Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Trailhead Shorts

Thanks to rugged, pure cotton canvas, these men's shorts offer breathable comfort and long wear, even in challenging environments. Reinforced seat and interior. J-shaped front pockets; large rear pockets have hook-and-loop closure to secure contents. Cross-stitched belt loops. A slightly slimmer fit, tailored for your active lifestyle. Belt not included. Men's cotton canvas shorts in dark khaki. Pure cotton. Washable. Imported.Even waist sizes: 32-44. Shorts inseam 7".
Average Customer Rating:
3.75 out of 5
3.8
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (28 reviews)
5 stars
11
4 stars
7
3 stars
5
2 stars
2
1 star
3
21 of 28(75%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Trailhead Shorts
Review 1 for Trailhead Shorts
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
dissapointed,
September 29, 2014
By: Tommy14
"I liked the fit, the style, and what I thought would be durability. Unfortunately, I sent back the first pair the very day I purchased the shorts due to a tear at the crotch seem. I ordered a replacement, and that too had the same issue and I ended up returning the second pair."
Review 2 for Trailhead Shorts
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Shorts,
August 27, 2014
By: Duckeroo
"Great pair of shorts. Cloth is very durable.Only negative is tags in waist band scratch and need to be removed."
Review 3 for Trailhead Shorts
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent shorts,
August 12, 2014
By: DrGus
from Rhode Island
"Very comfortable - well sized - well made hiking type shorts - great for summer walks - perfect length for short guys like me [5'8"]"
Review 4 for Trailhead Shorts
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Good quality.,
June 27, 2014
By: gandydancer
from Newark, Delaware
"I have three pairs of Trailhead Shorts. Wear well and look good. Only one suggestion, make the belt loops a bit larger. Can't use a wide belt with this item."
Review 5 for Trailhead Shorts
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
needs reinforced stitching,
June 21, 2014
By: BrokenClays
from Birmingham, AL
"Bought a pair, wore them for a day of clay shooting. After washing, noticed the stitching below the fly was pulling apart. I really like everything about these shorts except the lack of reinforcement in the key stress areas. I'm having a seamstress add some stitching and possibly a rivet to the 2nd pair. Orvis replaced the 1st pair, no questions."
Review 6 for Trailhead Shorts
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
June 17, 2014
By: okee
from carmel,in
"Like the shorts, wish they came in various colors."
Review 7 for Trailhead Shorts
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Good Work Shorts,
May 7, 2014
By: MrOrvisian
from Hollywood Hills, California
"I just received these, tried them on, and they fit perfectly. Nothing grabbing, so that's a good sign! The fabric has a slight grainy texture which gives them a very sturdy appearance. The metal grommet type button snaps shut for a solid enclosure. The belt loops are indeed a bit narrow so you'll need a belt no wider than 1 1/4"... preferably 1" from my measurements. They fit above the knee - a classic style - so be sure to leave your boom box & skateboard at home :-)"
Review 8 for Trailhead Shorts
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great buy,
April 16, 2014
By: Headstrong
"Great buy, rugged wearing shorts that fall just above the knee. Perfect in warm weather on the trails.
Thanks again..
"
Review 9 for Trailhead Shorts
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Trailhead Shorts,
March 27, 2014
By: BabaORiley
from Jefferson City, MO
"I am an avid fan of Orvis and have more cold weather gear than summer gear so I ordered the Trailhead shorts because I loved the look of them with the contrasting stitching and the pocket shape. When they arrived they fit perfectly but the belt loops were too narrow to fit my belts. Unfortunately I had to return them because of this. Other than the small belt loops, great looking and fitting product."
Review 10 for Trailhead Shorts
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Just what I wanted!,
February 10, 2014
By: stirling56
from Hartford City, IN
"A few years back, I bought a pair of shorts from Orvis very similar to these. Favorites-My wife finally made me throw them away they were so worn. These are very similar in material and design-others were brown. Anticipate wearing these for a long time! Reviews were helpful and correct I ordered next size up and they fit just right!"
Review 11 for Trailhead Shorts
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Tight Fit,
July 21, 2013
By: Over40
from Fishkill, NY
"I really like the material used to make these shorts. However, they have a snug fit and the seam in the crotch below the zipper is starting to separate. I have only had the shorts 2 months."
Review 12 for Trailhead Shorts
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Not for me but.....,
May 1, 2013
By: paintcan
from NC
"...these shorts are cut very very snug in the waist. Could not button 38 or the 40. Opted not to exchange as it appeared they were not designed for me. BTW - I wear 38 trousers & other shorts always.
Probably be great if you they fit you.
"
Review 13 for Trailhead Shorts
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Crotch seams poorly stitched,
April 22, 2013
By: Samuelamr
from Nashville, TN
"The seam of my shorts below the zipper is already beginning to pull away after one week of wear and a cold wash cycle. Not stoked about that."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Trailhead Shorts
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Fit and quality issues,
January 26, 2013
By: Dutchman5
from Springfield, MO
"Buy the Orvis Hoback River shorts rather than these Trailhead shorts.."
Review 15 for Trailhead Shorts
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ordering more now.,
December 16, 2012
By: POPP
from Hickory, NC
"I knew I would like these shorts if they were made out of the same canvas my rabbit hunting pants were and they are. Very durable and comfortable. The 7" inseam is great for me for walking. Had to have another pair to take to mountain cabin and leave there."
Review 16 for Trailhead Shorts
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Shorts,
August 23, 2012
By: DJCooper
from Coquitlam BC Canada
"I bought these shorts at the excellent Orvis store in San Francisco. They are great looking and well made. For me the fit is excellent. I would even go a size down. Have the 42s and am 6'4" and 255lbs. The 40s would be better.
If at the SF store ask for Hienz."
Review 17 for Trailhead Shorts
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Trailhead Shorts,
June 30, 2012
By: SCFlyFshr
"I ordered these shorts in the same waist size as I usually wear. Had to return them for the next larger size.
These shorts do not seem consistent sized with other waist measurements of Orvis pants.
They appear to be of rugged cotton canvas, and heavily stitched, although I am concerned about reviews here reporting splitting in crotch seam.
Will find out once I have a pair that fit. They are not a "baggy" short, and I would recommend ordering the next larger waist size from what you normally wear."
Review 18 for Trailhead Shorts
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
durable and comfortable,
May 21, 2012
By: ColoradoViking
from Denver, Colorado
"I have used these shorts alot. They are sturdy and comfortable at the same time. I have had several people come up to me and ask where I bought them. Always a plus :-)."
Review 19 for Trailhead Shorts
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Decent shorts,
May 7, 2012
By: Pttsburghonthefly
from Western Pennsylvania
"Overall excellent quality shorts, very well made. I am a little concerned with the fit. Legs are a not as wide / loose fitting as I had hoped for. Seem to ride low on waist."
Review 20 for Trailhead Shorts
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Bad quality !,
April 3, 2012
By: backnine
from Manchester, VT
"I purchased a pair of these at the store in Manchester, VT last July. Within a week after I returned home the shorts started coming apart in the back seam. Had to buy canvas patching material to repair . I've made several purchases from Orvis, but wish this is one I hadn't."