts below the zipper is already beginning to pull away after one week of wear and a cold wash cycle. Not stoked about that."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Trailhead Shorts
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Fit and quality issues,
January 26, 2013
By: Dutchman5
from Springfield, MO
"Buy the Orvis Hoback River shorts rather than these Trailhead shorts.."
Review 20 for Trailhead Shorts
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ordering more now.,
December 16, 2012
By: POPP
from Hickory, NC
"I knew I would like these shorts if they were made out of the same canvas my rabbit hunting pants were and they are. Very durable and comfortable. The 7" inseam is great for me for walking. Had to have another pair to take to mountain cabin and leave there."